South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (21) 27 / 25 (13) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Ellis Park, Johannesburg at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 04:00 Sunday NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Francois Hougaard (1), Handré Pollard (2)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (3)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (2)
  • Tries – Malakai Fekitoa (1), Ben Smith (1), Dane Coles (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (2)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
4 October at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen / Schalk Burger, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger / Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty

Expected weather: Mostly sunny with a high of 19°C and a low of 10°C – good weather for rugby.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), JP Doyle (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

471 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

RTespect to you Te Rangatira for staying on RT to chat even though the loss must hurt.

Commiserations to Te Rangatira, Cane/Hodor, NZiC, Hurricane, Popps and all the other ABs supporters…

The ABs are still the best team in the world.

Congratulations to the ABs and their supporters for winning their third consecutive Rugby Championship…!

Congratulations Approve Cheers Beer

To keep it real…

Boks still have much to work on…

Second Half Isomnia Treatment Syndrome

Subs need to be made according to what is happening in the game… Hendre should have stayed on longer… subs should not have come on at 50 minutes mark… more like 60 to 65 minute mark.

Players have to be more committed off the ball to get into position… to chase forwards… to chase backwards in support… to tackle more effectively…

Eben… much as I love the guy… has to re-learn how to stay on his feet and drive forcefully forwards with ball in hand…

and hell… our hookers have got to hit their man… every time…!!

@ ufo:
    This win is great for Test Rugby… Sets things up nicely….

361 @ ufo:
    Te Rangatira is a great supporter… gives credit where due, has a very objective way of looking at things and is a welcome addition to this site.

It must hurt today to him that his team lost, goodness sakes we as Springbok supporters know the feeling well… yet he is absolutely magnanimous in his congratulations and in his fair appraisal of how he saw the game and the result go down.

When I go visit New Zealand one day, this is a man I could have a good toot with and celebrate rugby with!

It was an epic game today, and I am glad the Bokke won… but heck, it could have gone either way, it was a battle royal!

366 @ Te Rangatira:

Indeed bud… it’s a cliche i know… but…

tonight…

Rugby was the winner…!

367 @ grootblousmile:

indeed GB… a most gracious rugby brother… win or lose…

and we must not kid ourselves… as you say… it could very easily have gone the other way… and we would be crying into our beers… again…!!

I would have no problem buying a round for all the kiwi regulars on RT… and will also make a plan when i eventually get to NZ…

well done to wayne barnes too…!

had an excellent game i thought…

as did nigel owens last weekend…

what a pleasure that we’re not talking about the ref again…!!

@ Te Rangatira:
    @ ufo:
    368 Well said both of you.You have an uncanny and happy knack of
    presenting rugby as the winner.Sleep well.
    PS Sean.Enjoyed Mallet article.
    Sleep well both of you.Kind regards Rye

@ cane:
    Hi Cane.Very similar to an Afrikaans word.”Hoer”=harlot
    Go well
    Regards Rye

@ Snoek:
    Agreed.Eben = usually fantastic but not in last 2 games,.Regards.Rye

congrats both teams. It was a fantastic game. Really happy for the boks, it was an amazing game to win. The all blacks came at us hard in the second half and it just shows what a quality side they are, that they fight with everything not to lose.

Pollard showed what am attacking that he is, but he will be a running target now, we truly have to exceptionally great fly halfs that are still so young.

While hougie was motm last week he only improved by about 150%, he was amazing.

Firstly let me get this out of the way…………………………………………Con………………………con……………….congratul………………………….

Sorry.
    I just can’t do it.

I’ll go away and compost myself.
    Get my shiit together so to speak.

😐

@ cane:
    “Hodor?”

I wonder if the guys on emoworld still makes a fuss that the Springboks does not “excite” them anymore 😀

Okay I’m back and I’m half way through my first bottle of medicine.
    I think I can do it now.

Congratulations………………………………..ARGENTINA.

Wow ……….1st win in the RC.

@ MacroBok:

Hodor is a really silly Avatar to embrace.

To be in character, and to try and say something is impossible.

@ MacroBok:

I agree with everything you said.

I was thinking who would be MOTM. (because I don’t know who won that honour.)

This is my take;
    Best Bok forward: Duane.
    Best Bok back: Houggie.

Though, I think most likely Pollard got the nod.

The new man Mahoje can be well please with his 1st Test start as well. (If it was his 1st that is).

@ ufo:

Thank you for your kind words UFO.

@ cane:
    Messams final game for the All Blacks?

This Pollard guy has changed the Boks attacking dynamic completely.

With Morne the oppositions defence could drift, covering the attack from the inside centres left shoulder, cause they knew Morne wouldn’t be much of a threat.

Now with Pollard they have to protect the 9 and 10 channels which creates space for both JDV and Janneman.

@ Jeraldjay:
    and Janneman is getting better and better with each game.

@ Jeraldjay:

I haven’t seen a Bok ten take it to the line like that since Honeyballs.

@ cane:

Chin up Caner and have another slurp of Sauvingon Plonk.

380 @ cane:
    Vermeulen was MoM

@ gunther:

One day he’ll come back is Province of birth.

@ Jeraldjay:
    Are you guys still waiting for derrick hougaard?

@ Jeraldjay:

Indeed when he retires he’ll buy a wine farm with all the money the bulls have paid him.

Total 9 users including 0 member, 9 guests, 0 bot online