Toyota CheetahsDHL StormersCheetahs (7) 10 / 20 (7) Stormers (Final Score)

The Toyota Cheetahs and DHL Stormers did battle in Super Rugby 2016 at

Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein at 17:10 SA Time (15:10 GMT).

This was the live match discussion Article.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 & M-Net on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Fred Zeilinga (1)
  • Tries – Francois Venter (1)
  • Conversions – Fred Zeilinga (1)

• Penalties – Kurt Coleman (2)
  • Tries – Leolin Zas (1), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (1)
  • Conversions – Robert du Preez (1), Kurt Coleman (1)

Toyota Cheetahs
DHL Stormers
5 March at 17:10 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter (Captain), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais
  • Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Boom Prinsloo, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Niel Marais
  • Team: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Juan de Jongh (Co-captain), 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oliver Kebble
  • Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Frans Malherbe (Co-captain), 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones

Assistant Referees: Rodney Bonaparte (South Africa), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

151 Responses to Super Rugby 2016: Toyota Cheetahs vs DHL Stormers – Live Game Article

I’m fine Nortie just pretty busy. Had an athletics meeting yesterday that lasted till 16H00 Then came back home to freshen up for the Cansa Relay that started at 18H00. Walked through the night and came home at 06H30 this morning.

Was also very glad when I heard that we’ve won. Thought we would lose against the Cheetahs but win against the Bulls and the Japs AWAY in our group. So, yesterday’s win is a bonus in my book.

200 definitely on the cards.

Nice innings by the captain, Faf.

79 from 41.

Last ball hit for a six to take SA to 204/7.

@ Nama:
    I thought we would win, 10 points was higher than I expected.
    I got so die more in after getting the Lions and Force games wrong I reckoned I had nothing to lose and changed my Bulls pick to the Rebels, thought I was picking shit in any case I could be wrong about that one as well 😆
    Cost me many places though.
    If those Rebels had taken those two early try scoring chances, who knows?

@ Nama:
    You think we can take the Guppies next week?

What a catch by Kagiso to get rid of Smith

Watson also gone…once Warner departs it will be plain sailing

Rabada what a catch buddy…fokken unbelievable that was…The Convicts looking rattled big-time hoping to chase down 200 plus…

nortie wrote:

Watson also gone…once Warner departs it will be plain sailing

Forgot about Maxwell too

At Newlands…absolutely.

My view is this:
    6 games in our group: 5/6 now that we’ve beaten the Cheetahs away.

5 games against Aus teams (3 at Newlands and 2 away against the Force and Rebels): 3/5 (one defeat at Newlands against either the Tahs or Brumbies and one win on tour)

4 games against the other SA group: 2/4…losses against the Lions and Jaquars (away) but wins against the Sharks and the Kings at Newlands.

That’s at least 10 wins out of 15… throw in some BP’s and we should be good for a place in the play off. Of course, I can still be wrong and we win couple more. Approve

Aus taking charge here.

PS: What a catch by KR!

Both Maxwell and Warner going at a SR of 200% currently.

Middle-order batsmen are Australia’s weakness I think…great openers and finishers generally.Maxwell and Warner still moving along nicely now,maybe doing just enough for Faulkner to come and do his thing at the end…

@ Nama:
    Currently we should beat them at Newlands…reckon we will lose to the Brumbies, and depending on whether the Waratahs start picking up form, we might struggle against them as well.
    We should beat the Force and Rabble away.
    Also think we will come short in Argentina, but think most sides will come short there, depending on how many injuries the Jaguares pick up during the season.
    Lions on current form should beat us in Joburg, but we should get within 7.
    We need to get try scoring bonus points against the Sunwolves and Kings, no excuses not to.
    Cheetahs at Newlands haven’t been a problem, and again a win at Loftus will go down very nicely.
    I have no doubt that we could qualify, not the hardest group and a nice draw….the problem isn’t getting into the playoffs, it’s not losing as soon as we get there as usual

Wiese is really trying for man of the match for the Aussies

Unbelievable skill from Maxwell….the modern day batsman is something to behold

Another twist in the tail…great knock from Maxwell and awesome partnership with Warner

Wow, 1 needed off the last over and Radaba gets Warner with the 1st ball

136 @ nortie:
    11 not 1 needed

Follows up the wicket with 2 wides though

What a game, Aus win off the last ball.
    Excellent entertainment

Had some problems my side with the internet connection.

Agree on all your points wrt Stormers’ season and how it should pan out.

What a game of T20 cricket. We just could not handle the pressure well enough in the end.

No balls, wides, fumbles in the field, bad throw (when a run out was on the card) etc in the last 4 overs cost us the game.

Not just supporters and Stormers critics who believe that Stormers under performed, despite their win. The coach, and captain, believe likewise.

“Overall we were not happy with our performance,” said Fleck.

“As good as we were last week, we not as accurate as we should have been.

“Credit must be given to the Cheetahs – they got under our skin for the first 60 minutes, but we are pleased with the end result and pleased with the last 20 minutes.”

Fleck was particularly disappointed that his pack could not assert their dominance on the game like they did against the Bulls last week.

“Our pack didn’t play as well as it should have. They played really well against the Bulls, but were slow to react today.

“Our first-half set piece was not good enough and credit to Lood [Lodewyk de Jager] and the Cheetahs.

“Too much loose ball was being thrown around and our line-out did not operate the way it should have. There was a fair contest in the scrums in the first half and again credit to the Cheetahs for that. In the second half we just felt the ascendancy was coming our way and it was just a matter of having patience and we did not have that in that first 60 minutes.

“It was a frustrating performance. We were not accurate and credit to the Cheetahs for getting between us and forcing us to make those errors.”

Stormers co-captain Juan de Jongh said the backline was not up to scratch either.

“Our back play had a lot of mistakes, but those are things we can rectify when we play the next game,” said de Jongh

“The guys did well to grind out the win because it was a tough day at the office for us. We had a lot of ball and we just could not capitalise and finish off those opportunities. There are still things we need to work on for the Sharks game.”

We almost had the complete game/performance i.e. 200 plus on the board,Australia 3 down for less than 35 runs on the board…and than Wiese(guaranteed giving away nearly 15 runs per over)blew it for us.Tahir has his kak moments with the full tosses,but like I said before on here he’s confidence bowler and if his confidence is “in sy moer in” then we roasted spinner wise.Morris with his bowling wides bullshit and missed run-out,thinks it’s all a big joke(excuse my anger).

Duminy is beyond help and people like him for his catches,but seriously how long are the Proteas going to carry this man?Yes he is not doing anything in the side for me other than get out cheaply or causing someone else getting run out.Amla is the decoy we need opposite QdK in our opening partnership,cause he’ll be the perfect foil for the aggressive nature de Kock brings.AB can bat at 3.Bring Kyle Abbott in and drop Wiese,cause we have a batting all-rounder in Morris.Dale comes back from a long injury and still produces the goods at 32.

Morris has to sort out his bowling cause you not an all-rounder if you so kak.Along with Wise they went for nearly a 100 runs in 8 overs.Behardien ad Duminy accounted for 14 runs collectively from 17 balls and that’s where our batting problem lies.We’ve got match winners in Amla,AB,Faf,Qdk,Miller,Morris,Steyn and Tahir,so why carry the dead-weight any longer???

Anyway congrats Australia,hard luck Proteas…

@ provincefan:
    I feel you. Very frustrating to watch the boys making the same mistakes over and over again.

imo
    Proteas’ best XI for the T20 WC (in batting order):

H Amla
    Q de Kock
    F du Plessis
    AB de Villiers
    JP Duminy
    D Miller
    D Wiese
    K Rabada
    K Abbott
    D Steyn
    I Tahir

@ Angostura:
    Hi Angostura.

Looking at the team playing yesterday, I still cannot for the life of me, understand why Behardien is anywhere near the Proteas team or squad.
    All you have to do, is swap him for Amla, jiggle the batting order a bit and I think we’ll be damn near unbeatable in most situations. This would also prevent any “quota” issues.

I like your team, but I tend to favour a slightly more batter heavy lineup, so I’d probably try find place for Morris. But who to leave out of your lineup, would present a difficult decision.

I hope the Proteas finally come good at a World Cup.

@Nama

Hello buddy…all good?

Yeah we go in circles sometimes,but some guys has been going in circles quite alot lately,starting in India and are being kept in the side based on their past reputation or that dreaded word I’m hate using…

We simply can’t have “bits and pieces” type players,cause you’ll never win major tournaments like that.We can score big and we can chase big scores i.e. above 250(at one point some were saying that we couldn’t anymore),but then we lose because we have pork pie-chuckers as bowlers that “glimlag” at their own kak efforts.

I noticed too on cricinfo.com how windgat some Aussie comments have been today(assuming they are from Aussies themselves,but I could be wrong),considering that they’ve lost 5 T20’s in a row prior to this victory and our boys have won 8 in a row prior to this defeat by comparison,and yet the comments reckon they thrashed us in Joburg and how they always knew that they would.Now they kamstig WORLD BEATERS ready for India…Sad though how some people just never change now don’t they…

Anyway,there is an interesting conversation on Rugby365 about whether Fleckie should change his frontrow against the Guppies this weekend,considering how we only became better in our first 2 games because of the bench. What do you make of that?Apparently they reckon Kebble is not doing his bit and is a bit of a luigat and that Koch’s mind is somewhere else i.e Europe.I’m no expert,but what makes for a good scrummager.Is it the bind that’s a problem that causes Kebble to collapse or is the short-arm/long-arm pull by his opposite that makes him angling in(illegal scrummaging)?Is it how low or high the ref sets the scrum?The thing is that most teams now start playing with their so-called ‘weaker’ players and then play the game changers of the benchThe rule being that both players should be more or less on an equal footing to even be selected in the team in the first place,do why are our frontrow starters so bad just now?And like you said before that Koch is not a bad scrummager and that he’ll regain his form,but is his mind in Europe??What will Fleckie do I wonder?Leave things the way it is,assuming we’ve built-up momentum at the time and then bring the bench on the ram home the advantage?Or does he changed things so Koch and Kebble don’t get stomped by Beast and Coenie?Beast obviously got the better of Koch last time out in Durbs…

I wonder too if our loose trio will get changed for the Guppies game?Burger at 8,Kolisi at 7 and Carr at 6,dropping Notshe perhaps?Or will Fleckie leave things as is it?What would be the best way in dealing with the du Preez twins and monster-man Marcell Coetzee especially if the game is a tight-lose arm-wrestle?Like to know what you think Nama?Will the game get decided by how the forwards go?

A few spelling & grammar mistakes and subsequent corrections sorry…

*I instead of I’m…
    *they are from Aussies should be they are Aussies…
    *or is the should be or is it the…
    *of the bench should be off the bench…
    *do why are our frontrow should be so why are our front-row…
    *the ram home the advantage should be to ram home the advantage…
    *leave things as is it should be leave things as it is…

To much in a hurry when writing these days and using a small screen cellphone when typing/posting it…

@ provincefan:
    Don’t worry Puma…

Smile

Total 107 users including 0 member, 107 guests, 0 bot online