Francois Steyn

Frans Steyn was released from the Springbok squad at his own request on Tuesday and will not appear in Saturday’s match against Wales at Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban.

The player advised SARU officials that that he did not wish to be considered for the Castle Lager Incoming series. “The environment in the Springbok squad is fantastic and I would like to state categorically that my relationship with Heyneke Meyer, the rest of the management and my team-mates is very good,” said Steyn.

Steyn – who is expected to take up a contract in Japan at the end of Vodacom Super Rugby Series – said that he wished for time to reflect on his Springbok future.

He indicated he would be available for the Cell C Sharks once the June internationals are completed.

“I have spoken at length to Frans and we are happy to accede to his request,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of the South African Rugby Union (SARU).

“He has asked for some time to consider his international playing future and we must respect that. Let me make it clear that he has not retired from international rugby, but he has requested a break from it.”

Roux added that Steyn had asked for privacy at this time.

“This is not an ideal situation, but, in other instances, sudden player absences through injury are not uncommon and I’m sure Heyneke and the selectors will adapt to his unavailability. Frans is now out of the squad and team management will respect his wish for privacy by not speculating on his decision or his likely return.”

205 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Frans Steyn walks out on the Bokke

1 2 3 7

Prima Donna move old Fransie… not good!

Go play your rugby in Japan and for the Sharks, if I was Bok coach you would not see a Bok jersey again.

@1
    Yip
    The same concerns I raised earlier which incurred me the wrath of those Sharks now missing in action.

He has now shown where his loyalty lies, and it’s with Jake, and as I mentioned then, nothing wrong with that, but I hope he never wears a Bok jersey again.

I wonder what happened behind the scenes, if there wasn’t a conversation with Meyer that didn’t go the way Frans wanted it to and he’s now throwing his toys or something like that.

I’d love to have been a fly on that wall….

2 @ nortierd:
    One certainly does not need a squad member who is not in it “hart, siel en pniel”, that in itself is devisive.

Must say, I’m disappointed in Frans.

Fransie to retire at the end of the season?

Well, to give Jake his loyalty, that I can sort of understand, I don’t like it, but I understand it, but to also pledge your loyalty over the Boks for a Japanese side you haven’t even represented, that shows his character.

Good luck to him, I will be very pissed off if HM picks him again.

In a week where JdJ has been ruled out, you dump your team mates and country just like that, poor form

5 @ MacroBok:
    Neewat, hy sal aanhou speel, broodjie gebotter beide kante

I said a few weeks ago that if his knee is not heal able he would consider retirement…

2 @ nortierd:
    One certainly does not need a squad member who is not in it “hart, siel en pniel”, that in itself is devisive.

Must say, I’m disappointed in Frans.

Hy wil net uitrus sodat hy nie vir Oom Jake teleurstel nie, fok hom, ons het hom dan nie nodig vir die Bokke nie

Ek warri nie veel nie, live and let live, maar ek stem saam met Nortie, ek sal NEGATIEF wees as Heyneke hom weer kies.

He only plays for Jake cause Jake understands him but Oom Heyneke vattikakki
    kktxbaai

@ Gena_ZA:
    Now Fransie actually has to attend training sessions lol

@ MacroBok:
    “had”

On the bright side, now Jan Serfontein can show what he is made off

@ Gena_ZA:
    Now Fransie actually has to attend training sessions lol

HM wanted him to do 5 star jumps on Monday and 10 sit ups on Tuesday.
    No way he will stand for that, Jake said he doesn’t have to do anything until Wednesday

Jeez what a prick! I have never liked the guys attitude and he was obviously told he would be on the bench or something and threw his toys out of the cot… Only a scenario… probably spot a spot on scenario… Whistling

…agree with those who say he shouldn’t come near a bok jersey ever again… prima farkin donna

“Steyn – who is expected to take up a contract in Japan at the end of Vodacom Super Rugby Series – said that he wished for time to reflect on his Springbok future.”

Good riddance. I hope you take a very long time to reflect on your Springbok future. In fact, take sommer forever.

Overrated, one trick pony.

Fokkof forever, Fransie.

Sonny Bill Steyn.

@ Nama:

Frans has always been to you what Elton is to Skop,John Smit to Grant10 and every non-white player is to Hondo.

Maa ten minste is jy darem nou ge-vindicate, hehehe

@Rage 20
    And what WP and the Stormers is to HG

@ Rage:
    And the Sharks to Nortie

@ Rage:
    Die mannetjie het al die tyd internasionae rugby gespeel op vertonings wat hy jaaare gelede gelewer het. Twee skepskoppe in 2007 en 3 lang strafskoppe in 2009.

Verder was hy useless met ‘n kak houding ook nog daarby.

hehe,indeed.

I miss ol’HG… never a dull moment with him around.Was altyd priceless om te sien hoe sy drol truggedruk word wanneer die Sharks verloor.He always tried manfully to deflect some of the post-match banter but he was always outnumbered and hopelessly outgunned.Hence the “Lone Dove” moniker 🙂

@ Rage:
    And the Sharks to Nortie

Ha ha
    And don’t forget those useless farken French, I reckon if I had 30 bullets, I would shoot the French side twice, instead of them and the Sharks

@Rage 24
    He is on Rugby365 now, but has been a bit quiet since the Stormers won and the French got clobbered.

Even there he is fighting with his Shark supporters, the guy was and always will be a Pratt, can’t even get along with his own kind

Wink

@Rage
    Wha ha ha
    I had forgotten about the Lone Dove, oh hell, that was funny.

If ET must take ones side, then all hope is lost

@ MacroBok:

…and Poppa to Bakkies.

@ MacroBok:

😆 😆 😆

Rage wrote:

@ MacroBok:

…and Poppa to Bakkies.

And Ruck/Pedi to S_L
    And ET versus the rest of the world (except for his friend…the Lone Dove)

1 2 3 7

Total 88 users including 0 member, 88 guests, 0 bot online