South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (13) 25 / 37 (27) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in Round 3 of The Rugby Championship at

Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban at 17:05 SA Time (12:05 ARG Time, 15:05 GMT, Sunday 01:05 AEST, Sunday 03:05 NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (2)
  • Tries – Lood de Jager (1), Willie le Roux (1), Bryan Habana (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Juan Martín Hernández (1), Marcelo Bosch (1)
  • Drop Goals – Marcelo Bosch (1)
  • Tries – Marcelo Bosch (1), Juan Imhoff (3)
  • Conversions – Juan Martín Hernández (4)

South African Springboks
Argentinian Pumas
8 August at 17:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel, 13 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo
  • Team: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti Pagadizabal, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
  • Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Matías Díaz, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Martín Landajo, 2 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant Referees: JP Doyle (England), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

352 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

Too late, she cried…!

TMO interferes… he wants to see the grounding.

Try Stands

Check die Parra nou weer?

Pumas 37 / 25 Springboks

Last lineout, Pumas ball

consolation try for Habana. Its all over guys. Pathetic.

@ Vrystaat:
    Ons balbesit was swak ou maat, Jesse en Damian glad nie in spel gewees.

Game Over.

Final Score: Argentinan Pumas (27) 37 / 25 (13) South African Springboks

Nouja, laat ons hoor wat se HM…

And the HM era ends in ignominy … 🙁

Well done, Argentina – well deserved victory, welcome to the big boys club

En van nou af gaan dit net makliker en makliker raak vir Arg om teen die Bokke te wen.

Net nog ‘n bokrekord daarmee heen.

Bonus point win for the Pumas!

Springboks end stone last in The Rugby Championship!

Afraid one can’t believe a word Meyer says in future. Don’t think he has a clue what he’s doing. It started with his strange subs strategy in just about every game since the EOYT. Why did he sub Bismark for Strauss in this game? Strauss is totally off form or was it my imagination? Last week he was absolutely kak when he came on. I’m sorry but I simply don’t understand what Meyer is trying to do anymore.

Pumas deserved the win!

Let me make THAT clear first…

But man, this French farking refereeing box of a farker… he needs to be investigated… he likes the Bokke nothing!

Yes, sub strategy wtf?

Jean is de moer in…

Imagine that 1965 Argentina team’s celebrations tonight – the aguardiente is going to FLOW!

Malherbe…gone
    Koch…gone
    Heinke…gone
    Brussouw…gone?

We were completely outplayed at the breakdown today, dominated and just two weeks ago we had advantage over the all blacks (I would have been curious to see the result of Arg playing the all blacks today).

Brussouw got destroyed as well.

“We didn’t do the jersey proud today”, Jean says.

Strauss has beeen way off form, guess he needs a bit of game time, bissies handling was poor today.

Think it was a mistake to break up the Allende/Kriel partnership, just when they started to click. Having said that, that’s not where we lost the game… problem started in the pack. Hate to say it, but Jannie was sorely missed. Will take Koch some time to get his head out of his behind. 6-8 combination did not work either. Let’s pray Vermeulen, Louw, & Willem make miraculous comebacks. Pienaar & Pollard … better to remain silent, or I’ll curse like a sailor.

Pumas deserved the win!
    Let me make THAT clear first…
    But man, this French farking refereeing box of a farker… he needs to be investigated… he likes the Bokke nothing!

Yep, we will be called bitter and whingers for calling it out… to make it clear we did not deserve a win today, but we were never really given a fighting chance.

@ Vrystaat:
    Well said Stater…innie kol opsomming.

Dismal by the Boks. Awesome Pumas, and don’t blame the ref.
    This team, with this coach, and the SA mindset with the franchises not working with Bok management (read pathetic fitness levels) simply cannot cut the mustard. Probably, no, it is, the worst year and a half of rugby I can remember in my short life – Both Boks and Super Rugby.

Vrystaat wrote:

Think it was a mistake to break up the Allende/Kriel partnership, just when they started to click. Having said that, that’s not where we lost the game… problem started in the pack. Hate to say it, but Jannie was sorely missed. Will take Koch some time to get his head out of his behind. 6-8 combination did not work either. Let’s pray Vermeulen, Louw, & Willem make miraculous comebacks. Pienaar & Pollard … better to remain silent, or I’ll curse like a sailor.

Yep, Alberts and Vermeulen is crucial, goes the verocity with which those argies were making cleanouts at ruck time will have our players battered and bruised.

Just For Kicks wrote:

Dismal by the Boks. Awesome Pumas, and don’t blame the ref.
    This team, with this coach, and the SA mindset with the franchises not working with Bok management (read pathetic fitness levels) simply cannot cut the mustard. Probably, no, it is, the worst year and a half of rugby I can remember in my short life – Both Boks and Super Rugby.

I agree with you apart from the fitness, that had nothing to do with it.

Bring back Peter De Villiers.

@ MacroPolo:Not in this game, but the fitness levels of the Boks compared to previous opponents has been shown wanting. This cannot be blamed at the door of the Ostrich. It should have been considered at Franchise level, and we know that the Ostrich asked for it. Just shows a lack of will to work together and just fok voort with their own agendas. Its not how your country plans for a WC

Maybe the whole farking Bokke squad and all management went pub crawling this whole week… because this is the only explanation I have!

267 @ robzim:Have to agree

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online