Super RugbyIt is Round 5 of Super Rugby 2014 this weekend! We have 7 games in Round 5, with 2 games on Friday and 5 games on Saturday.

The Vodacom Bulls have a bye weekend.

In June / July 2014 the Antipion teams will catch up in played games with the South African counterparts, when the South African sides sit out for 1 Round.

The Combined Log will therefore be skewed for the majority of the competition and one has to question why individual countries are allowed to start such a long competition ahead of it’s rivals. In 2013 the Australian sides started a week early, but at least they had the excuse that they needed an extra week in the middle of the year to prepare for the British & Irish Lions series, which they lost.

Super Rugby – Round 5

Chiefs

DHL Stormers

14 March at 08:35
  • Team: 15. Gareth Anscombe, 14. Tim Nanai-Williams, 13. Charlie Ngatai, 12. Tom Marshall, 11. James Lowe, 10. Aaron Cruden (Captain), 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8. Liam Squire, 7. Tanerau Latimer, 6. Liam Messam, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Matt Symons, 3. Ben Tameifuna, 2. Mahonri Schwalger, 1. Jamie Mackintosh
  • Replacements: 16. Rhys Marshall, 17. Pauliasi Manu, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Michael Fitzgerald, 20. Tevita Koloamatangi, 21. Brad Webber, 22. Robbie Fruean, 23. Asaeli Tikoirotuma
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Gio Aplon, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Deon Fourie, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Siya Kolisi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Peter Grant, 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau

Melbourne Rebels

Crusaders

14 March at 10:40
  • Team: 15. Jason Woodward, 14. Lachlan Mitchell, 13. Tamati Ellison, 12. Mitch Inman, 11. Tom English, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 9. Luke Burgess, 8. Scott Higginbotham (Captain), 7. Scott Fuglistaller, 6. Sean McMahon, 5. Luke Jones, 4. Hugh Pyle, 3. Laurie Weeks, 2. Pat Leafa, 1. Toby Smith
  • Replacements: 16. Shota Horie, 17. Max Lahiff, 18. Paul Alo-Emile, 19. Cadeyrn Neville, 20. Colby Faingaa, 21. Ben Meehan, 22. Angus Roberts, 23. Telusa Veainu
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Nafi Tuitavaki, 13. Ryan Crotty, 12. Tom Taylor, 11. Johnny McNicholl, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Matt Todd, 6. Luke Whitelock, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Luke Romano, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Ben Funnell, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Tim Perry, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Dominic Bird, 20. Jordan Taufua, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Kieron Fonotia, 23. Nemani Nadolo

Hurricanes

Toyota Cheetahs

15 March at 05:35
  • Team: 15. James Marshall, 14. Alapati Leiua, 13. Conrad Smith (Captain), 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. Chris Smylie, 8. Blade Thomson, 7. Ardie Savea, 6. Faifili Levave, 5. Mark Reddish, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ben Franks
  • Replacements: 16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Chris Eves, 18. John Schwalger, 19. James Broadhurst, 20. Jack Lam, 21. TJ Perenara, 22. Matt Proctor, 23. Marty Banks
  • Team: 15. Willie le Roux, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Francois Venter, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Lappies Labuschagné, 6. Boom Prinsloo, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Lodewyk de Jager, 3. Maks van Dyk, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Rossouw de Klerk, 19. Andries Ferreira, 20. Jean Cook, 21. Shaun Venter, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Hennie Daniller

Highlanders

Western Force

15 March at 08:35
  • Team: 15. Ben R Smith (Captain), 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Shaun Treeby, 11. Kurt Baker, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu, 7. Shane Christie, 6. John Hardie, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Jarrad Hoeata, 3. Chris King, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Matias Diaz, 18. Craig Millar, 19. Josh Bekhuis, 20. Elliot Dixon, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Phil Burleigh
  • Team: 15. Jayden Hayward, 14. Luke Morahan, 13. Junior Rasolea, 12. Kyle Godwin, 11. Nick Cummins, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Alby Mathewson, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. Matthew Hodgson (Captain), 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Sam Wykes, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pekahou Cowan
  • Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Oli Hoskins, 19. Adam Coleman, 20. Brynard Stander, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Marcel Brache

Brumbies

Waratahs

15 March at 10:40
  • Team: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Pat McCabe, 11. Robbie Coleman, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. Jarrad Butler, 6. Scott Fardy, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Leon Power, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ruan-Henry Smith, 18. Jean-Pierre Smith, 19. Jordan Smiler, 20. Locky McCaffrey, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Lionel Cronje
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Alofa Alofa, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Peter Betham, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis (Captain), 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Jacques Potgieter, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. Tola Latu, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sekope Kepu, 19. Will Skelton, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Rob Horne, 23. Matt Carraro

Lions

Blues

15 March at 15:00
  • Team: 15. Coenie van Wyk, 14. JW Jonker, 13. Deon van Rensburg, 12. Stefan Watermeyer, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Francois de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7. Willie Britz, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Franco Mostert, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk (FS) van der Merwe
  • Replacements: 16. Willie Wepener, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 20. Warwick Tecklenburg, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Ruan Combrinck
  • Team: 15. Benji Marshall, 14. Frank Halai, 13. George Moala, 12. Pita Ahki, 11. Charles Piutau, 10. Chris Noakes, 9. Piri Weepu, 8. Steven Luatua, 7. Luke Braid (Captain), 6. Brendon O’Connor, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. James Parsons, 1. Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16. Tom McCartney, 17. Sam Prattley, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Liaki Moli, 20. Jordan Manihera, 21. Bryn Hall, 22. Simon Hickey, 23. Jackson Willison

Cell C Sharks

Reds

15 March at 17:05
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Sibusiso Sithole, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. TBA, 20. Lubabalo Mtembu, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. Jaco van Tonder
  • Team: 15. Aidan Toua, 14. Rod Davies, 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12. Mike Harris, 11. Lachlan Turner, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Liam Gill, 6. Ed Quirk, 5. James Horwill (Captain), 4. Rob Simmons, 3. Greg Holmes, 2. Saia Faingaa, 1. James Slipper
  • Replacements: 16. James Hanson, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Jono Owen, 19. Ed O`Donoghue, 20. Beau Robinson, 21. Nicholas Frisby, 22. Ben Tapuai, 23. Dom Shipperley

152 Responses to Super Rugby 2014: Weekend Teams – Round 5 (Final Revision)

119 @ Hondo:
    The Sharks are playing the Reds, not the Blues.

The Lions are playing the Blues.

120 @ IAAS:
    Yeah… it will be postponed for some months before it resumes, after this first spell.

@ Hondo:

Now you’re an Aplon fan.

And.

“The Sharks unearthed another Black Diamond.”

You’ve changed.

What happened?

Yeah, the wheels of justice/law turn very slowly.

124 @ IAAS:
    As long as they keep turning and we don’t fall into a State of “Jungle Justice” in SA eventually, it’s OK.

Every part of the Case needs to be presented and tested properly.

My wife, Handbriekie, does not understand how courts and burden of proof works and she is one of those who think this trial and Barrie Roux’s questions is a crock of shit. The average lay-person thinks this is a circus.

Hello, 125
    Too much time wasted.
    get it over.
    Even in the time of Death penalty , some might have been hung wrongly , but that in itself kept many more people away from crime.
    Now is a joke.
    If you have a good lawyer you can get away with anything.
    If you cant afford a lawyer you are provided one and your sentence is low. Getting 20 years might end in 4 years, no ways you need to fear

I was never ever a fan of CSI Miami and that kak.

This is now reality TV in its purest form. I do enjoy good debates. And I hate reality shows as a rule.

Both sides have their strategies. Let’s see how it all unfolds. The thing is that you cannot look at one day in isolation. But you know that.

126 @ superBul:
    Our Courts have always applied the same principles in giving evidence and in the methods of cross-examination…. even in the days where the Death penalty applied.

I once went and did a legal visit / took documents to a Death Row prisoner in Pretoria Maximum Prison… at about 16:00 on the afternoon before he was hung the next morning at 05:00…

I was doing my Articles at the time, and the documents were for him to sign an affidavit for a Supreme Court (now High Court) Application that night to have his execution stayed (postponed). Our firm got involved in the matter after the oke had already been sentenced to death and all other avenues had been exhausted.

The difference in this trial is the media exposure it gets, which was not possible in the past due to the nature of what media elements and communication methods was available at the time.

Let me put it this way, by example…. Mandela’s Rivonia Trial also took long and had it’s circus elements…

It is NEVER and should NEVER be an element of our Jurisprudence that innocent people fall into the cracks, just to have speedy court cases… that is just FARKING WRONG!!!

Why not just better the systems to investigate and prosecute properly in stead of bringing some Jungle Justice into play?

127 @ IAAS:
    Yeah, those programs purport to take place in some “Ideal World”, which does not exist.

I like Sport and Discovery and History Channels, I hate Soapies and the Reality Freak Shows and farking Teen Movies (eishhhh)!

Speaking of justice. I see you meted out a bit to varing. Don’t say you weren’t warned. He’s actually a pussycat if you meet him. Amazing how some guys change if you put a keyboard in front of them.

I post all these snippets from Mails i received. Forgive me it it is not really relevant.

Varsity Cup the final count down
    Rugby that Rocks will have you on your feet in the last round with 6 of the teams still able to make the semi finals and some incredible permutations unfolding. FNB Shimlas for instance can go best possible 3rd and worst possible 7th – a relegation match. The high flying Ikeys could find themselves 1st or 5th!

Fantasy Rugby Scout has posted a new item, ‘Super Rugby Preview – Lions vs
    Blues’

Lions vs Blues: Saturday 15th March

No team would have welcomed the Lions back to Super Rugby more than the Blues
    who’ve been making mince-meat of the Johannesburg side since Super Rugby began.
    The men from Auckland have smashed the Lions in the last 6 consecutive matches
    by an average of score of 42-14! Will it happen again this weekend? More than
    likely yes…

The Blues have unleashed Benji Marshall at last:

130 @ IAAS:
    I know Varing personally, have for years… have had a few toots with the oke too on more than 1 occasion.

He used to phone me on the Cell, just to chat, every so often.

The things is, whether I know the oke or not, the same measure should apply for everybody…. and he was way out of line. You should have seen the comment of his I had to delete.

He is not banned, I warned him after I deleted a comment of his… and he chose to take his lemoene and fokkof… so I wished him a Lekker Fokkof… hehehe

Made your picks? I went for the Home team but after reading this i wonder.

Highlanders vs Force: Saturday 15th March

There’s not many teams the Force can call bunnies but the Highlanders is one of
    them. The men from Perth have won the last 5 consecutive matches between the
    sides which is incredible when you consider that this is the Force we’re talking
    about here! But all things are always equal when it comes to the hallowed turf
    of the rugby ground and no result is certain – just ask the Melbourne Rebels. We
    don’t believe it ourselves but could a match involving the Force actually be
    something to look forward to this weekend? It might just well be….

The Highlanders will be looking to stamp out the Force this weekend:

I suppose I better quickly do tomorrow’s Live Game Articles… and get my Bru Picks in…

that was so out of line , everybody was happy and calm and he just let fly with the most insults i have seen for years. We never allowed this Here before. Whoow what was he on. Must be strong stuff.

Fantasy Rugby Scout has posted a new item, ‘Super Rugby Preview – Hurricanes vs
    Cheetahs'( funny guy this, his way with words???)

Hurricanes vs Cheetahs: Saturday 15th March

If your partner hates rugby, this is the game to change their mind. When the
    Cheetahs and Canes meet it’s a try-scoring, missed-tackling, block-busting
    extravaganza! The cast for this weekend stars Julian Savea, Conrad Smith, Corey
    Jane, Willie le Roux and Raymond Rhule. The last 3 scorelines were 39-34, 38-47
    and 50-47 to… Rugby. Put on your Welly boots boys, let’s have ourselves a
    rowdy! (Disclaimer: This may actually not be the match to change your partners’
    mind given that it kicks off at 5:35am on a Saturday morning)

137 @ superBul:
    It was so unprovoked… as if he wanted to test the tollerance of this site… or as if he wanted to make deliberate kak…

Some guys are into discipline. Fern took it – but is now licking his wounds. I think he forgot which site he was on. Towards the end, anything went on the other site. There was no policing, well very little.

He will come crawling back. And I will end up having a beer with him. Someday.

140 @ IAAS:
    He is welcome to come back, and fall in with the way we do things here… I have no problem or grudge to bear.

I even went to see if Varing was at Atlas’ Hospitality Box after the Bulls / Blues game last weekend… the Losie was closed though by the time I got there after the Press Conferences.

Fern just likes to stir, he must really just use the smiley faces more often, it’s difficult to believe it’s the same person when meeting up in real life compared to the online Fern.
    Really enjoy his company, but have learnt to take his posts with a salt mine

OK, tomorrow’s 2 Super Rugby games are scheduled… need to do my Bru Picks now… eish

I’ll never forget how he charged old Bakkies up, Bakkies will still probably try to murder him if they ever meet face to face.
    I think Fern caused Bakkies to go on more head clearing walkabout a than all the Kiwi bloggers combined

142 @ nortierd:
    I think sometimes his “Tor op ‘n kurkprop” inside his head, gets a bit bevok and moers off the cork… he has a bit of a chemical imbalance, I think!

Delighted

OK, my Super Rugby Bru picks are in… think it’s time for me to go hurt a bed.

Goeie nag, slaap sag!

Fern is a ‘baby face assassin’!!! Ek lief hom soos n broer, goeie ou.

Stem saam Pietman. Hy is n moerse nice persoon, ek geniet sy geselskap baie.
    Net een minor foutjie met hom, hy support die Sharks
    Wink

PSDT is a huge loss for us. If he had a scope will be out for next weeks game as well. Do hope he is back in a few wekks. Think Jake will bring in Oosthuizen. His bulk as well will help our scrum later when he comes on. I wonder what Skyes is doing right now? Wonder if we could get him on loan from Kings? He knows the Sharks well. We do also have Peet Marais and the player we got from Kwas just not sure what has happeneded to him. So we do have cover just that PSDT is such a class player.

No worries bru, Lewies will come good tomorrow, tough as Namibian biltong, that boy.
    Hulle Suidwesters is rowwe manne!

Total 93 users including 0 member, 93 guests, 0 bot online