South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.

Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

691 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

655 @ Tassies:
    The AB’s played the number 3, soon to be ranked nr 2 side in the world away from home, and still got 2 log points.

People are chaffed that we got 4 points and are on top of the log, fact is, from the 4 sides, the AB’s are the best off, they picked up 2 away points against decent opposition

Anyway, I am off to bed, Ill let you guys continue wallowing in your self pity emo’ness 😀

-Need to play a proper kicking game in rainy weather and take shots at goal when offered.

-Bissie who has been a professional for 10 years learned a lot from lineouts in wet weather on Saturday, hope he can take this experience forward, as well as pollard who has been professional for a year.

-Start with Malherbe, there is not anyone else.

-DONT PLAY COETZEE AT 7, for the type of rugby we play, to include Whitely in Alberts place is baffling.

-Willie is solid under the high ball, just needs to use is support players a bit more and not chip kick EVERYTHING.

-Have a good week everyone, don’t let a game be the cause to so much stress, it did not go as planned, and next week will be tough as well, but back the team.

659 @ superBul:
    Re the WP winning, it was a huge pleasure, believe me, a huge one
    Wink

656 @ Nama:
    I definitely wont jump for joy, but the rain played a factor. Simple as that.

And get a proper #7 like Juan, Danie Rossouw, Theuns Stofberg…

Pietman, Gunther can ask all the questions he wants, bottom line is, these guys are being paid millions to do a job, not us, so why must we answer?

True, they are supposed to be specialists and they get paid as such.
    If I went for a mayor op the surgeon cannot afterwards claim that the lights in the OR were to dim and he therefore amputated the wrong the testicle…

@ MacroBok:
    Cheers, lekker droom oor jou threesome met Heyneke en Paul Willemse
    Love-Letter

Nama wrote:

The AB put too much pressure on themselves by aiming for the record imo. It inhibited them and it was clear that they did not play their usual game.
    Of course, they also played against the no. 3 team in the world.

And we put no pressure on ourselves to go for the 4 tires? Did not play our usual game either.

@ MacroBok:
    Cheers, lekker droom oor jou threesome met Heyneke en Paul Willemse

hehe naand emoboy.

I believe HM learnt a valuable lesson yesterday. You cannot simply start a young rookie in a key Test match and expect him to swim for gold from the get go. Fortunately he’s an experienced coach and kept Morne handy to steady the ship with his experience. By no stretch was Pollard perfect but he went okay with a few blunders thrown in for good measure, to remind us he’s only 20 and learning the ropes. Nobody predicted he’d be required to dig hailstones from his eyes either.

Cheers all, I’m also out.
    Enjoy the rest of what remains of the weekend and have a lekker week

Apart from the win and the 4 log points, what other positives are there to be taken from this game going forward?

Norts, you’ve been banging this drum for too long now.

Cheer up. The Boks won. Have a beer on me. 😀

Nama wrote:

Apart from the win and the 4 log points, what other positives are there to be taken from this game going forward?

I see only one positive, i.e. that we are not as hot as we might have thought.

(And that ‘green horns’ like Lood and Eben shouldn’t try to act as ‘brekers’ when the opposition get under their skin.)

Okay, before I hit the pit, I’d like to put my balls on the line and say this: if the Boks play a forward pack to full strength(that means incl Matfield, Etsebeth, Alberts, Vermeulen, Flou, Biz etc) which is likely to dominate anything Oz can throw at us, then I’d back the Boks to shade Oz home and away. Their back-line is not that wonderful that we should be scared. Besides they need the ball first in order to be dangerous. Or am I missing something here?

and that’s my Einstein moment for the night. Naand folks. Youall try to enjoy the week as much as I intend to.

Cheers Tassies, laters.

That Aus pack aint too shabby and with a rampant Hooper at the forefront, we are going to struggle to dominate them. We know we won’t dominate them at scrumtime and they’ll kill us on the ground. So, we’ll have to look at dominating the lineouts… 😯

I predict that both the Boks and the AB will win in a more convincing fashion on Saturday. The Boks because they cannot be kakker than what they were on Saturday and the AB because they have shed that albatros around their neck.

Cheers guys.

@ Nama:

One positive is that we played our “get out of jail free” card.

Howzat. 😀

@ Nama:

Now you’re switching to the “glass half full” club.

You’re most welcome.

@ IAAS:
    Hahaha… does not mean that I give up my right to be critical of HM, the players or our game plan if we play kak. Wink

So you have an opinion but can’t back it up.

So why must we answer you say?

I asked you a question.

As a side note to the rugby doom-porn.

What is the deal with the weather? there is been thunder and lightning here since about 6… in mossel bay of all places.

As a side note to the rugby doom-porn.

What is the deal with the weather? there is been thunder and lightning here since about 6… in mossel bay of all places.

Do those Dassies still patrol the cliff path in Mossel Bay?…. Those little varmints give me the creeps!! Pondering

hehe those rapidly fast buggers, also scared of them all attacking me, luckily they clear when your walking on the path. 🙂

Friends,

I have to commend each and every one of you for the way you blogged on this Article!!

It could so easily have been a full-on mud slinging, degenerative discussion, but even though you differed greatly…. there was still the RESPECT that Rugby-Talk.com is known for!

What is even more impressive is that this mostly comes from earstwhile Voldy bloggers, where it would have degenerated no doubt!

Now add me to the Glass Half full Club IMMEDIATELY!

@ MacroBok:

….and the smell they leave behind is eye watering!!

England Women’s Team beat Canada to win the Women’s Rugby World Cup!! 😀

Total 73 users including 0 member, 73 guests, 0 bot online