Romain PoiteSteve WalshFrancisco PastranaIRBNo, this is no April Fools joke, it is true… the IRB has released the names of the Match Official Appointments for the June International Test window!

Romain Poite (FFR), hated by most South Africans, will referee the match between South Africa and Wales on 14 June 2014 at Growthpoint Kings Park and will be assisted by Steve Walsh (ARU), Francisco Pastrana (UAR) and Vinnie Munro (NZR).

One could be forgiven to believe, despite our assurances, that this MUST SURELY be an April Fools joke, because apart from the run-in with Romain Poite, South Africans have had run-in’s by Steve Walsh too and just recently Francisco Pastrana was taken off the Super Rugby officiating lists till further notice for his abhorrent and totally inept refereeing performance against yet another South African side.

Let’s cut to the chase and just place the Official Appointments list here for you…

JUNE 2014 INTERNATIONAL MATCH OFFICIAL APPOINTMENTS                 

DATE KO TOURNAMENT FIXTURE VENUE REFEREE ASSISTANT REFEREE 1 ASSISTANT REFEREE 2 TMO
30 05 14 International Japan v Samoa Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo John Lacey (IRFU) Dudley Phillips (IRFU) IRFU Appointment Simon McDowell (IRFU)
1 06 14 15:00 Representative Match England v Barbarians Twickenham, London Mathieu Raynal (FFR) WRU Appointment WRU Appointment Gareth Simmonds (WRU)
7 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Eden Park, Auckland Nigel Owens (WRU) Jaco Peyper (SARU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
7 06 14 International Fiji v Italy National Stadium, Suva JP Doyle (FRU) Rohan Hoffman (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
7 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Ben Skeen (NZR)
7 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco Glen Jackson (NZR) Mike Fraser (NZR) Jaco van Heerden (SARU) Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
7 06 14 International USA v Scotland BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Chris Assmus (Rugby
Canada)
Andrew Hosie (Rugby Canada)
14 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin Jaco Peyper (SARU) Nigel Owens (WRU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
14 06 14 International Samoa v Italy Apia Park, Apia George Clancy (IRFU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
14 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Wayne Barnes (RFU) Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Glenn Newman (NZR)
14 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales King’s Park, Durban Romain Poite (FFR) Steve Walsh (ARU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
14 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Jose Fierro, Tucuman Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Glen Jackson (NZR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
14 06 14 International Canada v Scotland BMO Field, Toronto Mike Fraser (NZR) Stuart Berry (SARU) Nick Ricono (USA Rugby) Dave Ardrey (USA Rugby)
17 06 14 Representative Match Crusaders v England AMI Stadium, Christchurch Nigel Owens (WRU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Waikato Stadium, Hamilton Jérôme Garces (FFR) Nigel Owens (WRU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Allianz Stadium, Sydney Chris Pollock (NZR) Wayne Barnes (RFU) George Clancy (IRFU) Ben Skeen (NZR)
21 06 14 International Japan v Italy Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo Jaco Peyper (SARU) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Brendon Pickerill (NZR) Peter Marshall (ARU)
21 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales Mbombella Stadium, Nelspruit Steve Walsh (ARU) Romain Poite (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
21 06 14 International Argentina v Scotland Cordoba John Lacey (IRFU) Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Deon van Blommestein (SARU)
22 06 14 Representative Match Pacific Barbarians v Tonga (TBC) Mt Smart Stadium, New Zealand Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment NZR Appointment NZR Appointment
28 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Scotland Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port
Elizabeth
Glen Jackson (NZR) Romain Poite (FFR) John Lacey (IRFU) Vinny Munro (NZR)
2 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 1 New Zealand Federico Anselmi (UAR) Joaquin Montes (URU) Vlad Iordachescu (FRR) Matt O’Brien (ARU)
Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU)
Ben O’Keeffe (NZR) Alexandre Ruiz (FFR) Akihisa Aso (JRFU) Angus Gardner (ARU)
6 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 2 New Zealand
10 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 3 New Zealand
15 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 4 New Zealand
20 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 5 New Zealand
13 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest Match Official Team
Chris Assmus (Rugby Canada) Marius Mitrea (FIR)
Ian Davies (WRU)
13 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Russia v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Emerging Ireland Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
28-06-14 RWC 2015 Qualifier Fiji v Cook Islands National Stadium, Suva Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment ARU Appointment
28-06-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
28-06-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
02-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
02-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
06-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Zimbabwe Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment
06-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Madagascar v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment

I kid you not, unless the IRB is FULLY into April Fools jokes!

116 Responses to Match Officials: June Internationals – Guess what, Bokke gets Poite, Walsh & Pastrana to referee!

The Ref who blew NZ out of the 2007 RWC was Stuart Barnes.
    And we have forgiven him.

He owes us one. A big one.
    He knows it.
    we know it.

If he does not ballance the ledger”, he will rot for eternity, in the fires of hades.

He is now Our …….”Ace in the hole”.

Well technically he has been part of the coaching staff for a while now. he is just a coach that plays as well.

The Bulls are years ahead of the other teams : D

it is better that picking a player that so so happens to be coincidentally on holiday.

Is there a rule on how many coaching staff to take? 😛

28@GBS
    The ref in the 3rd ’81 test was diabolical, but he was a Welshman if I remember correctly, not a NZ ref.

@ nga puhi</b
    The Union Steam Ship Company Rangitira,
    if I am not mistaken.

I thought Norling was Welsh, so how does that make him a NZ home town ref? 😆

30 @ nga puhi:
    The China brought up and cntinues to bring up Gert, 38 years ago… but is conveniently silent about Norling…

We’ll never know whether the Bokke would have beaten the All Blacks at Eden Park now, will we…. convenient, hey! At the stage of the 1st incident against Bissie the Bokke forwards were al over the All Blacks.. your argument holds no water.

The best and most respected Referee in the World, at the time. Clive Norling.
    The first ever Ref to use a digital timepiece to keep track of time in an International.

How things have changed.

33 @ nortierd:
    It was clear in who’s pocket he was… and that’s the gist of it.

@ nga puhi:
    Home Town Ref’s wear gold watches.
    Not Digital Casios.

cane wrote:

The best and most respected Referee in the World, at the time. Clive Norling.
    The first ever Ref to use a digital timepiece to keep track of time in an International.
    How things have changed.

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy
    I suppose he is still part of the NZ school’s history curriculum?
    You know the chapter about ” people who we revere and who helped shape the history of this wonderful country”

Freshly baked scones in the house… time for some munchies, chat later

Just for the record, I don’t like Poitte, not because he shafted us, but because he is a Frenchie and involved in rugby…spit, spit, spit
    Their refs are just as horrible as their rugby side

what makes you so certain if Bissy wasnt carded you would have?

NZ had scored two tries in by the 21st minute of that match, with your forwards “dominating”

Read in the 3rd minute and Retallick in the 21st.
    SA got their first try in the 31st minute.

but jah, SA wuz robbed man, its a conspiracy man

@ nga puhi:

Mate we will never know if Boks would have won if we had not lost Bissie for 50 min last year.

Also because of your team able to score the bonus point with us a man down in Aucland it meant the return game against ABs at Ellis Park we had to go against the style of play we would have played against the ABs by going for broke to get the 4 tries. That way we let in far too many gaps for your players to run through for tries. We hardly ever play a lose game against the ABs but we did there. I personally necer cared avout winning the 4 Nations (which it should be called), but rather we played it tight and gone for a win. Had we played to our strengths at Ellis Park like that then I have no doubt we would have won that game. Instead Meyer went for the 4 tries and it cost us the win you simply donT play like that against the ABs who thrive on that style. You let them in too easy even if they a man down.

So you see losing Bissie at Aucland cost us huge as I doubt ABs would have got the 4 tries there as we were trying to keep it tight there but with our best player out we had no chance. It ruined the 4 Nations cup right there.

Another thing about the Flour Bomb tour I warched that game early hours in the morning here and no way ecer was that a penalty in the end to ABs in the last game.

cane wrote:

@ nga puhi:
    Home Town Ref’s wear gold watches.
    Not Digital Casios.

You’re not on about Mr Bevan by any chance are you?

“The best and most respected Referee in the World, at the time.”

Whistling

@Nga 43
    “Read in the 3rd minute and Retallick in the 21st.
    SA got their first try in the 31st minute.”

We were pacing ourselves, it a marathon, not a sprint you know

44 @ Puma:

Lose = loose. Ignore the rest of the typos guys as I am on my iPad again… Distort

I thought NZinChina was just complimenting SA when mentioning Gerty, having found such a suitable replacement in Berry.

makes Sir Bryce look like an amateur tbh

lol good one boet, SA teams dont “pace” themselves, they go hell for leather for 60 minutes then NZ invariably run away with it.

think FNB stadium and Smit finding Cinderella’s slipper

20-0 in that second half

pacing themselves you say? Whistling

32 @ MacroBull:
    Crafty move by Bulls. If any of our playersick up a injury while on tour then we have to send for a replacement with little time to train with the team as they arrive late.

Sharks should then take John Smit along as the coaching Staff… Be Happy

We Kiwi’s do appreciate you Saffa’s not mentioning “The Cricket”.
    This being a Rugby site and all.

@ nga puhi:
    eish, that 20-nil second half wasnt the Smit test, it was another one, further illustrating my point?

just glad those games werent at altitude, we would have been stuffed.

oh wait 😀

Daft iPad does my head in just make too many mistakes using this. Have workers here in my study so cant use my pc there so on my IPad today. Damn i am useless with it…

52 @ cane: Overjoy

52 @ cane:
    Cane what. Happened in the cricket? I have not followed too much of itof late.

Look, fact of the matter is we do not want kak refs, now do we?

Whether you guys believe Gert (38 years ago) or Clive Norling (33 years ago) or Bryce Lawrence or Derek Bevan or Stuart Barnes or this freegin doff Romain Poite clown cheated, made senseless mistakes or whatever… it does not matter one iota!

What we want and demand is good refereeing, resulting in a fair outcome of a game… and not determining the result as a direct result of his actions.

I want the referees and match officials to be facilitators of the game, not determine the outcome!

I want proper sanctions to be applied against those who cannot maintain that standard, not for the cracks to be plastered over.

Surely that much we should agree upon!

SA rolled us for 60 chasing 120 in the T20 to qualify for the semi’s.

I imagine NZ cricket fans share similar feelings with SA rugby fans, never being good enough and all.

nga puhi wrote:

SA rolled us for 60 chasing 120 in the T20 to qualify for the semi’s.

Sri Lanka surely? Not SA.

We(NZ), got ourselves unceremoniously exited from the WT20 Comp by Nation formerly known as Ceylon.

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online