The Sharks have made two changes to the starting lineup and a surprise bench.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has made as few changes as possible to the team that will face the Lions to the one that beat the Reds before the Sharks bye last weekend.The loss of Ryan Kankowski to an injured finger in the Reds’ game has necessitated a re-jig of the back row with Willem Alberts shifting to eighthman against his former side.

This means that Jean Deysel comes into the starting lineup with Man of the Match against the Reds, Jacques Botes, completing the loose-forward trio.The return of Johann Muller to the starting XV couldn’t come at a better time to boost depth at lock.

The front row of captain John Smit and Bismarck and Jannie du Plessis remains unchanged for the fourth week in a row.The Sharks have made no secret of the fact that semi-final qualification is their stated aim which means that each of the remaining five games in the pool stages are must-win matches and the Sharks need four-try bonus point wins and will aim to play attacking rugby.

Kick-off at 5.05pm SA time.

15 Patrick Lambie; 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche; 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 JP Pietersen;l 10 Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar; 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 John Smit (capt).

Replacements – Craig Burden, Tendai Mtawarira, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Alistair Hargreaves, Rory Kockott, Andries Strauss, Lwazi Mvovo.

74 Responses to Sharks team for lions clash

consistency in selection is what will keep the sharks on the right track

I work from the point of view that a team will need 43 points to qualify for a semi-final berth. The Sharks with 16 points and only 25 points on offer will need a lot of help from many friends. If they have the friends. Five full houses on 5 consecutive weekends is also highly unlikely. For them it is time for the beach.

Tjarkie, wake up my friend… the Sharks Team has already been put up on the Super 14 – Teams for Week 10 thread….

PS! I hope your team is not as slow as you on Saturday afternoon!

Hehehehe

Almost afternoon Sharky,

How goes?

I’m feeling a little bit nervous about our Sharks’ this weekend.

Especially when I remind myself of the Lions/Streamers game.

Wasn’t the run away victory everyone predicted.

Sharks will be in yet another up hill battle.

Another white-knuckle-edge-of-seat game awaits us.

I was a bit nervous when i made my bru picks just now, but reading the team sheet and that it is the same as last week am a lot happier.

Shocking to say but our forwards are stronger without Kanko.

uhm dag rudi ,, some of us actually work for a living 😆

and i also write an article not just post names :P:

hiyas fires great and you mate ??

no local game is easy , as we all know

6@ Tjarkie – We had a power outage from 03:00 yesterday till this morning at 02:00, nearly 24 hours solid.

Apparently some farkers stole some cable and some sub-station burnt as a result… well that’s the bullshit we’re being fed. Personally I think some of these farking striking Municipal workers flipped the switch to off for Brakpan…. before and / or after enjoying the toyi-toyi…

Farking dooses!

I borrowed a generator yesterday at about 14:00 from a client, came back to my office and made a semi-permanent pluggable connection to my office Electrical DB Box…. and had all my lights, plugs, microwave, bar fridge and mods and cons in the office working properly, with suitable UPS’s to stabilize the power properly as well… so at least I managed to work from about 15:00 onwards.

It is now imperative for me to invest into a proper Moooooooosa Inverter and a bunch of Deep-charge batteries…. something which can keep my office going for 48 hours straight!

yup rudi i already have a generator

dont trust these fuckers 1 bit

I’ve just watched the best thing since Jonah Lomu on that @lantic 7’s show on SS1.

Tygervalley destroying DF Mallan 64 – 0 7’s. I saw one Craig Pfeifer, SA 100m sprint champ built like Lomu. Any franchise with brains would get a fat checque signed and ready with a contract to get that kid.

At least we are consistent in selection.

Pleased that Lambie is playing too.

Would like to see Mvovo get a chance sometime.

7 – GBS, We had no power for about 3 hours today. This is now the 4th time it has happened in two months.

Gets me mad too. Hope after the world cup we don’t go back to that power shedding nonsense.

Helloooooo all!
    Almost game time again, see you there, have to do my Superbru picks quickly…

12 – Howzit Piet, Have you got your adsl yet?

Puma
    We were off from 6am to 12pm on Sunday, had to drive to Cape Town for breakfast, lunch and dinner…..when we got back all the ice-cream in Pampoen’s shop had melted, R1600 worth in sy moer!
    Hard to explain to her how these things happen in the good old R of SA, having lived in a first world country all her life, not to mention the shoplifting and hordes asking for jobs at the shop, pretty embarrassing….

No Puma, not yet, Telkom cable problems at my stand out here in the bundu, will go for satelite instead now…

Saw a replay of Natal/Tvl Currie Cup final the other night, with Kobus Wiese, Gary, Wahl, Steve Etherton and the boys, great stuff!

15 – Piet, Pity as it is much cheaper.

16 – Piet, I never watched it but that must have been the CC where Natal beat Tvl? Tvl now Lions were very good then.

Hello Piet Verdriet en Oerwoudkat!

Afternoon Chaps…

Puma, you have a Brumail!!

Oh yes, Sharks by 15 !!! (Sorry to any of my Lions friends) !!

Puma
    Yes , Natal won, Craig Jamieson lifted the cup.
    Andre Joubert motm, his cousin Joost Joubert and DickM were the centers that day, against Jeremy and Hennie le Roux, Jeremy moved to Natal the next season, good centre that, JeremyT.

Btw, satelite cheaper, about R2000 vs R3500 (Telkom cable), and there is no waiting

Hello GBS, hoessit daar….
    Gaan vanaand aan die pool championships deelneem, 11 jaar laas gespeel, bietjie my ou Joe Davis-stok afstof en die plaaslike vissermannetjies op hulle moer speel 🙂
    Ek het vandag bietjie myself afgeboek, twee dae lank winkel opgepas, terwyl Pampoen rondloop innie Kaap met haar Koreanse tjommies.

22@ Pieta – Stof hom af en stof hulle uit Pieta…

21 – Piet, What I meant, I never watched the replay recently, but yes, I did watch it at the time. Very good game.

21 – Piet, Then get cracking, get the Satelite then you will be able to blog more.

20 – Hello Blue Bird, will go check.

Did you not ream my earlier post? Why you running cross country? That is even worse for your knees. Stick to walking or the gym.. 😉

26 – ream = read

dag pietman broer ^5

hiyas brudda puma ^5

Puma
    Watching that replay, I once again realised that Andre Joubert is right up there with legends such as Serge Blanco, HO de Villiers, Christian Cullen….who else was in that league, maybe Percy?

29 – Piet, for sure, Joubert was our best FB ever. Now if Frans Steyn stayed think he could have been.

Just watch out for Lambie though. Think he is going to be a great, if left there by the Sharks. Really great under the high ball.

Total 13 users including 0 member, 13 guests, 0 bot online