The Sharks have made two changes to the starting lineup and a surprise bench.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has made as few changes as possible to the team that will face the Lions to the one that beat the Reds before the Sharks bye last weekend.The loss of Ryan Kankowski to an injured finger in the Reds’ game has necessitated a re-jig of the back row with Willem Alberts shifting to eighthman against his former side.

This means that Jean Deysel comes into the starting lineup with Man of the Match against the Reds, Jacques Botes, completing the loose-forward trio.The return of Johann Muller to the starting XV couldn’t come at a better time to boost depth at lock.

The front row of captain John Smit and Bismarck and Jannie du Plessis remains unchanged for the fourth week in a row.The Sharks have made no secret of the fact that semi-final qualification is their stated aim which means that each of the remaining five games in the pool stages are must-win matches and the Sharks need four-try bonus point wins and will aim to play attacking rugby.

Kick-off at 5.05pm SA time.

15 Patrick Lambie; 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche; 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 JP Pietersen;l 10 Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar; 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 John Smit (capt).

Replacements – Craig Burden, Tendai Mtawarira, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Alistair Hargreaves, Rory Kockott, Andries Strauss, Lwazi Mvovo.

74 Responses to Sharks team for lions clash

28 – Sharky, howzit brudda.

See Lambie has been selected for the u20’s squad. Really great to read that. Proud of that youngster being a Shark.

Where’s that friend of ours with the Holborsel for a Hairdo… Asbak.

I suppose he’s busy, busy, busy…. besig om te steek soos ‘n by!

Puma@25
    Will do, the contractor is out at Hermanus, already booked him.
    But a bit busy fixing my rubberduck right now, got it 2nd hand from ‘Robyduck’ in Paarden Island, bought one from the man himself, Rob Louw, funny guy, we had a long talk the other day about the 1981 AB tour (GBS will remember our discussion with Thys Burger in Stellenbosch about that,amazining the politics taht went on then, with Johan Claasen(the dopper proffie from Potch as team manager/coach and Abe Williams as bagasiemeester……:-)
    Btw, Rob says we lost against the Maories, Colin Beck’s drop kick didn’t go over, we drew 13-13, and we gave the Springbok head to Billy Bush 30 years later….
    All those inside stories are fascinating.)

Hello Sharky brudda!

Just saw the Billy Bush thread!
    Sorry, blogging from the cell, didn’t notice old Billy with the Springbok head earlier, coincidence!

33@ Pieta – Ons praat later, ek moet net gou ‘n stuk plastiek geld gaan optel by die Bank….. kaarte, kaarte, kaarte……

Tjorts GBS, ek gaat gou n power nap vat en dan dorp toe, praat later.

33 – Piet, Interesting that. I never saw that game so can not comment, but know for sure in the last test against the Boks, that was never a penalty against the Boks. Saw that game again the other day and it was never a penalty. So stand by what I said in 1981. That should have been a drawn series that.

Cheers Piet, out of here now. Back later.

Hello all. The Sharks have a decent side here,think it’ll be tough but too much fire power for the Lions with that forward pack..

Puma
    Yip, last test we were robbed 8 minutes into injury time, by that Welsh ref….he jumped with when Alan hewson kicked that penalty, as he blew the final whistle…
    I recall Ray Mordt scored a hat trick that day, and Danie Gerber ran them ragged, but still, at the end we lost, unfairly, no doubt.

Clive Norling (ref) jumped with joy, I meant…

Winston
    No worries, Sharks will take it, by at least 10 or so….
    Cheers, see you later too.

41@ Pietman – Ek wou HOM met ‘n meelbom gooi, flok!

14 – Piet, only saw your post now. Sorry about your wife losing all that amount in ice-cream at her shop. Not good this with the power starting to go off again. It has happened to us 4 times now in the past 2 months.

43 – Gbs..hehehe. I felt the same. Especially sitting up so early in the morning to watch. Think the game was on at 4.30am. Winter our time too. Lucky I was in Durban then, still had a blanket around me sitting watching on a black and white tv nogal too…….hahahaha. 1981 seems a long time back now but I remember that test very well.

Remember they showing the supporters outside the stadium being hit with pots and pans……hahaha. Shame we laugh now but really must have been tough. Also seeing our boys sleeping in the stadium on camp beds!! Well just pleased those days are gone.

I decided not to let Eksdom or the Municipality drive me to drink with these power cuts… I will drive there myself… and have someone drive me back!

Yeah,that game was a bit before my time but its a pity guys like Danie Gerber and Naas etc did not play more tests.

45@ Puma – Thys Burger, who was a Springbok on that tour, told us (Pietman, myself, Kwagga, Cuzzy, AB) all about that trip and how they had to get out of the Stadium through an escape hatch and not through the normal doors and stuff.

Thys went with us on a moooooosa epic train trip from Joburg to Newlands to go see the Bulls beat the Stormers in 2007…

Onto more problems in this country I drove to Menlyn today and the road works are a joke,I wonder how long its going to take to finish the road works up.

49@ Winnie – Oh, those roads are MUCH better already… hehehehe… you should have seen them a while ago!

49 – Winston, The road works all over Joburg is a JOKE!! Not sure if they will finish by the time the wc starts.

If you have to go anywhere from where I live in the morning you better leave before 6am. You might reach your destination in a half hour then. You leave 6.15am it will take you over a hour. Nonsense this traffic in Joburg. Road works everywhere causing havoc. Don’t even see workers on the site where the road works are, wonder if they have run out of money? Some road works have come to a stand still.

You have to take it with a laugh, otherwise it will drive you nuts…hehe. That is why I mostly work from home.

48 – Gbs, Must have been interesting listening from him about that tour. One of the worst tours for our Boks that flour bomb tour…hahaha. We laugh now, but it must have been scary for them.

After being to 6 employment agencies I finally have another interview on Monday so hold thumbs Puma 🙂

53 – Winston, something will come up. Good luck.

Jisjis, howzit?
    Winston, don’t worry, you have the papers now, if you don’t get into some big money job soon, move overseas bru, you are still young and you Saffa CA okes are in demand over there, ask my friend Idan Movsovitcz, manager at KPMG in South Korea. Don’t get stuck over here in SA.
    Wish I were in your shoes, I would be a millionaire in a jiffy….

Winston
    Or get in touch with Bananaboy in Amsterdam, you two being CA’s and both Sharkies and all, he has been there for almost 16 years now, working in the oil industry, just call upon us RT’s, we can do anything……!

55 – Piet, Agree there, Winston is young very well educated if he does not get anything in Joburg. Should go over to London, Amsterdam he will find something over there in no time. Even Australia the States too.

Though he should find something for now in Joburg, but my advice is not to get stuck here if you are young, go travel and work overseas.

Puma
    Of course bro, I would be long gone if I had his qualies.
    Not to mention age…

58 – Piet, It is Winston’s age, if I was him I would be looking in London first then Holland. They pay well there and also maybe look in Australia and the USA.

For now though he will find something in Joburg to keep him going.

How you doing in the Cape Piet? You settled now? Do you miss Korea?

I am up in Joburg but will be back in Umhlanga in June, then in September going over to Europe for a bit.

Pietman & Puma – Julle 2 flokken gekrokte ou ballies moenie ons jongmense uit die land verdryf nie, daar is nog baie geleenthede vir gemotiveerde mense met ambisie hier… al is hulle simpel genoeg om Sharks ondersteuners te wees!

Total 17 users including 0 member, 17 guests, 0 bot online