Lappies Labuschagne

Lappies Labuschagne will be out of action for at least a month and will undergo surgery on his larynx on Thursday to repair damage to his vocal chords.

Labuschagne has been struggling since the Vodacom Bulls’ defeat against the Chiefs on tour, 3 weeks ago, but chose to continue playing to try and help the Bulls make the Super Rugby playoffs.

After that hope disappeared after their loss to the Melbourne Rebels last weekend, the Bulls flanker decided to follow medical advice and go under the knife.

According to team doctor Org Strauss, he will be out for at least a month as he recovers but should be ready to play in the ABSA Currie Cup series at the end of July.

The Bulls were further hit by bad news with the withdrawal of flanker Deon Stegmann with bruised ribs, ruling himself out of contention for the game this weekend against the Toyota Cheetahs and joining a number of stalwarts on the sidelines.

The Bulls will name their side on Thursday, but chances are it will be a relatively young and inexperienced team to face the Cheetahs, with coach Frans Ludeke resting several players.

Already midfielder Jan Serfontein has been ruled out with a knee injury for another 1 to 2 weeks, and with his chances of playing international rugby in the July window good, it seems like a wise decision, especially considering his replacement, Burger Odendaal, is in fine form at the moment.

Ludeke will also rest the Springbok trio of Victor Matfield, Handré Pollard and Trevor Nyakane, all 3 according to the agreement with SA Rugby, after they missed the original set of a break every 5 weeks. Matfield was rested against the Brumbies as well just a fortnight ago, but with only 1 game left, the Bulls have no option but to rest the Bok lock.

Pollard has also been given an extra week since returning early from the tour and it is likely that Jacques-Louis Potgieter will continue in the position with young Tian Schoeman on the bench.

Nyakane’s break couldn’t come sooner as the prop has been involved in every single game this season, on both sides of the scrum, and has not been managed as well as the Bok management would have liked.

Ludeke said they had managed Nyakane in the past fortnight.

“We are obviously honouring that arrangement with Saru – guys like Handré, Victor and Trevor. We’ve managed Trevor for the last 2 weeks, he didn’t really train and came off the bench because we tried to break through. This week we will honour that and give him that rest. It’s a well-deserved rest for him – he was really a stalwart the whole season.”

SuperSport

65 Responses to Super Rugby: Bulls – Lappies to go under the knife PLUS a number of stars will be rested against Cheetahs

So, basically the Bulls will field a B-Team against the Toyota Cheetahs, in a bid to conspire to lose against a side who has taken a massive pounding the whole season and also last Saturday against the Waratahs…..

Flok, I RSVP’s to the Bulls that I will be attending the match in the Press Box, but I am actually loathe to go now.

In fact, I am bitterly disappointed in the Bulls for the kak they dished up and the bullshit they keep feeding us, the same old shit, over and over again!

So, we will see Dean Greyling at No 1, probably Callie Visagie at No 2, Werner Kruger at No 3 (maybe Marcel van der Merwe), then we will have Grant Hattingh & Flip van der Merwe as locks, Arno Botha at Openside, Jacques du Plessis at Blindside and Pierre Spies at No 8.

Then we will have Rudy Paige, Jacques-Lous Potgieter, Bjorn Basson, Burger Odendaal, JJ Engelbrecht, Francois Hougaard and Jesse Kriel (or freegin Jurgen Visser).

It’s actually a very kak side… very, very mediocre indeed!

Regarding Lappies Labuschagne… well done young man, for showing the balls to continue playing for the team whilst actually needing surgery! With a man like you, one can go to war!

Hehehe.

Got to have a chuckle at your feelings of disdain.

Lions fans had that from 2002 to around 2012 so I can relate to how you feel.

And this just in hot off the wires & especially for bruvva Pietman!

Whistling

http://www.brumbies.com.au/News/Article/tabid/1213/ArticleID/15475/Moore-marches-towards-100.aspx

I just cant get over this stock photo of lappies, why is his face so much browner than his neck?

@ MacroPolo:
    Photoshopped.

Not his neck and body.

Head looks out of proportion to the torso imo.

That’s What i figured. I thought i was the only person seeing this…

Steggman is also done with the Bulls, looking for another overseas or retiring… Probably also got offered a shitty contract by Lude… eh I mean the Bulls.

Barend van Graan’s team (with Super caps) is: Jesse Kriel (16), Francois Hougaard (87), JJ Engelbrecht (64), Burger Odendaal (9), Travis Ismaiel (5), Jacques-Louis Potgieter (61), Rudy Paige (20), Pierre Spies (118, c), Jacques du Plessis (30), Arno Botha (32), Grant Hattingh (47), Flip van der Merwe (80), Marcel van der Merwe (32), Adriaan Strauss (117), Morné Mellett (36). Replacements: Callie Visagie (50), Trevor Nyakane (57), Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (2), Roelof Smit (2), Bjorn Basson (85), Tian Schoeman (5), Jurgen Visser (31), Werner Kruger (112).

Too bad Matfield wont be able to play his 7th farewell game, I think even the promoters are gatvol 😀

It is also highly likely that the support staff HM took with him to the boks wont be returning to the Bulls either.

must be because of Ludeke Overjoy

> Ludeke will also rest the Springbok trio of Victor Matfield, Handré Pollard and >Trevor Nyakane, all 3 according to the agreement with SA Rugby, after they missed >the original set of a break every 5 weeks.

It should read

“Ludeke went above and beyond the agreement with SA Rugby.

The Springboks in his side are well rested after the last four weeks.
    He instructed them not to overexert themselves on the field in NZ and Australia
    Together with their teammates they also also ensured they had frequent rest breaks behind the posts”

MacroPolo wrote:

Steggman is also done with the Bulls, looking for another overseas or retiring… Probably also got offered a shitty contract by Lude… eh I mean the Bulls.

Good, he should have been eating Sushi three years ago

We lost good young loosies like Tecklenburg because they kept him far to long

Victoriabok wrote:

MacroPolo wrote:

Good, he should have been eating Sushi three years ago

We lost good young loosies like Tecklenburg because they kept him far to long

Perfectly easy in hindsight. Tecklenberg was awesome this year but steggman can surely not be blamed for him going. Back Then we had considerable depth at flank.

Last year we had to hear how stupid the bulls were for letting boshoff go… But little is said this year.

You cant predict someones future or determine a career trajectory in one year.

To say “oh stegmann held tecklenberg out the team three years ago and look at him now” is simply absurd imo.

It is just looking for a scapegoat… Last year the bulls were losing because we didnt have a fetcher and i had to read about how the bulls were missing stegmann, this year we had fetchers all year and we still sucked.

Die beste quote van die Bulls website

“WDF soek Jurgen Visser daar? Hy is verskriklik kak.

Ons kan eerder met een minder speler speel as met hom. Basson kan mos heelagter cover. “

MacroPolo wrote:

Perfectly easy in hindsight. Tecklenberg was awesome this year but steggman can surely not be blamed for him going. Back Then we had considerable depth at flank.
    To say “oh stegmann held tecklenberg out the team three years ago and look at him now” is simply absurd imo.

It is just looking for a scapegoat… Last year the bulls were losing because we didnt have a fetcher and i had to read about how the bulls were missing stegmann, this year we had fetchers all year and we still sucked.

Stegmann is injury prone and wasn’t playing much the last two years
    He’s also a penalty magnet, if you played him and Dean you had at least a 12 point handicap against you

His game also never evolved (like Ritchie’s) and he should have been released at least two years ago

As a senior player he was paid well
    We kept him and had to let a lot of good young flankers go instead

MacroPolo wrote:

Last year we had to hear how stupid the bulls were for letting boshoff go… But little is said this year.

I’m glad about a lot of the players that left

Boshoff is the Wayne Ferreira of flyhalves, brilliant player butno BMT

Fouche was plain kak

The two windgat but useless centres (Stefan something?), the one is playing sevens now. I think HM still fired them

Venter and Sadie too

But we lost good flankers like Tecklenburg and the guy that we loaned to Griquas

And Bongi

@ Victoriabok:
    Well Deans replacement this weekend, Morne Mellet is the most penalised per minutes played player in the tournament last time i checked, after being fairly good last year… again you cant predict how a player will play the next year.

Stegmann has been woeful the last two years i agree wholeheartedly, but the Bulls lost so much loose forwards over the last 5 years it is remarkable, tecklenberg left 3 years ago and was hardly catching the shine, THIS year was truly his breakthrough year, and with the current Bulls set up, I find it hard to believe that he would have reached the same heights had he stayd. He would still have had limited gametime behind really good players like the potgieters for example.

Louis Fouche was terrible.

Stefan Watermeyer and Stefan Dippenaar did not ammount to much at the Bulls, Dippenaar has improved a lot with the Sevens side though and I think he would be a good acquisition in the next year or two.

Venter was a big loss, while Sadie just never amounted to much with so many opportunities.

We lost tons of good flankers… such is the flow of things… and also shitty contracting.

The biggest loss for the Bulls over the last 2 years has been Jano Vermaak, and HOW we lost him, it is serious red lights for me on how the bulls company runs their business.

@ MacroPolo:

I don’t know what happened to Mellet, he and the guy who had to retire were to replace Dean and Werner
    I think Wessel Roux is destroying our props

Tecklenburg played well for the Blue Bulls in the CC but they never picked him for the Super Team. We had Stegmann 🙁

They did the same to Venter as to WSS, they kept picking crap incumbents like JJ instead of giving him gametime

The way they treated Jano is an excellent example of how not to recruit and contract players. Also not to appoint your buddy or fellow Broeder’s son to contract players.

Anyway who the hell has a name starting with a “X” WTF?

It’s also a testament to how the Union is run.

They could teach the government a thing or two about nepotism, incompetence and their general we-wipe-our-asses-with-the-supporters-opinion attitude

@ Victoriabok:
    Tecklenberg is more a blindside flank? I am probably wrong I am not sure, he was also only spotted after playing for Tuks for a few years.

Yeah JJ played EVERY MINUTE this year, incredible how short sighted the bulls are… It is a shame WSS had a below average CC season last year.

@ Victoriabok:
    Actually, Marcel vd Merwe has conceded more penalties than Dean, even the Stormers hero Vincent Koch (though in his favor. he forced 2 or 3 penalties)

MacroPolo wrote:

Actually, Marcel vd Merwe has conceded more penalties than Dean

Again, he was Bok quality last year

Wessel Roux is ruining our front row

Victoriabok wrote:

MacroPolo wrote:

Thats what I have been saying all year, but you guys keep blaming Dean 😛

MacroPolo wrote:

Victoriabok wrote:

MacroPolo wrote:

Thats what I have been saying all year, but you guys keep blaming Dean 😛

…..and Frans…..and Xander…..and Barend…..and Bulletjie….and Victor…..etc etc etc.

nortie wrote:

MacroPolo wrote:
    Victoriabok wrote:
    MacroPolo wrote:
    Thats what I have been saying all year, but you guys keep blaming Dean

…..and Frans…..and Xander…..and Barend…..and Bulletjie….and Victor…..etc etc etc.

En Ross

Laat hierdie Stormer nou vir julle Bulle vertel wat nou eintlik verkeerd gegaan het by julle…..Wynie het retire

MacroPolo wrote:

Thats what I have been saying all year, but you guys keep blaming Dean

Dean is very good in the loose

I’m not the only one that maintains he should be made a hooker

Like John Smit

The Bulls have done it before with Gary Botha and Derick Kuun

nortie wrote:

Jou bek is groot vandat Pruimboom na julle toe kom

nortie wrote:

Laat hierdie Stormer nou vir julle Bulle vertel wat nou eintlik verkeerd gegaan het by julle…..Wynie het retire

Slim antwoord, die gom wat die ouens bymekaar gehou het.

@ Victoriabok:
    The Bulls just needs a scrum coach, no use shifting Dean to hooker, it wont solve anything.

nortie wrote:

Oom Wynie het gesien hier kom kak

Julle is net jaloers op hom omdat Gemmerkat meer tanne op sy eie het as julle hele spanebestuur saam

Total 79 users including 0 member, 79 guests, 0 bot online