South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (21) 27 / 25 (13) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Ellis Park, Johannesburg at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 04:00 Sunday NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Francois Hougaard (1), Handré Pollard (2)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (3)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (2)
  • Tries – Malakai Fekitoa (1), Ben Smith (1), Dane Coles (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (2)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
4 October at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen / Schalk Burger, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger / Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty

Expected weather: Mostly sunny with a high of 19°C and a low of 10°C – good weather for rugby.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), JP Doyle (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

471 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

@ Charo:
    Australia still lost to Arg, and when Israel Folau is kept in check, the Aussies have very little to give.

Everyone starts out as beginners don’t they? And what have they done to earn your dislike? Van Graan is well respected by the players and his job is more in line with technical analysis and his value in a mutual working environment. I do not know the value Laubchter adds to the team, but we have shown how deadly we can be when we get deadly front foot ball, it is always easy to credit Pollard or Willie, Habana on attack or our forwards when things go well, but when they don’t, “it is because of the coaching team”.

and throwing 2 or three coaches at a team will in no way bring out the best in a team, how would anyone respond in their work environment with 2 or 3 bosses telling them what to do? That is even IF Gert would want to join the Boks.

@ MacroBlouBul:

are you arguing for the sake of arguing or do you genuinely feel we have the complete coaching squad?

🙄

@ Charo:
    I am also not sure why people are singing Gerts praises so easily, PW were top of the log last year as well before he even joined them, before that his stint at the Stormers was a complete failure, he had a mixed period with the Springboks, from good to very bad, same with Ireland… Nothing gives me confidence we will improve.

@ Charo:
    If I wanted the Springboks to play like Aus, I would go ahead and support Aus.

No this is not the complete coaching staff, but we could have hypathetical what if and shouldacouldawoulda conversations for days, I am sure in two years we could also throw in some hindsight…

But to me it is clear that the Boks have created a fantastic environment for the players, I truly feel these guys would give anything for each other and they have a mutual respect from the coaching staff right down to the… well everyone is important, I also believe that is the reason one or two players are being overlooked that might change that environment, but I wont go into names right now.

Charo wrote:

@ MacroBlouBul:

are you arguing for the sake of arguing or do you genuinely feel we have the complete coaching squad?

Don’t touch his Bulls assistant coaches in his studio.

wie stel jy dan voor?

@ Charo:
    no look some people will always complain. even if we literally just beat the all blacks

@ MacroBlouBul:
    Argentina se forwards, backs and head coach, hulle baggage master en manager.
    Hulle is mos beter as die Aussies, so eerder vir hulle inbring as n Wallaby.
    Eintlik is hulle scrum afrigter nie n slegte idee nie

hipelik speel die nuwe sharks bee coach nie die voorry in hulle moer in nie.

@ MacroBlouBul:
    Het hulle al n coach aangestel?

die argentyn scrum coach het darem n argument. maar om te se die ouens respemteer nie is net n groot klomp kak. with all the rhmours it appears as if senior sharks players even thought a world cup winning coach was a drol.

dat die ouens nie van graan respekteer nie is n groot klomp kak

@ MacroBlouBul:
    Na die artikel verlede week oor van Graan lyk dit so.
    Die Bokke is gelukkig en uitgesorteer, die spelers speel vir die coaching staff, so alles is goed aan daai kant.

now that dads army is playing well the only ones to moan about are th e ones in the background

after q few games that were too close for comfort when was the last time we went unbeaten at home for a calender year?

I thought 2009 but we still lost to the bi lions… hmmm

417 & 422 @ Charo:
    Jeeez Charo, you have become such a sour shit!

When the Sharks have played, you hop on here quickly to have a dig at the “Haters”… when the Bokke play you cannot just be satisfied with a glorious win over the All Blacks…

Now the Bokke coaching staff is’nt good enough, fokkie toggie!

Johan van Graan has had a looooong Assistant Coaching role at a very bloody good Bulls team, at the time, under the same Heyneke Meyer… and is now already in his 3rd year at the Springboks, once again with Heyneke Meyer.

There has been a logical and clear progression at the Springboks in playing a more balanced type of rugby… and the forwards are certainly up to scratch now (if not in the 2 early Pumas games at the start of The Rugby Championship this year) and the Springboks attacking play certainly is’nt lacking.

As far as Ricardo Laubsher goes… the backline defence is freegin solid and their attack is starting to be bloody nicely varied. Give freegin kudos to the man, I see no glaring shortcomings at the Springboks compared to how all the SA Super Rugby sides performed in this year’s Super Rugby tournament.

Jeeez, some people will NEVER be satisfied or see the full picture!

Must be hard to be around Charo the man… and I pity those who have to suffer your negativity regularly!

We’re having a great Monday, because the Springboks won against the All Blacks on the weekend…. after we narrowly lost against the same All Blacks in THEIR backyard and after we basically threw away a win against Aussie in their backyard and since moerred them well in Cape Town (and not in the last 10 minutes as some would have it).

The glass is more than half full, in fact after the Springbok game on Saturday “My beker loop oor!”

@ MacroBlouBul:

Macro, how long can the Bokke keep playing us in J’burg at altitude, the other unions will surely want an AB test ? 😎

To be fair your win was narrower 😆

434 @ MacroBlouBul:
    Matfield is yster, bliksem maar die man speel goed, amper beter as toe voor hy afgetree het.

439 @ NZINCHINA:
    We farmed on the All Blacks line for the last 7 minutes of the Test in New Zealand, and inexperience of Lood de Jager as well as a wrong option by Hougie to go to the blind side at the end cost the Springboks, we could so easily have won that one.

Granted, the All Blacks defence was marvelous…

Same with the All Blacks here in Joburg over the weekend, stellar 2nd half by the All Blacks and it too could have gone either way.

All in all, a very evenly matched 2 sides in 2014…

But I give it to the All Blacks, they thouroughly deserve their No 1 ranking!

… but the chinks in the All Blacks armour, the ones you refuse to acknowledge, are clearly there to exploit against the All Blacks… they are far from unbeatable and where I see an improving Springboks side, you have to be happy with an ever so slowly regressing All Blacks side this morning!

Have a happy one, oh arrogant twit!

nee kyk, ek se al heel jaar matfield is ten minste beter as 2010/2011

@ NZINCHINA:
    jhb games draw more people.

nee kyk Geroge is woes warm vandag, shushu kakulu!

Droe warm bosveld hitte. weet nie waar kom dit vandaan nie

No need for the abuse Groot, losing to a desperate Bokke side in front of a fanatical crowd at Ellis by two points is not regression it’s normal in sport, quite frankly despite the pain of losing it gets us refocused on staying ahead of the pack.

@ MacroBlouBul:

So do games at Eden park but you’ve got to feed the backs occasionally.

sorry i missed the last 15 minutes – our bladdy internet went down.

calm down boet, i am as a much a bok supporter as you.

and no, i am not a miserable git in person and not a glass half empty prick.

by the same token i am no heynecke acolyte. he has not evolved the style of bok rugby over the years – he has switched suddenly half way through this year’s rugby championships.

this ball in hand approach is 2 games old. it is a lot better than the skopnjag we saw previously. the players battled with it against the aussies but looked more comfortable and effective against the ab’s.

what is wrong with saying that? is it not a true reflection of what has transpired over this tournament?
    or is it not true when a sharks supporter raises these things?

you okes think the non bulls have it in for heynecke and shouldn’t raise constructive criticism.
    sorry pal, he is in a public position and his every move/word will be scrutinised.

good on him for changing the game plan but don’t tell me this has evolved over the years – it has been a very recent change brought about by public opinion and world rugby trends.

@ NZINCHINA:
    come on man. altitude was not a problem last year. it is a he worst excuse for a supposd advantage I have ever heard.

Why shouldnt we play there every year? it is the premier ground for the premier game. You should be honored

@ Charo:
    of course the boks have evolved. sure we dont run teams ragid evey game. but we have evolved a winning culture that these guys refuse to lose whereis in the last 10 years we had limp dick moments. you sure have a short memory. last year we thumped aus winning the first time in brisbane in over 30 years… there are many more examples. we strive for more consistency of course.

but today we can all say FUCK YES

447 @ Charo:

The weather conditions at Loftus, in Australia and NZ didn’t allow for a ball in hand approach.

Total 106 users including 0 member, 106 guests, 0 bot online