South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (10) 13 / 6 (3) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Lotus Versveld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Ruan Pienaar (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicolás Sánchez (2)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Teboho Mahoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino.

Date: Saturday 16 August
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-Off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 ARG Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 23°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

691 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

And yet we see headlines like this:”Meyer praise his ‘adaptable’ Boks.”

It’s worrying.

625 @ gunther:
    Why should they change, they have many supporters who are just tickled pink that they managed to beat those AWESOME Argies by a whopping 7 points.
    Mission accomplished 🙄

@ gunther:
    632 @ nortierd:
    Those voices in Norties head again 😀

Nama wrote:

It’s worrying.

He is the President of the “glass is full club”
    Think you must ask Gunther how many members they already have, he is probably the treasurer 😀

gunther wrote:

When last did you see conditions like that on a rugby field?

let HM answer you

Meyer praises performance in ‘worst conditions’ ever

@ MacroBok:
    Thought so.

626 @ nortierd:
    hehe ek was nogals baie beindruk, toe hulle met HM praat voor die game het hy nie eenkeer Awesome gese nie, selfs nie eers in jou artiekel nie.

Dink die spanpraatjie na die tyd het seker n paar AWESOME’s in gehad
    Jean, you are an AWESOME swimmer, if only we had Mark Andrews and Ollie with their water polo experience, then we would have shown them a thing or two

HM vloek meer as PdeV, ek het sy lippe gelees gister toe hy so op en af gehop het in sy stoel terwyl hy in die walkie talkie skrou, hy het gese, ”for vaaark steaks”….SIES MAN!! mens praat nie so nie…. Disapproval

635 @ superBul:
    That actually comes from JDV, after the game.

No

YOU say the performance is unacceptable so YOU tell us what must change.

Grow a pair

628 @ nortierd:
    We were spoon fed on Keo.

Hope you not being a “prophet of doom” and yesterday’s game isn’t a true reflection of things to come.

I’ve met that Hanson guy and his got a permanent smug look on his face. Nothing would please me more than to take that look off his face.

638 @ Pietman:
    Ha ha Pietman, nou hoekom sal hy vloek en kwaad word as, volgens sekeres, alles dan nou volgens plan verloop het en ons mos gewen het?

playing in perfect weather relative to yesterday’s Pretoria ‘outburst’, the AB’s beat Arg by a whopping 28 – 13 at ‘home’ in Hamilton in last year’s championship. Makes you wanna think doesn’t it?

Nama wrote:

@ MacroBok:
    Thought so.

Well you picked the boks by 30, would you have maintained that margin at the kick off had you had a choice?

Nama wrote:

@ MacroBok:
    i saw that and copied it from Supersport site. It is a headline, then they have it wrong.

It’s worrying.

So PdeV like or not.

641 @ Jeraldjay:
    I measure us against the standard of opposition JJ, and in 2 of the last 3 tests we came up short against poor opponents.
    Yes, we won, but at home against Wales and Argentina by 1 and 7 points, not sure if I’m comfortable with that.
    Just my outlook, I expect more from us, that’s all

Funny you should say that, I asked the question yesterday during the match as to how the ABs would have dealt with the Argies had they played them at Loftus yesterday…I think the Kiwis would have taken them for 20 at least.

641 @ Jeraldjay:
    I measure us against the standard of opposition JJ, and in 2 of the last 3 tests we came up short against poor opponents.
    Yes, we won, but at home against Wales and Argentina by 1 and 7 points, not sure if I’m comfortable with that.

You should start a Facebook petition.

Just to add some grist to the mill, I recall Jakey enduring a season from hell one year out from the 2007 WC. Many of us reckon he was saved from embarrassment by one E Jones. Technically, Jake is a very good coach. HM has the rep as a student of the game and excellent man management. He did okay with the Bulletjies and his record with the Boks thus far is not as shabby as some would make out. Just saying.

gunther wrote:

No

YOU say the performance is unacceptable so YOU tell us what must change.

Grow a pair

When it’s your line out, win the friggin ball, it’s your call. Don’t rely on a 38 year old to save you, because if he is injured, what do you do?

Stop kicking the ball aimlessly, the AB’s kick more than us, but they actually have a plan when they kick.

Don’t pick a guy at 13 who has never played at 13.

Stop telling the world how good our scrum is, and quoting stats, show the world that we can actually scrum properly, and if the ones on the field can’t do the job, find guys who can.

If it rains, whether heavy or drizzle, adapt to the conditions and play short balls.

When number 2 in the world plays number 12, you are expected to easily beat them, it’s not soccer

@ MacroBok:
    After last year’s 73-13 drubbing…YES.

641 @ Jeraldjay:

Jimmy Stonehouse for Bok coach?

Won’t the Guppies who are already gatvol of Jake be angry if we scoop Stonehouse from under their noses?

And get a proper #7 like Juan, Danie Rossouw, Theuns Stofberg…

@ Nama:
    I thought we have been crap since Wales?nortierd wrote:

641 @ Jeraldjay:

Jimmy Stonehouse for Bok coach?
    Won’t the Guppies who are already gatvol of Jake be angry if we scoop Stonehouse from under their noses?

It will be like Arab Spring, Stoneshouse is also a conservative coach, there would be another FB petition that same year.

@ Pietman: Howzit Piet. Maybe but maybe not. The AB’s like to spread it. In relatively mild damp conditions yesterday they made bucketloads of mistakes and failed to cross the chalk. Might they not have experienced similiar yesterday if they’d played in Pretoria against the self-same Argies upsetting the Franks brothers in the scrums and pissing on their party too?

@ MacroBok:
    We have been but we are still the no. 2 playing against the no. 12 ranked team. Are you telling me that you would also be quite fine if we win by only “7 points” against Japan? Rain or not.

And get a proper #7 like Juan, Danie Rossouw, Theuns Stofberg…

Pietman, Gunther can ask all the questions he wants, bottom line is, these guys are being paid millions to do a job, not us, so why must we answer?

Yes the scrums, flippit, daai was n fokkop, die voorry…

OK let me sum up my view.

The Boks are in good hands.
    We need another Eddie Jones type assistant coach to give us the surprise factor. Depending on what we want to achieve.
    1. do we want to dominate the All Blacks? Then it must be done NOW
    2. Do we ant to win the RWC, then leave it very late.

I would drop JdeV, he is the most unimaginative Captain currently running around.

Hope by some miracle we see FL,s resignation tomorrow.
    Barend can go as well, he wont be missed.

O, the Thank you,s
    Thanks Bokke and HM for pulling this one through.
    Thanks to the No Mercy WP, you did something great for a old foe. Great win against the most over rated bunch of rugby players and coach.

A wish
    Can we get a Gert Smal tipe of intervention. Please.

PS. If i am FL i would walk before Luke finishes him off.

The AB put too much pressure on themselves by aiming for the record imo. It inhibited them and it was clear that they did not play their usual game.

Of course, they also played against the no. 3 team in the world.

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online