South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (18) 47 / 13 (13) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and a World XV team did battle in the June Internationals at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Bakkies Botha (1), Bismarck du Plessis (2), Johan Goosen (1), Willie le Roux (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (2), Johan Goosen (2)

World XV:

• Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
  • Tries – Alistair Hargreaves (1)
  • Conversions – James O’Connor (1)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

World XV: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Drew Mitchell, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Matt Giteau (Captain), 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Roger Wilson, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Mamuka Gorgodze, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Juandré Kruger, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Sona Taumalolo
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Alexandre Lapandry, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 François Trinh-Duc, 23 Benson Stanley.

Date: Saturday 7 June
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-Off: 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 19 C, dropping to 11 C
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)
Timekeeper: Albert Mocke (South Africa)

485 Responses to June Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

Time to stop moaning like bitches and support our favourite side, the Springboks!

It might not be the side you would have selected (maybe 3 or 4 players would not have been your choice)… but it remains the South African national side!

Blou, Pommie time is 16:00 not 17:00 😛 BST now 😛

Apart from a few surprise selections, I expect some early Test Season rustiness by the Bokke.

I do not know WHAT to expect from the World XV side, but expect them to play wide to the wings and to run back ball with intent by the back 3.

Go Bokke Blixem hulle…

en moenie verloor nie Happy-Grin

Wonder if Hansens supporters would have done that if he lost to a weakened English team today?

No but they would do what we do question his picks. We don’t necessarily doubt HM,s ability. i just hate that he said this and that and then go on and do exactly what PdeV did. His PR skills might be more Westernized but his uttering s is just as weird.

Promising great feedback to players and saying he wont play players out of positions. OK because this does not have test status he might be forgiven the experimenting.

@ grootblousmile: everyone will be moaning inbetween a ball appearing at the base of a ruck -> going to put the kettle on -> Pienaar arriving at the ruck -> sugar into cup -> Pienaar looks around him -> water half boiled -> Pienaar stoops down -> water boiled -> hands on ball, motionless -> water poured -> Pienaar kicks -> back on couch before the ball lands aimlessly in opposition hands.

and thats with JDV at 12

Yep, would have been better with another center pairing, but we are stuck with those 2 today, not even a replacement to come on and save the mess

32 @ mikeybrass:
    Brassy, explain again??

The game is played on SA soil at 17:00 SA Time, 15:00 GMT.

Time to stop moaning like bitches and support our favourite side, the Springboks!

It might not be the side you would have selected (maybe 3 or 4 players would not have been your choice)… but it remains the South African national side!

Nooooo, Stormers first, that RC cup is much more important than these games, not even a real test and second rate NH sides touring, lol, like England this morning.
    Wink
    Ok, I just found out that the Stormers somehow can’t win the SR this year, so I will support just the Bokke.

@39
    Meant SR not RC
    RC doesn’t come close to SR, my mistake

@ grootblousmile: The UK is on British Summer Time over the SA winter. BST is an hour behind. I came on at 3pm UK time thinking the rugby was about to start before realising what happened 🙂

but I think he is experimenting with jpp, morne and pienaar. We have no idea how they will perform today.

LOL! Excellent comment GBS!

I admit I am pissed off that there is no replacement on the bench.

JP Pietersen plays at No 13 for his Japanese Club, and has recently stated he prefers playing at No 13 in stead of wing. More so, his move to No 13 might be a PERMANENT MOVE to No 13 as was widely reported this whole week.

OK, that takes care of supposedly playing one player out of supposed position… who else is played out of position??

Nobody… OK…

Well, that certainly lays that farktup argument to rest, now does’nt it!!

43 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Which one GB&I… I made several exceptional ones!

Delighted

Hellloooooooooooooo, by the way!

@ grootblousmile: One could bring up Coenie at tighthead 🙂 🙂

I don’t blame Meyer trying JP at 13 at test level. I’d have gone for JdJ personally but hey.

@46 – Hello daar! I meant the comment @ 31 – saw it and had to comment.

@45
    No it doesn’t actually, what he does in Japan is not really worth something here.
    He has been uber kak for the Sharks and has played wing all year, Frans has been 10 just about all year for them, now they are the center pairing?
    We actually did have centers playing SR, who did an ok job as well.

Yep, would have been better with another center pairing, but we are stuck with those 2 today, not even a replacement to come on and save the mess

Time for Vic to lose the beard. It’s looking more grey every year.

49 @ nortierd:
    Why are you worried about them, this isnt even a test match Wink

@ nortierd: 49
    @ mikeybrass:47

It was OK to kap Peter our previous esteemed coach but dammit guys leave GG to SA Rugby out.

@ superBul: I kinda liked PdV 🙂

49 @ nortierd:
    Why are you worried about them, this isnt even a test match

For shame, imagine if we lose this.
    We saw the bulk of our forwards are tired ( thanks Jake ) and if the opposition gets parity they lose.
    Their playmaker in the backline can’t get them to do anything worthwhile, he is rewarded with the 12 jersey.
    Habana should be appointed as photographer, he seems to only be in the picture when he takes selfies, after Wilko and the other p,ayers for Touloun actually win them the games.

I can’t believe that the side rated 2 in the world will lose against a side who got together 3 days ago, but I believe we could have gotten more out of this game.

You and I are on the same page here. The Boks do have centres sitting this one out – Serf, JJ and JDJ – three of those should have been starting. And they have the wrong Steyn starting at 10, as you say.

JPP is a wing as far as I’m concerned – a wing whose hands let him down at times.

@ mikeybrass:

In a comedic sort of way. 🙄

47 @ mikeybrass:
    I would have picked Juan de Jongh or S’Bura Sithole at No 13, but simply because I think JP Pietersen is hugely out of form this year, not because I think JP Pietersen is played out of position.

Similarly with Coenie die Boef, I think only loosehead prop suits him and not tighthead prop, but obviously Coenie die Boef thinks differently about it… and so too Heyneke.

The biggest problem I have with Heyneke’s selections is the selection of Ruan Pienaar, who I do not think should even be in the wider Bok training group. I understand Fourie du Preez is a bit short on recent game time and therefore understands that he starts from the bench and not as a starter.

@IAAS
    Serf and JdJ would have been quite exciting to watch

If we lose because the bulk of the forwards are tired, instead of criticizing Meyer for selecting them… I really hope this is a step closer to central contracting to be honest, Springbok rugby is no place to rest players.

This game was always going to be used to bring in the european players, I think thats where most of the “experimenting” lies.

Total 78 users including 0 member, 78 guests, 0 bot online