Francois Steyn

Frans Steyn was released from the Springbok squad at his own request on Tuesday and will not appear in Saturday’s match against Wales at Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban.

The player advised SARU officials that that he did not wish to be considered for the Castle Lager Incoming series. “The environment in the Springbok squad is fantastic and I would like to state categorically that my relationship with Heyneke Meyer, the rest of the management and my team-mates is very good,” said Steyn.

Steyn – who is expected to take up a contract in Japan at the end of Vodacom Super Rugby Series – said that he wished for time to reflect on his Springbok future.

He indicated he would be available for the Cell C Sharks once the June internationals are completed.

“I have spoken at length to Frans and we are happy to accede to his request,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of the South African Rugby Union (SARU).

“He has asked for some time to consider his international playing future and we must respect that. Let me make it clear that he has not retired from international rugby, but he has requested a break from it.”

Roux added that Steyn had asked for privacy at this time.

“This is not an ideal situation, but, in other instances, sudden player absences through injury are not uncommon and I’m sure Heyneke and the selectors will adapt to his unavailability. Frans is now out of the squad and team management will respect his wish for privacy by not speculating on his decision or his likely return.”

205 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Frans Steyn walks out on the Bokke

and Capo to gunther
    :mrgreen:

Dis nou net hier waar rugby die pad van sokker beginne loop. Wanneer spelers hulself die reg beginne toe-eien om te besluit wanneer hulle vir die nasionale span beskikbaar wil wees, of nie.

HM beter dit nou in die kiem te smoor deur aan te kondig dat Fransie sy kanse verbeur het om vir die Bokke te speel solank hy die afrigter is.

@ Rage:
    and Keo to everyone here at some stage or another Overjoy

Good bye Fransie. For other players it’s an honour to play for their country. Clearly not for you. You won’t be missed.

Rage wrote:

and Capo to gunther

Lol, ja nee, daai 2 was woes

@Nama
    Dis net hy wat so n groot kop is, en Bissie wat n hissy fit sal gooi as dinge nie loop soos hy wil nie ( wie kan vergeet hoe hy soos n 5 jarige meisie n tantrum gegooi het toe Divvie vir John opgestuur het, en selfs verlede jaar weer op Ellis Park )

Die res van die spelers is ok

Nikita to Puma and certain guppy supporters… 😆

Gumboots wrote:

Nikita to Puma and certain guppy supporters…

Lol

Erg woes… refer to their terms of endearment for each other.. “pinkboy” and “poodlef…. “

Why has there been a Shark exodus from this site?

Rage wrote:

Erg woes… refer to their terms of endearment for each other.. “pinkboy” and “poodlef…. “

Ha ha
    En poodlefucker

Moenie vir Jaques Fourie vergeet nie. Volgende jaar as die WB jaar is, is hy weer beskikbaar of wat is sy probleem nou?

Die ander ouens is orraait.

Gumboots wrote:

Why has there been a Shark exodus from this site?

They were angry at me for a while now, then got angry because no one wanted to buy into their superiority conspiracy theories, then we didn’t agree that these June tests are nothing tests and that the SR is more important than test matches….then the Sharks lost to the Stormers and that’s all she wrote.

Snoek and Charo have pooped in occasionally, but Puma and S_L missing in action.

S_L did go and give Nel a piece of his mind for daring to be negative against the Sharks and Jake, but hasn’t been here since after they lost to us

Nama wrote:

Moenie vir Jaques Fourie vergeet nie. Volgende jaar as die WB jaar is, is hy weer beskikbaar of wat is sy probleem nou?

Die ander ouens is orraait.

Fourie is beseer, en hy is ok, darem n eks Stormer, so moet n goeie ou met goeie waardes wees
    Wink

Stormers beat their team…at Kings Park nogal. 😆

Speaking of Guppies and their habits… Whatever happened to the other members of the Insane Shark Posse…Predawn and Fernly?

Ai fokkietoggie – maar dit is so kinderlik…

@ Nama:\

Oh now that is a reason… 😆

Rage wrote:

Speaking of Guppies and their habits… Whatever happened to the other members of the Insane Shark Posse…Predawn and Fernly?

Fernly was shown the door here – I think…

Rage wrote:

Fern didn’t last long…..GBS banned him.
    Predawn did join, but hasn’t been on for a very long time.
    Kaksioek has been missing for quite a while as well, maybe he is part of the boicot?

Why am I not surprised? heehee

47 @ Rage:
    Fern did not want to listen to reasonable requests to behave, so I kicked him to touch!

Daai ou se kop issie vars nie!

47 @ Rage:
    Fern did not want to listen to reasonable requests to behave, so I kicked him to touch!

Daai ou se kop issie vars nie!

Lol, hy is n moerse nice ou GBS, ten minste sou hy gebly het en die punch namens die guppies gevat het
    Wink

He often referred to himself as Cunt du Fernly and that right there tells you all you need to know.

54 @ nortierd:
    Ja, hy is nice om ‘n braai… maar fokkit, as hy aanlyn kom, dan klim beide Jeckle & Hyde gelyk uit Pandora se boksie… en die dolle moet net pasop of hy skraap hulle!

Pleasure

Rage wrote:

He often referred to himself as Cunt du Fernly and that right there tells you all you need to know.

Lol, stick fighting champion as well

57 @ nortierd:
    As hy dalk minder met sy “Stokkie” fight en speel, sal hy dalk minder breinskade opdoen!

Joke White is obviously behind this? Afterall he walked out on the Brumbies without the SA media saying a word against it?

Monkey see, monkey do… I hope Steyn’s season finishes after the Tjarks’ next game.

Money talks!
    Doc Craven predicted this 30 years ago, when the Boks used to receive R30 per day pocket money on tour….Oh, and they had to buy their own footwear…! They pacticed in tennis shoes until they had blisters on their feet…
    All for the honour of presenting the Green and Gold.

Total 13 users including 0 member, 13 guests, 0 bot online