WaratahsLionsWaratahs (17) 41 / 13 (13) Lions (Final Score)

The Waratahs and Lions did battle in Super Rugby at

Allianz Stadium, Sydney at 08:05 SA Time (16:05 AEST, 06:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (2)
  • Tries – Bernard Foley (1), Kurtley Beale (1), Rob Horne (2), Adam Ashley-Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (5)

• Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (2)
  • Tries – Jaco Kriel (1)
  • Conversions – Marnitz Boshoff (1)

Waratahs

Lions

18 May at 08:05
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Matt Carraro, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Rob Horne, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis (captain), 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Will Skelton, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sekope Kepu, 19. Jacques Potgieter, 20. Stehen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Alofa Alofa, 23. Taqele Naiyaravoro
  • Team: 15. Chrysander Botha, 14. Deon van Rensburg, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Stefan Watermeyer, 11. JW Jonker, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Francois de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Martin Muller, 4. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk (FS) van der Merwe
  • Replacements: 16. Akker van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Rudi Mathee, 20. Warwick Tecklenburg, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Anthony Volmink

Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Andrew Lees (Australia)

191 Responses to Super Rugby: Waratahs vs Lions – Live Game Article

@ grootblousmile: Well, I’m very happy to have joined your band of rugga missfits GB, being one myself. The tone on Keo was starting to get out of hand a while back so I switched off and found something else to amuse me. But I did miss the old hands. Have to say. There are far-off guys like Coach Pete and Soda, with whom we traded regular and enjoyable banter and not limited to rugby. Ditto Pumes, Rob, Nama, Piet and others who I see are regulars here. Miss that stuff big time. Hope the US based guys eventually move over/find your “better alternative”. The community of like-minded, knowledgable folk is what I miss.

@ grootblousmile: That would be nice. Could not re-register via Tassies which is why its taken so long to come on board. Just gave up. Hence the C addendum.

@ grootblousmile: Well we share that view then. Read his book(twice) so feel I got to know him a tad. That selfish streak shone through IMHO. He tries hard to pretend it doesn’t but he can’t see what we see. Bringing Eddie on board for the ’07 RWC was a master-stroke. No Eddie. No WC I believe. So there’s no mistaking, Jake does know which buttons to press. He’s pressing Bismarck’s right now.

152 @ TASSIES C:
    If you guys have any E-Mail contact with Coach Pete and Soda Joe and those fellas, tell them to come join.

Always talked lekker with those okes.

OK, I am going to make your Nickname Changes… hang in there!

PS! you could always have just mailed me and I would have helped to sort a new Mail Addie or Login Password for you (My particulars are always available on the Righthand side of the Home Page – lower down in the Righthand Sidebar OR by clicking my name – Rudi Geldenhuys which appears at the bottom of every R-T Page).

PS 2! You will still have to Login in future with this new Username with the C at the back, but it will dsplay to the Fellas just as Tassies.

Gotta disappear for a late lunch braai washed down with a little Sauv. Beautiful day here in the Cape today which can’t be wasted. Took a ride on my bike out to Simonstown en terug at sun-up. It really is a pleasure to live here on days like this. Catch up later from the braai spot.

153 @ TASSIES C:
    Changes made, if you refresh now or Login again, you will see it is only Tassies.

@ grootblousmile: thanks bud. For the help. Some folks say I’m IT challenged.
    I have Pete’s mail address somewhere in archives. I’ll take a look.
    How about Carol. I’m sure she’s already on board. She’s likely to have both Pete’s and Soda’s. You could say; we were all buddies (on line).

What a totally inept performance from the Lions.

Close to propping up the log AGAIN, but I’m sure the management in Doornfontein will just carry on as before.

What’s that saying about insanity and doing the same old thing and expecting a different outcome? All seems rather apt (still) with my poor old Lions. Maybe it’s me that’s insane!

Crazy

Time for a sabbatical away from Rugby methinks.

Supporting the Lions just depresses me and leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.

To think that Kevin de Klerk has done squat in the 5 years he’s been President after the euphoria of newfound expectation.

All I can say (once again) is, IMHO South Africa does don’t deserve 5 teams in this competition, never mind 6.

Well done to the Cheetahs and Stormers. Inspired performances bought you both the points.

Lions, back to the drawing board?

TASSIES C wrote:

@ robzim: Howzit Rob. After a long absence from the blogsphere, you are privileged to be the recipient of my first post on this site.
    I note all the Keo OB’s have moved here. Good on GBS. Think Keo blew it.

Howzit Tassies,

I am indeed privileged… great to see you here. You will most certainly enjoy it here.

Like you, I also had a lekker bike ride this morning … fantastic weather as u said.

Also busy to braai at the moment… catch u some other time. Cheers.

@ Scrumdown: I think the problem with South African rugby lies with the coaching standards. We have very few top quality coaches who possess creativity and vision. We probably have three. White, Meyer and Mallett. The rest are good but not as good as our competitors. The three aforementioned can probably coach a team to beat any team. Provided of course they are not interfered with in the process.
    I think they have pretty much proved this. All three are difficult characters in their own peculiar way. Very strong personalities. But they have vision. And they can execute. I’m not a White fan. Mallett is generally considered arrogant. Meyer is most liked but stubborn. They do things their way. That’s the common thread. IMHO all three are rugby geniuses and simply born to be good. We simply don’t have enough of these guys.

@ robzim: Hey Rob. Enjoy that braai boet. Mine is ‘cooking’. Sitting here in the sun, wafts of that braai in the nostrils, is a very cool way to spend a sunday afternoon methinks. No?
    I look forward to many rugby discussions and music lessons(from you) in future years on this site. Don’t rightly know what took me so long.

@ Scrumdown: Hey Scrummie don’t disappear boet. Simply change your allegiance to a decent team. Stormers for example. Sharks if you’re desperate. Bulls if you’re……..well…….um
    But rugby is the best game on the planet so you can’t simply turn your back and go figure-skating.
    Besides, you’re going to miss the smell of the boerie

162 @ Tassies:
    It is understandable that it took you guys long to come over… you had your “pub” to frequent, with your mates there.. and one is often slow to change.

Maybe it’s because we Rugby-Talkers left Voldy, at the time that we did, in a huff because we were dissatisfied there, maybe it was perceptions which kept you away, maybe it was because you did not know where Rugby-Talk was heading and Rugby-Talk had to prove itself as a “stayer”.

Whatever, this is the new rugby home for many, a solidly growing entity, run well… with care and consideration!

Ask those who have come over, they have not been shunned, mistreated, but rather embraced with open arms.

We are rugby people, after all!

Seem to be enjoying my own company here, sitting in front of the braai drinking myself into comfort. Not complaining but it would be nice to spar with an alternate view.

Tassies wrote:

@ Scrumdown: I think the problem with South African rugby lies with the coaching standards. We have very few top quality coaches who possess creativity and vision. We probably have three. White, Meyer and Mallett. The rest are good but not as good as our competitors. The three aforementioned can probably coach a team to beat any team. Provided of course they are not interfered with in the process.
    I think they have pretty much proved this. All three are difficult characters in their own peculiar way. Very strong personalities. But they have vision. And they can execute. I’m not a White fan. Mallett is generally considered arrogant. Meyer is most liked but stubborn. They do things their way. That’s the common thread. IMHO all three are rugby geniuses and simply born to be good. We simply don’t have enough of these guys.

I would throw Brendan Venter into that mix as well.
    Not sure they will do well together though, too many alpha males.
    And let’s not forget the one coach who can get success with very limited resources, Jimmy Stonehouse, he who got all the Guppy fans on Keo in a tizz when it was suggested that he should take over from Plum, in the days long before Venter or White took over the coaching and John was still playing at Sarries.

163 @ Tassies:
    Scrumdown won’t leave… he just gets disgruntled from time to time, with SARU and the Lions.

163 @ Tassies:
    Scrumdown won’t leave… he just gets disgruntled from time to time, with SARU and the Lions.

Not even remotely as angry as we have been with Thelo, Wagner and Allistair.

168 @ nortierd:
    Now THAT is debatable… hahaha

@ grootblousmile: GB. You are right. I have no excuse. Old habits die hard. In the ‘old days’ we all got along. You, Pietman, I and multiple others(Puma etc). There was a respect if you know what I mean. Then you guys beetled off to start your own site. I certainly had no problem with that. None. But I enjoyed the banter on Keo until it became too political (and crude) for my liking. I’m no political whimp and can mix it with the best of them but it became ridiculous and downright insulting. I’m an english speaking South African who respects all decent South Africans and proud to do so. But when people stoop low to make their point by bringing race, language, sex into their argument then I’m outta that space. Which is why I’m here. and I’m very pleased I eventually found you-all.

@ nortierd: Nortie. So good to see you here mate. Yes, I absolutely agree. I forgot about Brendan. He sits will in that company although not yet proven at the highest level. I am certain he’d have achieve that were he given the opportunity. I’d call him a rugby genius certainly.
    I am looking forward to many debates about these and other issues in future.

170 @ Tassies:
    Rugby-Talk has changed my approach considerably… remembering how downright difficult I could be at times on Voldy.. but we also had fun there at times, for instance when we took over and all became “Janne” in sympathy with the Jan Player 23 campaign.

Some of the fighs there turned good folk into not so good folk, I suppose one only takes so much and then retaliation is the next option.

Here we have to stage fights, called “Fight Clubs” to get a good old fight, but then it is all in good fun. Some okes like Puma simply cannot insult, they are just not tuned like that.

Our Live Game Articles are stunning, think the best anywhere, our content is good and varied.

The trolls won’t be accepted here and won’t last here, simple as that.

@ grootblousmile: Good. We need a strong Lions union. Kevin De Klerk sits in the shadow of King Louis. Difficult act to follow I’d think. LL was a thug and a bully. But he got things done by hook or crook. Kevin has a mountain to climb but mountains are there to be climbed. ‘Looks’ at the Force.

Forgot to add, welcome here.
    Lekker site, we got Cane, NZin china and Pops logging on every so often, but after the Sharks win yesterday, the Kiwis are scarce.
    BrumbiesBoy props up the Aussie contingent, but after the Cheetahs yesterday, he is still in mourning.
    Then we have plenty of “kenners” who know their rugby……and lastly some Shark supporters like Puma, Sharks_Forever and Kaksioek.
    Wink

173 @ Tassies:
    Rugby works in cycles…

The Bulls have had their lows and highs… and current middle of the table status.
    The Stormers have done well and is currently in a slump.
    The Lions went from Powerhouse in about 2000 to a bloody battling shithouse in recent years.
    The Sharks were nowhere before 1990, then a brief bright light and recently a contender but not quite there… maybe this is their up cycle, till someone kicks them off the perch again.
    The Cheetahs are always a danger but lack serious money to make them continual world-beaters, so they will mostly float and have the odd blitz period.

The wheel turns and turns and the same happens in New Zealand and Aussie.

174 @ nortierd:
    You have to admire the Sharkies devotion to their side though, even if their support is a bit on the doff side, one-eyed and naiive… hahahaha

We’ll have Kakkers here shortly to vloek us!

@ grootblousmile: Well GB I am without doubt looking forward to ‘escaping’ onto this site of yours as a regular participant. The trolls you mention pissed me off big time. They couldn’t think, write, debate….zip. The insults flew thick and fast, mostly of a political, personal or vindictive slant. Ag it was just pure bile at times. At least here we can argue, support your team, but do it in a manner that’s respectful of others and enjoy the scrap. Like rugby should be enjoyed. We all like a scrap afterall. But do it right.

177 @ Tassies:
    Yeah, differ by all means, but have respect, I suppose that summs up Rugby-Talk.

@ grootblousmile: Ja I agree. But the Cheetahs for example, are much like the Chiefs. Allow me to explain myself. Bloem is a ‘small’ town. not massive in terms of commerce and industry. Neither is Hamilton. now you see where I’m going. The difference is the coaching quality i believe. Grey College can be likened to a breeding pen. They churn out quality rugby players like you and I change our underpants. More than any other. That should be a good start from which to work. Next step is to find and pay for a top quality coach(ing staff).

174 @ nortierd:
    You have to admire the Sharkies devotion to their side though, even if their support is a bit on the doff side, one-eyed and naiive… hahahaha
    We’ll have Kakkers here shortly to vloek us!

Those regulars on here, yes, but before yesterday’s victory their own supporters had the knives out for Jake and the team on the other sites like Rugby365.
    I guess we supporters, and I include all 5 franchises, are only human and a fickle bunch at the best of times.
    We are actually happy with a little, just show commitment and play the game, then win or lose, it’s ok.
    But when we lose playing the way we did, we Stormers got fed up.
    If you play boring, dour rugby and still lose, you might as well chance your arm, play positive and still lose

Total 27 users including 0 member, 27 guests, 0 bot online