Cell C SharksDHL StormersSharks (13) 34 / 12 (9) Stormers (Final Score)

The Cell C Sharks and DHL Stormers did battle in Super Rugby at

Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban at 19:10 SA Time (17:10 GMT).

• Penalties – Lionel Cronje (1)
  • Tries – Lionel Cronje (1), Stefan Ungerer (1), Bismarck du Plessis (1), Lwazi Mvovo (1), Odwa Ndungane (1)
  • Conversions – Lionel Cronje (2), Fred Zeilinga (1)

• Penalties – Kurt Coleman (4)

Cell C Sharks
DHL Stormers
13 June at 19:10 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 AndrĂ© Esterhuizen, 11 S’bura Sithole, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Lubabalo ‘Giant’ Mtyanda, 20 Khaya Majola, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Heimar Williams
  • Team: 15 Robert du Preez, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr (Captain), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Oli Kebble
  • Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Seabelo Senatla, 23 Kobus van Wyk

Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Referees: Quinton Immelman, Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker

244 Responses to Super Rugby: Cell C Sharks vs DHL Stormers – Live Game Article

The Stormers season is slowly winding down. No reason however why we can’t beat 2 Aussie teams. One at home and the next away. The Waratahs only clicked in the 2nd half against a woeful Reds.
    A win against a NZ team away is just not going to happen.
    But the Stormers have performed better than some of the illustrious pundits on this site would give them credit for. 🙄

@ 209
    That is why I plan my visits to Cape Town in summer. I much prefer the Highveld winters.

yesterday I watched the Hurricanes top the Chiefs. That was a high quality game for the rugby aficionado. Then later came the Kings Park crap. Say no more.

@ IAAS: We were handed a hiding by the Brumbies last time they visited(we can beat them however). We beat the Tahs in Sydney but they subsequently ‘upped’ their game as you point out. Don’t see us doing it again(away) if we make it that far. I’m by nature, a glass half full type of person. But times ain’t normal and the realist starts to poke his head above the parapet.
    We simply don’t have the half-backs.

@ 213
    I was hoping for some of the youngsters to shine. But in a one-off game with 14 changes, it was a big ask. At least some got a taste of Super rugby and the pace of the game.

@ IAAS: And when I emigrated to your neck of the woods for a spell, I did the same for the same reasons. Highveld weather is the best on the planet. As for the rest, you can have my share.

Agree on the halfbacks. Our biggest weakness. The only way to do it is to take it one game at a time.
    The Stormers will be up for it, big time.

@ IAAS: Yes. I thank Alastair for that. Was keenly looking forward to last nights game. Was a little disappointed though. Not because we lost. I was anticipating that. What really depressed, was the quality and JP’s performance. He’s either turned chicken or he’s saving himself for the WC. Either way, he should be put out to pasture and stuff off, get married or something useful.

@ IAAS: Groom and Schreuder are okay by SA standards but not okay by S15 standards. Katchakilis and Coleman bring half a game each to the party. But not the full load of talent(each). A Pollard or a Lambie would be nice. That would do the trick I think. There’s talk of Goosen but I’m not yet sold on him. Too immature and up-and-down.

I’m not too concerned about the size of our back three(like many others are). As long as they have the speed and skills, they do the job and then some. Even our midfield are up with the best in my opinion. The bugger remains with the two link men behind the scrum.

When HM announces his 31 man squad for the WC, there are going to be some real disappointed faces out there.
    What I didn’t know until recently, of the 31, 9 must be in the front row. Then do you take 4 locks and 5 loose forwards OR 3 locks and 6 loose forwards (one of whom can cover lock)?

So the breakdown will be 18 forwards and 13 backs.

@ 219. There’s much talk on Goosen. I would rather have him than not have him.

Looks like he has fallen out with his French coach as well and won’t feature much at his club. Especially with Dan Carter joining them.

@ IAAS: I didn’t either but it makes sense. The short fat boys take huge strain and the extra cover is warranted. If I were coach, I’d go for 4 locks and 5 loose forwards. I think Meyer’s 4 locks are going to be PSdT, Etsebeth, Matfield & Flippie/Bekker. Two No 4’s and two No 5’s. The 5 loosies should be(but might not be) Skalla, Coetzee, Vermeulen, Flo and Whiteley. Mohoje(spel), Kollisi and Carr are not quite at the same level but will probably need to be picked for political reasons. That will cost us our WC chances. I believe that. Nama will probably disagree, which I respect is his right.

@ IAAS: what bothers me is; we are scratching the bottom of the barrel in such a key position. Goosen has an extremely poor record injury-wise. Now he’s added attitude to this already suspect record. Not a good sign. Hell, if we could attract Jantjies to the Cape again that would be a win.

We’ll just have to wait and see how things pan out over the next few weeks.
    I saw an interview a few weeks ago wherein Gert Smal said that was busy with agents. We will just have to be patient for the official announcements.

@ MacroPolo:
    “Are you implying any other sa team did any better? Your brilliant stormers team ended 7th best”

So, you agree that the Stormers did better than the Bulls.

Not that we are overly proud of effectively ending up in 7th place but being in the play off by virtue of winning the conference. But at least we are still in with a 1/6 chance to win the competition. Can’t say the same for the Bulls.

Ten minste het jy nou genoeg tyd om jou kar ordentlik skoon te maak…of die gras te sny…of jou cherry mall toe te vat terwyl ons rugby kyk. Wink

Actually, the Stormers ended up in 6th place effectively according to my calculations. So, they would’ve gone through to the play offs in any event.

Nama wrote:

Do we really want this fool to dictate how SA teams should play seeing how the Bulls did in this years’ SR playing HIS type of game?

Good day, Nama
    Congrats with Stormers winning the SA conference & consequently qualifying for the playoffs.

Perhaps it will be helpful to understand and accept your criticism of HM if you can indicate to the readers of this blog in which (non-foolish) respects (other than scoring less tries per match than most other teams) the Stormers game plan is distinguishable from that of the claimed (fool inspired) game plan of the Bokke, the Bulls & the Junior Bokkies?

On whose (non-foolish) game plan should the Bok, SA franchises & Junior Bokkies’ game plans be modeled, & how soon should that new game plan be implemented?

Nama wrote:

Actually, the Stormers ended up in 6th place effectively according to my calculations. So, they would’ve gone through to the play offs in any event.

Nope, calculate again

228 @ Angostura:
    At no stage did I suggest that the Stormers’ game plan is the way to go. I’ve been critical of their game plan for quite a few years now. You should know that.

Stormers and Crusaders both end up on 45 points. Stormers have one more win than the Saders and therefor ends up in 6th with the Saders in 7th position.

The Stormers game-plan is almost forced on them due to the absence of a high quality No 10. We’ve enjoyed defensive No 10’s, goal-kicking No 10’s, tactical kicking No 10’s but it has been a very long time since we enjoyed the services of an attack-minded No 10 who has the vision to mix up the play and keep the opposition guessing.
    I suppose, in a way, the Boks have only very recently secured the services of two No 10’s who play like world-class No 10’s should. Meyer should play to their strengths as opposed to ‘domkrag’ 10-man rugby, which is what we have come to anticipate since PdV passed the baton.

@ 230 Nama

Saders – 46, Stormers 45

You have not replied to this:

“On whose (non-foolish) game plan should the Bok, SA franchises & Junior Bokkies’ game plans be modeled, & how soon should that new game plan be implemented?”

Also, kindly tell us who should IYO be our Bok coach (to implement & execute that new game plan) post RWC2015.

Thx

“On whose (non-foolish) game plan should the Bok, SA franchises & Junior Bokkies’ game plans be modeled, & how soon should that new game plan be implemented?”

A game plan where players are allowed to express themselves, show creativity, play the situation instead of playing like programmed robots. Meyer has extended the danger zone from the goal line to the 10m line. Players are programmed to kick the ball (up and under or line kicks) when we are in that danger zone even if the situation sometimes lend itself to a ball in hand approach with an overlap in the offing. Now, of course there are exceptions like Hougies try against the AB last year but generally speaking, that is the Meyer way. I’m in no way suggesting that we should play helter skelter rugby.

The Cheetahs yesterday, and the Lions throughout the season, showed that we can play a more exciting, attacking brand of rugby. What we need is a balanced approach between the conservative, boring (skop-en-jaag/hardloop hom in sy moer in) Meyer-game plan and the more exciting kind of game that the Cheetahs dished up yesterday. We have the players, it is just that we should change our mindset.

I will look no further than Gert Smal. When he won the CC with WP, we played exciting rugby. Gert also has the pedigree as a RWC gold medal winner and he did well with Ireland while he was there as forward coach. Not too sure how SARU feels about him though.

233 @ Nama:

Thank you, Nama

What I glean from you is a game plan resplendent in skillful, creative players displaying their full array of exciting ball in hand talents when they HAVE THE BALL … (sounds good, as did the Sharks’ much publicised plan of playing exciting, ball-in-hand rugby in SR2015 – with disastrous consequences; talking an attractive, winning game plan is easy, but actually executing it is an entirely different challenge).

I doubt that anyone will disagree with you that we need a more balanced approach & a change in mindset. But I also doubt that we presently have the players (at the highest levels) to outdo, say, NZ at their game of complete rugby. IMO a change in mindset is not enough – the accompanying SKILLS to play the complete game are also required, and that should be taught & inculcated from an early age. It cannot be adopted & successfully implemented overnight at the highest levels.

Also, you give HM no credit for having progressed (somewhat) from his & JW’s game plan. After some poor selections, he did move in the right direction at #8, #6, #15, & #10 with accompanying improved results.

234 @ Angostura:
    Man Ango,

How I enjoyed these last few comments of yours!!

It’s as if you were speaking with my mind and typing with your fingers.

You were curteous but deliberate, clear but firm, sensible but gentle…

Of course you are more subtle than me and gentle in challenging other views… and even have the decency to thank bloggers for their input, however skewed it is. I find it extremely difficult dealing with ignorence, insulence and blinkered views and in some Bloggers cases with their pure bias against certain players and coaches and / or their unadulterated lack of brain capacity. I can learn from your milder approach… I really can!

You know your rugby, strategy and game… and you make sense!!

I mean that as a cincere compliment.

As you point out, sometimes it is great to read through well thought out and constructive discussions.

May I add well done to the Stormers on winning the conference. Irrespective of the skewed system that elevated you to a distorted log position go and make SA Rugby proud.

@ Angostura: Vermeulen, Schalk/Coetzee, Willie & Pollard. Absolutely right. But he refused to budge on Brussouw it must be noted. And we do have the players. They simply need to be given the license to play a more expansive style, hone the skills and grow accustomed to it. It happened with Willie and the team thrived off Willie’s improvised play-making. He was like a second pivot. Very difficult to defend as we saw and we scored tons of tries when it worked for a while. Then came the end-of-year tour and disaster.
    But IT CAN BE DONE. Even by our Boks.

@ Scrumdown: thanks our front-row friend. We have to acknowledge that your team made us proud too and gave plenty of enjoyment. Even us Stormers appreciate good entertainment.

And GB, please note this little MacBook has been working hard all day without going near a power-cable to juice up the 3 year old engine. Almost eight hours now but 12% remaining and will be protesting for nag-slaap shortly. Which is my way of saying: “I’m involuntarily outta here shortly”.

and speaking of skills, some of our forwards(Jannie & Beast for example) might not match the Kiwi ball skills but others do. Notably Kitshoff and Malherbe. Skarra is not too shabby with the ball in his paw either. The Cheetahs showed some deft of hand moves yesterday which was quite mesmerising at times. Its a culture our coaches need to foster.

Total 130 users including 0 member, 130 guests, 0 bot online