CrusadersCell C SharksCrusaders (16) 38 / 6 (6) Sharks (Final Score)

The Crusaders and the Cell C Sharks did battle in the one Semi-Final of Super Rugby 2014 at

AMI Stadium, Christchurch at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time (07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Dan Carter (3)
  • Tries – Kieran Read (1), Nemani Nadolo (1), Willi Heinz (1), Johnny McNicholl (1), Matt Todd (1)
  • Conversions – Dan Carter (2)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Crusaders

Cell C Sharks

26 July at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Kieron Fonotia, 13. Ryan Crotty, 12. Dan Carter, 11. Nemani Nadolo, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Matt Todd, 6. Richie McCaw, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Dominic Bird, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Joe Moody, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. Jordan Taufua, 21. Willi Heinz, 22. Tom Taylor, 23. Johnny McNicholl
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Willem Alberts, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Thomas du Toit
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Lubabalo Mtembu, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Sibusiso Sithole, 23. Tonderai Chavhanga

Expected weather: Mostly cloudy with no chance of rain
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Referees: Rohan Hoffmann, Mike Fraser
TMO: Ben Skeen

433 Responses to Super Rugby Semi-Final: Crusaders vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

A hiding of note…

Old story. Beat the Sa teams at set piece and they’ve got nothing left in the tank.

Lucky for the Sharks Carter is having an off day with the boot…..it’s kept the score respectable, if he kicked all his goals the score might have been embarrassing

Tahs sal moet wen, geen span gaan wen in Saders se agterplaas nie.

Al manier in uitspeelwedstryde wat jy Saders wen is op jou tuisveld, vra die Bulle van 2007, 2009/10.

Seconds to go…

The 4th biggest EVER Semi-Final win… in history!

Tassies wrote:

@ Just For Kicks: partly agree with you. I think our Super Rugby is poorly run, as the results atest. Out of the ‘Big Three’ we are by far the under-performer. Oz, with way less resources, totally outperforms us, like for like. There is usually a reason for that. At Springbok level I believe our management is at least on par with the others currently. But by season end this opinion can be undone.

I feel it goes higher than Bok management. Super Rugby Coaches hands are tied by the very poor management of SARU – firstly in the 6th franchise debacle, and now in the new structure with Japan/Singapore – just how stupid do you have to be not to see that this is a major step backwards in our rugby?????

Their attitude in keeping players, central contracting, etc has been abysmal. One cannot blame the unions for their lack of ability to keep players in the system from both a financial point of view (weak Rand is never going to stand up to Euro/Yen) and the politics.

SARU have done nothing to help the players.

Yes, HM, from a policy of not picking o/seas players has had to move to a position of picking them as all the top players are leaving (again, not helping the players that stay in SA), and, this will certainly keep the Bok team strong…….for the moment, but how long before these youngster start offering their allegiance to other countries?

Unless it changes at the top, even eventually Bok rugby will decline as there won’t be any overseas players committed to SA Rugby. If SARU can’t see that that they are truly stupid.

Final Score: Crusaders 38 / 6 Cell C Sharks

… and then there were only 3 teams left….

McLook wrote:

Old story. Beat the Sa teams at set piece and they’ve got nothing left in the tank.

simple formula to beat the Bokke teams, run them ragged and the points will come.

I said from the beginning if we didn’t get an SA side in the semi finals then were doomed… The Republic of KZN decided differently… 😉

Blixem, dit gaan nag wees op news24 vandag

Hoekom News24?

Want die Sharks hier wat moan oor ons comments en strike, het nog nie News24 gelees nie, daai mense is verby mal, gaan lees n bietjie.
    Daar is so Trenham en Wood something vent wat grootbek Sharks is, hulle gaan kak vandag

nearly a record thrashing.
    Thrashing is the only word to adequately describe this. A contest it certainly wasn’t.
    I used to rate Jake as a coach. Not as a person mind you. But I have to say I’m quite shocked and Jake has to take responsibility.

@ nga puhi:
    Congrats mate, well done, drink up, while I have another Prozac…

Thx, sal kyk daar.

SA sewes gaan nou speel ?

Congrats Crusaders, well done… I am satisfied.

It was the manner of the win which was embarrassing to the Sharks… 5 tries to ZERO!

Bissy says they didn’t play in the right areas – I don’t think they were even playing in the right country!!!

Die slagting is gelewer … n ware Malema pak slae.

Bismark, what went wrong?
    Oh well….uhm, we couldn’ t catch the high ball tonight…

The Commonwealth Sevens is on SS7 & SHD 7, I believe… or is it on 8?

Tassies wrote:

nearly a record thrashing.
    Thrashing is the only word to adequately describe this. A contest it certainly wasn’t.
    I used to rate Jake as a coach. Not as a person mind you. But I have to say I’m quite shocked and Jake has to take responsibility.

He wont, he will pull out all the excuses.
    Already started making excuses earlier in the week

cheers boet, just how I like my Beer (with you paying) hehe my team is long gone boet, so am really just a neutral who enjoyed a good game of rugby.

just dont want the crims to win the thing 😀

Next Semi is in 18 Minutes!

Well done Pops… We all knew it was going to happen – it was just the score that shocked most…

Anyways next year Sharks… 😉

How can the Sharks come back from this? They have put everything into John Smit, who in turn has placed everything in JW. A Stark failure on every level, and what ever happens now is going to be a serious embarrassment.

So, after yet another BIG CHOKE, whereto now for The Independent Republic of Kwa-Zulu Natal and their Guppies?

Next Semi is in 18 Minutes!

Mrs GBS will be happy with that news webmonster sir 😀

So, after yet another BIG CHOKE, whereto now for The Independent Republic of Kwa-Zulu Natal and their Guppies?

Eina……give us a nice big BOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!!

Gumboots wrote:

Well done Pops… We all knew it was going to happen – it was just the score that shocked most…
    Anyways next year Sharks…

I’d like to take all the credit for that Saders win too Mr Gummy sir, I did sooooo much hard work for them 😀

Ha ha, this just on Facebook…..What’s the difference between Jake White and God? God doesn’t think he is Jake White.

Here comes the conspiracy theory!
    With that senseless selection of token, useless players, it seemed that JW is looking up at SARU to replace HM in the event that the Boks will go 0:6 vs the ABs under HM’s tenure?
    Even the a die hard supporter of HM in Pta will admit that a 0:6 may not be acceptable for a Boks coach?
    JW on the other hand is a proven RWC coach?
    Don’t laugh, think it over?!

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online