Super RugbyIt is Round 5 of Super Rugby 2014 this weekend! We have 7 games in Round 5, with 2 games on Friday and 5 games on Saturday.

The Vodacom Bulls have a bye weekend.

In June / July 2014 the Antipion teams will catch up in played games with the South African counterparts, when the South African sides sit out for 1 Round.

The Combined Log will therefore be skewed for the majority of the competition and one has to question why individual countries are allowed to start such a long competition ahead of it’s rivals. In 2013 the Australian sides started a week early, but at least they had the excuse that they needed an extra week in the middle of the year to prepare for the British & Irish Lions series, which they lost.

Super Rugby – Round 5

Chiefs

DHL Stormers

14 March at 08:35
  • Team: 15. Gareth Anscombe, 14. Tim Nanai-Williams, 13. Charlie Ngatai, 12. Tom Marshall, 11. James Lowe, 10. Aaron Cruden (Captain), 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8. Liam Squire, 7. Tanerau Latimer, 6. Liam Messam, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Matt Symons, 3. Ben Tameifuna, 2. Mahonri Schwalger, 1. Jamie Mackintosh
  • Replacements: 16. Rhys Marshall, 17. Pauliasi Manu, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Michael Fitzgerald, 20. Tevita Koloamatangi, 21. Brad Webber, 22. Robbie Fruean, 23. Asaeli Tikoirotuma
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Gio Aplon, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Deon Fourie, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Frans Malherbe, 19. Siya Kolisi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Peter Grant, 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau

Melbourne Rebels

Crusaders

14 March at 10:40
  • Team: 15. Jason Woodward, 14. Lachlan Mitchell, 13. Tamati Ellison, 12. Mitch Inman, 11. Tom English, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 9. Luke Burgess, 8. Scott Higginbotham (Captain), 7. Scott Fuglistaller, 6. Sean McMahon, 5. Luke Jones, 4. Hugh Pyle, 3. Laurie Weeks, 2. Pat Leafa, 1. Toby Smith
  • Replacements: 16. Shota Horie, 17. Max Lahiff, 18. Paul Alo-Emile, 19. Cadeyrn Neville, 20. Colby Faingaa, 21. Ben Meehan, 22. Angus Roberts, 23. Telusa Veainu
  • Team: 15. Israel Dagg, 14. Nafi Tuitavaki, 13. Ryan Crotty, 12. Tom Taylor, 11. Johnny McNicholl, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Matt Todd, 6. Luke Whitelock, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Luke Romano, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Ben Funnell, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Tim Perry, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Dominic Bird, 20. Jordan Taufua, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Kieron Fonotia, 23. Nemani Nadolo

Hurricanes

Toyota Cheetahs

15 March at 05:35
  • Team: 15. James Marshall, 14. Alapati Leiua, 13. Conrad Smith (Captain), 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. Chris Smylie, 8. Blade Thomson, 7. Ardie Savea, 6. Faifili Levave, 5. Mark Reddish, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ben Franks
  • Replacements: 16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Chris Eves, 18. John Schwalger, 19. James Broadhurst, 20. Jack Lam, 21. TJ Perenara, 22. Matt Proctor, 23. Marty Banks
  • Team: 15. Willie le Roux, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Francois Venter, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Lappies LabuschagnĂ©, 6. Boom Prinsloo, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Lodewyk de Jager, 3. Maks van Dyk, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Rossouw de Klerk, 19. Andries Ferreira, 20. Jean Cook, 21. Shaun Venter, 22. Elgar Watts, 23. Hennie Daniller

Highlanders

Western Force

15 March at 08:35
  • Team: 15. Ben R Smith (Captain), 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Shaun Treeby, 11. Kurt Baker, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu, 7. Shane Christie, 6. John Hardie, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Jarrad Hoeata, 3. Chris King, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Matias Diaz, 18. Craig Millar, 19. Josh Bekhuis, 20. Elliot Dixon, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Phil Burleigh
  • Team: 15. Jayden Hayward, 14. Luke Morahan, 13. Junior Rasolea, 12. Kyle Godwin, 11. Nick Cummins, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Alby Mathewson, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. Matthew Hodgson (Captain), 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Sam Wykes, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pekahou Cowan
  • Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Oli Hoskins, 19. Adam Coleman, 20. Brynard Stander, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Marcel Brache

Brumbies

Waratahs

15 March at 10:40
  • Team: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Pat McCabe, 11. Robbie Coleman, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. Jarrad Butler, 6. Scott Fardy, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Leon Power, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ruan-Henry Smith, 18. Jean-Pierre Smith, 19. Jordan Smiler, 20. Locky McCaffrey, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Lionel Cronje
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Alofa Alofa, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Peter Betham, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis (Captain), 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Jacques Potgieter, 3. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. Tola Latu, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sekope Kepu, 19. Will Skelton, 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Rob Horne, 23. Matt Carraro

Lions

Blues

15 March at 15:00
  • Team: 15. Coenie van Wyk, 14. JW Jonker, 13. Deon van Rensburg, 12. Stefan Watermeyer, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Francois de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7. Willie Britz, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Franco Mostert, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Schalk (FS) van der Merwe
  • Replacements: 16. Willie Wepener, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 20. Warwick Tecklenburg, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Ruan Combrinck
  • Team: 15. Benji Marshall, 14. Frank Halai, 13. George Moala, 12. Pita Ahki, 11. Charles Piutau, 10. Chris Noakes, 9. Piri Weepu, 8. Steven Luatua, 7. Luke Braid (Captain), 6. Brendon O’Connor, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. James Parsons, 1. Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16. Tom McCartney, 17. Sam Prattley, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Liaki Moli, 20. Jordan Manihera, 21. Bryn Hall, 22. Simon Hickey, 23. Jackson Willison

Cell C Sharks

Reds

15 March at 17:05
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Sibusiso Sithole, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. TBA, 20. Lubabalo Mtembu, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. Jaco van Tonder
  • Team: 15. Aidan Toua, 14. Rod Davies, 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12. Mike Harris, 11. Lachlan Turner, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Liam Gill, 6. Ed Quirk, 5. James Horwill (Captain), 4. Rob Simmons, 3. Greg Holmes, 2. Saia Faingaa, 1. James Slipper
  • Replacements: 16. James Hanson, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Jono Owen, 19. Ed O`Donoghue, 20. Beau Robinson, 21. Nicholas Frisby, 22. Ben Tapuai, 23. Dom Shipperley

152 Responses to Super Rugby 2014: Weekend Teams – Round 5 (Final Revision)

Ek het toe n Genie gekoop gekry.

Op gomboom 😆

Going well thanks, just a rundll message on startup and the R_T problem continues lol but cool thanks

61 @ Sharks_forever:
    O, op Kougomboom!

Delighted

Hoe groot en wat het jy betaal?

I got it for R4100, a 6,5 Kva Cat Generator, 1 year old but because the guy lives in a complex they were not allowed to use it, it was only started up when he first bought it to see how it works 😆

So huge bargain, that size normally goes for around R7500 plus

62 @ Sharks_forever:
    A Rundll problem is not to be sneezed at.. we’ll have to have a look on Teamviewer… and / or when we upgrade you to Windows 8.1 and you come fetch your Wireless Mouse which you forgot at my place.

dll files are Dynamic Link Library files….

64 @ Sharks_forever:
    Great, 6.5 KVA is a lekker size.

Sharks_forever wrote:

@ Scrumsaam: srumsaam, kom nou boet, beating the Chiefs in their own back yard?? of course it would be a huge upset, to be honest I would even think twice about the Sharks chances against the Chiefs down under.To make matters worse you have quite a few injuries to key positions, like your TH.

It’s fine we have Brok. He covers TH and several positions in the backline….

Wink

#KZNRugbyNews ‏@KZNRugbyNews · 48s
    Pieter-Steph Du Toit has picked up an injury and will no longer participate in this weekends game against the Reds

I know, will make a plan to come yourside next week?

Yes all the Saaks have to do is pitch up, and they get 5 points, don’t get me wrong hope they win the game but somewhere the bubble is going the burst.

Last weekend gave me hope the way they played, yes everybody will say the crusaders were “kak” but as n true Stormers supporter i would believe we were that great to hold off the saders. We’re not sponsored by cell c but all the Stormers fans can do this season is “Believe”. Delicious

Snoek wrote:

Jakes desperation is showing, he has always been able to put up a confident exterior, but it is obvious he is under massive pressure, because of the expectations on his shoulders. No rotation at all while he continuously talks about the “squad” and “squad system”.
    A lot can be said about “keeping momentum”, but that should mostly apply to the latter part of the competition, all the while giving guys like beast and jannie some off time here and there, because they will play most of the incoming tour test matches

The wheels are going to come off this train pretty dramatically.
    Your statement doesn’t make sense. Why should he start resting players after 4 rounds in which they had a week of? It makes more sense to keep them playing together for now as it will make the team only better.
    They can start obvious rotations once the players actually need the rest. If other teams rotate players at this stage I can promise you it is either because of injuries or the incumbents are kak. What do you have to say about that “My Lady”?

Yes the Chiefs the current champs have 7 changes in their team in fact, I doubt all would be injury related, but Fruean on the bench? come on.

Look I am not insisting wholesale changes, I just feel there is so much depth they need to try guys out, and not play 18 games in a row, you don’t want players to rest in the last 4 weeks of super rugby or worst injured or fatigued, especially since the bulk of the springboks will likely come from the sharks, you want your best available players, the sharks have 2 byes before they tour near the end of the season, and you would want you best players available.

Snoek wrote:

MacroBull, you and Nortie seems desperate for Jake to do something different for reasons only known to yourselves. Would you enjoy it if the Sharks lose this weekend? Honest question!

I don’t really care if the Sharks lose, it is not my team, but playing the Springboks every week is just pure spitefulness by Jake and to our collective team the Springboks.

IF he plays them every week without a real rotation policy.

I have disabled the Zaazu Emoticons (Big Smilies) for a bit, somehow it is causing an issue or 2 in Load Times.

I will investigate and come up with some solution!

Hellloooooo all RT’s important rugby weekend this for us Saffas.
    Jisja ou GrootBlouVoorvel, maar dan smile ons maar net nie meer nie, dis al!

JPP’s first game, not?
    He probably just arrived back from Japan, I take it.

PSDT ruled out with a knee injury.
    Replaced by Levies.

Snoek wrote:

MacroBull, you and Nortie seems desperate for Jake to do something different for reasons only known to yourselves. Would you enjoy it if the Sharks lose this weekend? Honest question!

I don’t really care if the Sharks lose, it is not my team, but playing the Springboks every week is just pure spitefulness by Jake and to our collective team the Springboks.

Again – Let me clarify for you.

How many boks do the Bulls have?
    Have they been rested?
    Is Ludeke spiteful?

How many boks do the Stormers have?
    Have they been rested?
    Is Coetzee spitefull?

How many boks do the Lions have?
    O wait, scrap that.

OK, the Zaazu Emoticons are back!

Approve

Flok, I would have to disable another Plugin, and that is User Switching… which enables me to switch to another User, should I wish to test something as another User with only Subscriber rights (simply because me as Webadmin, has many more rights and it makes sense to see what you okes would experience).

Sad

Snoek wrote:

Again – Let me clarify for you.
    How many boks do the Bulls have?
    Have they been rested?
    Is Ludeke spiteful?
    How many boks do the Stormers have?
    Have they been rested?
    Is Coetzee spitefull?
    How many boks do the Lions have?
    O wait, scrap that.

Snoek, the question should be about current Boks. Don’t forget that the Bulls have Dean and Werner playing for them every week and they are also Boks.

Point taken. But I still think it is ridiculous to expect a coach to rest players after 3 games in 4 weeks, keeping in mind that they have been on vacation for 2 months before that.

MacroBull is clutching at straws me thinks, trying to discredit Jake.

MacroBull. Not sure if this is a Jake (world cup winner) versus Heineke (potential world cup winner) scenario that is playing out on these here pages.

We all know which province called a vote of no confidence in Jake before he won us the holy grail.

Snoek wrote:

Point taken. But I still think it is ridiculous to expect a coach to rest players after 3 games in 4 weeks, keeping in mind that they have been on vacation for 2 months before that.
    MacroBull is clutching at straws me thinks, trying to discredit Jake.

I am on your side here.

Snoek wrote:

MacroBull. Not sure if this is a Jake (world cup winner) versus Heineke (potential world cup winner) scenario that is playing out on these here pages.
    We all know which province called a vote of no confidence in Jake before he won us the holy grail.

HM can do no wrong in some peoples blue tinted eyes.

77 @ Snoek:
    Very few teams have the bench quality the sharks have and I am not suggesting Jake rests players every week, it just seems there is a pattern developing where guys like Beast, Jannie, Alberts, Fransie etc are going to start in every game injury permitting… and these guys will also likely be in the bok side as well to face the Welsh AND the Rugby Championship.

It seems like all our coaches are under some sort of pressure, while Jake started out the season probably by far the most confident, it seems apparent that the weight of expectation weighs heavily on his shoulders.

The Sharks have quality depth most of our teams lack, hell they have four excellent flyhalves, but this weekend there is none on the bench, Lambie recovering from tickbite fever might not be at his best, so Fransie will have to play 80 mins already no matter what.

The season is still young though.

You cannot expect a regional coach like jake to do anything but what is in his own best interests. We don’t have a centralised contracting system (like in NZ) and until we do this will be the case for all coaches.

I really expect that forcing everything out of his players will not be in his best interest.

Stormers should know this better than anyone.

In a provincial context sure, we do know all about that, but the sharks have only played a handful of games so as far as the rotation policy is concerned I think it’s a bit early to be criticizing.

I know, the season is young… things still can change.

And I regress, Jake will know better about managing a team than I will ever know.

I just believe he is under more pressure to perform than he is willing to let on.

Total 100 users including 0 member, 100 guests, 0 bot online