Victor MatfieldSchalk BurgerCornal HendricksSibusiso SitholeLodewyk De JagerTeboho MahojeHeinrich BrussowSouth AfricaWorld champion Springboks Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger as well as two former Blitzbok stars, Cornal Hendricks and S’bura Sithole, are included in a 36-man squad to attend a national training camp in Durban from 25 to 28 May, the South African Rugby Union announced on Monday.

Cell C Sharks back Sithole and Hendricks, the SA Sevens Player of the Year in 2013, are two of eight uncapped players in the squad. The others are the Toyota Cheetahs duo of Lood de Jager (lock) and Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (loose forward); Marcel van der Merwe (prop) and Jacques du Plessis (flank/lock) of the Vodacom Bulls; Marnitz Boshoff (flyhalf) of the Lions and the DHL Stormers’ Damian De Allende (centre/wing).

They will join Matfield, Burger and Toyota Cheetahs flanker Heinrich Brüssow – who are back in the national set up for the first time since the last Rugby World Cup in 2011 – in a training squad that is missing a number of players due to injury.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer said he was happy with the form of a number of the country’s top players and the uncapped players who have grabbed their chance this season, as well as the re-appearance from retirement and long-term injury of Matfield and Burger.

sarugby

“Victor and Schalk have been out of rugby for a long time. They’ve really been in great form recently and the fact that they have not been with the Boks for more than two years, has made them hungry for Test rugby yet again,” said Meyer.

“It’s great to welcome them back into the Springbok fold and I know both of them can still add a lot of value to the team with the Rugby World Cup in 2015 looming.

“I’m also looking forward to working with Heinrich for the first time. He’s been playing very well for the Toyota Cheetahs since returning from injury and brings a lot of experience.

“However, the message to every player in this training squad is clear – everyone must accelerate in each area from the first moment we are together as a team and that inclusion in this squad is no guarantee of selection.”

Meyer said that injuries had been a concern but they had allowed other players to press their claims. A number of players in the squad are still nursing niggles or recently returned from long-term injuries.

“It looks like most of the guys are improving weekly and a few new players have put up their hands, which is good to see with the first match of the season, against the World XV in Cape Town, only a few weeks away.” said Meyer.

“It’s also very encouraging to see a bunch of new players emerging from Vodacom Super Rugby. This camp will provide us with a great opportunity to work with these players before the squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series is finalised. I am looking forward to work with these players for the first time.

“This is a very big year for us and the players know they will have to step up a gear, be sharp and focused from the moment we get going in Durban. We have 14 very challenging matches ahead in 2014 and it’s imperative that we build on what was a good season last year.

“It’s important that we start building continuity because there are just 18 matches left until the Rugby World Cup starts. But it’s just as important to recognise continuous good form. We also have a number of players struggling with injury niggles or returning from injury which we have to assess.”

Players based in France, England and Ireland were not considered for this camp as most of them are still playing for their respective clubs.

However, the experienced Fourie du Preez, who played for the Springboks in 2013, has been invited to the camp in Durban as he is available for the Castle Lager Incoming Series against Wales and Scotland as well as against the Samsung-sponsored World XV.

The players invited to the training camp will assemble in Durban on Sunday morning and will return to their franchises on Wednesday morning.

“We have a good working relationship with our local franchises and we have to thank them, as well as Suntory in Japan, for allowing their players to attend this camp,” said Meyer.

Players who were involved with the Springboks last year, but were not considered for selection because of medium to long-term injuries, are Scarra Ntubeni (foot), Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee), Frik Kirsten (neck), Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), Franco van der Merwe (ankle), Arno Botha (knee), Pierre Spies (bicep), Louis Schreuder (hand), Pat Lambie (bicep), Gio Aplon (elbow) and Jaque Fourie, who could potentially miss the entire Test season because of an ankle injury.

The 36-man Springbok training squad is:

Forwards (20): Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcel van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls)*, Jannie du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Cheetahs), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Lood de Jager (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Victor Matfield (Vodacom Bulls), Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Heinrich Brüssow (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks), Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Bulls)*, Teboho Mohoje (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Duane Vermeulen (DHL Stormers), Schalk Burger (DHL Stormers).

Backs (16): Fourie du Preez (Suntory, Japan), Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Bulls), Johan Goosen (Toyota Cheetahs), Marnitz Boshoff (Lions)*, Jean de Villiers (DHL Stormers), Damian De Allende (DHL Stormers)*, Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Bulls), Juan de Jongh (DHL Stormers), JJ Engelbrecht (Vodacom Bulls), S’bura Sithole (Cell C Sharks)*, Frans Steyn (Cell C Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Bulls), JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks), Cornal Hendricks (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Willie le Roux (Toyota Cheetahs).

* – Uncapped at Test level

187 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Meyer names 36-man training squad

149 @ Puma:

Just can never get it right on this damn thing without making a mess up of each post…. I-see-stars

superBul wrote:

ja nee jy beter uit daai woestyn kom, jy raak heeltemal te skerp

As jy vir my n job het by die stal waai ek dadelik!

150 @ MacroBull:

Well for some reason when the Sharks backs are to the wall they produce their best rugby. It has benn like that forever with my team. So hope for now we just forget our great win of last week and focuse for this game.

Been… 😛

Yep exactly, maybe they need another red card to galvanize their team, Fransie is due one 😛

I am faouring history in predicting a sharks loss, the sharks are all ready in “yours to lose” territory. with 3 games against bottom of the log teams, but if they can win against the blues something dramatic will have to happen.

Regardless of how bad the other 4 local teams have done, this has so far been an epic tournament this year.

ons maak van jou die celebrity soos Ronnie doer onder. Dink net n noordelike sex shop met chief honcho sjeik pieta

Puma are you ADD? lol I think most of us just read over the mistakes anyway.

Not ADD, I meant OCD

agree , better to lose now for them. They quickly get carried away and with dreamer Jake there in charge it would be great if they employ Eddie soon.

155 @ MacroBull:

Blues have not beaten the Sharks since 2006. But that stands for nothing really. The Blues can be brilliant as well. Will be avery tough game for us. So just hoping we can win or at least get a bonus point from the game.

Eddie is too old, after Japan he will retire as his health is not good at all.

Also counts in your favour that the Chiefs will mostly be playing in their own conference till the end, so lots of obstacles to trip them.

Hey Superbul, do you know the product, anyway soil stabilizer? Mostly for road construction.

157 @ MacroBull:

I am better using my pc don’t make errors there. This damn keyboard goes over the space where you type your post. So can’t see if I have made mistakes or left spaces where I should. Not the best thing for me to use. But out here working on my veranda so using it. Mos tly us e it for other things than to type on RT. Just that I can pick up my adsl all over the house with it. With my lanptp for some reason can only get connection in my study.

164 @ Puma:

So many mistakes. 😥

Okay out of here. Need to work a bit so off to my study. Better on the pc there. Catch up later.

Cheers everyone.

get the ipad keyboard.

Cheers pooms

no i dont know it.

Puma have a great day. If Bulls cant make it , i will wish you luck with your Sharks, just this year though.

I better get working. All the side shows and other stuff is done, now better make some dough

superBul wrote:

ons maak van jou die celebrity soos Ronnie doer onder. Dink net n noordelike sex shop met chief honcho sjeik pieta

Kan werk!
    Ronnie het as groentestal begin, en kyk nou…

(In elk geval, wat ek eintlik wou se, is ek is bly vir julle part alles in Potties is afgehandel en die Moeder is nou veilig daar by jou Pa ook, die ou het lank gewag vir haar! Einde van n era my broer…daai soort ou mense was baanbrekers, ons kan nie saampraat nie, kan maar net hul voorbeeld probeer volg.
    Maar ek glo hulle gesels lekker daar Bo met die blye weersiens, veral as my Pa, GBSMaximus en daai klas manne saam bondel slaan! Ek wonder of daar kitare is in die Hemel? Thinking )

Laters Nkandla induna…

Jy ook Blommebul, hamba gahle madotha.

HM cannot go into RWC 2015 with a 0-10 win/loss ratio against the AB’s.

Word around the campfire is that Etzebeth hasn’t fully recovered and won’t be available for the June test.
    The Stormers and Bok medical staff will meet to discuss way forward.

Paul Willemse…..

nga puhi wrote:

Matfield and Burger? seriously, both will be good enough for the tests vs Wales, but not TRC imo
    and congrats Sharks, didnt see the game but must have been a tremendous effort.
    Deysel should get 4-6 weeks for his appalling stomp, but I imagine Saffas still dont understand why they have the thuggery tag, and I fully expect many complaints about how SA is treated harshly at the judiciary. should NEVER see this type of thing on the field, it was deplorable and I hope he gets many weeks to consider his actions,

Mehrtens: Lash out bad but provocation there
    ANDREW MEHRTENS
    Last updated 05:00 20/05/2014

OPINION: As much as it pains me to say this, I’m glad the Sharks didn’t pay the ultimate price for the early sending-off of loose forward Jean Deysel in their remarkable victory over the Crusaders at the weekend.

Deysel’s boot to the head area of Jordan Taufua looked pretty bad, but it raised one of my pet hates – the guy who starts the niggle getting off scot-free.

Proximity to the head is what got the red card, but Taufua, a young talent I rate very highly, was holding on to Deysel for a long time. The way I saw it his foot was on the shoulder area and he pushed down with unfortunate results.

I know there’s a safety issue here, but Taufua was the one provoking it, and Deysel, knowing off-the-ball stuff like that is not going to get picked up, made a natural reaction. Don’t get me wrong – this is not directed at Taufua at all, who is a player of immense talent who has performed so well this season.

In the context I could have accepted a yellow card, but the red was harsh. Most big all-ins in rugby are caused by annoying little off-the-ball things, and normally the perpetrators escape unpunished, and the bloke who comes in with the retaliation gets nabbed.

Something’s just not right about that order of justice.

I’m not supporting taking the law into your own hands, but I’ve always thought the harshest punishment in these things that escalate should be dished out to the guy who started it all.

On the whole I’m not a big fan of the TMO sticking his beak in, especially when he hasn’t been asked to by the referee.

Yes, we’ve got to be vigilant on foul play, and I support coming down on that off-the-ball niggle but I’m not sure the TMO needs to be a ref. Otherwise it’s a bit like the tail wagging the dog.

As much as my heart is always with the Crusaders, I was glad the Sharks didn’t suffer too much. Going down to 14 men seemed to concentrate their minds and their collective will. Any rugby fan has to respect that.

Remember the 2003 English team? That was a line in the sand they drew in Wellington when they lost two players to the bin, and they never looked back.

Watching the Sharks battle through the match down a forward, with Francois Steyn called into the scrum, reminded me of my proudest moment packing down on the side of the All Blacks scrum.

We had a move that put Reuben Thorne in at first receiver to get some go-forward at first phase, and I was the one chosen to lend a hand up front. It’s almost like I can stand beside Colin Meads over a beer and talk about the scrum.

Even my brief experience confirmed one thing. It’s a beautiful battle in there. People would be astounded if they understood the tactics and technique that goes into it.

It’s the game within the game and I’ve always found it cool to ask front-rowers about it. It also helps them feel like you value them.

Think about it – three guys interlocking with three others in a massive battle of wills and strength, with the locks in the engine room behind. No wonder guys like Mike Cron are so passionate about it.

There were three upsets at the weekend and they all had one thing in common. The Sharks, Highlanders and Cheetahs all won because they gutsed it out and showed great team unity and spirit.

Defence is where that manifests itself most – getting up off the ground quicker, getting enthusiastic about getting back in the defensive line and making gang tackles.

On attack it’s the support play off the ball and cleanouts. It’s the effort areas.

It gets to a point where teams start enjoying being on defence, crowds respond and it develops a life of its own.

Some of our best moments in the Crusaders back in the day were when we spent 10 minutes on our own line repelling attack after attack. You could feel the excitement building in the crowd and finally there would be a turnover, the line cleared and the lift was enormous.

For the Crusaders that defeat will be a reality check. It also reflects the tightness of this competition, and that you only need to be just a little off your game to be knocked over.

They’ll analyse why it went wrong, and will have their KPIs that will give them a pretty good indication. We always had about seven, and we’d set them high but achievable. If we hit four or five we’d normally won the game.

Last Saturday night it’s hard to think my old team would have hit any.

– Stuff

@ Tuff Gong:
    I am probably THE biggest Willemse fan on Rugby-Talk, I have been backing him since game one, but we must not push him too early, maybe the End of year tour, he is going to be a massive blue bull and Springbok one day.

HM is a safety 1st guy and will probably select Bakkies before Willemse in any case.

But will Bakkies last till next year RWC. I’d rather groom Willemse.

For ‘rugby reasons’, I cannot understand why HM didn’t add Popgun Pete to the squad. AC must be fuming.

@ Tuff Gong:
    Maybe, but Flip was our standout forward last year, especially in europe. Matfield in my opinion has been even better than in 2011, I don’t think I have ever seen him defend like this and clean out the rucks like this. That’s the starting combo while Eben is still out, Alberts will cover lock, while the likes of Jacque dup, oupa and Willemse won’t make the final cut.

Bakkies will probably also come back, which I don’t have a great deal of trouble with. He has showed in November that he has not lost anything and he won’t be overplayed at all, rested and hungry.

The challenge is, do we play the world xv with a bunch of youngsters, against a world class team? Or do we want to play our best and make sure we win, to get some momentum going?

Total 82 users including 0 member, 82 guests, 0 bot online