South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (18) 47 / 13 (13) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and a World XV team did battle in the June Internationals at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Bakkies Botha (1), Bismarck du Plessis (2), Johan Goosen (1), Willie le Roux (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (2), Johan Goosen (2)

World XV:

• Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
  • Tries – Alistair Hargreaves (1)
  • Conversions – James O’Connor (1)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

World XV: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Drew Mitchell, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Matt Giteau (Captain), 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Roger Wilson, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Mamuka Gorgodze, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Juandré Kruger, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Sona Taumalolo
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Alexandre Lapandry, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 François Trinh-Duc, 23 Benson Stanley.

Date: Saturday 7 June
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-Off: 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 19 C, dropping to 11 C
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)
Timekeeper: Albert Mocke (South Africa)

485 Responses to June Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

1 2 3 17

After seeing some of the comments on the NZ/Eng Thread………………………………………I’m going for The World 15 here.
    World XV …………………………24.
    Republic of Gougers………. 19.
    SA should have almost total dominance in the forward exchanges.
    Backline could be a different story. Awesome backline assembled for the World XV.
    Can they get enough ball ?
    and do they have the synchronism required at this level?
    I do hope so.

1 @ cane:
    Mmmm…you are easy to sway.

Guess you would have wanted the World XV side to win anyway.

The Springbok hate runs deep, I see, in the New Zealand supporters.

Groot.
    I read the “Debbie Smit 22 May 2007 at 10h00”.

As I said. A historical moment in the blogisphere.

3 @ cane:
    Yeah… historical…

Farking Debbie Smit!

Spit, spit, spit!

hate is a strong word Groot.
    Far to strong.
    If NZC, Nga Puhi and I felt that way, we would never post here. We Post here because deep down. VERY DEEP DOWN.
    VERY VERY DEEP DEEP DOWN.
    We have a certain respect for the humour of some of you. And the fact that your Team is actually quite good on occasions.
    We love Our Team with the same passion, that you love yours. We are more alike than we care to think.

What is with this World XV Game anyway?
    Is this to celebrate some special milestone/anniversary in SA’s Rugby history?

5 @ cane:
    The difference is that I did not want the Poms to win today, because I do not like England Rugby, owe Mud Island nothing historically and because I respect New Zealand Rugby.

The New Zealand AVERSION (if that is a better word than HATE) for the Springboks, is however strong.

It is strange though, as you say – as we are more alike than we care to think.

Let me put it this way, I would much rather come visit New Zealand if I had a strong notion to go overseas, rather than the USA or UK.

What I would like to go and see in Europe and the UK some time is “The Old World”…. the history of centuries upon centuries.

laaik die souties niks maar wales ireland en scotland is baie hoog op my laaiklys

8 @ smallies:
    Ek hou van Wallis, want Rugby is hulle nasionale sport.

5 @ cane:
    PS, Cane!

No need for FULLSTOPS anymore, I have already sorted out the Paragraph spacing on Rugby-Talk’s comments!

No where did I say you were not a fair and reasoned man groot.
    If anywhere I meet an Englishman I ask what Business he supports.
    i.e. Man U Inc, Spurs Inc, Liverpool Inc.
    If I meet an Aussie I must first deduce his home State before I can ask his Team.
    If meet a Safffa…………………………………”what band of cheating cut-throats do you support?

ooops I forgot the smilie.

Is there nothing you cannot do groot.

13 @ cane:
    Nothing I CAN’T do, Cane!

Oh wait, I cannot be a woman…

There are some things I WON’T do though, like washing dishes, doing laundry… ect.

Maybe I should dig my old toggs up and go play some rugga, to restore the Bokke pride against you okes… and fark you guys up good and solid, once and for all!

@ cane:

Haven’t got a clue, broer. Other than Nick Mallett getting another coaching opportunity. Would much rather have played Wales and Scotland twice each.

Doesn’t even have test status, lose lose for the Bokke this game.
    Having said that, would have loved to have seen this World XV backline run it on a nice hard field in the Highveldt than being subjected to the stormy weather in Cape Town. Reckon the weather is our saving grace today

The boks regards this as their toughest game in june, it might not have test match status, but it will be regarded as such.

It will be tough, can easily see us losing this game.
    The forwards we have are test quality, but the backs?

Well except for the centers the backline is what we expected? Morne Steyn was always going to play, everyone is unhappy about Ruan.

The thing though is how many south african backlines have really played “great attacking rugby” this year?

Willie and Morne will still play like last year with willie coming into flyhalf on attack, JPP played at 13 all year in Japan, his form has been woeful and he is lucky to be selected, but he is still only 27 years old and a deserved 50 cap springbok.

Fransie is the odd one out I am really worried about.

The thing is, no matter what backline we pick there will always be unhappiness, because so far this year no one has consistently set the world alight in my opinion.

My “unhappiness” stems from the fact that a blind man can see we have no, nada, zero, fokkoli intention of trying to run the ball.
    When McCenzie picked his Aussie side I said that they have an awesome backline, and it showed today, he picked with the intent to score tries.
    We went the opposite, Ruan and Morne will boot ball after ball and Frans can’t get anything going from 12, he is there to try and kick 50 m penalties, nothing else.
    So we might squeeze the life out of them with our forwards, get a line out maul try and some penalties, but that should be it, hopefully it will be enough

This has how we have played for 2 years now to some success, why would it suddenly change for one game?

our only weakness has been the all blacks and “So we might squeeze the life out of them with our forwards, get a line out maul try and some penalties, but that should be it, hopefully it will be enough” is likely the best chance we have, no one will beat them in a running game.

This game can only hurt the support of Heynecke Meyers after his weird choices.
    What the heck he tried to prove with this back line , heavens know.

The only winner out of this game can be Nick Mallet

This has how we have played for 2 years now to some success, why would it suddenly change for one game?

Not quite, last year we scored some great tries and still won most games

yes, if the boks lose a large portion of springbok supporters will turn against him unfortunately…

Wonder if Hansens supporters would have done that if he lost to a weakened English team today?

and thats with JDV at 12 😛

no one will beat them in a running game.

well i have a bit off hope after the Junior Boks beat the Young All Blacks.

I don’t think we can say even before the game is played that the core gameplan over the last 2 years will change and that we won’t score tries at all.

They absolutely destroyed them upfront, this is exactly what the boks try to do every game, tries will also follow from the pressure on set pieces like the baby boks yesterday.

1 2 3 17

Total 105 users including 0 member, 105 guests, 0 bot online