South AfricaAustraliaSpringboks (5) 28 / 10 (10) Wallabies (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Australian Wallabies did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Newlands Stadium, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 01:00 Sunday AEST).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Drop Goals – Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Marcell van der Merwe (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Patrick Lambie (1)

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (1)
  • Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (1)

South African Springboks
Australian Wallabies
27 September at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper (Captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper
    Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 James Horwill, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nic White, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Rob Horne

Expected weather: Sunny with a southeasterly breeze, a high of 14°C and a low of 9°C.
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

344 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Australia – Live game Article

@ Nama: what question? I’ll also watch the game again tomorrow to clarify my perception. But to my mind, when one side beats another by 18 points then that side’s run-on pivot(10) must have enjoyed a reasonable game because he is the axis around which the team performs. Pollard missed a kick to touch or two but he must have done a hellava lot more right for the scoreline to register what it did, even if Lambie put the icing on the cake. I am quite prepared to be proven wrong in my judgement but it must be based on a sound rationale.

@ MacroBok: We’re a strange bunch indeed MB. Pollard was on the pitch for 65 mins today. He missed touch three times. Fortunately, it did not impact on the final outcome. However, he must have enjoyed a reasonable game because we kept a very dangerous Oz backline from scoring more tries than we did. That’s credit in itself. He also blunted(with the rest of the team) the Oz attack for the best part of the game. To his credit, Meyer stacked his bench with quality and used same to good effect this time and won us the game. But I’ve always understood that rugby is a team game and rarely do one or two individuals win the game. Pollard was okay in my book.

His general play was ok, nothing terrible nothing amazing… but missing touch three times is demoralizing, the lineout is OUR thing our weapon, if we miss out on three attacking set pieces it is bad for the team.

@ Nama: Probably. If it works then why not? Today, we saw an evenly balanced contest between two great teams for 70 minutes out of 80. Then a rather intimidating bench was unleashed onto a tiring opponent and we saw the result. I think Meyer is slowly learning what’s going to work for him. We say a bit of that today and I for one is not complaining. I’d stick with Pollard for now and bring on Lambie 15 to 20 mins to close. We saw what he can do today.

So, when Pollard left the field in the 65th minute, the Aussies were leading 10-8. They’ve scored one try and we’ve scored one.

I don’t get how you’re trying to credit Pollard with the 18 point difference in the end.

@ MacroBok: I agree with both you and Nama on that issue. But you must remember, he is only 20 and learning the ropes. Carter would have been the same. I saw Dan The Man get wiped out by the Boks at Newlands many years ago. He went on to become the best the world has ever seen.

@ Nama: No I’m not. But I am crediting him with a contribution towards the end result is all. He wasn’t BAD. He missed a few kicks to touch. Not great. But he did a hellava lot right otherwise. He’s only 20. This was one tough Test match. Lambie didn’t win it all on his own. He was good though.

Three years into his 4 year contract and he is only “slowly learning” now? Worry

Look, if it works, then fine. Just as long as he avoids a Bissie/Smith situation where the better player has to warm the bench in order to have an intimidating bench.

The Pollard/Lambie combo can easily become such a situation. Same with Schalk/Albert or Mohojo.

While it could be “one of those games”…which is fair, can happen to anyone, we cant blame his age when the belief is “if your good enough your old enough”.

Pollard will still go on to be the best, but not if he can’t execute “simple” tasks.

@ Nama:
    we did not score 18 points because Pollard went off, everything just started clicking, there was an energy, we were starting to offload in tackles, cleaning out properly etc, it was largely due to the ref warning Hooper to stop slowing the ball down, and then even Hougie lifted his game

my laptop is in serious need of gas. Time for a top-up.
    cheers guys. chat again tom.

The ball started getting quicker at ruck time

Night tassies lekker slaap

Nama wrote:

Same with Schalk/Albert or Mohojo.

What?

“…he is only 20 and learning the ropes.”

The place to do that would be CC and SR, don’t you think? Not the Bokke.

@ MacroBok: even the great Naastie Booter missed the occasional kick for touch. didn’t make him a bad player. Morne’s missed touch in Perth was however different. That was unforgivable. Pollard will be alright in future. He’s learning.
    and you’re right. we did not score 18(or 17) points because Pollard was replaced. It probably would have happened anyway.

@ Nama: Maybe. but sometimes you have to take a chance. They did it with Jonny. and again with Dan. They weren’t perfect when they started out but good coaches know when they’ve found a gem.

Well done Bokke…!!

Very proud of the guys tonight…! Congratulations to all the players and coaching staff…! Very very pleased for Heyneke who has taken more flack than is fair or necessary recently… Handed out some big pipes today…!

Great game by Hougie… loved his commitment and determination… and had at last got the bogie off his back… Well done too to Duane and Marcel… and Jan and Cornal… all had excellent games… (hope Duane’s injury is not too serious… cause we’ll miss him huge time against the Abs…)

Well done to Toboho… a very fine debut and proved he was a full merit selection… and has what it takes to be a Bok… and will be for a long time to come… Handed out a few pipes today too…!
    Great impact from Schalk too… Who said he was passed it…? Who said he had nothing to offer…? Who said he should not be in the squad…? He handed out plenty of his own pipes too…!
    Hope you guys have the balls to admit you were wrong about these two players…

Also impressed by Big Vic’s physical commitment tonight…! Proving if you’re good enough… you’re young enough…! Excellent performance by him…

At last Heyneke got the subbing perfect… not a flush of the bench to give guys some game time… but strategically individually based on what was happening on the filed and in the game at that time…
    The old experienced heads certainly contributed to the composure and patience of the team towards the end and great result tonight…

Tight forwards were good tonight too…

Pollard was solid… But special mention for Patrick too… with not much recent game time he must have been as rusty as the Kakapo wreck on Noordhoek beach… and after missing those sitters he could have fallen to pieces…
    but showed great character, composure and mental strength to not only keep his head… but beat four tackles to score an superb individual try…! Awesome stuff…!!

Congrats to Jean as well…!! Great to see him with a smile on his face and a twinkle in his eye again…!!

Good all round team performance… showing Bok rugby is not as bad as some would have us believe… sure, it’s only one performance… but they do have what it takes… and they must now produce such performances more consistently…

Well done to the Aussie’s… theirs was a very good performance too… Hooper and Kuridrani were massive…!

My Man of the Match…? Nigel Owens…!!
    What an excellent performance from him… That’s how refs should do their job… He could have twice disrupted a great contest by issuing yellow cards but sense prevailed and he handled both incidents and the whole game with aplomb…

Go Pumas…!!!!!!

@ MacroBok:
    “we did not score 18 points because Pollard went off”

I never said that.

Night Tassies

@ MacroBok: I found a plug. Couldn’t resist a scrap.

Nama wrote:

the bench won us the game in Arg and they’ve won us the game today.

It was Nigel Owen actually who won the test for the Boks, he kept us in the game until Lambie came on
    He won the Boks 60% of their possession
    He ignored about 16 dropped and knock on balls by the Boks
    He let the Boks staying on a constant off sides wide off the ball
    A skilled Test Trader at his art 😆

Dit is die hele bokspan wat die toets gewen het, elkeen het sy rol gespeel, die 15 wat begin het en die 8 wat van die bank gespeel het. Die span bestaan uit 23 spelers, nie 15 nie.

Hoekom die een speler wil afkraak om die ander een te wil opbou.

Teen AB het Pollard sy moment of brilliance gehad met die aangee na Hendricks, hierdie keer het Lambie ‘n pragtige drie gedruk. Albei is goed en moet mekaar afwissel.

Pollard het ‘n paar lynskoppe gemis, Lambie se pale toe skop was beroerd, so elkeen het sy foute.

Dieselfde met Hougie en Reinach. Reinach het goed gebreek, Hougie het skitterend verdedig en vinnige diens gelewer. Dit is ‘n wen wen situasie.

So druk al julle provinsialisme diep in julle holle en ondersteun die HELE Bokspan tot na volgende Saterdag, daarna kan julle julle vingers weer uit julle holle trek en aflek vir die res van die CB.

Approve

hehe pull up

@ Ben:
    Hahaha…. Cheers

@ Nama: I think we’re basically on the same page Nama. I just like to see talent coming through. We’re highly critical of this sometimes. Our new No 7 was fantastic this evening. What a fantastic take he made and must have given him massive confidence after all the crap he had to endure about quotas etc. Nice to see the youngsters perform. The Boks need balance and I think we’re getting there.

@ Hondo: you’re a very funny man Hondo. After three gallons of Klippies.

288 Nama wrote:

we did not score 18 points because Pollard went off”
    I never said tha

No you didn’t 😉
    You also never said that the Boks came to dominance when Bissie and Shcalk Burger came on (and Oupa left for the bench)? 😉
    You probably never seen Lambie taking the Wallabies apart almost single handed 😆

Looks at de scorebord !

Yes-Sir

@ Ben:
    Jip ons het so lank aangeval die hele game, Aus moes een of ander tyd uit stoom uit hardloop… toe slaan ons.

@ Hondo:
    That cannot be, Hondo.

Sad

295 @ Tassies:
    haha you still notice nancy?

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online