South AfricaArgentinaLos Pumas (13) 31 / 33 (16) Springboks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena, Salta at 21:40 SA Time (16:40 ARG Time, 19:40 GMT).

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicholas Sanchez (2), Marcelo Bosch (1)
  • Drop Goals – Juan Martin Hernandez (1)
  • Tries – Manuel Montero (1), Thomas Cubelli (1), JoaquinTuculet (1)
  • Conversions – Nicholas Sanchez (2)

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (3), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1), Cornal Hendricks (1), Marcell Coetzee (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1), Morne Steyn (2)

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Lucas González Amorosino, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (Captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 23 Horacio Agulla.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Assistant Referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

379 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Argentina vs South Africa – Live Game Article

that win was a no-win. Why?
    Because we now all know we can anticipate a thrashing ahead from the ABies in particular and likely the Oz too. Short term future looks bleak. This said from a natural ‘glass-half-full’ kind of guy. Dr Jan should be retired and Guthro should retire back to France. That was pathetic boys. Really.

What concerns me more than anything, is that at this stage of the Bok season Jake White will be emboldened by the poor performance & have visions of a 2nd Bok coaching appointment 🙁

(“Stoked with the win, learning experience, very happy with win”s ar$e, mon)

Willie Hendriks JDV Jan Habana Morne Hougaard
    Duanne Alberts Marcel Vic Bakkies Malherbe Strauss Beast

Reserwes: 2 stutte wat kan skrum, Bismark Eben Louw
    Reinach Pollard Lambie

Panel taking the Boks apart, and with good reason

Eishwinn is lekker omgekrap daar in die studio, hehe.

Lekke AWESOME rugby vandag, lekker slaap almal !

One needs to start with the basics.
    1. Find a decent tighthead
    2. Then add the front row to the shopping list
    3. Need a solid mature/experienced second row to start
    4. Flo + Vermeulen + Alberts
    5. Morne to start
    6. Serfontein + JdV
    7. Mvovo + Willie + Habs
    the bench needs Marcel there for starters
    Those are the basics I’m talking about.
    Then one tweaks from there.

good night all.
    lekker slaap

@ bdb:
    Cheers

@ ryecatcher:
    Cheers fellows
    Lekker slaap

How did Pollard “the FUTURE of Bok rugby” do?

Are we allowed to criticise Herr Heyneke?

How did ‘the Bok legend” Juan Smith do?

Can we beat the Aussies and the AB with our tactics?

@ bdb:#283

“Hoekom is die wedstryde elke keer in dieselfde volgorde,…”

Ja, hoekom gaan die Bokke nie eers vir ‘n slag Argentinie toe nie dan kan hulle mos weer saam op dieselfde vliegtuig SA toe kom reis. Ek dink Argentinie word benadeel deurdat hulle ELKE jaar hul eerste wedstryd WEG van die huis af moet speel.

Ek sien mense begin nou vra wat de hel De Allende op buite senter maak. Die natuurlike vraag oor wie die beste buite senter in SA is word natuurlik gerieflikshalwe heeltemal vermy.

Seker iets met “size” (of die getal 3) te doen. Wink

Na laasweek se “moeson reen”, was die son seker die week te skerp in die manne se oge. Disapproval

The thing that gets me is the fact that we have won at least 4 test matches the last two years coming from behind. If we have the ability to score with minutes left on the clock and when we are behind then we have the skills to run with the ball and score tries.

Why do we need to behind and with minutes left on the clock before we start playing rugby?

Is it our obsession with defence, set piece and box kicking that prevents us from playing to our true potential?

If we can score when we must then we certainly have the ability to score tries. Why don’t we go out and score regularly and put teams away right from the start of the match? Why wait until we are behind?

It is either a self-belief problem (lack of belief that we can play proper rugby) or it is lack of aggression and wrong tactics in the early part of the match. We go out and sling the ball to the wings in the belief that things will just magically open up for us. You need to play a proper tactical game at the start, show aggression in contact, hit the ball with pace and make sure you win the battle at the tackle ball and earn the right to go wide.

We start matches off with a certain amount of softness, so focused on doing things technically right that we forget the aggression and to to play heads up rugby. When behind we play with more aggression, and heads-up rugby. We also kick less and if we do kick we kick tactically better when we are behind and in trouble.

@ McLook:
    What I found interesting with what was coming from Meyer was his talk of needing quick ball to be able to compete against the top sides…yet I don’t know if Meyer truly knows how to achieve this with his set up of pods and recall of Veterans who are use to playing that static style and one off runners….

@ Nama:
    Pollard seemed non existent due to his forwards not making headway…took that Sharks guy Coetzee to add some spark and hard running… another thing is why don’t the Bok get back and form some kind of counter attack formation when the kick goes down to LeRoux… seems like they’re wasting opportunities there…

Te Rangatira wrote:

What I found interesting with what was coming from Meyer was his talk of needing quick ball to be able to compete against the top sides…yet I don’t know if Meyer truly knows how to achieve this with his set up of pods and recall of Veterans who are use to playing that static style and one off runners….

McLook wrote:

Is it our obsession with defence, set piece and box kicking that prevents us from playing to our true potential?

Sadly i am called a half full glass person here.

Well so far HM is found wanting, his game is hal empty.
    No bright ideas.
    I am worried.

We might be super psyched up and play out off ours skins and might beat the All Blacks once with sheer guts and determination, but they have learned to show that same guts against us.
    Add to their guts they have far superior coaching geniuses in their arsenal.

I feel sorry for HM he made a BIG mistake to open his mouth so much.
    If PdeV said all the things HM did it would have been the laugh of the year by now

The recording revealed no surprised based on what we have seen so far in 2014:
    – Steve Walsh bailed out the Boks again in a tight contested test 😉
    (Remember Wales in June?)
    – The attempt to revive the 2007 heroes failed as expected 🙁
    – Some indicated that the HM’s Boks might be 0:6 against the All Blacks at the end of the 2014 RC, it seemed probable now
    One of the arguments here is that the front row is worn out, too tired? well, I detected no sign of such fatigues with Owen Franks and Crockett from the Crusaders yesterday against the Wallabies
    So what next?

The Bok have to force the Abs to fight on a narrow front… a bit like the battle of Agincourt.. or Plataea… and finish them off like the Carthagnians did by out flanking the Romans at Cannae. ..just don’t think Meyer is in the class of Hannibal…

Te Rangatira wrote:

@ McLook:

Spot on. HM employed a breakdown specialist. The result we are better in that department BUT we struggle to create forward momentum because we are to static/slow when we take the ball up. We are also to predictable and our support runners are to late to keep the ball carriers upright and swivel or drive of him.

HM is to one-dimensional in his approach. At least he realise that SA rugby is in need of a revolutionary change. That might be a good start but I am starting to agree with you that he doesn’t know how to make it happen.

Te Rangatira wrote:

The Bok have to force the Abs to fight on a narrow front… a bit like the battle of Agincourt.. or Plataea… and finish them off like the Carthagnians did by out flanking the Romans at Cannae. ..just don’t think Meyer is in the class of Hannibal…

Hahaha. Yip prevent them form going wide with ball. But our scrum will have to improve and we’ll need to come up with better starter moves. We’ll need to hit the advantage line with greater pace and put the ball receiver into a gap; not always try and run over the defender with brute force.

Our centre combo need some adjustment and our interplay between inside back and loose trio need some amendment.

@ Te Rangatira: POST321
    Good analogies TR.
    Have noticed as you have that we have no counterattacking strategy when
    ball is kicked downfield,except W le R. When ball is fielded by AB fullback
    (from another aimless kick) they have 3 and sometimes 4 players who
    have fallen back.
    Regards,and celebrate your win with gusto

@ McLook:
    322 Marcel often cricticised for not passing.To whom?There are no supporting
    players who are running at pace at his shoulders.Or is he just so fantastically
    fast that he runs away from his support?
    Regards

@ ryecatcher:
    Hi Rye..I’m just fascinated with the plan that Meyer will come up with to beat the Abs…because it is possible if there is meticulous planning…just have to stay positive for starters…plus tackle like demons…

McLook asked why we only start running with the ball when the straits
    are dire and we have to score tries.
    The answer lies in a distinct lack of testicle size. Perhaps they should be
    called the”CASTRATI”and not the Springboks.
    Am not blaming players here.(Well maybe one or 5)
    Rant over .Sorry for offensiveness.I love the Boks

sheesh… what a bunch of floossee woossee negative nancy schmancy half empty hole in the bucket dear lyza’s you ‘springbok fans’ are…!
    your, not even half full, broken glasses hold no ‘spirit’ whatsoever… you’d have fitted in well under prohibition…

looks at the scoreboard mense… (the log actually…) we are at the top…!

it’s all a part of heyneke’s ‘bokkie broader picture plan’… to make the argies look good while just pipping them at the post… so that the aussies and abs believe the boks will just stand there like in a shooting gallery and then ‘ping’ over when they take shots at us…

we’re perfectly placed to win the rc… all we have to do now is beat the wallas and the walla-slayers twice… home and away… and heyneke’s your tannie…!!

chin’s up buds…

and one day maybe you’ll graduate from being fans to true springbok supporters…

and that’s my glass brim-full of sunshine for the day…!! you should all try some one day… actually one a day keeps the blues at bay… very good for your health… as confirmed by no less the master skop himself…!

@ ufo:
    I guess some of us need to be positive…of siende blind. Wink

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online