Romain PoiteSteve WalshFrancisco PastranaIRBNo, this is no April Fools joke, it is true… the IRB has released the names of the Match Official Appointments for the June International Test window!

Romain Poite (FFR), hated by most South Africans, will referee the match between South Africa and Wales on 14 June 2014 at Growthpoint Kings Park and will be assisted by Steve Walsh (ARU), Francisco Pastrana (UAR) and Vinnie Munro (NZR).

One could be forgiven to believe, despite our assurances, that this MUST SURELY be an April Fools joke, because apart from the run-in with Romain Poite, South Africans have had run-in’s by Steve Walsh too and just recently Francisco Pastrana was taken off the Super Rugby officiating lists till further notice for his abhorrent and totally inept refereeing performance against yet another South African side.

Let’s cut to the chase and just place the Official Appointments list here for you…

JUNE 2014 INTERNATIONAL MATCH OFFICIAL APPOINTMENTS                 

DATE KO TOURNAMENT FIXTURE VENUE REFEREE ASSISTANT REFEREE 1 ASSISTANT REFEREE 2 TMO
30 05 14 International Japan v Samoa Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo John Lacey (IRFU) Dudley Phillips (IRFU) IRFU Appointment Simon McDowell (IRFU)
1 06 14 15:00 Representative Match England v Barbarians Twickenham, London Mathieu Raynal (FFR) WRU Appointment WRU Appointment Gareth Simmonds (WRU)
7 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Eden Park, Auckland Nigel Owens (WRU) Jaco Peyper (SARU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
7 06 14 International Fiji v Italy National Stadium, Suva JP Doyle (FRU) Rohan Hoffman (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
7 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Ben Skeen (NZR)
7 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco Glen Jackson (NZR) Mike Fraser (NZR) Jaco van Heerden (SARU) Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
7 06 14 International USA v Scotland BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Chris Assmus (Rugby
Canada)
Andrew Hosie (Rugby Canada)
14 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin Jaco Peyper (SARU) Nigel Owens (WRU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
14 06 14 International Samoa v Italy Apia Park, Apia George Clancy (IRFU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
14 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Wayne Barnes (RFU) Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Glenn Newman (NZR)
14 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales King’s Park, Durban Romain Poite (FFR) Steve Walsh (ARU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
14 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Jose Fierro, Tucuman Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Glen Jackson (NZR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
14 06 14 International Canada v Scotland BMO Field, Toronto Mike Fraser (NZR) Stuart Berry (SARU) Nick Ricono (USA Rugby) Dave Ardrey (USA Rugby)
17 06 14 Representative Match Crusaders v England AMI Stadium, Christchurch Nigel Owens (WRU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Waikato Stadium, Hamilton Jérôme Garces (FFR) Nigel Owens (WRU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Allianz Stadium, Sydney Chris Pollock (NZR) Wayne Barnes (RFU) George Clancy (IRFU) Ben Skeen (NZR)
21 06 14 International Japan v Italy Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo Jaco Peyper (SARU) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Brendon Pickerill (NZR) Peter Marshall (ARU)
21 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales Mbombella Stadium, Nelspruit Steve Walsh (ARU) Romain Poite (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
21 06 14 International Argentina v Scotland Cordoba John Lacey (IRFU) Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Deon van Blommestein (SARU)
22 06 14 Representative Match Pacific Barbarians v Tonga (TBC) Mt Smart Stadium, New Zealand Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment NZR Appointment NZR Appointment
28 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Scotland Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port
Elizabeth
Glen Jackson (NZR) Romain Poite (FFR) John Lacey (IRFU) Vinny Munro (NZR)
2 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 1 New Zealand Federico Anselmi (UAR) Joaquin Montes (URU) Vlad Iordachescu (FRR) Matt O’Brien (ARU)
Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU)
Ben O’Keeffe (NZR) Alexandre Ruiz (FFR) Akihisa Aso (JRFU) Angus Gardner (ARU)
6 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 2 New Zealand
10 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 3 New Zealand
15 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 4 New Zealand
20 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 5 New Zealand
13 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest Match Official Team
Chris Assmus (Rugby Canada) Marius Mitrea (FIR)
Ian Davies (WRU)
13 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Russia v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Emerging Ireland Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
28-06-14 RWC 2015 Qualifier Fiji v Cook Islands National Stadium, Suva Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment ARU Appointment
28-06-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
28-06-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
02-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
02-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
06-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Zimbabwe Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment
06-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Madagascar v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment

I kid you not, unless the IRB is FULLY into April Fools jokes!

116 Responses to Match Officials: June Internationals – Guess what, Bokke gets Poite, Walsh & Pastrana to referee!

yep, typo

but we choked against you guys as well 😀

Incompetent Referee’s most likely account for about 7.217% of your Sites postings.
    You should be paying the people.

@ cane:
    Oooops ……the people……….should read ………”These people”.

61 @ nga puhi:
    Some degree of choking, and a degree of lunacy, especially from one Mr McCullum.

Danced down the track to a mediocre spinner in both games, and (his team) paid the ultimate price for his stupidity.

“Every one has a right to be stupid. Some people just abuse the privelidge.” T. Hall 1992

57 @ grootblousmile:

Very good post. Well said boet I agree totally there.

60 @ cane:
    okay never watched that game. Have not watched much of th e games must admit.

62 @ cane:
    Paying them??

More like paying them a visit, with a big knobkierrie (a traditional fighting / hitting staff or implement)… and break some knees.

PS! I hear Bryce Lawrence is very cruel to his Guide Dog…. the asshole!

Bryce Lawrence and his Guide Dog

nga puhi wrote:

lol good one boet, SA teams dont “pace” themselves, they go hell for leather for 60 minutes then NZ invariably run away with it.
    think FNB stadium and Smit finding Cinderella’s slipper
    20-0 in that second half
    pacing themselves you say?

I saw the game plan, true story, didn’t want to mention it yesterday though, being the 1st of April and all.
    We were poised to strike at 53 minutes 27 seconds.
    The red card spoilt everything, the best laid plans sometimes go awry

Sometimes you just get beaten by better Teams.

And all 4 Teams in the T20WC deserve to be there. unreservedly.

Smiley never came up in the last post. Happy-Grin

71 @ Puma:
    You actually have to INSERT them, for them to come up!

Delighted

Bryce has admitted “He had a bad game”.

LOL.

But it is only a game after all.

73 @ cane:
    Yip, he admitted… and was then crowned New Zealand Referee of the year for 2011… it’s all true!

Who you going with on bru this week seeing you sitting very well up in our pool?

Would you go: stormers, bulls and lions? Think Cheetshas without there number 8 might lose. Then Cook is a very good player but Chiefs are playing well as we saw last week.

Should read: Cheetahs

72 @ grootblousmile:

I do but that one just never came up….. Tounge-Out

But let’s be honest, since the professional era started some 19 years ago, the standards SHOULD have improved significantly, but have they?

It seems almost to me that the more we make use of the available technology, the worse the decision making ability of the officals seem to become.

The communication skills of some of the TMO’s seem to be on a par with a 4 year old, and the downright arrogance of some of the match ref’s seem to be on a par with a schoolyard bully.

Those controlling the ref’s need to take the bull by the horns and sort the crap out.

Can it really be so difficult to get the worlds top 100 ref’s / assistant ref’s and TMO’s together in one place for a week, sit the prats down and say “This is how we as the IRB see this this rule being interpreted, and in this situation we expect you to make the following decision.”

Give the ref’s a STANDARD set of questions to ask in certain situations.

Set certain protocols for situations where the TMO has additional info’ to convey to the ref on the field.

The situation surrounding the release of a tackled player is a typical siuation where the NH ref’s treat it TOTALLY different to the SH officials, with the NH ref’s almost NEVER penalising the player for not releasing the tackled player before going for the ball.

SURELY it’s not too much to ask for to sort it all out once and for all? In all honesty, how difficult can it be?

Having asked the question, I only need to look at the historical evidence pertaining to the IRB, and I guess I know the answer.

We all complained (in SA) about the India/England/Aus cricket coup d’etat, but Rugby is no better, with the 9 founder nations of the IRB all having the right to veto any majority vote taken. (Unless the IRB constitution changed in the last 7 years without me picking up on it.)

Says a lot for how democratic the organisation is.

Bulls always play welll in their first game on tour so not sure to go with Canes or Bulls. Bullls usually falter only the following week for some reason…. Weary

75 & 76 @ Puma:
    I am still considering my picks, never make the picks before all the team sheets are out.

Look, apart from 1 good game, the Hurricanes have been rather shitty, so the Bulls stand a good chance, even away from home.
    I am hesitant to EVER pick the Stormers for a win again…
    Crusaders have been diabollically shit and the Lions have done well so far, so I’m tempted to pick the Lions.
    Cheetahs have been the pitts this year so far, so I would think the Chiefs will take that one, rather comfortably.

In fact all 7 picks this weekend is difficult!

80 @ grootblousmile:
    I’ll let you pick the Lions, I’ll go Crusaders, then I have a better than even chance of getting the Lions another win.

78 @ Scrumdown:
    What makes absolute sense to you and me, simply does not make sense as far as bodies like the IRB & SARU is concerned.

The mind boggles!

Referees are a Cites Protected species, it seems….

78 @ Scrumdown:

Good post Scrumdown. What is most annoying is when the tmo gets it wrong. He has it to look over and over or can he only see a limited part on his screen? Have read that somewhere not sure if it is true or not.

Something has to be done about refs and the tmo. They are letting the game down for sure.

82 @ grootblousmile:
    Common sense is just so common after all.

83 @ Puma:
    If not careful, these abhorrent referee / match official / TMO decisions will cost the Game of Rugby Union as a whole, big time…

85 @ Scrumdown:
    Puma’s spook in my keyboard?

Should have read, “Common sense NOT so common after all.”

One Game does not constitute a year Groot.

You have to look at “The Big Picture”.

I will put up a Match Officials Round 8 Article in a little while…

I see Steve Walsh is the referee in the Canes / Bulls game… another tosser of note who likes to focus all the attention on himself rather than just facilitate the game.

The Puma virus seems to be spreading………

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online