Super RugbyThe Lions celebrated their return to Vodacom Super Rugby with a good win over the Toyota Cheetahs in Bloemfontein before the Cell C Sharks showed they mean business in 2014 with a bonus-point victory over the Vodacom Bulls in Durban.

For the Cell C Sharks, under a new coach in former Springbok mentor Jake White, it was a perfect start to the season. They got their 4th try at the death of their 31 / 16 win after scoring 3 five-pointers in the first 40 minutes.

Interestingly enough, it was the first time ever that the Cell C Sharks managed to score a bonus-point victory at home in February, when Durban’s notorious high heat and humidity play havoc with handling.

In fact, it was only the 2nd time since the inception of Vodacom Super Rugby that a side managed 4 February tries at Kings Park – the Toyota Cheetahs did just that when they beat the Sharks by 27 / 26 in 2006.

Yesterday however the Cell C Sharks were firmly in control, but the Toyota Cheetahs’ performance was unlike that day when they won in Durban in 2006 – they came unstuck against a spirited Lions side that shocked a lot of people with a 21 / 20 victory in Bloemfontein.

Lions flyhalf Marnitz Boshoff contributed all of his team’s points with a near flawless kicking display – he slotted all 6 his attempts at penalty goals and got 1 from 2 drop-goals. His opposite numbers though struggled with the boot and between Johan Goosen and Elgar Watts, they squandered 9 points with missed kicks at goal.

Boshoff’s exploits were similar to those of Elton Jantjies in 2012, when the currently injured Lions flyhalf kicked all of his team’s points as they beat the Toyota Cheetahs by 27 / 25 in the opening round.

The DHL Stormers had a bye this weekend but will be in action next week when the teams from Down Under also get in on the action.

LionsToyota Cheetahs (10) 20 / 21 (9) Lions:

Marnitz Boshoff, making his Vodacom Super Rugby debut, broke the Toyota Cheetahs’ hearts with a 78th minute drop-goal to help the Lions to a good 21 / 20 victory in the opening match of the season at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

Even though they were outscored by 2 tries to 0, the Lions – back in Vodacom Super Rugby after missing out last season – never gave up. The home side simply gave away too many kickable penalties and Boshoff duly made the scoreboard tick over when he got an opportunity.

And when the Lions played themselves into a promising attacking position late in the match, fans of the Toyota Cheetahs must’ve been on the edge of their seats. Boshoff’s antics were enough for the visitors as he pushed his personal tally to 21 points thanks to six penalty goals and a drop goal.

Both sides showed some early-season rustiness and they were very keen on throwing the ball around, which resulted in way too many unforced errors.

The Toyota Cheetahs though, did get the first 2 tries of the season after some enterprising play – first by Raymond Rhule and in the 2nd half Cornal Hendricks, who was this week named the SA Sevens Player of 2013, capped his Vodacom Super Rugby debut with a good try.

For the Lions, this was just the way to re-enter Vodacom Super Rugby, while last season’s surprise package, the Toyota Cheetahs, will be left wondering where things went awry for them.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84FxGreFTeM[/youtube]

Toyota Cheetahs:

• Tries: Raymond Rhule (1), Cornal Hendricks (1)
  • Conversions: Johan Goosen (2)
  • Penalty goals: Johan Goosen (1), Elgar Watts (1)

• Penalty goals: Marnitz Boshoff (6)
  • Drop goal: Boshoff (1)

Cell C SharksCell C Sharks (23) 31 / 16 (9) Vodacom Bulls:

The Cell C Sharks, thanks mainly to a superb 1st half effort, got their season off to a great start when they beat the Vodacom Bulls by 31 / 16 at Growthpoint Kings Park in Durban on Saturday evening.

The home side scored 3 crucial tries in the first 40 minutes of a match that was played at a great pace by 2 teams having a full go.

The Cell C Sharks though were more composed, took their chances and bagged the points. On the other hand, the Vodacom Bulls were not patient enough on the attack and didn’t convert their opportunities into points.

Their maul was very good, but the team from Pretoria got very little reward when they came within striking distance. Their only try, by Jono Ross late in the 2nd half, came from a rolling maul.

The home team though looked sharp on the attack and scored 3 tries in the first half, followed by a crucial 4th one, by Patrick Lambie, in injury time.

The first 2 tries came from Paul Jordaan (after a sniping run by Lwazi Mvovo) and Cobus Reinach. However, Odwa Ndungane’s superb effort in the right-hand corner, coming from a pin-point cross-kick by Frans Steyn after the buzzer in the 1st half, was probably the pick of the tries this weekend.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sFMF09fgi8[/youtube]

Cell C Sharks:

• Tries: Paul Jordaan (1), Cobus Reinach (1), Odwa Ndungane (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Conversion: Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Penalty goals: Patrick Lambie (3)

Vodacom Bulls:

• Try: Jono Ross (1)
  • Conversion: Handré Pollard (1)
  • Penalty goals: Louis Fouché (2)
  • Drop-goal: Louis Fouché (1)

Combined Log

Pos Team P W D L PF PA PD BPts Pts
1 Cell C Sharks 1 1 0 0 31 16 15 0 5
2 Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Lions (Q) 1 1 0 0 21 20 1 0 4
5 Toyota Cheetahs (Q) 1 0 0 1 20 21 -1 0 1
6 Vodacom Bulls (Q) 1 0 0 1 16 31 -15 0 0
7 Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 Western Force 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9 Melbourne Rebels 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
11 Blues 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
12 Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
13 Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
14 DHL Stormers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
15 Reds 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Australian Conference

1 Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Reds 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Western Force 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Melbourne Rebels 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

New Zealand Conference

1 Blues 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

South African Conference

1 Cell C Sharks 1 1 0 0 31 16 15 0 5
2 Lions 1 1 0 0 21 20 1 0 4
3 Toyota Cheetahs 1 0 0 1 20 21 -1 0 1
4 DHL Stormers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Vodacom Bulls 1 0 0 1 16 31 -15 0 0

210 Responses to Super Rugby: Review – Round 1 – Sharks well over Bulls, Lions pip Cheetahs at the death (2 Highlites videos included)

83: Jy moet pasop hier, jy gaan nou-nou uitgekryt word as ‘n slegte verloorder, moangat en ref basher, pasop ! Wink

Invested = Investec

83 @ Rower:
    Bresler went for the ball and not the man, yes he did dislodge it and it seemed to me it was a knock on. Or it might have gone just straight up and then it was Spies that knocked it on after that.

Anyhow it was a mistake by the tmo and he should be dropped for a game after that if that is the case. Just pleased they can’t take that try away after the game…. 🙂

Sharks mostly get the end of the stick from the tmo’s and refs as well for that matter. We don’t always get the 50/50 calls. However, a tmo should never get it wrong as he has a screen in front of him to look over and over.

Its gone and dusted now. I bet many more tmo’s will make mistakes this season as they did last year as well.

Here you have it, fellas:

Governing body Sanzar has confirmed that Television Match Official Deon van Blommenstein made a critical error in awarding Cobus Reinach his try during the Cell C Sharks’ 31 / 16 win over the Vodacom Bulls in their Vodacom Super Rugby match in Durban on the weekend.

Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray confirmed the try – which led to repeated replays – should not have been awarded as the ball was knocked-on by Sharks lock Anton Bresler.

Bray didn’t agree with Van Blommenstein’s assessment that Sharks lock Anton Bresler had not played his Bulls counterpart Paul Willemse in the air, as many – including the SuperSport commentators – believed he had. As the knock on had come first, that should have been the decision and if not, a penalty because of the infringement in the air. The try should never have been awarded.

The decision could turn out to be crucial in the long run as the Sharks scored their fourth try shortly before the end of the game to get a bonus point. That bonus point could play a major role in the outcome of the South African conference at the end of the tournament.

“We unfortunately got the TMO decision wrong. The Sharks forward did knock the ball forward out of the Bulls player’s hands. Also, there was consideration to the fact that the Sharks player obstructed the Bulls player in the air,” Bray said in reply to a question from supersport.com

“Deon has accepted that the right decision should have been a knock on and scrum to the Bulls.”

The decision would not have influenced the result, as the Sharks were clear winners on the night, but with Sanzar giving referees an instruction to “own” the decision by referring to the big screen, this situation should have been avoided. The TMO and referees are encouraged to have conversations so that their decisions are clearer to viewers who are listening over the broadcast stream.

Way to early to make statements like that. now take ur tongue out of your cheek lol

Come now Tjaarkie, don’t be modest, if you were a modest person you wouldn’t be a Shark supporter. Happy-Grin

Jake said pretty much the same thing last year already as well, but I honestly do believe it to be true, and we have said so as well.
    I still don’t believe that the Sharks will win the final if up against a team like the Chiefs or Crusaders, but that they will smash the other SA sides is pretty much a given.

90 @ Sharks_forever:

Our Forwards need to work on a lot I feel. Jake will have noticed for sure though.

94@Puma.
    We can discuss the Bressler went for the ball. I.m.o he was climbing the Bull’s lock like a monkey on a stick. But-Past tense.
    Just hope the quality of refereeing will be better in future games. Do not think Peyper actually looked at the big screen.

Now Now Naartjie, you know full well that no one has bigger mouths than WP supporters, I lived in CT long enough to witness it for myself Happy-Grin

@ Sharks_forever:About 20
    minutes into the game a graphic was shown of penalties for and against.
    Bulls for =8 against=3.
    I dont think that any ref conciously goes out to cheat.The home crowd may well have an effect.Ben makes
    some valid points.Sharks were never only 3 points better than Bulls.
    Regards all.

96 @ nortierd:

We just might if we get a home final. WE have to get a home final to win this. If we have to travel to kiwi land well it is goodbye we won’t win it there. This time hope one of them have to travel this side to play a final.

Anyhow still early days mate, Sharks might get plenty injuries like last year and then we won’t make it. It is the team that has the least injuries that usually wins this thing.

One game at a time I say and we take it from there. Have to see how we go against the kiwi sides first. We play the Canes this week and they are very different to any saffa side. So have to see how we play against them before we can really beat our chest or anything like that. Have seen us win many games then fall apart at the end our lose many at the start and race to the finish at the end and it never works. So for me like I said one game at a time. Will only feel positive we can win this if we have a home final. That will be tough. As I don’t underestimate the Stormers/Lions or Cheetahs either. Any could still beat us, we still have to play a lot of games still.

100 @ grumpy:

Howzit bud. Hope you well.

Yes I also don’t think Sharks were better than 3 points against the Bulls. That is nonsense by Ben. We were at least 10 points better, but we got a lot more and would have had more had we got our goal kicks over. Also PSDT dropped the ball almost on the Bulls line. That would have been a try and the two goal kicks Fransie took should have been going to corners, if we did think we might have secured another try there.

Sharks_forever wrote:

Now Now Naartjie, you know full well that no one has bigger mouths than WP supporters, I lived in CT long enough to witness it for myself

You shouldn’t be hanging out with the other Shark supporters living in CT Wink
    You know the type, running around Clifton 4th beach in their speedo’s playing touchies without a rugby ball

@ grumpy:
    Howzit Rye, I agree, they were the better side, but the score did flatter somewhat, but you got to take your chances even if it’s dished up on a silver platter, and the Sharks did just that

Lively Monday on Rugby-Talk…. I like it!

This site is now the BEST RUGBY SITE in the world, even if I have to say so myself!

@ Gena_ZA:
    Jislaaik it mate i am in seriaas kuk missing everything this weekend. Rugby, Nitro Circus, everything.

Will be driving home during the match so am pissed at that.

98 @ Rower:

Nope he went for the ball. Go back and look. I have watched the game twice after and at that incident on slow mo. He goes for the ball and NOT the man and dislodges the ball. Spies gets it and knocks on then eventually Hougaard fluffs it and Cobus is over like a flash.

Look Bresler could have knocked it on looked at it so often now and you can’t tell proper looks like it goes straight up and not forward but could have been forward. The tmo might not have that on his screen who knows as they can only see some on the things as I read last year the reason they get it wrong a lot. If Bresler went for the man there he would have been yellow carded believe me Peyper does not hesitate to pull out the yellow card. He went for the ball mate.

@ Puma:We missed a total of 18 points just from kicks

That’s besides chances missed for tries.

Nope, no injury excuses.
    The Kiwi sides also get injuries, plus they must contend with their best players getting sabbaticals and rest periods, but they don’t complain about it.
    You have more than enough depth, Stormers had plenty injuries in 2012 and still topped the log with a home semi, but they were/still aren’t not good enough to win the SR.

105 @ grootblousmile:

Always has been boet. Wink

This is great and how it should be…

108 @ Sharks_forever:

12 points. Pat missed 3 conversions and Fransie two penalties. Unless one of the misses from Pat was a penalty. I know he missed 3 and sure it was conversions.

Still think that Bissie should have told Fransie to kick for corners instead of the kick at goal. Especially the 2nd time. Think we just might have got another try there. Though it does not matter we got our 5 points. So really chuffed with that.

Monday postmortems are the BEST… In the red corner the happy with refs and in the blue corner the unhappy with the refs… This changes from game to game… 😆

109 @ nortierd:

Nope if we have injuries like last year as the Stormers did no way can you still play to your full potential. If you lose one or two then agree.

Grumpy!!!

What time is afternoon tea in Durbs????

Hi Pal.Good to hear from you.As a closet supporter of “that” team,I hope
    that they will play entertaining rugby this season @ nortierd:

94 & 107 bewys my argument dat die Sharks ondersteuners ook maar lekker moan oor die refs, dit selfs nadat die feite op die tafel is, sien #95

Feite, nog feite en nogmaals nog feite.

Pondering

87: dankie Grumpy, hoop julle het ook ‘n mooi sonskyndag daar in Durbs !

Total 16 users including 0 member, 16 guests, 0 bot online