CrusadersCell C SharksCrusaders (16) 38 / 6 (6) Sharks (Final Score)

The Crusaders and the Cell C Sharks did battle in the one Semi-Final of Super Rugby 2014 at

AMI Stadium, Christchurch at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time (07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Dan Carter (3)
  • Tries – Kieran Read (1), Nemani Nadolo (1), Willi Heinz (1), Johnny McNicholl (1), Matt Todd (1)
  • Conversions – Dan Carter (2)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Crusaders

Cell C Sharks

26 July at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Kieron Fonotia, 13. Ryan Crotty, 12. Dan Carter, 11. Nemani Nadolo, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Matt Todd, 6. Richie McCaw, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Dominic Bird, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Joe Moody, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. Jordan Taufua, 21. Willi Heinz, 22. Tom Taylor, 23. Johnny McNicholl
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Willem Alberts, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Thomas du Toit
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Lubabalo Mtembu, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Sibusiso Sithole, 23. Tonderai Chavhanga

Expected weather: Mostly cloudy with no chance of rain
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Referees: Rohan Hoffmann, Mike Fraser
TMO: Ben Skeen

433 Responses to Super Rugby Semi-Final: Crusaders vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

Still waiting for the Jake excuses, barring the one he brought out last week about the teams ending 1st and 2nd on the log will win

There will be many…

I’m off – have guests… Cheers mate…

Stormers rugby have attracted flies for years 😀

Well done on the best SA season Sharkies, I expect you will be placing greater value on that Conference Cup now that you have to settle for that.

Jee looking at emoworld they are turning on themselves. Sad really.

Read my 360 posting,
    JW knows better than to pick 5 useless, token players for a SR Semi, today he just had a different agenda and that presumably was to advance his case for the 2015 RWC! 😉
    It makes sense that in the event of HM going 0:6 vs the ABs (1:5 is a near certainty) SARU might make him the Boks coach trying to salvage the RWC campaign?

Sadly that’s true, but their own home grown seemed no better judging their defeat by the sharks a fortnight ago?
    The WP whole Union runs by gogos too

@ Hondo:
    He won’t be appointed again, he should have taken a job at the Kings, would have stood a better chance

Stormersboy wrote:

Well done on the best SA season Sharkies, I expect you will be placing greater value on that Conference Cup now that you have to settle for that.

For sure.
    We have the conference cup….Boom!!!!

@ Hondo:
    To be fair there were about 14 useless players on the park today.

@ Hondo:
    HM has been one of the more successful coaches for the bokke, apart from continuously being beaten by one of the better all black teams of the century if not ever is a huge pain to all of us, but for three years we have been unbeaten by the home unions who often beat Pdv springbok team.

There is no ways SARU would sack HM now maybe not even for another 5 years.

who is the 15th player

Next year will totally be the Sharks’ year!!!

😀 😆

@ Hondo:
    I thought marcel coetzee want too bad in the first half. He got a few turn overs

@ MacroBull:#401
    Perspective boet.

One of the reasons why HM’s record looks good is because he is playing against the Argies regularly…in fact twice per year. Keep in mind that the Argies is not even among the top 10 rugby nations currently.

PdV and JW played about 50% of their games against the Aus and NZ. HM is only playing about 33% of his games as coach against them.

As I’ve said….PERSPECTIVE.

Lemons with lemons…apples with apples.

@ Nama:
    Hm lost to scotland?

@ Nama:
    HM’s useless boks also the first team to beat australia in brisbane in 30years I think?

And u highlight PERSPECTIVE.

who is to say the all black teams PdV and JW’s bok teams won, would have beaten the post 2011 all black team?

Heynekes term as bok coach has been far from great, but he is busy building a bok team that could dominate 2015-2019.

@ MacroBull:#406
    I’m not sure why you are asking that question. HM’s Boks have been unbeaten on the EOYT. That is what all of us expect from our team, whoever the coach might be. All the NH teams are ranked below us so that is a reasonable expectation. However, every now and then, one of them WILL beat us.

I can counter your question with: Has HM EVER beat the All Blacks.

“HM’s useless boks also the first team to beat australia in brisbane in 30years..”

Not sure why you bring that up. PdV’s Bokke beat the AB in NZ. HM cannot even beat them at home.

“who is to say the all black teams PdV and JW’s bok teams won, would have beaten the post 2011 all black team? ”

The same “post 2011 all black team” that had to start from scratch with afra locks go, Mils at FB going to Japan, a new scrum half, no hooker who throw a straight ball in the line out, Kaino off to Japan etc, etc. After 2011, they were rebuilding just like us. What was our (HM’s) solution?

Go bring back the class of 2007.

Now you want to tell me that the “new kids on the block” afa the AB are concerned is that much better than what PdV and JW Boks faced?

Strond man.

WE stood still, even regressed, while they are moving ahead.

In other news. at last I have my yellow cap. I wonder if Gunther can boast any yellow cap in his wardrobe. Must be about my 12th in the last 3 years.

Talk about someone who cannot predict for shit. Wink Wink

@ Nama:
    Like i said it is a great pain to all of us to be losing to the All blacks.

but we are not losing to the lesser teams, that honestly counts for something, it is much worse losing to scotland (even if we came quite close) than to a great all black team (even if one of those games were by far one of the greatest games of the year if not for quite a few years by two teams).

The current all black team with With whitelock, retallic, aaron smith, ben smith, savea, nonu, conrad smith, read etc would whipe the floor with the 2011 world cup winning team.

I disagree completely that we are standing still

I posted this a few days ago, but if you look at the players in the current setup.

Johan Goosen (21)
    Frans Malherbe (23)
    Jaco Taute (23)
    Arno Botha (22)
    Raymond Rhule (21)
    Willie le Roux (24)
    Jan Serfontein (21)
    PS du Toit (21)
    Lood de Jager (21)
    Handre Pollard (20)
    Siya Kolisi (23)
    Marcel van der Mere (23)
    Marcell Coetzee (23)
    Eben Etsebeth (22)
    Oupa Mohoje (23)
    Stephan Lewies (22)
    Piet van Zyl (24)
    Trevor Nyakane (25)
    Marnits Boshoff (25)
    JJ Engelbrecht (25)
    Pat Lambie (23)
    Then there is guys like
    Damien de Allende (22)
    Scarra Ntubeni (23)
    Kitchoff (22)
    Thomas du Toit (19)
    Paul Willemse (21)
    Seabelo Senatla (21)
    Tera Mtembu (23)
    Sburo Sithole (24)

it is clear there is a plan past 2007

I got to ask, where was pdivvys plan?

“The current all black team with With whitelock, retallic, aaron smith, ben smith, savea, nonu, conrad smith, read etc would whipe the floor with the 2011 world cup winning team.”

Now, keep in mind that “whitelock, retallic, aaron smith, ben smith,” were introduced AFTER the 2011 RWC. Include Savea in that picture.

“it is clear there is a plan past 2007

I got to ask, where was pdivvys plan?”

I’m not sure what you mean when you say that there is a plan “past 2007” That was when PdV took over.

PdV introduced players like Beast, Flo (who HM did not rate at all in the beginning of his tenure as coach), Alberts, Morne, Kirchener (who HM thinks a hell of a lot of).

So, HM is actually playing now with a combined Jake White/PdV team, apart from Janneman, who is useless in any case.

@ MacroBull:%411
    I posted this a few days ago, but if you look at the players in the current setup.

Johan Goosen (21)
    Frans Malherbe (23)
    Jaco Taute (23)
    Arno Botha (22)
    Raymond Rhule (21)
    Willie le Roux (24)
    Jan Serfontein (21)
    PS du Toit (21)
    Lood de Jager (21)
    Handre Pollard (20)
    Siya Kolisi (23)
    Marcel van der Mere (23)
    Marcell Coetzee (23)
    Eben Etsebeth (22)
    Oupa Mohoje (23)
    Stephan Lewies (22)
    Piet van Zyl (24)
    Trevor Nyakane (25)
    Marnits Boshoff (25)
    JJ Engelbrecht (25)
    Pat Lambie (23)
    Then there is guys like
    Damien de Allende (22)
    Scarra Ntubeni (23)
    Kitchoff (22)
    Thomas du Toit (19)
    Paul Willemse (21)
    Seabelo Senatla (21)
    Tera Mtembu (23)
    Sburo Sithole (24)

Let’s look at them one by one and evaluate.
    Goosen…swak en van glas gemaak. As Wilgehof se Boertjies se haal hom af en bring “daai bruin outjie” op, dan moet jy weet hy’s verkak.

Malherbe…a good prospect.

Taute…strond…ek sal die Leeus betaal o0m hom terug te vat.

Arno and Ruhle…hulle hoort nie daar op die stadium nie. Let them earn their stripes.

Willie… Stormers failed us…again

Lood… in a year or two when he get rid of his baby fat. Ruan Botha will exceed him in the next year or two. Hou daai laaitie dop.

Ruan Botha, Etzebeth en PSdT gaan vir ons vir JAAARE slot speel. Soveel so dat jy sal vergeet van ‘n Matfield en ‘n Bakkies.

Handre…totally OVERRATED as was proved in the Stormers game. A season or three in senior rugby, like Cruden.

Kolisi…too fast too furious…he needs to find his niche…a carrier or a grafter…or a fetcher.

Oupa and Trevor and some others, like JdJ are only there to make HM’s squad look good ito colour. He always select 12/13 dark players in his squad of 32/34, only to select Beast, Habana and JPP as his run on “dark players”.

Window dressing.

So, in a game where the score is 38 – 6, some Shark supporters still want to blame the ref. Not on this site…on some other sites. are they forfuckkinreal?

Jeepers!

“I got to ask, where was pdivvys plan?”

5 wins out of 11 against the All BLACKS that there was a plan.

What is HM’s plan?

0 from 4 against the AB suggests he has no plan.

@ Nama:
    Like i said it is a great pain to all of us to be losing to the All blacks.

not all of us boet, some of us regularly enjoy the ABs beating the no spring in their step Bokke Approve

@ Nama:
    where was p divvys plan in terms of players after 2011? was what I meant.

You say “class of 2007” and I made it clear that many young players are being brought into the mix with the older guys with a long term plan in mind. We could dominate post 2015. while maintaining a respectable ranking of 2nd.

JW’s tenure we rankings ranged from 1 to 4.
    P.divvy rankings ranged from 2 to 4

Overrated like crudencanwinstuff great compliment to pollard thanks.

If you are going to make this a race issue and name all the players playing in positions where you want stormer players (that have achieved farkall stripes) its no use ever debating with you. Maak die stormers wen boggerol almal bokke? haha

cheers

I popped onto EmoWorld and saw how they were congratulating each other o nwinning the conference trophy. Wasn’t it said that the conference trophy means buggerall??? Just asking… – also predicting the Sharks to win the CC… Good luck Sharks – that is the spirit… 🙂

@ Nama:

You can’t predict for shit.

You always think next year will be your year and you always end up crying into your KWV Brannas in the interweb in middle of the night.

With your yellow (green and black) cap on.

@ gunther:

What are your predictions for this year’s RC?

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online