South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (12) 18 / 20 (7) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in a Semifinal at the 2015 Rugby World Cup at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 17:00 SA Time (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT, Sunday 04:00 NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (5), Pat Lambie (1)

• Penalties – Dan Carter (1)
  • Drop Goals – Dan Carter (1)
  • Tries – Jerome Kaino (1), Beauden Barrett (1)
  • Conversions – Dan Carter (2)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
24 October at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (Captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein
  • Team: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Sonny Bill Williams

Expected weather: Rain expected (3mm), which affects Twickenham as it does not have a closed roof, with a high of 14°C, dropping to 4°C.
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Johnny Lacey (Ireland)

535 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: SEMIFINAL – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

Quickest player to 8 ODI hundreds.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    What an innings indeed!
    Great knock. Hope he’ll stay there until deep into our innings. This is still only the 23rd over being bowled.

I think he is too tired, 37 degrees! This is a furious foundation laid for ABDV

Nothing to do with saying I told you so, but some are just to blind to want to see.

If you think we deserve to be in a WC final over NZ then good for you, I believe a team who has only lost 3 games in 4 years deserve the spot over a side who lost to Wales, Ireland, AB’s, Aus, Arg and Japan in the space of 12 months.

Meyer got his team and players he wanted, including bringing back those who had retired.

He was found wanting and shown up as not good enough for an international coach

I still cant believe there were people calling for Faf’s head, because he designed the t20 clothes or some other silly reason.

@ Nama:

> “In 9 toetse wat hy hierdie jaar begin het, het die Bokke 4 gewen en 5 verloor.”

The question is whether Pollard is the main reason for this rather unimpressive record? Surely it takes a team effort to be that bad?;-) But if we focus on 10’s role, in particular, then one should at least mention e.g. Schalk, who played in the first receiver position about as often as Pollard. And if one asks why Schalk did this, in turn, one gets back to Meyer: presumably Schalk did what Meyer wanted him to do.

Anyway, here’s my current theory of what went wrong with the team in general and Pollard in particular. Up until that test at Ellis Park last year, the Boks were slowly starting to play a smarter, more attacking type of game that suited Pollard’s strengths well. Then they went on the end-of-year tour, lost right away, and drew the wrong conclusion: far as I could see, they lost the first game largely because they were over-confident after beating NZ and tired after a long season, but Meyer & co seem to have concluded that they lost because they had moved away from supposedly “traditional Bok strengths”. The more they returned to these supposed strenghts, the less players like Pollard (or e.g. Willie) fitted into the game plan.

The biggest problem, maybe, is the very idea of “traditional Bok strenghts”, to which especially Afrikaans coaches seem to resort whenever they have their backs against the wall. I have no idea where it comes from: far as I recall, the teams of the 1980s, for example, were packed with attack-minded players like Danie Gerber and Carel Dup. Anyway, hopefully yesterday’s result proved that defence, alone, does not necessarily win you world cups.

474 @ Nama:
    Hi Nama, congrats on the CC win.

Reckon Australia will take it and then Arg to beat us in the 3rd/4th place next week

@ MacroPolo:
    Yeah, that may work against him but if he can stay in and stay hydrated, he may just have a chance to score 200 today the way he is batting.

I think one of the most disappointing aspects of yesterdays game was the times we got advantage, and gave such silly kicks to nowhere, because we are going to get the penalty anyway… instead of using the advantage to attack. FDP and Pollard just kicked the ball for hail mary kicks, they didnt even try to give chasers a chance.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    Yeah, that may work against him but if he can stay in and stay hydrated, he may just have a chance to score 200 today the way he is batting.

I wonder why we always struggle to make big scores in those conditions, ab, kallis, gibbs… they all started cramping, whenever they were seeing the ball like a basketball in some crucial games on the sub continent in the past.

Really hope Q can get to 150 though.

Lekker Faf!

Well played Quinton, have a nice break, job well done.

@ Vrystaat:
    I like your theory. Makes sense.

Mine is that we concentrated too much on a win against the AB last year. From the beginning of the season last year all that was said was that we MUST win the AB to (1) break the stranglehold they had over us and (2) put our players in a better psychological space in the lead up to yesterday’s clash.

Once you made a single game your primary goal for the season/year, you’ll always run into trouble after achieving that goal as was evident from our results on the EOYT.

Thanks Nortie.

You’re still in the pound seat on the RWC bru. Would’nt it be something if two “glass half empty moaners” like us win the two competitions? Wink

@ MacroPolo:
    Daai drie ouens is aldrie bekend daarvoor dat hulle ‘n lekker dop vat. Miskien is hulle nog babbelas as hulle die volgende dag in daat hitte moet gaan kolf. Wink

@ MacroPolo:

> “Im also upset with the lord if he does not bless us with a win”

My grandfather used to tell this Boer War story about an old warrior who, before the start of a battle where they were badly outnumbered, made a prayer in which he acknowledged that the British soldiers were also Christians, but then pointed out to the Lord that if He did not take sides that day, the Boers were in for a very bad and very unfair hiding;-)

492 @ Nama:
    Ha ha, chalk one up for the “realists”

“The 200 comes up and AB says, ‘look, i’m here'”. 😆

surely AB will get out now… or else this will be scary.

@ MacroPolo:
    200 in the 29th over!

This can get really ugly.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    200 in the 29th over!
    This can get really ugly.

I think with the new rules, doubling after 30 overs wont be so easy anymore.

@ MacroPolo:
    If AB can stay in for a lengthy period, anything is possible.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    If AB can stay in for a lengthy period, anything is possible.

if AB can stay there for 15 overs we will get 420+

@ MacroPolo:
    Jip.

My thinking as well.

The indians look terrified of AB, its like they are only hoping that he gets himself out… the Aura of this guy is ridiculous.

@ MacroPolo:
    Dhoni now trying to “buy” his wicket, it seems.

Interesting tactic. It’s either AB going into his shell because he does not want to go out to part timers, he gets caught on the boundary trying to launch one out of the park or he destroy these bowlers.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    His bowlers have no helped him much today, he is saving his best bowler Harbhajan for the last ten overs.

Alright then Bhaji bowling now 😆

Thank You for your kind words Puma.
    It’s always good to see you “pop up” from time to time. 😎

Not a great Test Match, but a very close one.

Yes BullyJock, Our starting Locks played the whole game.
    We had no specialty cover on the bench.

Victor Vito would have gone on should an injury have occurred.

300 up in the 41st over.

AB looking in ominous form.

Total 23 users including 0 member, 23 guests, 0 bot online