DHL WPXerox Golden LionsWP (13) 19 / 16 (0)Β Golden Lions (Final Score)

DHL Western Province and the Xerox Golden Lions doidbattle in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

WP:

• Penalties – Demetri Catrakilis (34
  • Tries – Jaco Taute (1)
  • Conversions – Demetri Catrakilis (1)

Golden Lions:

• Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (2), Ruan Combrick (1)
  • Tries – Jaco van der Walt (1)
  • Conversions – Marnitz Boshoff (1)

DHL Western Province
Xerox Golden Lions
25 October at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (Captain), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak
  • Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Michael van der Spuy
  • Team: 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe
  • Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Mark Richards, 22 Harold Vorster

Expected weather: There will be plenty of sunshine and no real chance of rain. High of 26Β°C and a low of 14Β°C
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Lesego Legoete
TMO: Deon van Blommestein

769 Responses to Currie Cup Final: DHL Western Province vs Xerox Golden Lions – Live Game Article

@ Nama:
    Im not saying Goosen will be a super player, but we need some back up for Willie

@ MacroBok:
    “So you admit it?”

What do I admit? That he had a weakness and worked on it? Every rugby player has a weakness of some sorts. Joost could not properly pass to his right but that never stopped him from becoming a true legend in the game.

I was one of the first to point out that his passing to his left was weak. He worked on it and you cannot now really say that it is a weakness anymore. Will you be holding it against him for the rest of his career?

I conceded that Ebersohn was the best 13 in SA in 2012. Now please tell me who was the best in 2013 since you obviously don’t believe that it was JdJ.

@ MacroBok:
    “Im not saying Goosen will be a super player, but we need some back up for Willie”

And in order to do that, we sommer take a fly half and try and turn him into a full back at Bok level. What message does it send out to the other full backs?

Jaco Taute? Gio Aplon? They cannot be back up for Willie?

“We will not select players out of position.” Hahaha…what a laugh.

@ Nama:
    Ag ou Nama, ok JDJ has been an exceptional “bal verspreider” for years now if that is what you want to believe.

I am just of the opinion that the passing on his right was just as weak as the left, all he wanted to do is side step everyone, which SOMETIMES did work spectacularly. It is only in 2014 his game REALLY transformed to be a more rounded player where he has looked to pass for players in better positions.

I just think it would be interesting to see Goosen at FB, why not? why is it such a shock… you want to see Aplon and Taute?? there instead? Taute who you ranted on about on Saturday because that dom e-pos fuhrer made him a springbok? πŸ˜†

I’m still convinced JdJ passed less because he had more to prove than others and tried to do to much by himself.
    The same could be said of Aplon, he also tended to be selfish to show what he can do. Those are 2 examples of players who tried to much by themselves hoping to catch the eye of the national coach, to their own detriment.
    Jan can crashball every time he gets the ball and doesn’t have to pass, but is safe and secure in his spot.
    I’m not saying Jan shouldn’t be there, he has been doing the job very well, but I also don’t believe that the playing fields are level when it comes to him and JdJ in HM’s estimation

@ MacroBok:
    Don’t put words in my mouth. Read what I said…slowly… and then try and comprehend. πŸ˜‰

Shows you what I think of HM selecting Goosen as FB cover if I prefer Taute there instead of him.

And none of us will ever know if HM and JDJ ever had “irreconcilable differences”…which is possible

@ MacroBok:
    Perhaps, the same as he and Brussouw?
    Very possible.
    I hope Kolbe doesn’t also follow that route in the future that Aplon did, won’t help him at all.

Kolbe wont, he will be better.

@ Nama:
    Fark knows what you are trying to say.

He was the best for three years

He had weaknesses he worked on

blah blah stormers pw πŸ˜†

I wonder why no Shark fan has brought up the omission of Thomas du Toit from the squad. After a good debut during the latter stages of SR, there were calls for him to be included during the June tests. What happened in the last 5 months that nobody cares about his omission?

Interesting observation Nortie.

To Kolbes advantage he got involved in the PW structures earlier, do you think they are still using the basic structures Rassie set up for the academy etc?

668 @ MacroBok:
    Kolbe might surpass Aplon at SR and CC in the future, but it’s unlikely that he will all of a sudden grow 20cm’s and gain 30kg’s to suit the coachs’ requirement of bigger is better πŸ˜†

Kolbe looks for players to offload to, he has incredible vision, just irritates the hell out of me that sometimes he gets tackled and gets back up super quickly πŸ˜€

671 @ MacroBok:
    I don’t know Macro, Charles will have better info on those structures, but I somehow doubt it, the game has moved on since Rassie was there, so any game plan structures he put in place will probably be obsolete by now as the game has progressed.
    Gert will play a role in the new structures and ideas I guess?

673 @ MacroBok:
    He is a nuggety bugger, that’s for sure.
    His test will come next year in his first real full season of SR against those giant NZ wingers.

No I am just saying because guys like Eben, Kolisi, Ginger, Malherbe, Scarra, Coleman, Van wyk etc came through after 2010. there was a sudden influx, something about that time had to have been really extraordinary.

Yep, Kolbe had a tentative start to the Currie Cup as well this year with a few unforced errors. Unfortunately his size will always count against him, no matter what country he was born in.

660 @ MacroBok:
    Don’t blame me for your lack of comprehension skills. Apparently it is a scarce skill among the youth of today. πŸ˜‰

@ MacroBok:
    No. Rassie just finished the structures that Nick Mallet put in place to start with. Rassie acknowledged that himself when he left.

WP/Stormers only started to become successful when Rassie left. There must be a reason for that. πŸ˜‰

Make a springbok thread tjom

@ Nama:
    Again another post with no point at all πŸ™‚

@ Nama:
    ok 1 point.

Well maybe AC also deserves credit.

676 @ MacroBok:
    True, but Eben for example was spotted and found and nurtured by Hennie Bekker, Rassie had no part in that. So maybe some of those others were also given a chance due to others?
    I think the Bulls and WP have sound structures, as could be seen from the U/19 and 21 teams, not just this year, but we have been there or thereabouts the last few years.
    The secret I suppose is sorting the wheat from the chaff and keeping the right players.
    I’m still sorry that a guy like Swiel got lost, even though he flopped spectacularly at the Sharks, I think he made a mistake and would have flourished under the new way Province have been playing.
    It’s the same with your juniors, you have the talent, but forcing them to p,ay a game p,an instead of building the game plan around their talents is not working

@ MacroBok:
    That’s the point. πŸ˜‰

Problem is Swiel got overwhelmed by all the hype from highlight reels and good editing.

Yep our problem is not only selecting the right players to fit a game plan, it is compounded by selecting the wrong players as well πŸ˜†

Will JPP be the run on 13 or will he be the reserve behind Janneman.

Janneman’s “versatility” at centre, (having played both centre positions), makes him the ideal reserve to cover both centre positions, I think.

@ Nama:
    De allende should be cover?

679 @ MacroBok:
    Struggling with Internet connection and to load threads

The right selection is as important as any gameplan, PW might not been as dangerous had they had the ginger, bekker, aplon, liebenberg in their backline this year.

De Allende is an inside centre. He flopped spectacularly when he was tried at 13 for the Bokke. No way that he could sit on the bench to cover that position.

Back line should be:

15. Willie
    14. Hendricks
    13. JPP
    12. JdV
    11. Habana
    10. Pollard
    9. Hougaard

9 & 10 just because of their last performances against the All Blacks.

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online