StormersCheetahsStormers (15) 33 / 0 (0) Cheetahs (Final Score)

The DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs did battle in Super Rugby at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Kurt Coleman (2), Peter Grant (1)
  • Tries – Deon Fourie (1), Kobus van Wyk (1), Siya Kolisi (1), Sailosi Tagicakibau (1)
  • Conversions – Kurt Coleman (1), Peter Grant (1)

• Penalties – 0

DHL Stormers

Toyota Cheetahs

24 May at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger (Captain), 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Michael Rhodes, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Alistair Vermaak
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Siya Kolisi, 21. Dylon Frylinck, 22. Peter Grant, 23. ??
  • Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Rayno Benjamin, 11. Willie Le Roux, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Teboho Mohoje, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Jakobus Uys, 4. Willem Serfontein, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Maks Van Dyk, 19. Hilton Lobberts, 20. Carel Greeff, 21. Tian Meyer, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Gouws Prinsloo

Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

454 Responses to Super Rugby: DHL Stormers vs Toyota Cheetahs – Live Game Article

355 @ Tassies:
    No Windhoeks, in fact no alcohol at all yesterday.. even though it was my wife’s birthday… but have a look at my comments during the game… penalty this way, penalty that way, knock here, knock there…

It was a diabolical game… and the Cheetahs were listless and very kak yesterday.

I suppose the Stormers induced the Cheetahs to be that kak, and throttled them… but it was ugly rugby.

@ 342

Hi Puma …. like Tassies, i also met Skop in real life… found him to be introspective but a very good bloke..same strong opinions than he has on the blog but not so “explosive’ lol

Soda is one of the most balanced bloggers ever.. and he has an amazing knowledge of music… Coach Pete is also great… old surfer … his brother is actually one of the main surfing administrators in SA.. quite a legend actually.

I don’t have these blokes e mail’s so i cannot invite them here.

this site is just fine as u said .. nice to be on friendly terms with a few old “enemies” lol

343 @ Tassies:
    For sure Tassies that is how it is when you are on top. Then I reckon if we can beat a very good Saders side in Christchurch playing with 13 men we could be very hard to beat at the Tank….hahaha. Then again the pressure at home seems to be even tougher than on the road somehow, not sure why it just is. As you saw your Stormers go down to the Sharks in the semi of SR in 2012 and my team were dead on their feet after the travel as well. This week we might be dead beat as well after the travel and now with the Boks from today. Sharks were on the early flight at 6am yesterday out of Auckland and on the day flight from Sydney yesterday. Landed in Joburg around 4pm and back home in Durbs by 8pm. Today I thought they were going to rest but all the Shark Boks are back in training with the Boks as I read. So they must be tired.

If they landed in Durban at 8pm, how did you make it home so soon?
    Or are you still at the ticker tape parade and blogging from your ipad while Bissie is busy signing your left bum cheek and Jake the right?

359 @ Nama:

Howzit boet. Well done to your team last night. Have not watched the game yet have recorded was out. But to beat the Cheetahs and not allow them one point they must have been very good.

Will be a tough, tough game next week though… :mrgreen:

Compared to the magnificent derbies earlier in the day, it was a dour game, I agree.

But with 4 tries and a clean sheet by the Stormers, I won’t complain much.

@Nama 259
    Daar het ons dit nou
    Wil Fransie 12 speel of 15?

@ grootblousmile: nyet GB. Take another look boet. There were some fabulous inter-plays amongst the Stormers backs(in particular) and sweeping moves from one end of the park to the other coupled to some sublime handling skills. I (and others) had a good view of things so can vouch.
    Looks at the score board. 4 good tries to niks.

363 @ nortierd:

They landed at 8pm last night bru. Today the Sharks Boks were already in training with the Boks. They must be tired after that flight. The day flight back from Sydney let me tell feels never ending. It is a huge drag. At least they came back early.

I took my better half out to dinner last night so missed your game. Will watch it later.

those 4 tries happened in the space of 5 minutes, what about the other 60 mins of the ball open open play? 😛

365 @ Nama:
    Stormers have certainly improved and the 2 Sharks / Stormers games as well as the Bulls game at Newlands will put things in perspective, I suppose.

I am glad the 3 prime SA sides (Sharks, Bulls & Stormers) are getting into form, just in time for the International Test window.

@ Nama: where from Nama? Jeez, you guys watching the same game as me. Damn. Must be getting old!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Puma. It will be epic. If your team beat us you can add the Conference Cup to your trophy cabinet…togeth with the CC you already have. Seems as if the “Golden Era” has indeed arrive.

Just pulling your leg, to be honest, I started playing games on my phone in the second half, so I did not really watch.

those 4 tries happened in the space of 5 minutes, what about the other 60 mins of the ball open open play?

The other 60 minutes were spent setting up that 5 minutes blitz.
    It’s called tactical play

@ MacroBull: The first was a maul by the forwards early on. The other three later in the game, in broken play. Jis, I must be losing it. 😥

367 @ Tassies:

I think Gert has made a difference for your team Tassies. I am still to watch that game. Missed it last night as was out. Have it recorded.

Remember the Saders and Blues can run from anywhere on the park as well in good moves. None of those teams were allowed that space with the Sharks not even with 13 men against the Saders and 14 men for 20 min against the Blues. It will be a much harder game at the Tank I feel. Then we could be dead on our feet and the pressure of a home game could get to us who knows. Stormers seem to have woken up from the dead…. :mrgreen: If only they played like they are doing from the start. Bulls too are looking the business right now, they too are playing some very good rugby. They thrashed the Brumbies on Friday night.

Nama wrote:

Hi Puma. It will be epic. If your team beat us you can add the Conference Cup to your trophy cabinet…togeth with the CC you already have. Seems as if the “Golden Era” has indeed arrive.

We will still have more Conference Cup and Currie Cup titles than them at least.
    We will have 2 conference cups and zero SR titles to their 1 conference cup and zero SR titles

I lost interest in the game, when groom could throw the ball under the locks feet, but Shaun Venter gets blown up for it, There was no way the Cheetahs would have won, but Berry made sure they wont get any points at all. 😀

373 @ Nama:

One game at a time Nama. That how I look at it with my team. Have been let down too often before so take it one game and see from there. We were very good in NZ very proud of our boys down there. Just hope home pressure does not get to us as it can. Also hoping for no injuries.

@ MacroBull: You’re forgiven. Just sensitive after such a long rubbish season. Have to admit the Bulls were awesome on friday night. Is it Vic’s presence?

by 5 minutes i mean, 50 seconds here, 40 there, 1:30 her… not 5 minutes in succession.

379 @ MacroBull:
    Yip, it was a Berry, berry bad game!

HM sees him as a 12. Willie and Zane cover 15, so I think Fransie will have to play where the coach wants him to.

Maybe you were over exited by the tries that the team scored. Obviously conditions played a big role but it was not a very good game imo. The odd exiting moments were there but overall, not that great.

Okay gents I am out of here.

Good to catch up with all of you again. At night on RT nogal! Like old times…. :mrgreen:

Cheers everyone catch up during the week.

Okay outta here you guys. Tyd vir lees.
    Lekker week voorentoe.

😆 😆 😆

the bulls should really have put them away, the ol’ team would have put 60+ on the brumbies, there is just not any patience on attack and a lot of chances got blown, it screwed us overseas when we did not take those chances.

As much as I appreciate the win, the brumbies were absolutely woeful to be honest. Could lead to some complacency vs the Lions.

Big Vic, ou papa beer is back, with lewies called up for JDV, they might even use Vic as cover at center with the lines he is running.

Okay gents I am out of here.
    Good to catch up with all of you again. At night on RT nogal! Like old times….
    Cheers everyone catch up during the week.

Tassies wrote:

Okay outta here you guys. Tyd vir lees.
    Lekker week voorentoe.

Cheers guys

The most amazing thing that happened at the Stormers is that Deon is now suddenly throwing the ball in straight at the lineouts. Not sure if it’s because of his fright for Gert ( he has quite an intimidating “presence”) but something drastic must have happened as he could not get it right during the previous 4 years. As a result the Stormers’ lineouts are now suddenly functioning and it makes a huge difference.

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online