RedsCrusadersReds (17) 29 / 57 (16) Crusaders (Final Score)

The Reds and Crusaders did battle in Super Rugby at

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 08:05 SA Time (16:05 AEST, 18:05 NZ Time, 06:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Quade Cooper (1)
  • Tries – Jamie-Jerry Taulagi (1), Dom Shipperley (1), Rod Davies (1), Rob Simmons (1)
  • Conversions – Quade Cooper (3)

• Penalties – Colin Slade (5)
  • Tries – Nemani Nadolo (2), Wyatt Crockett (1), Johnny McNicholl (2), Luke Whitelock (1)
  • Conversions – Colin Slade (6)

Reds

Crusaders

11 May at 08:05
  • Team: 15. Mike Harris, 14. Dom Shipperley, 13. Ben Tapuai, 12. Anthony Fainga’a, 11. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Beau Robinson, 6. Curtis Browning, 5. James Horwill (Captain), 4. Rob Simmons, 3. Greg Holmes, 2. James Hanson, 1. Ben Daley
  • Replacements: 16. Saia Fainga’a, 17. Albert Anae, 18. Jono Owen, 19. Ed O’Donoghue, 20. Dave McDuling, 21. Nick Frisby, 22. Ben Lucas, 23. Rod Davies
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Johnny McNicholl, 13. Rey Lee-Lo, 12. Ryan Crotty (Captain), 11. Nemani Nadolo, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Luke Whitelock, 7. Richie McCaw, 6. Jordan Taufua, 5. Samuel Whitelock, 4. Luke Romano, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Tim Perry, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. George Whitelock, 21. Willi Heinz, 22. Tyler Bleyendaal, 23. Nafi Tuitavake

Assistant Referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia), Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)
TMO: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)

121 Responses to Super Rugby: Reds vs Crusaders – Live Game Article

What are you guys planning for Mothers Day?
    Here it is a quiet one, the Skoondier Mother had her 70th birthday bash here yesterday… so that was enough attention… hehehe

Work
    Will be working on my wife’s birthday next weekend and on mine the weekend after

What are you going to give us to celebrate? :mrgreen:

ingot 4/6 and my weekend was just spectacular

92 @ kaksioek:
    Fark, the question should be, what YOU GUYS are going to give ME, for hosting this community…

Delighted

who was the kicker vs the stormers? gosh if the crusaders started with a proper kicker this year they could be top of the log… didnt they throw like two or three games?

Yep, they lost the 1st game against the Chiefs at home because they missed something like 7 kicks

The London Sevens starts about 10:00 if I am not mistaken…

kaksioek wrote:

What are you going to give us to celebrate?

3 uncensored posts each and no warnings

Here’s something to look forward to 😥

Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White has predicted that his team will play the Brumbies later this year in the Super Rugby play offs – and he says he would rather beat them then.

White’s former team the Brumbies beat the Sharks 16-9 in Canberra keeping them tryless for the first time since 2001.

Under White last year the Brumbies beat the Sharks in Durban and this was the first time that White had returned to Canberra since he quit with two years left on his contract.

White had hoped to replace outgoing Wallabies coach Robbie Deans but when the position went to former Reds coach Ewen McKenzie White quit the Brumbies and returned to South Africa.

White said that the Sharks failed to make the most of their opportunities against the Brumbies.

“We had our chances in the beginning to get the scoreboard rolling and maybe create a bit of distance, but we missed those,” White said.

“The game goes in momentum. When we had the momentum we lost it and when they got the momentum they took charge of it.

“I’m sure we’ll play the Brumbies again this year so you’d rather win the next one.”

Brumbies captain Ben Mowen said that they had to dig deep but that beating the competition leading Sharks was “hugely rewarding”.

“It was a hugely rewarding result, any time you get a win over the Sharks is good, especially in the context that they have been leading the competition this year,” said Mowen.

“The boys had to dig deep in tough conditions but I thought we managed it well.”

NOBODY wants to see the Sharks play the Brumbies again.

97 @ nortierd:
    Maybe, as a 10 Million celebration I should put up a good “Fight Club Thread”, where everything goes and where nobody is allowed to get angry. If a comment is not insulting, the contributor should be punished….

@ kaksioek:
    I have no problem with Jake wanting to run his mouth off every opportunity he gets, but some things he should just keep in house and only say to the team.
    The we will win 4 on the road is a good example.
    Snoek got angry when we commented on that quote, saying they obviously go for wins and Jake had the balls to say so etc., but we know realistically they won’t win 4 on the road.
    He could have said that they will try, but the odds and history suggests otherwise, but in the team talk he could have told his players go for 4 wins and get it

100 @ grootblousmile:
    We’ve had some “Fight Club” threads on here at R-T… and some okes just cannot insult, they are abjectly bad at it…. Oompie Puma is one, there are no insults in his typing thumbs!

100 @ grootblousmile:
    We’ve had some “Fight Club” threads on here at R-T… and some okes just cannot insult, they are abjectly bad at it…. Oompie Puma is one, there are no insults in his typing thumbs!

Lol, Puma is just to nice a person.
    A proper gentleman

Cheers vir eers, got to get ready for work.
    Will try and pop in later, see if there is anything happening

Totally forgot about this Sunday game. Was watching the Brumbies/Sharks game again and once finished saw this the last 10min of this game. After watching our game then the last 10 min of this one, it seemed Sharks were on a Tractor on the farm and Saders here were on a Jet plane. We no where near that level at all. Hell my team will be smashed next week. Think it might be wise just to rest some players for that game as no way ever will be beat the Saders with our best players or not we gonna get a hiding like never before. So no need to take a chance with some players just rest them. Some have played non stop all SR expect for the two byes we had which seem so long back now. Try and target the Blues game which I think we might lose as well, but with some rested players we just might and I mean just might have a chance to win that one.

103 @ nortierd:

Dankie klein boetie…hehehe.

Yip we had those fight clubs here but it never worked for me… 😳 Overjoy

108 @ Puma:
    Crusaders looked good this morning, just got stronger and stronger as the game wore on.

Your Tjarks better be in top form next weekend, or it could turn ugly.

98 @ kaksioek:

Look I watched that game again this morning. Yes looking now we had quite a few chances there to actually win this game. We never took them. Not only with Fransie missing kicks but knocking on when we could have probably scored. WE did have chances but if we don’t take them we will lose. Especially in such a tight game and the team you playing are playing a carbon copy of your game.

Anyhow it was terrible to watch from both sides. Both played badly only Brumbies got their points and we never did. Also a yellow card should have been give to them which never came, not that it would have done much. If we do face them in a play off hope it is in Durban in better weather. For now I don’t see us winning any more games if we play like that. If we don’t we will not be in any play off at all. Bulls will be and not us. We have to be realistic here. If we want to be in a play off we have to try and beat the Blues or if we lose we then have to beat Stormers home and away and Cheetahs. Stormers I know played badly yesterday but they showed at the start they are getting some great game plan going there and if they click like that for a whole game we will not beat them at all. From here I will take one game at a time and if we lose the rest will not be surprised. If we win a few I will more than likely be surprised. As we will have to up our game and stop the daft kicking everything away and poor mistakes we making.

109 @ grootblousmile:

Sharks should just send their B team in next week. Whether we play all our best players on tour we gonna get a real hiding. So don’t risk them rest them and try and have a rested team against the Blues. Then Blues are either brilliant or not. If they brilliant they could beat any team on their day as well.

For now I don’t expect us to win many more games unless we up our game plan to something better than we seeing now. Or at least execute it 100% then we just might see us win a few from here.

We should stay in Sydney for the week and go fishing or something just relax as nothing we do this week will help us beat the Saders. Hell we looked like a steam train or us on a tractor on the farm. They (Saders) looked like they were on a Jet plane or on a Ferrari…. Overjoy

111 @ Puma:
    One cannot “throw” a game by playing a B Team.

Jake White should have rotated better during the last number of weeks already.

Beast, Bissie, Doc Jannie, Alberts, Deysel, Frans Steyn and Mvovo are being played into the ground at the moment.

Your team is not bad at the moment, but fatigue to key players are setting in, that one can see now.

Frans Steyn looks as if he is carrying a niggle of sorts, JP Pietersen is badly off form…

112 @ grootblousmile:

The think is boet we can’t rest Fransie. Who will play flyhalf? I feel for him as we don’t have cover there. No way at all is Swiel up to this level and not this type of rugby we playing now. Such a damn pity we lost Lambie and Fred one after the other. Otherwise Fransie would have had a rest by now if he only had to play inside centre. We have cover there. We should have rotated Jannie and Bissie agree as the cover there is good. We short on Lock as well and think Alberts is tired as well. Heaven forbid if we lose Fransie then we will have to have Swiel against the Saders and Blues. Then really I do mean it when I say rest our best against the Saders. Not even with our best on tour will be beat them so why take the risk of playing them? I think Von Tonder will cover flyhalf he has flown over.

I still think if we can execute our game plan 100% we might still win a few from here. It is the mistakes we making and far too many of them. If we can cut them down we may have a chance against the Blues but never against the Saders. Marcel was a huge loss as well as Psdt and Lambie. I suppose that how it goes such a tough tourney this.

JPP should be on the bench he is not performing since coming back from Japan. I would move Mvovo back to wing with Odwa and bring in SP back to fullback.

113 @ Puma:

Should read: The thing is boet.

Jeepers even making typos on my pc now… 😳 :mrgreen:

112 @ grootblousmile:

Anyhow your Bulls look like they started to gel and getting a lot right now. Also like the way your Bulls have brought in Pollard slowly. First in the CC last year, he did struggle there and they played him at 12 and 10. Then had him on the bench this year in SR and brought him in a little at a time with game time. Now he is playing with a lot of confidence and looking really good. He played really well yesterday. Controlled the game well.

Okay I am out of here. Going to my old ma.

Catch up later this week. Still have the painters here this week and the electrician comes as well as a few other contractors to finish up. Hope it is all done by the end of this week.

Cheers gbs.

Crusaders or Chiefs will win it this year.

7 out of 7 on SuperBru and only missed 2 match points. (Flipping Lions and ‘Saders!)

Can’t complain though!

Enjoy the 7’s everyone. Busy at the coal face trying to earn enough money to afford gravy for the pap next month!

TOO MANY HOLIDAYS THE LAST MONTH.

Hi guys – sorry, left some time back without saying cheers and so missed some conversations.
    I think Jake was right to say that you have to believe you can win every game or why bother. Realistically, we all knew it wasn’t going to happen though. @ Puma:
    Yes, the Sharks were hopeless against the Brumbies and the game was easily the worst of the competition so far. If we play like that we deserve to lose – simple as that. It was so bad I was actually re-thinking the idea of watching rugby at all 😆 Luckily the Crusaders and Reds restored my faith a bit. The Stormers are playing FAR better than the Sharks at the moment. You have to wonder why they didn’t play like that from the beginning. Yes they still lost against the Bulls, but they will win more than they will lose playing that way. And, crucially, the spectators will be able to stay awake! We have a real problem with our attitude to rugby in SA. I guess the ARU actually made the right call when choosing Ewen over Jake. I just hope Jake sees the light soon and switches tactics. We actually do have a backline capable of playing attacking rugby.

NZINCHINA wrote:

Crusaders or Chiefs will win it this year.

an all NZ final sounds great.

NZ conference has four teams with 30 or more points, Saders have a game in hand over the top 3 sides currently

NZ conference is BEST conference 😀

Total 47 users including 0 member, 47 guests, 0 bot online