CheetahsStormersCheetahs (20) 35 / 22 (10) Stormers (Final Score)

The Toyota Cheetahs and DHL Stormers did battle in Super Rugby at

Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Elgar Watts (2)
  • Tries – Hennie Daniller (1), Rayno Benjamin (1), Willie le Roux (1), Cornal Hendricks (1), Trevor Nyakane (1)
  • Conversions – Elgar Watts (2)

• Penalties – Peter Grant (1)
  • Tries – Nizaam Carr (1), Devon Williams (1), Jean de Villiers (1)
  • Conversions – Peter Grant (1), Kurt Coleman (1)

Toyota Cheetahs

DHL Stormers

26 April at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Raymond Rhule, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Rayno Benjamin, 11. Willie Le Roux, 10. Elgar Watts, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Jean Cook, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Jakobus Uys, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Maks Van Dyk, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Rossouw De Klerk, 19. Waltie Vermeulen, 20. Teboho Mohoje, 21. Shaun Venter, 22. Riaan Smit, 23. Cornal Hendricks
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Damian de Allende, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11. Devon Williams, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Michael Rhodes, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Schalk Burger, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Kobus van Wyk

Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Francois de Bruin (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

404 Responses to Super Rugby: Toyota Cheetahs vs DHL Stormers – Live Game Article

Something about the Bloody Stormers , they make FL and his plan look good
    2012 they topped the Log with no 4 try bonus
    in 2013 the got one 4 try bonus against the Brumbies
    0 in 2014 so far

1 in almost 3 years

12 by Bulls in the same period
    2012 – 6
    2013 – 5
    2014 – 1
    Eish we wasted so many tries will we ever get more than 4 this year

ag nee dis jammer om te hoor. Waneer jy nou eendag lekker rustig raak in die Kaap moet ons kom kuier.
    Jy moet ook natuurlik bietjie opkom wildtuin toe. Gou maak voordat dit net die Big4 oorhet.

My ou moeder is nou op haar laaste bene. My suster het juis vroer laat weet die ou mens is siek vandag, daai pyn van die rug en heupe maak haar klaar.
    As sy dit tot November maak sal sy 90 wees
    Was laasnaweek by haar, sy lyk baie moeg. En soos ek se die pyn is erg.

Hoe gaan dit aan jou kant?

Jammer heeltemal om te hoor broer, sterkte daar vir julle.
    Gaan ok, Ma maar alleen nou in die woonstel ook, mis die oukerel erg, maar Willie gaan haar darem dikwels, sy nou juis daar by hom.
    Ek is eintlik al ‘afgetree’, maar soms gaan ek oor die tyd hier, veronderstel om drie maande te werk en drie maande terug te gaan SA toe, maar soms werk dit nie so nie, soos nou…probleem is ek kan ook nie net tuis sit en die see kyk nie, so ek kap maar nog n rukkie aan hier oorsee.

Ja,ek wil graag n slag bosveld toe, sal dit beslis doen dankie!

Nortie
    You summed it up brilliantly, thanks
    Let’s look at the commercial/economic aspect of both the Bulls and the Stormers not reaching the P/Os this year, surely there must be some budget ramifications?
    Who will foot the short falls?
    SARU? 😉

$340
    Goes without saying although Roux, Hoskins and Co may not have much say in the matter, they are just the ‘conduit’
    In a normal environment, killing the fair play of a successful tournament such as the SR would be considered dumber than dumb, not here though
    I believe that referees’ swindle did no justice nor good for the Bulls and the Sharks, once you got used to win easy home matches you are no longer up to it!
    🙁

Missed the Super rugby just had a few chances to glance at the scores, was disappointed to see the Bulls result as I didn’t know what was happening in that game until later when seeing the result.

@Hondo 365
    I’m not sure that their are huge financial ramifications, unless you count the gate takings?
    The real money comes from sponsorship, and I’m sure both the Stormers and Bulls are well set with long term sponsors.
    I guess the biggest pro at where a team finishes is the bragging rights it lends to the supporters of that team.

Check how many tries the Bulls duo of Hougaard and V.d. Heever alone scored in the 2010 SR season?
    And then;
    Count the total tries scored by Basson and Ndungane from 2011 to 2014
    You may draw your own conclusion then?

Bullscot wrote:

Missed the Super rugby just had a few chances to glance at the scores, was disappointed to see the Bulls result as I didn’t know what was happening in that game until later when seeing the result.

Was a poor match overall.
    The Bulls started well and showed good intent, but faded during the latter part of the first half, much like the Stormers.
    They started making basic errors as the match progressed. They could and probably should have won, but like the previous tour matches, handling and poor decision making at crucial times cost them.
    Their biggest threat, the maul, is not working well without Stegmann taking the ball at the back and guiding them forward.

What about the TV rights to Super Sport and SKY?
    Judging by the Heineken Cup’s epic battle, that MIGHT be the main SR revenues?
    That btw goes directly to Rob Wagner lot, Wakefield, Titus and Co can’t scoop that vein

@Hondo 368
    Who were the centers for the Bulls during that period?
    Olivier being missed, can it be?
    The duo of Serfontein and JJ are not getting the ball through the hands and straightening the attack.
    It’s either crash ball or skip pass or running across the field, very seldom have we seen the wings get ball one on one with space to run.

@ Hondo:
    tell me , i have no time to search this now.
    But i am not happy with the way we cant finish, something is sriously wrong. It is as if we try to play TOO many phases, and then overplay the situation. NZ teams score way more tries straight from first phase, or so it seems

Olivier never got the credit he deserved, for years he was the best center from south africa in superrugby.

@ Hondo:
    Not sure what your point is, Basson scored 11 tries in 2011 and 10 tries in 2012, joint leading try scorer.

369 @ nortierd:
    Thanks nortierd, judging by the number of points from the boot, gathered it may have been a poor game, lets hope we can turn things around on our return home. Will have to make a plan to win without Stegmann and co who are on the injury list. Just finished watching Glasgow v Edinburgh derby and it was a super match with 9 tries scored in all! In spite of that there was also very good defending at times which prevented even more being scored.

@ Hondo:
    Hondo, why don’t YOU tell us how many tries Hougaard and Shadow scored compared to Basson and Ndungane.

@ MacroBull
    A very good answer to that moegoe.

His point is that the “dark” wings did not score as many tries for the Bulls compared to the white wings.

The only problem with RT that I have: No company late at night. Lyk my almal is vrou-bang. 😆

More almal! Glad to see some of the old faces around….Nortier,Nama,NZInChina….
    Bakkies/Tac/HG/Pedigree…where are they?

Rage wrote:

More almal! Glad to see some of the old faces around….Nortier,Nama,NZInChina….
    Bakkies/Tac/HG/Pedigree…where are they?

Morning, good to see you here as well
    Happy
    Bakkies still pops up every so often on SARugby and HG is on Rugby365 ( thank goodness for small mercies )
    Haven’t seen Pedi and Tac at all since Keo folded.

Well done Cheetahs. Also Stormers. Terrific game to watch.

Was out last night so recorded the game and watched it now.

Really pleased Cheetahs gave my Sharks so much respect and decided to play a defence game against us and not their normal attacking game, as they might have beaten us last week playing like they did last night. 😎

@Puma 379
    Morning to you
    Was a fantastic match to watch and boy did the Cheetahs turn it on.
    Well deserved winners. I’m just glad that the Stormers also tried to p,ay attacking rugby, it contributed to what was a great spectacle.
    Brussouw was just awesome yesterday.

Well done to Sharks_Forever
    Up to number 3 in the SuperBru pool.
    Great stuff

Well done to Sharks_Forever
    Up to number 3 in the SuperBru pool.
    Great stuff

Sharks Forever is hot on my heels, I will have to polish my crystal ball most carefully before I make my picks for the next round. Pondering

Happy Freedom’s day all… oh and my mother in laws birthday

And to you too, and strangely enough it is my mom in law’s birthday too!

@383

You have nothing to fear from Sharkslover.. his team is now on tour and they will lose most likely at least 3 out of the 4 matches in Australasia but as a loyal guppy he will follow his heart and probably picks them to win every game. As a result he will go “BOOM” on the Bru together with his team.

Apologies to HG for stealing his “boom” phrase..

I am now filled with a renewed confidence!! Thanks Rob

Enjoy Liverpool v Chelsea this afternoon!! Glad I do not have to predict that one on bru! 😕

@381
    Was labeled on Sport 24; “Cheetahs win basement battle” 🙂
    Got to give it to to that site for calling it exactly what it was
    ;(

3 losses seemed more realistically, but then the Sharks will battle another Bulls meeting?

congrats Vrystaat.

guess the last few seasons have finally taken its toll on the Stormers players.

superBul wrote:

5 NZ teams in top 9
    4 SA teams in last 6

needs repeating boet 😀

Total 59 users including 0 member, 59 guests, 0 bot online