South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (18) 47 / 13 (13) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and a World XV team did battle in the June Internationals at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Bakkies Botha (1), Bismarck du Plessis (2), Johan Goosen (1), Willie le Roux (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (2), Johan Goosen (2)

World XV:

• Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
  • Tries – Alistair Hargreaves (1)
  • Conversions – James O’Connor (1)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

World XV: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Drew Mitchell, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Matt Giteau (Captain), 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Roger Wilson, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Mamuka Gorgodze, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Juandré Kruger, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Sona Taumalolo
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Alexandre Lapandry, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 François Trinh-Duc, 23 Benson Stanley.

Date: Saturday 7 June
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-Off: 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 19 C, dropping to 11 C
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)
Timekeeper: Albert Mocke (South Africa)

485 Responses to June Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

I agree, my biggest worry is Ruan, ALSO that our forwards protect him and not force him to dig for the ball at every second ruck.

I think Schalk will also come on at No.8

mikeybrass wrote:

I kinda liked PdV 🙂

One thing he did is win more than one game in NZ against the AB,s
    Something HM wont have behind him after this year.

I did not hate him but i also liked some of his speeches. We need to enjoy Rugby. He added something extra….ordinary

Fransie Steyn is finished, he is on his last legs with that dodgy knee… and on top of it he has now AGAIN signed to go play in Japan and will leave after Super Rugby is finished.

So, will he even be available at all for The Rugby Championship for the Springboks? What about for the End Of Year Tours?

@60
    I won’t criticize HM if we lose, I will however criticize him because he must play the guys who he decided must get contracts.
    So if he contracted poorly, the the buck must stop with him.
    No one forced him to contract Habana, Steyn, JPP, Boetie (ok, I understand he wants Bissie and it’s a package deal, you may not have Bissie if you don’t give Boetie a contract too ) Ruan to name a few

superBul wrote:

mikeybrass wrote:

I kinda liked PdV

One thing he did is win more than one game in NZ against the AB,s
    Something HM wont have behind him after this year.

I did not hate him but i also liked some of his speeches. We need to enjoy Rugby. He added something extra….ordinary

I also miss Divvy, he was so funny at times, brought a bit of color to the game
    Wink

Jislaaik, maar die wind waai woes daar in die Kaap

Snorrie is now where he belongs, coaching a Varsity Shield team, a 7th level side.

Not a Super Rugby side (2nd Level)
    Not a Currie Cup side (3rd level)
    Not a Vodacom Cup side (4th level)
    Not a Varsity Cup side (5th Level)
    Not a Super Club Side (6th level)
    But a Varsity Shield side (7th level)

Maybe, but Hougaard, Kolisi and Marcel Coetzee was not forced to play, I do not know if they are all injured.

I saw a game by Ruan this year where he was picked man of the match , in fact some here said he was brilliant. The gameplan. Is he not playing exactly the way HM wants him to play> Thats why HM keeps picking him, at least he is listening to the coach.

HM wants a scrumhalf that can kick like a number 10, think like a number 10. Wonder why he never tried a no 10 to play scrumhalf?

PDivvy is one of the best stand-up comedians South Africa has produced. They used to sell tickets to his media conferences. 😆

Maybe, but Hougaard, Kolisi and Marcel Coetzee was not forced to play, I do not know if they are all injured.

We do know some contracts were huge mistakes……

IAAS wrote:

PDivvy is one of the best stand-up comedians South Africa has produced. They used to sell tickets to his media conferences.

Legend at speeches

Listen to HM, just add the heluim……
    And you might not understand what he want to say too.

Some must feel empty after a pressie with him, did he say anything

Go Bokke

OK, 10 minutes till kick-off…. shuffle up, fill the drinks glasses, settle in.

I better fill my own glass too!

Besides Fransie is only playing vs Olivier, we have been hearing for nearly ten years what a crap player meisiekind is. Conceited

41mikeybrass wrote:

@ grootblousmile: The UK is on British Summer Time over the SA winter. BST is an hour behind. I came on at 3pm UK time thinking the rugby was about to start before realising what happened

Hello mikeybass what part of the UK you in at moment? Wherever I guess you were just being a plonker you should know that 15.00 GMT is always 17.00 SA time just because the clocks go forward to BST doesn’t mean GMT is any different Tounge-Out Only joking to be fair the change back and forward with the time is a bit of nuisance around the time of the change, always need to adjust the schedule this side, but it is really lekker to get longer hours in the ‘evenings’ to do things when it is sunny.

GO SPRINGBOKS!

After this game, Rugby-Talk still will have 1 more Live Game Article, Argentina vs Ireland at 20:40 SA Time!!

Just read that the Cheetahs are sending Naka overseas to get more experience (paid). Dobbo has to make his own way over, unpaid. Taste the difference.

78 @ grootblousmile: Howzit, GBS, made it back just in time for this match. Looking forward to it.

The World XV side takes to the pitch

OK now its time to enjoy the Game of Rugby. Lets see how the 2 coaches plan their game.

Big talking Mallet putting his reputation at risk against the man with all the structures in the world.
    ENJOY

85 @ Just For Kicks:
    Me too Kickers, me too!

Hallo almal. go Bokke!!!

24 @ superBul:
    Hi superBul, no man why would Mr Meyer lose support after one game, sounds like even the might All Blacks seemed a bit rusty today, who needs fair weather supporters

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online