WaratahsMelbourne RebelsWaratahs (11) 32 / 8 (8) Rebels (Final Score)

The Waratahs and Melbourne Rebels did battle in Super Rugby at

Allianz Stadium, Sydney at 10:40 SA Time (19:40 AEST, 08:40 GMT).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD &CSN on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (2)
  • Tries – Alofa Alofa (1), Peter Betham (1), Israel Folau (2)
  • Conversions – Benard Foley (3)

Rebels:

• Penalties – Bryce Hegarty (1)
  • Tries – Scott Higginbotham (1)

Waratahs

Rebels

21 March at 10:40
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Alofa Alofa, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Peter Betham, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Dave Dennis (Captain), 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Jacques Potgieter, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Will Skelton, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Sekope Kepu
  • Replacements: 16. Tola Latu, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Benn Robinson, 19. Wycliff Palu, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Rob Horne, 23. Matt Carraro
  • Team: 15. Angus Roberts, 14. Lachlan Mitchell, 13. Tamati Ellison, 12. Mitch Inman, 11. Tom English, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 9. Luke Burgess, 8. Scott Higginbotham (Captain), 7. Scott Fuglistaller, 6. Sean McMahon, 5. Luke Jones, 4. Hugh Pyle, 3. Paul Alo-Emile, 2. Pat Leafa, 1. Toby Smith
  • Replacements: 16. Shota Horie, 17. Max Lahiff, 18. Cruze Ah-Nau, 19. Cadeyrn Neville, 20. Colby Faingaa, 21. Ben Meehan, 22. Male Sa’u, 23. Tom Kingston

Assistant Referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia), Graham Cooper (Australia)

149 Responses to Super Rugby: Waratahs vs Melbourne Rebels – Live Game Article

Time is up… 1 last scrum

90 – margin I-see-stars

Yeeeee haaaaaaaaah

Final Score: Waratahs 32 / 8 Melbourne Rebels

93 @ nortierd:
    Well done NorTIERdier!

Good one for you on Bru!

OK fellas… that was the Super Rugby games for today.

Tomorrow we have 5 games.

93 @ nortierd:
    Well done Nortie spot on there. I had Tahs by 9 not sure why just never know with the Derby games.

The sun is out through the clouds at Rendezvous@Emhlangeni…

The party is about to get serious!

Okay that is me out of here.

Cheers everyone catch up for the early games tomorrow.

98 @ grootblousmile:
    Enjoy it.

100 @ Puma:
    Thanks, will try my best!

OK folks, chat a bit later again!

93 @ nortierd:
    Well done Nortie spot on there. I had Tahs by 9 not sure why just never know with the Derby games.

Happy about the score, but I reckon some good fantasy points as well with Folau ( as captain his points double ) and higgenbotham getting a try

103 @ nortierd:
    I never play Fantasy boet. If you doing well there, well done.

Just looking at the fixture list and see Stormers have to play Tahs after having to travel back from Brisbane. Tahs are here already a week by then. Tough on your boys so hope the Sharks make it really hard for them the week before and tire them for Stormers… 🙂

@Puma
    1st time playing fantasy, not doing too well.
    Waratahs will easily beat the Stormers, I might go for them against the Sharks as well, they must still click and heaven help the team against them when they do
    They have the best backline in the competition IMO.

Don’t know if anyone is watching the cricket?
    Ireland got 190 odd, Dutch are 82 after 5 overs for 0 wickets
    Raining sixes
    Dutch need 190 in 14.2 overs to progress and they are going for it

was such a good game

Unbelievable
    To chase 190 in less than 15 overs and to get it, wow
    Feel for the Oirish boys, they got a great score and would have thought that’s points in the bank

made it by 3 balls, ridiculous

30 sixes in one game, that lasted less than 34 overs haha

Was great viewing though
    I picked the Dutch by 5 wickets, got the closest

Common denominator in all these complaints….Peyper, Berry and vd Merwe
    Teams that got helped……..SA sides, even with the Brumbies winning, kept the Waratahs away from the Sharks on the overall log

Super Rugby governing body SANZAR will conduct a purge of the competition’s referees in the wake of a series of controversial blunders by match officials in the opening rounds of the season.

Lyndon Bray, SANZAR’s referees co-ordinator, said the 18-member team of referees was set for change.

“Within the next week or two we will be making decisions that will keep our team extremely accountable,” Bray said in comments published by The Australian newspaper on Friday.

“There is a lot of pain to go for referees … The fact is, they’re either going to get dropped out of the team, which is a significant consequence obviously, or suffering from the point of view of number and quality of appointments.

“It will be a strong statement in terms of those who are currently refereeing at the top of our team and those that are clearly moving in that direction and those that aren’t.”

The standard of officiating came under heavy scrutiny last weekend, with coaches from several franchises fuming after contentious decisions.

Bray was moved to clarify a number of them this week, including a controversial try awarded by South African referee Stuart Berry to Lions fullback Coenie van Wyk during the Johannesburg-based team’s 39-36 win at home to the Auckland Blues.

With help from South African television match official Johan Greeff, Berry awarded the try despite video footage showing Van Wyk’s team mate Deon van Rensburg had lost the ball forward in a tackle on the try-line.

Queensland Reds coach Richard Graham said he would contact Bray after some “bewildering” decisions in his team’s 35-20 loss against the Sharks in Durban, while New South Wales Waratahs coach Michael Cheika also grumbled about scrum penalties in his team’s loss to the ACT Brumbies.

“I would always dispute the argument that there is no accountability or action,” Bray said.

“There is. I would only say watch this space at the moment because we’re 80 percent through the process of making some of those decisions.”

Matfield to captain the Bulls tomorrow, WTF? Crazy

I know we are worried abt the refs. but outside these games it seems like there is no concesus on these knock ons. and then no one has even touched on the mvovu knock on.

The laws are too complicated.

So outside the current 18 refs im confident the ones thats not on that panel would not do much better.

give the refs the benefit but simplify the law book.

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

Matfield to captain the Bulls tomorrow, WTF?

Matfield to captain the Boks at the WC

@Macrobull
    If they don’t want neutral refs, then at least neutral TMO’s.
    The TMO’s seem more skelm than the refs sometimes

14th Match, Group 1: South Africa v Sri Lanka at Chittagong
    Mar 22, 2014 (15:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 11:30 SAST)

BrumbiesBoy wrote:
    Matfield to captain the Bulls tomorrow, WTF?
    Matfield to captain the Boks at the WC

Can’t see it, sorry, if memory serves me correct he’ll be 38 by the time the tournament starts? And a guy like Os played his last Test at the age of 36?

Hope for SA’s sake HM’s plan B & C are better…
    Daze

@BB
    You are being blinded by his age
    He was, is and will always be HM’s captain of choice.
    If he is on form he would play, if he plays he could captain

Must say he and Flip was a good combo, both were on fire. Now its not that great against the Sharks

Total 40 users including 0 member, 40 guests, 0 bot online