StormersCheetahsStormers (15) 33 / 0 (0) Cheetahs (Final Score)

The DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs did battle in Super Rugby at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Kurt Coleman (2), Peter Grant (1)
  • Tries – Deon Fourie (1), Kobus van Wyk (1), Siya Kolisi (1), Sailosi Tagicakibau (1)
  • Conversions – Kurt Coleman (1), Peter Grant (1)

• Penalties – 0

DHL Stormers

Toyota Cheetahs

24 May at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger (Captain), 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Michael Rhodes, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Alistair Vermaak
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Siya Kolisi, 21. Dylon Frylinck, 22. Peter Grant, 23. ??
  • Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Rayno Benjamin, 11. Willie Le Roux, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Teboho Mohoje, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Jakobus Uys, 4. Willem Serfontein, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Maks Van Dyk, 19. Hilton Lobberts, 20. Carel Greeff, 21. Tian Meyer, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Gouws Prinsloo

Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

454 Responses to Super Rugby: DHL Stormers vs Toyota Cheetahs – Live Game Article

327 @ nortierd:

Admit it Nortie you a Sharkie groupie 🙂 they on your mind the whole time…. Tounge-Out

@ nortierd: ja, well, no……I agree. What a screw up.

Tassies wrote:

@ nortierd: No-one enjoys being ‘nannied’ Nortie. Least of all me. Keo’s site simply attracted a lot of pricks who tried their best to spoil a good thing. I could deal with Skop(and I respect that he was different) but there were simply too many non-rugby side-shows(read: politics) on Keo to make it a pleasant past-time to frequent.

It’s even worse now that they are on SARugbymag
    In the beginning no one commented there, but now with the face book link they are garnering multiple hits, but it’s just people having a go at each other.
    Almost as bad as News24

I liked skop lol he did get carried away at times, but thats also just the way he is, and it was at times a show.

327 @ nortierd:
    Admit it Nortie you a Sharkie groupie they on your mind the whole time….

Lol

329 @ Tassies:
    Exactly Tassies. The reason I followed gbs and Pietman over here in 2009 already. I have blogged here since they started this site. Still blogged on keo as enjoyed some of the bloggers there but when the really low life came on there just came over here to blog. This is a great site and you will not see that sort of thing happen here. Plenty banter which I do enjoy. We also have all the kiwis that have come over as well.

Cane, NZINCHINA, Hurricane and Pops. Good to have them here as well.

too be honest for the first 2 months i didn’t take skop seriously i thought he was a parody by someone.

I liked skop lol he did get carried away at times, but thats also just the way he is, and it was at times a show.

I also miss Skop, and especially Bakkies
    I enjoyed Bakkies a lot, jeez that guy made me laugh out loud at times

@ 322

Lol… same with me… they tried to hide me at left fullback but i always rated myself as a striker.. with disastrous consequences for my own team….

Dugall McDonald was quite a player..sadly he only played a few test for the Boks … last time i heard he was into cross ocean rowing…..his brother played no 8 for Scotland too…

320 @ nortierd:
    The last thing I want, is to be a policeman… that is not why I created Rugby-Talk or why I put so much time into building the feet here.

What I do want though, is a homogenous rugby community, of likeminded people, who love rugby.

I see some names mentioned who are not here yet… well I certainly can’t and won’t solicit them to come over, it is up to you folks to invite them over.

Charo is registered on R-T, and over the weekend he inquired what his password was, so he should be here THIS week and the other folk will dribble in, as they see fit, I suppose.

Things are pretty good and normal here on R-T and the influx of you Voldy lot has not disturbed the balance or caused ripples here on R-T.

Because I am hands on, it will continue to be this way, of course.

338 @ nortierd:

Bakkies was crazy as a hoot though. I also enjoyed Skop, but sometimes he went a bit far. Though I think he just winded us up really.

The bloggers I miss the most is Sodajoe and Coachpete. Soda I think just gave up once all the real trouble makers come on there. Hope somehow he follows this site and joins up here. Soda used blog with us way back in 2007 and until around 2009 when all the trouble makers came along. Many good bloggers left there years back. Pity. Hope somehow they all join up here. We do have some good fun here with the banter but that is as far as it goes.

The Sharks are bound to attract the ‘tall poppy syndrome’. Its inevitable. They are performing, so every man and his donkey is going to find some reason to cut them down. Especially the SA media. Its in their culture to hunt down the negative and shun the positive. Having said that; my Stormpies are going to harvest that tree next saturday. Watch this space.

@Puma 342
    Soda used to pop in occasionally late nights.
    I do sometimes miss those very late night chats, and I know Nama misses it, he was a real night owl

@ robzim: thats right. And he was a kak soccer player like me. But we had fun. I was also a left back strangely enough.

Tassies wrote:

The Sharks are bound to attract the ‘tall poppy syndrome’. Its inevitable. They are performing, so every man and his donkey is going to find some reason to cut them down. Especially the SA media. Its in their culture to hunt down the negative and shun the positive. Having said that; my Stormpies are going to harvest that tree next saturday. Watch this space.

Jeez, going to be tough in Durban.
    I’m not sure we will have enough to beat them, even though they have to travel back from NZ, they showed over there what they are made of, and it’s some stern stuff

@ Puma: Absolutely right Pumes. I used to swop mails with Pete but somehow lost that folder when I changed to Mac. Real bugger. I mailed Carol the other day because I know she also communicated with those two but have yet to receive a response. Carol was very good at keeping everyone connected. we’ll see.

There also appears uncertaint @ Tassies:
    Going to be tough for you guys in Durban, key will be to take them up front, will need Malherbe.

Schalk has been the stormers catalyst.

344 @ nortierd:

Well there were quite a few of us night owls back then. Tassies, Sodajoe, Robzim, Carol, Gbs, Pietman, Pops, K9 and plenty others just forget now. But we had some good times back then.

@ nortierd: Ja Nortie, you’re right. But I was winding a few Sharkies up. That said, the stuff I witnessed last night could easily upset the Sharks. That was one of the best Stormers’ performances I’ve seen in many a year. Sublime stuff indeed. They are not going to be anybody’s pushovers. Sharkies included.

347 @ Tassies:

Carol said she mailed Coach and hopes he is still using that addie. So will see if they come over. I know Coach and Soda kept in touch as they used to say so way back then.

350 @ Tassies:
    I did not think the Stormers were good last night, in fact I thought it was a pretty dour game and that the Cheetahs were just bloody useless last night.

It was an uninspiring and error-ridden game.

@ MacroBull: Skalk was missing for half the game last night and JdV was drinking bloody marys’ in the stands. So it was entirely up to the youngsters and ouboet Vermeulen. And my how did they perform? I won’t be betting on a Stormers victory but they are going to be nobody’s pushovers come saturday. Trust me. sharks better bring their A game.

343 @ Tassies:

For sure Tassies that is how it is when you are on top. Then I reckon if we can beat a very good Saders side in Christchurch playing with 13 men we could be very hard to beat at the Tank….hahaha. Then again the pressure at home seems to be even tougher than on the road somehow, not sure why it just is. As you saw your Stormers go down to the Sharks in the semi of SR in 2012 and my team were dead on their feet after the travel as well. This week we might be dead beat as well after the travel and now with the Boks from today. Sharks were on the early flight at 6am yesterday out of Auckland and on the day flight from Sydney yesterday. Landed in Joburg around 4pm and back home in Durbs by 8pm. Today I thought they were going to rest but all the Shark Boks are back in training with the Boks as I read. So they must be tired.

@ grootblousmile: GB, seriously, you must slow down after your 12th Windhoek. You missed a good game boet. 😯

the Cheetahs are much much easier, any threat they could posed was nullified up front, guys like le Roux was passangers, it was brutal…

Not so easy vs the tjaaaaaarks.

Tassies wrote:

@ nortierd: Ja Nortie, you’re right. But I was winding a few Sharkies up. That said, the stuff I witnessed last night could easily upset the Sharks. That was one of the best Stormers’ performances I’ve seen in many a year. Sublime stuff indeed. They are not going to be anybody’s pushovers. Sharkies included.

Agree, won’t be a rout or runaway score, and tries will be hard to come by.
    Sharks have been really good defensively this year, especially in NZ.
    Stormers have been better on attack lately, so hopefully it’s a better match than the one in Durban last year between these 2 teams when the score was 0-0 at half time.

350 @ Tassies:
    I did not think the Stormers were good last night, in fact I thought it was a pretty dour game and that the Cheetahs were just bloody useless last night.
    It was an uninspiring and error-ridden game.

In those conditions, I thought it was a very good result, especially the 4 tries.

Jy vergeet skynbaar van die gesprek wat HM met Fransie gehad het in 2010, of daar rond tydens ‘n toets oorsee.

HM: “Francois, wanneer gaan jy weer vir die Bokke beskikbaar wees?”
    Franie: “Wanneer oom die afrigter is, Oom.”

HM het vir Fransie die binnesenter posisie belowe toe hy as afrigter aangestel is en as ‘n man van “integriteit” is dit waar HM hom gaan kies.

@ Puma: This is good. I missed that post of Carol’s. Still getting used to being back in the frame. I absolutely enjoyed the midnight banter with those folk. Ask Rob about that. He’s was a mega-contributor, especially on the music platform.

Total 65 users including 0 member, 65 guests, 0 bot online