bowie_aladin_sane_1000px20140109-bowie-x306-1389299416

DAVID BOWIE (David Robert Jones)

8 January 1947 – 10 January 2016

Music Icon of the last 40 years, David Bowie passed away unexpectedly on Sunday evening at his home in New York, after an 18 month battle with liver cancer.

Bowie will be remembered as an artist who shaped the musical thinking of a generation, and who unashamedly did things the way he wanted.

On this, the 1st “Pub Night” of 2016, please feel free to post your tributes to David in the form of his music, as well as that of those he collaborated with and influenced.

From humble working class beginnings in London’s Brixton district, to the heady heights of Super Star status, David Bowie remained a workaholic dedicated to his music, releasing his last album, Blackstar on his 69th birthday just 2 days before his death.

Bowie either directly or indirectly influenced decades of would be musicians and that influence on members of genres such as the Punk Rock and New Romantic is without question.

Enjoy the evening, and make it a celebration of Bowie’s life and music.

90 Responses to Pub Night – 1st One for 2016, and Tribute to David Bowie

I joined much later, after some asshole on Keo told me I couldn’t, or shouldn’t I cant remember which.

I don’t like to be told where I can and can’t blog lol.

29 @ Foreignerforbokcoach:

Bwahahahahaha. You had me going you old thing…..bwahahaha. How you bud? You still in PTA or back in that beautiful city Cape Town?

Here is a collaboration, just shows how versatile the man was, lovely:

@ Foreignerforbokcoach:

Good choice. I was also going to post it – there is another one with Bowie himself on vocals.

31 @ Foreignerforbokcoach:

And I am totally with you on a Foreinger for Bok Coach. Its about time. I heard that Plumtree has applied. Hope more kiwi coaches do as well. Please not AC he is a terrific chap but won not much for Stormers and we will play the same brand Meyer had us playing. We need new ideas from a kiwi to get us going.

Now need to dash. Keep well SB. And all the best to your team next year as well.

Will try to catch up later if I can. Good to catch up again. Been a very long time. Before I go and will look in later. Where is Rye and Charo?

Now out of here. Cheers.

32 @ Puma:
    You should be a detective Puma you worked this out quickly, knew who FFBC is but didn’t want to spoil it Overjoy

Cheers Puma. Enjoy the evening. All well thanks.

All good thanks mate. I was back in the Mother City over the festive season with the family, still feels like home, but now its back in Pta for the year. Kids start school tomorrow, so we are back with a bang.

How you and the knees doing?

@ Foreignerforbokcoach:
    Hi there FFBC great song just shows you can spend a long time going through all the music he was involved in.

Talking about all the rain here, need to go out and try fix the gutters before it gets dark and while it is dry out there, also few more chores to get through and on to work tonight, will try pop in a times before then.

Yes the more I go through the more I find. A true legend.

China Girl – for some reason I think of a certain oke and a ladyboy.

@ Foreignerforbokcoach: Haha – who said you can’t blog here – think I know who?

@ IAAS:

He he well you now that Sir David wasn’t one to discriminate…..

You know I am not sure who it was, but there were 2 or 3 who were going on about it. The usual suspects…..

@ IAAS:

@ 26

That is a great song…one of his best imo … all about a news-guy proclaiming Armageddon and how Ziggy and others react to the news ( one person licking ice cream while another threw up at the sight of a policeman who kissed the feet of a priest 🙂 There is some serious angst in that song as is in a lot of his other work.

For me Ziggy and Lets Dance were his 2 greatest albums.

Ziggy Stardust was one his first and still one of his greatest – you can’t say it defined him because he kept on changing. Speaking of Changes;

@ IAAS:

Great performance… the woman who plays bass and does backing vocals is also exceptional.

Schizophrenia and suicide ran in his family. He was deeply disturbed by his brother’s death. And was worried about it affecting him. Hence:

Alladin Sane = A lad insane

There was a constant message in what he did.

@ IAAS:

@ 48

That is very interesting… some people say there is a link between madness and genius… maybe creativity and madness too ?

i read somewhere that he also said he never was truly a bisexual but rather a “closet heterosexual” .

Somebody posted the original version of “Heroes” previously.. I love this acoustic version of that song where he plays for handicapped children. Truly stunning version imo.

All the young dudes – Bowie on vocals

Howzit guys.

I am doing the parenting thingy at my daughter’s new high school so will only be able to join in after 21h00.

Hope some of you are still around at that time.

Enjoy. There are decades of music to explore.

In the words of Major Tom “planet earth is blue and there’s nothing I can do” .

There will always be stories – such as he and Jagger shared more than just a stage together.

@ IAAS: @ 52 an oops

55 @ IAAS:
    I have also heard that Freddy Mercury possibly picked up HIV from a young German lad at a rather loose and wild party at David’s Berlin apartment.

They were wild times.

Uncomfortably numb – when I heard the news.

@ IAAS:
    Anything with David Gilmour in gets my vote.

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online