Cell C SharksHighlandersSharks (12) 18 / 34 (24) Highlanders (Final Score)

The Cell C Sharks and Highlanders did battle in Super Rugby at

Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban at 19:10 SA Time (17:10 GMT, 05:10 Saturday NZ Time).

• Penalties – Tim Swiel (6)

• Penalties – Lima Sapoaga (2)
  • Tries – Richard Buckman (1), Aaron Smith (1), Shane Christie (1), Malakai Fekitoa (1)
  • Conversions – Lima Sapoaga (4)

Cell C Sharks

Highlanders

25 April at 19:10
  • Team: 15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Sibusiso Sithole, 10. Tim Swiel, 9. Charl McLeod (Captain), 8. Keegan Daniel, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Ettienne Oosthuizen, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Lubabalo Mthembu, 20. Ryan Kankowski, 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. SP Marais
  • Team: 15. Ben R Smith (Captain), 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Shaun Treeby, 11. Patrick Osborne, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu, 7. Shane Christie, 6. Elliot Dixon, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Jarrad Hoeata, 3. Chris King, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Craig Millar, 18. Ma’afu Fia, 19. Josh Bekhuis, 20. Gareth Evans, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Trent Renata, 23. John Hardie

Assistant Referees: Stuart Berry, Quinton Immelman (South Africa)

481 Responses to Super Rugby: Cell C Sharks vs Highlanders – Live Game Article

See 450

yep the sharks cant do any worse than third. so thats a playoff at home. semi in nz if they win and final in canbera if they win there. so if you end third you need to play a playoff in each country.

Stormers are going to spoil the Sharks chance for a top 2 finish.
    You heard it here first

Frans again threw his toys and a Highlanders player, he got away with it against Beale in play, yesterday he threw the guy after the whistle in front of the ref.

Come now. Aaron Smith attacked Steyn after he tackled him. The TMO reviewed it and could see nothing other than a tackle, and then the attack from Smith. What is Steyn supposed to do? Take a beating from a midget? If anything, Smith should have been carded.

Also, hi Brumbies Boy, you Waltzing Matilda wannabee 😆 You will see I was online after the Sharks game, sunshine.

@Kaki
    All the angles were obscured, so you think he was attacked, there was no evidence of anything.
    There was clear evidence of Steyn throwing him though

Come now, you could see Smith attacking Steyn. Your line is supposed to be that you couldn’t see what Steyn did to provoke the attack.

kaksioek wrote:

Come now, you could see Smith attacking Steyn. Your line is supposed to be that you couldn’t see what Steyn did to provoke the attack.

Nope, couldn’t see what caused the reaction, and if it was serious the Highlanders would definitely have copped another card.
    Fact is, that’s twice he has thrown a player like that, and it’s signs of getting frustrated and not concentrating on the game but on the opposition

And you’re a policeman? That sounds about right.

kaksioek wrote:

And you’re a policeman? That sounds about right.

What does that have to do with anything?
    You want to keep believing that your players are all innocence that’s your choice. They only react to other teams doing bad stuff to them, right?

Wouldn’t like to see you in the witness box.

Well done Landers.

Not surprised by my teams loss, sort of expected this after last week and all the injuries. When we that was watching heard that Bissie and Deysel were out,we all said that is it we not gonna win this one. My Sharks were terrible last night much like we were last week. We missing some of our big players and the player missed most is Lambie and of course Psdt. Just too many changes each week with the injuries also not helping.

Now it is late to say this but if Jake knew we would get thrashed we could have given: Fransie, Marcel and Alberts for this game a rest. Anyhow its over and we play like that on tour. we might lose all our away games.

Still a proud Shark supporter win or lose that is my team and support them no matter what.

Just a bit worried like I said when the tour sqaud was announced that we did not pick a extra hooker and lock to tour.

For next week really do HOPE Fred is ready to play because Swiel is struggling at this level.

By the way, no, I don’t believe all of the Sharks players are innocent. But Steyn tossed Beale aside like a chip packet after Horne tried to take his head off at the neck with his forearm earlier in the game and got away with it (until after the game). That would make anyone a little testy. The incident was reviewed after the game and Steyn got an off-field yellow (i.e. no punishment) whereas Horne got suspended. Peyper was not involved, by the way. Not everyone hates the Sharks like you do.

Ok, so if I understand your reasoning, Horne does something to him and he punishes Beale?
    Nice

If the referee turns a blind eye to players assaulting one another, they will take things into their own hands and start lashing out – sometimes indiscriminately.

Commiserations to all the Sharks supporters, Rye, Puma, Kaksi, SharksLover and all the others…

Silver Lining Playbook time… Sharks are still at the top of the log… and… at least you’re not Stormers supporters…!! 😉

My Tuppence: this Shark’s performance falls squarely on Jake’s shoulders. For either trying to be too clever or for being too flip…
    When Bismarck got injured the Captaincy should have gone straight to last years captain, IMO, Keagan Daniel… or Frans Steyn… or JP or Willem…
    But Jake hands the armband to MacCleod who isn’t even the first choice in his position and had ‘what’ captaincy experience…? Judging by what he did on the field not a helluva lot. Didn’t see him trying to gee-up his team once… (But that’s not his fault…)
    The decision by Jake was as cavalier and ill-considered as his decision to make Gary Botha and ChillyBoy Bok Captains for a half each in the same match.
    It was a kick in the teeth to the established senior players in the starting 15 and we questioned the choice as soon as it was announced… In emergencies you want to be able to count on your senior squad members but the reverse also applies… IMO… and senior players can expect to be asked to step into the breach left by last second withdrawals.
    Frans Steyn is a very emotive player and Jake has done a fantastic job this season to get him playing will such self belief… but I’m afraid yesterday’s dof call by Jake will have a ripple effect.
    The lethargic performance by so many senior Sharks players yesterday… IMO… can only be put down to Jake’s poor handling of the situation and making what should have been a hiccup into a major coughing fit…

Let’s hope Jake can sort it all out before next weekend…

Jy kan nie met onnosel mense redeneer nie, meneer. 😆

Die Sharks is die beste span ooit en Fransie is “God’s gift to rugby/the Sharks. Moet hom nooit kritiseer nie.

Jy weet mos hoe lank ek al probeer om mense die waarheid oor Fransie te laat raak sien. Sonder sy 55m strafskoppe beteken hy vokkol vir enige span nie.

@ ufo:

“When Bismarck got injured the Captaincy should have gone straight to last years captain, IMO, Keegan Daniels…or Frans Steyn… or JP or Willem…”

Ek wil nou nie snaaks wees nie, maar WIE van die klomp wat jy genoem het moes die kapteinskap oorgeneem het? Die res van die manne was mos nog steeds almal op die veld, of hoe?

Keegan kan nie nou meer kaptein gemaak word nie, want dan beinvloed dit Jake se planne dat Kankowski die no. 1 agsteman v an die sardientjies is.

@ ufo:
    You are so wrong on many of the inferences that you make here, UFO. Just so wrong.

Can’t see the Bokke beating the Ab’s this year, we have key players all performing – more pain for Meyer for that scalp he really wants.

@NZinchinkytown
    You are probably correct, but I can actually see Australia beating the All Blacks this year.
    We Bokke are not greedy people, we will be quite content if HM only manages one win over the AB’s during his tenure, and the one we are targeting will take place in England in 2015.
    That’s the only one that really counts

Norty, they all count my friend, with Kaino coming back into the frame the team is shaping up to be a very good one as he will also give us another lineout option. Australia need to put it all together for 80 minutes, I doubt they can do that this year in a pressure cooker situation at Eden Park, that won’t stop McKensie from telling anyone who will listen how he won the Bledisloe plenty of times back in his day.
    My prediction is for a clean sweep of the Bledisloe, unbeaten in the RC and the breaking of the teir one most consecutive test victories.

470 @NZinC
    I’m thinking the Aussies will stop your record run in Sydney.
    You mustn’t just judge the Bokke on SR form, the better players are in Europe. Our SR teams look dire for sure and it’s not anything to get excited about, hopefully HM can gel the side and bring in key players.
    At least I’m hoping he can

That would be the place to do it, as they won’t beat us at home. The firepower we’ll have out wide will take plenty of stopping this year , sure SR form isn’t always a good gauge but im thinking more about what we are going to bring to the table rather than the opposition.

@NZ
    For sure
    AB’s always go into every test as favorites, and rightly so

That would mostly be right except when we play you at home, were we favourites last year at Ellis, I don’t think we were.

@NZ
    The log position at that stage was the catalyst of the game plan we played, but I’m glad, because it contributed to what ended as one of the better tests in recent times.
    We haven’t beaten you at home for quite a while, so I guess it’s fair to say that, even at home, we are still the underdogs.
    By the way, congrats to your Blues for their victory on Friday

I don’t think the Bokke will ever be underdogs at home!! Cheers, the Blues are mid table finishers at best but we’ll take the win.

NZINCHINA wrote:

I don’t think the Bokke will ever be underdogs at home!! Cheers, the Blues are mid table finishers at best but we’ll take the win.

I see that you aren’t playing the Sharks in Auckland.
    That’s a bit risky don’t you think?

Where is the game being played, that’s a game the Sharks should target.

@NZ
    In Albany, North Harbour Stadium
    I would also think that they will target the Blues game and the Rebels.
    The alternative is the Brumbies and Crusaders, and even White would realize that won’t happen.

I’m out for now
    Cheers Noodles, have a great day

Total 85 users including 0 member, 85 guests, 0 bot online