South AfricaAustraliaSpringboks (5) 28 / 10 (10) Wallabies (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Australian Wallabies did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Newlands Stadium, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 01:00 Sunday AEST).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Drop Goals – Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Marcell van der Merwe (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Patrick Lambie (1)

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (1)
  • Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (1)

South African Springboks
Australian Wallabies
27 September at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper (Captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper
    Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 James Horwill, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nic White, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Rob Horne

Expected weather: Sunny with a southeasterly breeze, a high of 14°C and a low of 9°C.
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

344 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Australia – Live game Article

My rating of the players.

Willie’s hop, 20m from the nearest opponent, is getting on my nerves. He is overdoing the grubber/chip and long, skip passes. He was not that good today but better than in the previous games.

Pollard showed that he is not ready for the step up…YET. He was decidedly average. Missing tackles, not kicking out from penalties on at least 3 occasions, trying to break too much on his own.

Janneman made a great break but missed his tackles on Kuridrani on a few occasions.

Jannie was Jannie. Crap! How we cannot unearth a better TH in this country of ours, is beyond me.

Oupa Mohojo can be satisfied with his first start. Made a few good tackles, cleaned out well and took a couple of balls in the line out. His jumping in the air to catch the ball from the kick off was quite spectacular.

Marcell, Hougie, Vermeulen, Hendricks as well as Lambie and Schalk (when they came on) were great.

Puma must be having a quiet chuckle to himself.

The forwards do not look well coached.

An international team cannot afford to have an amateur assistant coach.

Our back line looked confused with this new “ball in hand game plan”.

Overall an average at best performance.
    Until the final 10 minuets we were no better than the Pumas.

@ Ben: Ben, don’t get too carried away boet. Die skoonfamalie is probably ex-Zimbo’s and just passing through Tswane en-route to the coast. 🙄

On the “Boks wince at media’s shots at Wallabies” thread earlier today.

MacroBok on 27 September 2014 at 11:50 SAST
    64 @ Nama:
    Do you still think Pollard needs to prove himself? Even with a test match in NZ behind him that you too felt was successful for him?

How do you feel about Pollard now, Macro?

@ Nama: In most part your summary was spot on. I am not a dr Jannie fan but today your summary of his performance was ‘crap’. He did have a good game in every respect. I remember a great tackle in the first half which surprised all of us and he held his end up in the scrums. Don’t know what game you were watching bud but it wasn’t the one I saw.

@ Charo:
    Too bad Puma couldnt take it when it wasn’t go well.

@ Nama:
    All easy in hindsight 😀

Not kicking out once is bad, missing touch three times is simply unforgivable.

doesn’t*

@ Nama: I’ll answer that Nama. I feel fine. Got anyone better in mind? Because if you do, I’ll need to start smoking something strong, to extract something from the life I’m apparently missing.

I just wonder if HM will feel that he stumbled onto a winning recipe a year before the RWC next year. The same recipe that PdV used in 2010/11 his quest to win the RWC.

That is to load the bench with game breakers, hope that the run on 15 will keep the score close before you unleash your reserves in the last 20 minutes.

Is that what we are going to see from here on?

Too bad Frans Malherbe is another sicknote – money in the water 😀

@ Nama:
    Vermeulen still got injured, that forced bakkie on, habana got injured forced JPP on, Pollard was having a shocker.

I usually defend Meyer as you know, but the use of the bench was more a case of destiny more than anything.

247 @ Tassies:
    Yes, that was a good tackle Jannie.

@ MacroBok:
    Don’t worry. He’ll be forgiven. Wink

250 @ Tassies:
    Read Macro’s question to me again.

I hope Mvovu gets called up for Habana, he was really good today.

254 @ Nama:
    What question?

251 @ Nama:
    Wasnt 2010/2011 complete failures?

@ Charo: I don’t see anybody giving the Aussies credit for a top class performance barring the last 15 when the Boks stepped up a gear and the Oz were outclassed. Here’s a thing. The No 1 side in the world is probably the best side ever to land on the planet. We were beaten by 4 on their home turf. The No 2 side in the world is probably the Boks. The No 3 side in the world would be the side we played against today and beat by 18. For fluks sake can anybody give these Springboks some credit when they play and win a tough Test match? I’ve watched about a hundred Tests in my life and this one was very fluken far from the worst. Everyone get a life please and give credit when credit’s due. 28 – 10. Enough already.

258 @ Tassies:
    hear hear

@ MacroBok:
    I think Bakkies would’ve come on for Etzebeth at some stage and JPP probably for Hendricks. Was wondering where he would employ Lambie but Pollard sommer made that decision for him with a poor game, I think.

A big worry for me was our lack of penetration just before Lambie kick the drop. More than 20 phases close to he goal line and we had to revert to a drop kick to come away with points.

MAllet absolutely freaked out about this game, 4 scrums in an entire test match.

I agree it was extremely frustrating at times, but it was finally a game without 20 scrum penalties, one for this team one for the other one etc, both teams defended pretty well, except for the last 10 minutes when Aus started tackling like little school girls.

@ Nama:
    In the end the drop was a great decision.

like I mentioned in the first half, we would go from one phase where we get over the advantage line to the next phase where someone is passed the ball behind their backs, some poor handling, from jdv etc also ridiculous skip pass or two from Hougie at the base to Willie at wing.

I always feel like there will be a tipping point in this team.

@ Nama: what question? I’ll also watch the game again tomorrow to clarify my perception. But to my mind, when one side beats another by 18 points then that side’s pivot(10) must have enjoyed a reasonable game because he is the axis around which the team performs. Pollard missed a kick to touch or two but he must have done a hellava lot more right for the scoreline to register what it did, even if Lambie put the icing on the cake. I quite prepared to be proven wrong in my judgement.

256 @ MacroBok:
    The question about Pollard having to prove himself.

@ MacroBok:
    Yes, it was.

But my point is that PdV believed that a bench that included Bismarck, Danie Rossouw, Hougaard and Lambie among others, would swing the match for him towards the end. I get a feeling that we are going to see something similar after today’s match.

264 @ Nama:
    He was talking about Jannie lol

265 @ Nama:
    My bad

Sorry Tassies, I think Polly has a great future, while i disagree with Nama that he was completely useless in defense and running with the ball, he did miss touch three times, when Morne Steyn did that we lost a test match that could have had us at number 1 in the RC right now.

In turn Meyer will take note that Lambie only kicked 1/4 kicks at goal, including 1 right in front.

What was the score when Pollard left the field?

Exactly.

So let us not pretend that he had a good game because the final score was 28-10. He was poor.

264 @ Nama:
    Why would it change now? the bench effectively won us the game in Argentina.

@ MacroBok:
    So, the bench won us the game in Arg and they’ve won us the game today.

And in turn, the bench probably cost us the game against NZ.

Total 40 users including 0 member, 40 guests, 0 bot online