South AfricaArgentinaLos Pumas (13) 31 / 33 (16) Springboks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena, Salta at 21:40 SA Time (16:40 ARG Time, 19:40 GMT).

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicholas Sanchez (2), Marcelo Bosch (1)
  • Drop Goals – Juan Martin Hernandez (1)
  • Tries – Manuel Montero (1), Thomas Cubelli (1), JoaquinTuculet (1)
  • Conversions – Nicholas Sanchez (2)

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (3), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Cornal Hendricks (1), Marcell Coetzee (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1), Morne Steyn (2)

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Lucas González Amorosino, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 23 Horacio Agulla.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Assistant Referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

379 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Argentina vs South Africa – Live Game Article

howdy nama…

yeah… we can be positive… or blinkered… and I’d rather be positive…!! hehehe… 😆

too many people live on the dark side… you need to be looking at crossing over to the bright side… 😉

So, dit was blykbaar 35grade Celcius daar in Salta. Seker te bleddie warm gewees vir onse Super Bokke na laasweek se klomp reen op Loftus. Pondering

@ Nama:
    Moenie die wind vergeet nie….die wind het gewaai en dis confusing
    Wink

@ ufo:
    I try…I really do. Then I watch the Boks play.
    Wink

332 @ Nama:

yip… as heyeneke says they showed their character… and consistency…

they fail to perform in all weather conditions… on any continent… 😉

334 @ Nama:

hehehe… good for you… 😉

they boks try too… they really do… and then they play…!!! 😆

@ ufo:

I could maybe understand the folks venting if the Boks had lost.

But they didn’t.

It’s plainly obvious that the Boks have plenty to work on before taking on the Aussies, but that’s the nature of top level sport. The set pieces need plenty of work – the lineout is not gelling and Heyneke is lamenting the lack of quality no. 5’s in this country – long before Matfield came out of retirement. HM has spoken of the dearth of No.5 locks in this country – that in my humble opinion is up to the unions to ensure you have that quality coming through. The Argies have always had a solid scrum and have prided themselves on it. Can’t see the Aussies inflicting the same damage up front.

How could I? The “glass half full” brigade is quiet. I wonder why? Pondering

Ten minste laat die WiePie ‘n man darem smile op die stadium. Happy

@ IAAS:

howdy iaas…

yip… and you’d think we were bottom of the table…!! 🙄

sensible post from you as always… 😉

338 @ Nama:

“glass half full brigade is quiet”…?

hey i’m here…!! 😯

although… strictly speaking… i’m in the “glass brim full” brigade…!! 😉

@ Nama:
    WP doen goed, was op stadiums bietjie bekommerd, hulle skop nie die bal uit nie en die Leeus was lus vir hardloop, so bietjie dom strategie.
    Maar goed verdedig and teenaanval is dodelik

@ IAAS:
    But IAAS, it wasn’t that long ago that we were told that Babyface is “world class” after his performance in the June tests. What happened since then?

@ufo and IAAS
    I’m glad at least 2 guys are happy with the Bok performance.
    So, do you guys think Argentina will be a serious contender for the WC, or any competition? Serious question.

don’t put words in our posts that we didn’t write bud… like you did all of last week…

where did we say we were happy with the boks performance…?

but we will take and be happy with the win… which is better than a loss you know…? 😉

and with that… this member of the joy luck club has to beg your leave and bid you all adieu… to go and enjoy a lekker lunch in the spring sunshine…

remember… one brim-full glass of sunshine a day… keeps the blues at bay…!!!

a fantastic day to you all…!!

laters….!

Bye

@ ufo:
    Sorry UFO. Yes, you are here.

Remind me of the positives that we can take from the performance by the Boks last night apart from the win and the 4 points. Any players that need a special mention? Any part of our game that impressed you?

@ ufo:
    Enjoy your lunch UFO.

@ Nama:

The Bokke are really struggling to beat the Wales & Argentinas of the rugby world because they lack world class players in most positions.

When did I say that I was happy with the Boks performance? You didn’t read para 3 of my post, you naughty ‘half glass’ full boy. 🙄

The Boks have to make a huge step-up before they take on the Aussies and AB’s – Heyneke knows that. That is his challenge.

@ ufo:
    I’m confused….no real surprise there….if you are happy with the win, then you are happy with the performance, or not happy with the performance, but happy they didn’t lose more than being happy they won?
    Crazy

Somewhere you guys lost me…. 😉

None in the backline ( with respect to JDV who is past his best) except for Le Roux on a good day who is getting close.

@ IAAS:
    I think I get it now….happier we didn’t lose than you are with them winning?

It really doesn’t matter, last week when I said some stuff, I was ‘taken on’ because the weather wasn’t good…..this week I’m sure if some of us are not too impressed there will be some other excuse, so I’m not even going to get involved.

For the record, Argentina are still nr 12 in the world….and in my world that means they suck, but that’s my take

@ nortierd: @ 349

I think you tripped yourself up there and confused yourself!

Forwards, can’t think of too many up front either, HM doesn’t have the players to implement his game plan.

IAAS wrote:

@ nortierd: @ 349

I think you tripped yourself up there and confused yourself!

He he, I think I was born that way

@ NZINCHINA:
    “…because they lack world class players in most positions.”

That’s not what HM and some Bok supporters believe. Wink

@ NZINCHINA:
    HM’s game plan? What is that?

Kick for territory. Play in “their” half. Win the line outs. Kick your penalties.

How can we not have the players to implement that?

@ Nama:

They’ll think i’m stirring but it’s true, on current form who is in the top 1 or 2 in his position in world rugby in the Bokke team?

@ Nama:

Fair call, are you good enough to beat Australia in Perth?

The Boks showed great character yesterday.
    Wink
    Never seen a scrum turbo reverse like that in a long time.

@ NZINCHINA:

China. Do you think we’ll be honoured with the special hokey pokey, based on on our performances thus far.

Total 74 users including 0 member, 74 guests, 0 bot online