Victor MatfieldSchalk BurgerCornal HendricksSibusiso SitholeLodewyk De JagerTeboho MahojeHeinrich BrussowSouth AfricaWorld champion Springboks Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger as well as two former Blitzbok stars, Cornal Hendricks and S’bura Sithole, are included in a 36-man squad to attend a national training camp in Durban from 25 to 28 May, the South African Rugby Union announced on Monday.

Cell C Sharks back Sithole and Hendricks, the SA Sevens Player of the Year in 2013, are two of eight uncapped players in the squad. The others are the Toyota Cheetahs duo of Lood de Jager (lock) and Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (loose forward); Marcel van der Merwe (prop) and Jacques du Plessis (flank/lock) of the Vodacom Bulls; Marnitz Boshoff (flyhalf) of the Lions and the DHL Stormers’ Damian De Allende (centre/wing).

They will join Matfield, Burger and Toyota Cheetahs flanker Heinrich Brüssow – who are back in the national set up for the first time since the last Rugby World Cup in 2011 – in a training squad that is missing a number of players due to injury.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer said he was happy with the form of a number of the country’s top players and the uncapped players who have grabbed their chance this season, as well as the re-appearance from retirement and long-term injury of Matfield and Burger.

sarugby

“Victor and Schalk have been out of rugby for a long time. They’ve really been in great form recently and the fact that they have not been with the Boks for more than two years, has made them hungry for Test rugby yet again,” said Meyer.

“It’s great to welcome them back into the Springbok fold and I know both of them can still add a lot of value to the team with the Rugby World Cup in 2015 looming.

“I’m also looking forward to working with Heinrich for the first time. He’s been playing very well for the Toyota Cheetahs since returning from injury and brings a lot of experience.

“However, the message to every player in this training squad is clear – everyone must accelerate in each area from the first moment we are together as a team and that inclusion in this squad is no guarantee of selection.”

Meyer said that injuries had been a concern but they had allowed other players to press their claims. A number of players in the squad are still nursing niggles or recently returned from long-term injuries.

“It looks like most of the guys are improving weekly and a few new players have put up their hands, which is good to see with the first match of the season, against the World XV in Cape Town, only a few weeks away.” said Meyer.

“It’s also very encouraging to see a bunch of new players emerging from Vodacom Super Rugby. This camp will provide us with a great opportunity to work with these players before the squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series is finalised. I am looking forward to work with these players for the first time.

“This is a very big year for us and the players know they will have to step up a gear, be sharp and focused from the moment we get going in Durban. We have 14 very challenging matches ahead in 2014 and it’s imperative that we build on what was a good season last year.

“It’s important that we start building continuity because there are just 18 matches left until the Rugby World Cup starts. But it’s just as important to recognise continuous good form. We also have a number of players struggling with injury niggles or returning from injury which we have to assess.”

Players based in France, England and Ireland were not considered for this camp as most of them are still playing for their respective clubs.

However, the experienced Fourie du Preez, who played for the Springboks in 2013, has been invited to the camp in Durban as he is available for the Castle Lager Incoming Series against Wales and Scotland as well as against the Samsung-sponsored World XV.

The players invited to the training camp will assemble in Durban on Sunday morning and will return to their franchises on Wednesday morning.

“We have a good working relationship with our local franchises and we have to thank them, as well as Suntory in Japan, for allowing their players to attend this camp,” said Meyer.

Players who were involved with the Springboks last year, but were not considered for selection because of medium to long-term injuries, are Scarra Ntubeni (foot), Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee), Frik Kirsten (neck), Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), Franco van der Merwe (ankle), Arno Botha (knee), Pierre Spies (bicep), Louis Schreuder (hand), Pat Lambie (bicep), Gio Aplon (elbow) and Jaque Fourie, who could potentially miss the entire Test season because of an ankle injury.

The 36-man Springbok training squad is:

Forwards (20): Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcel van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls)*, Jannie du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Cheetahs), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Lood de Jager (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Victor Matfield (Vodacom Bulls), Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Heinrich Brüssow (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks), Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Bulls)*, Teboho Mohoje (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Duane Vermeulen (DHL Stormers), Schalk Burger (DHL Stormers).

Backs (16): Fourie du Preez (Suntory, Japan), Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Bulls), Johan Goosen (Toyota Cheetahs), Marnitz Boshoff (Lions)*, Jean de Villiers (DHL Stormers), Damian De Allende (DHL Stormers)*, Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Bulls), Juan de Jongh (DHL Stormers), JJ Engelbrecht (Vodacom Bulls), S’bura Sithole (Cell C Sharks)*, Frans Steyn (Cell C Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Bulls), JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks), Cornal Hendricks (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Willie le Roux (Toyota Cheetahs).

* – Uncapped at Test level

187 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Meyer names 36-man training squad

Where is Kakkers now… I think he had to go vommit quickly….

Kakkers, tell me what it feels like to have to re-cork Champagne bottles, please!

72Sharks_forever wrote:

Look the Sharks normally have the Blues no, but that is all history and I am not saying we will definitely win, but the chances are better than they were against the Saders, also the Sharks will atleast have 15 players on the field and we know how dangerous they become with 13 or 14

Bwahahahahahaha. Happy-Grin That last line was brilliant! Overjoy

Where is Kakkers now… I think he had to go vommit quickly….

Ja, sorry. I have to keep up appearances at work you know :mrgreen:
    You should redesign your site to look like Microsoft Word or something. Far too colourful!

Such a pity Tera has not had much game time this year. Only with game time does players get noticed. I thought he was outstanding on Saturday as was Lewies. Actually really thought I would see Lewies’s name down on the Bok Training Squad. He has really stood tall and taken his chances since PSDT has been out injured. He sure won the battle on Saturday against the kiwis best Locks.

Feel awesome for S’Bura getting called up and also for Mvovo finalling getting another crack at being a Bok, he has played absolutely superb for Sharks this year.

Such a huge squad so of course some will not be around for the June tests, just nice to know they are selected and if needed will get a call up.

124 @ kaksioek:
    Actually not a kak idea, to have an “Alternative Theme” to switch over to, which looks like serious work…. hahaha

125 @ Puma:

finalling = finally

even making mistakes now on my pc 🙄

Yip, such themes are available for OTHER popular sites (make my cheque out to …).

Yes, Tera had an excellent game on Saturday.

His Bok call up is inevitable.

:mrgreen: 4

Matfield and Burger? seriously, both will be good enough for the tests vs Wales, but not TRC imo

and congrats Sharks, didnt see the game but must have been a tremendous effort.

Deysel should get 4-6 weeks for his appalling stomp, but I imagine Saffas still dont understand why they have the thuggery tag, and I fully expect many complaints about how SA is treated harshly at the judiciary. should NEVER see this type of thing on the field, it was deplorable and I hope he gets many weeks to consider his actions,

cant wait to see the class of 07 run out in bok colours again

Jacque Fourie still rate himself as the god of centres??? lol, what a complete doos.

@ nga puhi:

He actually looked down saw the neck and stomped on it deliberately, 4 to 6 weeks is way too light as he could have broken his neck.

@ NZINCHINA:
    And top of the morning to you sir, howzit?
    How about you making a guest appearance during game times bro? Wink

These post mortems of yours on a Tuesday at dawn are a bit like old Whyatt Earp pitching up at the OKCorral after the showdown, dead bodies all around him, standing in the fading gun smoke with only his schlong in his hands, hehehe! Happy-Grin

Who’s Tera…please?

134 @ Pietman:
    Morning boet.

Jeez that post was funny had a good laugh….haha 😆

Never in my life had I seen such euphoric Sharks supporters one moment and such dejection from them the next moment… it was classic, beyond words!

That must have been the non play highlight off the century.
    It took them almost that long to get the champagne corks back too.

As jy al ooit n beter voorbeeld van “mat onder jou uitruk ” gesien het sal ek dit graag wil sien.

@ nga puhi:
    What have you seen from them so far this year to prove your statement that Burger and Matfield won’t be good enough for the RC?

A kiwi calling us thugs is like the pot calling the kettle all black.

Wag tot die Blues die Tjarks die naweek ‘n helse pakslae gee 😉

kaksioek wrote:

@ kaksioek:
    Maybe he also longs for the hayday of sharks running rugby?

Us Sharks fans don’t live in the past – but we understand why you might want to

Wait till the Sharks lose again and then we will have to all hear about the 2012 golden run all over again … the offloads … the tries … Pleasure

135 @ Pietman:
    Tera Mtembu. He plays 8 or6 for the Sharks. Can also play blinside if he has as well. His best position though is 8 but pla ys openside really well too. He is top class Piet. Just needs to be backed more and given more game time. He was outstanding on Saturday playing 6. He no doubt will play again this week. Think with Deysel probably getting a ban we will see kanko alberts and Tera as our loosies for theBlues game.

Tera if given game time by Plum, by now just might have also been a bok by now. He has huge class. Pleased jake is backing some of the very good players that Plum never backed. One can now see the confidence in S’Bura as well as Mvovo with Jake backing them and they both delivering big time uner Jake. Tera will as welll.

Ignore mistakes. Quickly posting on this useless IPad. 😈

Hello all!
    Puma, who is Tera, the player you are all raving about this early morning, that #6 flanker? Surely not…

Ignore mistakes. Quickly posting on this useless IPad.

Same here, still. …. Tired Tired
    As soon as I get back home this weekend I have to replace my pc, this phone thing is not for me, you need small paws like Skoppie for these keyboards.

@142 Ok, got it thx.

140 @ MacroBull:

You said that last week…hehe but a 13 man Shark team we unstoppable…. Even earned ourselves game of the week last night….. Happy-Grin so for now if I was you I would……. Ssshh Overjoy

ja nee jy beter uit daai woestyn kom, jy raak heeltemal te skerp

145 @ Pietman:

Piet…haha old Skop was a master on his small keyboard. I would never use my phone as the mistakes would be even worse. The i
    Pad keyboard is small enough for me and usindg one finger make stupid errors. Umsing my pc isbetter for me…haha.

haha no i didnt, last week when you were down and expecting the loss I told you not to worry, the sharks will have a really good game in them.

Last week the Sharks were title hopefulls
    This week the Tjarks are title contenders
    If they can win this weekend they will be in “don’t fuck this up” territory.

The competition has just not been that clear cut this year, the Shaaks, might be better off losing this weekend, which will make them een more desperate and more dangerous in the final rounds.

Total 75 users including 0 member, 75 guests, 0 bot online