bowie_aladin_sane_1000px20140109-bowie-x306-1389299416

DAVID BOWIE (David Robert Jones)

8 January 1947 – 10 January 2016

Music Icon of the last 40 years, David Bowie passed away unexpectedly on Sunday evening at his home in New York, after an 18 month battle with liver cancer.

Bowie will be remembered as an artist who shaped the musical thinking of a generation, and who unashamedly did things the way he wanted.

On this, the 1st “Pub Night” of 2016, please feel free to post your tributes to David in the form of his music, as well as that of those he collaborated with and influenced.

From humble working class beginnings in London’s Brixton district, to the heady heights of Super Star status, David Bowie remained a workaholic dedicated to his music, releasing his last album, Blackstar on his 69th birthday just 2 days before his death.

Bowie either directly or indirectly influenced decades of would be musicians and that influence on members of genres such as the Punk Rock and New Romantic is without question.

Enjoy the evening, and make it a celebration of Bowie’s life and music.

90 Responses to Pub Night – 1st One for 2016, and Tribute to David Bowie

Apologies the promised thread is up so early.

I have a hectic afternoon planned and was worried I wouldn’t get the article up if I left it for this afternoon.

Enjoy it chaps.

Hopefully I can join you later.

Goodbye Legend.

▶ 4:08

Jul 18, 2015 – Uploaded

Not getting last one to play.

Okay none is playing here. Will have to copy and paste only on youtube.

Jan 5, 2011 – Uploaded by FlyingDoctor1988

None of mine is playing not sure why not either. Maybe GBS or someone can sort it out for me. Tried youtube it does not play either. Used to here.

I’m sure it also doesn’t work from the Mobi site.

Unfortunately I’m on a WAN at the moment that doesn’t allow any access to Youtube.

Hopefully when I get home my ADSL line will be up and running.

All songs play on my computer just not here. I could always copy and paste on youtube here so have no clue. Maybe someone can help me out and put up my songs I want. Might be busy tonight so just wanted some of Bowie’s songs that I enjoyed up.

Here they are: Lets Dance

Lets be Heros for one day

Dancing in the streets with Mick Jagger

Ashes to Ashes

There are many more but those will do for now if someone can put them up for me. Somehow mine just not playing for some reason. Not on youtube either as it used here. Thanks as I might be going out tonight. But wanted to contribute to this Legened on this Pub Night with some of his songs.

All the youtube links are working fine.

possibly Puma’s browser does not support HTML5.

11 @ Scrumdown:

Well they will just have to click on the youtube that comes up then can watch it straight from what I posted. But years before I just played from here. Not sure if GBS has blocked it now have no clue.

See no typos on pc now….. Happy-Grin

13 @ MacroPolo:

Howzit Marco,

How you boet? Hope well. And all the best for the New Year.

It always supported it before so have no clue why not now. Always posted on Pub Night here long before you guys joined up on this site. So have no clue why its not showing up now at all. I understand the Vevo ones as I remember now GBS saying don’t use that it wont come up here only use youtube as he had access for us to play it here and not Vevo. So totally for got that to use only youtube. Still does not show but if you just click on the youtube that comes up when you click on the red arrow it will come up.

Another two songs I enjoyed as I was at Live Aid concert in 1985 in London so brings back special memories.

Is: Rebel Rebel and Under Pressure with Queen with Bowie and Annie Lennox.

So there are my songs if someone can put them up. Mine no matter what I do wont come up now as it used to very easy before a few years back.

Now have to dash. If I have time and anyone posting on this Pub Night will join much later as we going out.

Cheers all.

1 @ Scrumdown:
    Good one Scrumdown thanks for putting this thread up will be nice to post a few of David Bowies songs and hopefully catch up a bit with some of the other bloggers.

7 @ Puma:
    Hi Puma some great songs you have posted, they seem to work ok on my computer and also can see them on mobile. You must really have enjoyed the concert that Live Aid must have been huge.

Not one of his most well known songs, but a classic piece of music.

There is a huge catalogue to chose from when it comes to David Bowie from 26 albums. He must have been such a busy person with appearances in many movies as well. It was amazing seeing the footage of all the people gathering in his honour in various places, especially in Brixton where they sang Star Man.

Evening all, Happy New Year to everyone.

My favourite Bowie song is one that he never ctually sang on, but wrote. Here he is signing on it anyway, at the Freddie Mercury tribute concert:

19 @ IAAS:
    Hi IAAS nice one thanks, first time have heard this song, enjoying the guitar grooves.

18 @ Bullscot:

Howzit Bully,

I can’t open mine for some reason. Thought it was my niece who comes here when my daughter is staying here that had so much junk on my pc had to delete so much off. I hardly use it now mostly my iPad. However, I make too many typos there this is far easier for me to blog on or work that I don’t do much of any longer. So just about don’t use it. Anyhow deleted all the junk off and mine still wont open. I can open it on my iPad for some reason and can open all of your stuff and Robzim plus Tassies the other night. Now can open IAAS video just mine can’t open it up. But if you fella’s can open it then all cool bud.

How you doing in that great place Scotland I am going to stay in for a few months as well? Its still freezing over there I hear. Here we had a great cool day for a change.

We going out a bit later so probably wont be able to contribute to Pub Night tonight. So tried to put up some now. Mine are up and like I said if you fella’s can open it up and see it all cool.

Quite a sad one:

21 @ Foreignerforbokcoach:

Can open yours as well. You must be a new blogger here not sure as I have not blogged here for a very long time. If so welcome. I was one of the very first to start blogging with gbs and all when he opened up his own site in 2009.

Now you know what the Spiders from Mars look like. One of his lesser known songs off the Ziggy Stardust album.

25 @ Puma:

To be accurate I started blogging a month after he started his site in 2009 as we all blogged together on keo and could not find gbs or Piet where they had gone too until Sharkslover gave me the site address. So think Carol, Sharkslover and Boerboel and Piet and a few others all blogged here a month before I finally found them and joined.

23 @ Puma:
    Hi Puma saw that you put the idea forward of this one thanks. Sorry haven’t responded much not been around same time as you here much of the time but did read the other day you and JFK chatting, that is great that you have put some anchors down here and sure you will enjoy your visits, there is so much beautiful scenery up there were your property is, a particular favourite of mine is the trip along Loch Ness to Drumnadrochit then through Fort Augustus and on to Skye, if you haven’t done it you should really give it a try on one of those long summer days, maybe even plan for a road trip of a few days so you can take it all in casually. But pretty much any direction you head in from Inverness is good, lovely sandy beaches towards Lossiemouth in fact that area is dubbed the ‘Scottish Riviera’ and can often be fine there with rain in many other parts of the country in southerly winds. A little distance south you can head down Speyside with lots of distilleries around, then also cross the Kessock Bridge onto Black Isle, within short distances around Black Isle I find the scenery varies quite a lot. Ag man there is so much for you to see and do there you will enjoy it.
    Going ok here thanks just in a very wet time with lots of areas flooded many roads in our Shire till not open some more than a week after the floods started, it is getting colder as well we had a little snow on Thursday night and Friday was a nice calm icy day but at the moment unfortunately no snow on the ground to look at here from the window, hopefully we will get some this week. Just love the snow it seems to make the cold worth it.

Thanks for the welcome, but it’s me Stormersboy. I just changed my nic to reflect my thoughts on the proposed Bok coach 🙂

26 @ IAAS:

Great one. Enjoyed that.

How you IAAS? Hope well bud and all the best for 2016.

With that I am out of here. We going out shortly and have a few things to do. Might catch up later if I can if not I have contributed a bit to the tribute Pub Night for the Legend Bowie.

Cheers everyone.

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online