Super RugbyThe Lions celebrated their return to Vodacom Super Rugby with a good win over the Toyota Cheetahs in Bloemfontein before the Cell C Sharks showed they mean business in 2014 with a bonus-point victory over the Vodacom Bulls in Durban.

For the Cell C Sharks, under a new coach in former Springbok mentor Jake White, it was a perfect start to the season. They got their 4th try at the death of their 31 / 16 win after scoring 3 five-pointers in the first 40 minutes.

Interestingly enough, it was the first time ever that the Cell C Sharks managed to score a bonus-point victory at home in February, when Durban’s notorious high heat and humidity play havoc with handling.

In fact, it was only the 2nd time since the inception of Vodacom Super Rugby that a side managed 4 February tries at Kings Park – the Toyota Cheetahs did just that when they beat the Sharks by 27 / 26 in 2006.

Yesterday however the Cell C Sharks were firmly in control, but the Toyota Cheetahs’ performance was unlike that day when they won in Durban in 2006 – they came unstuck against a spirited Lions side that shocked a lot of people with a 21 / 20 victory in Bloemfontein.

Lions flyhalf Marnitz Boshoff contributed all of his team’s points with a near flawless kicking display – he slotted all 6 his attempts at penalty goals and got 1 from 2 drop-goals. His opposite numbers though struggled with the boot and between Johan Goosen and Elgar Watts, they squandered 9 points with missed kicks at goal.

Boshoff’s exploits were similar to those of Elton Jantjies in 2012, when the currently injured Lions flyhalf kicked all of his team’s points as they beat the Toyota Cheetahs by 27 / 25 in the opening round.

The DHL Stormers had a bye this weekend but will be in action next week when the teams from Down Under also get in on the action.

LionsToyota Cheetahs (10) 20 / 21 (9) Lions:

Marnitz Boshoff, making his Vodacom Super Rugby debut, broke the Toyota Cheetahs’ hearts with a 78th minute drop-goal to help the Lions to a good 21 / 20 victory in the opening match of the season at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

Even though they were outscored by 2 tries to 0, the Lions – back in Vodacom Super Rugby after missing out last season – never gave up. The home side simply gave away too many kickable penalties and Boshoff duly made the scoreboard tick over when he got an opportunity.

And when the Lions played themselves into a promising attacking position late in the match, fans of the Toyota Cheetahs must’ve been on the edge of their seats. Boshoff’s antics were enough for the visitors as he pushed his personal tally to 21 points thanks to six penalty goals and a drop goal.

Both sides showed some early-season rustiness and they were very keen on throwing the ball around, which resulted in way too many unforced errors.

The Toyota Cheetahs though, did get the first 2 tries of the season after some enterprising play – first by Raymond Rhule and in the 2nd half Cornal Hendricks, who was this week named the SA Sevens Player of 2013, capped his Vodacom Super Rugby debut with a good try.

For the Lions, this was just the way to re-enter Vodacom Super Rugby, while last season’s surprise package, the Toyota Cheetahs, will be left wondering where things went awry for them.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84FxGreFTeM[/youtube]

Toyota Cheetahs:

• Tries: Raymond Rhule (1), Cornal Hendricks (1)
  • Conversions: Johan Goosen (2)
  • Penalty goals: Johan Goosen (1), Elgar Watts (1)

• Penalty goals: Marnitz Boshoff (6)
  • Drop goal: Boshoff (1)

Cell C SharksCell C Sharks (23) 31 / 16 (9) Vodacom Bulls:

The Cell C Sharks, thanks mainly to a superb 1st half effort, got their season off to a great start when they beat the Vodacom Bulls by 31 / 16 at Growthpoint Kings Park in Durban on Saturday evening.

The home side scored 3 crucial tries in the first 40 minutes of a match that was played at a great pace by 2 teams having a full go.

The Cell C Sharks though were more composed, took their chances and bagged the points. On the other hand, the Vodacom Bulls were not patient enough on the attack and didn’t convert their opportunities into points.

Their maul was very good, but the team from Pretoria got very little reward when they came within striking distance. Their only try, by Jono Ross late in the 2nd half, came from a rolling maul.

The home team though looked sharp on the attack and scored 3 tries in the first half, followed by a crucial 4th one, by Patrick Lambie, in injury time.

The first 2 tries came from Paul Jordaan (after a sniping run by Lwazi Mvovo) and Cobus Reinach. However, Odwa Ndungane’s superb effort in the right-hand corner, coming from a pin-point cross-kick by Frans Steyn after the buzzer in the 1st half, was probably the pick of the tries this weekend.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sFMF09fgi8[/youtube]

Cell C Sharks:

• Tries: Paul Jordaan (1), Cobus Reinach (1), Odwa Ndungane (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Conversion: Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Penalty goals: Patrick Lambie (3)

Vodacom Bulls:

• Try: Jono Ross (1)
  • Conversion: Handré Pollard (1)
  • Penalty goals: Louis Fouché (2)
  • Drop-goal: Louis Fouché (1)

Combined Log

Pos Team P W D L PF PA PD BPts Pts
1 Cell C Sharks 1 1 0 0 31 16 15 0 5
2 Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Lions (Q) 1 1 0 0 21 20 1 0 4
5 Toyota Cheetahs (Q) 1 0 0 1 20 21 -1 0 1
6 Vodacom Bulls (Q) 1 0 0 1 16 31 -15 0 0
7 Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 Western Force 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9 Melbourne Rebels 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
11 Blues 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
12 Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
13 Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
14 DHL Stormers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
15 Reds 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Australian Conference

1 Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Reds 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Western Force 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Melbourne Rebels 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

New Zealand Conference

1 Blues 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

South African Conference

1 Cell C Sharks 1 1 0 0 31 16 15 0 5
2 Lions 1 1 0 0 21 20 1 0 4
3 Toyota Cheetahs 1 0 0 1 20 21 -1 0 1
4 DHL Stormers 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Vodacom Bulls 1 0 0 1 16 31 -15 0 0

210 Responses to Super Rugby: Review – Round 1 – Sharks well over Bulls, Lions pip Cheetahs at the death (2 Highlites videos included)

59 @ grootblousmile:

Okay. Is he in the SR Squad? He is a really exciting player for sure. Imagine Kriel at fullback, Hougaard on the wing with Venter at 9 and Pollard at 10. Your backline would be a hell of a lot better. Sometimes selection is key.

Also Engelbrecht (sp) should start at 8 ahead of Spies. Those changes would make the Bulls straight away stronger.

Are any Stormer or other supporters going to Ellis Park this weekend? I’m in Durban for a week so will miss it…

60 @ Gumboots:

Thanks Bill. We still have a lot of work to do though and fingers crossed no injuries. Then who knows we might go all the way. Have to see how we go against the kiwis first. We play the Canes this week and will see how we go there. As you know the kiwis play a very different style to when we playing a derby game. Season is still early. Time will tell. Hoping we can.

Stormers will be good too. They always are. When is Kolbe back? Pity he picked up a injury. Rate him highly.

61 @ Puma:
    Yes, he is in the squad.

Do yourself a favour, go to the Main Menu, Super Rugby, 2014, then the 2014 Meida Guide page… and download the Media Guide… it has all 15 squads, coaches…. and heaps more.

I have no idea when he will be back. I see Taute is also crocked again… Not a good start for the Stormers, but rugby goes on and we can’t complain as injuries happen… The strength of the squad will determine the position of the teams…

64 @ grootblousmile:

Okay will do later.

Pleased Kriel is in the squad. He might be your man for Fullback then. A brilliant player and has Bok written on him that is how good he his. Young still but needs to get some gametime this year in SR with the Bulls. Could become one of our best fb in years to come. Rate him highly.

65 @ Gumboots:

Then Aplon will have to play FB until either Taute or Kolbe is back. Who will play wing? As Kolbe did play wing in the CC.

We are very short on wings at the moment. They will probably play DeAlende and Howard on the wings… I actually have no idea…

Gumboots wrote:

Are any Stormer or other supporters going to Ellis Park this weekend? I’m in Durban for a week so will miss it…

Nope it’s my Bday bash and having a braai & party at my kaya, think they might just hear us from the stadium 🙂

68 @ Gumboots:
    Should leave De Allende at inside centre. Though Jean plays there so not a bad idea then to use him on the wing he is big and strong and so is Howard for that matter.

Hey Pooms, you well?? you got the new jersey yet?? I have ordered mine, hoping to get it soon.

@ Gena_ZA:
    What I gather is that you are also a Stormer!!! You need to join us, especially at Loftus… 🙂 Well an early Happy B’day is in order then…

Look what the wind blew in… Howzit mate.

So difficult to read AC’s head mate… I’ll just wait and see.

Hiyas Bootsy, my maat van ysterenplaat, do not spoil my Durbs huh, keep it clean Happy-Grin Overjoy Be Happy

Gummy even Toetsie can’t read what’s in his head Overjoy

74 @ Gumboots:
    Well I am looking forward to seeing how your Stormers go this weekend.

71 @ Sharks_forever:
    Howzit my Sharks Brudda.

Nope have not ordered a new one. I have a great one that never dates….hahaha. More like a Golf Shirt with a Sharks logo on. So always wear that one.

Though must say I like our new strip, clean and neat. Like that as it looks classy.

Think they will play de Allnende at center now that de Jongh is out.
    Aplon at 15
    Kobus van Wyk should be one of the wings
    Some reason they are holding Howard back, hope he gets the nod

Kolbe out for first 3 games

Looks like I didn’t get the memo. It’s Bulls bashing Monday. Everybody having a dig at them. Even David Campese came out of the shadows.

Sorry Bulls. We’ve got no hope. Better to drop out now. Our season is finished. We are to big, to slow and to one dimensional.

Stormers will plod, plonk and stumble their way to more wins than losses, but won’t remotely challenge for higher honors.
    You guys should smash the Hurricanes on Saturday, they aren’t any better than the Cheetahs or Lions in the SA conference. Only teams to really challenge this year will be Chiefs, Saders, Waratahs, Reds and maybe Brumbies. Sharks will be the only real contender from SA, just the double derby points they will easily pick up home and away against the other 4 SA teams will ensure they end 1st or 2nd on the combined log

76 @ Sharks_forever:

Just reading on the official Sharks Rugby website. There they say this is the very first time we have scored 4 tries in Feb? Hell that is awesome and it was our first game to boot. Feel chuffed we got that bonus point. As it was hot as hell here with high humidity.

Just read an interesting comment from Lyndon Grey, Sanzar head of referees. According him,Reinach’s try was incorrect. The ball was knocked forward from a Shark hand and a scrum for the Bulls was the correct decision.

71 @ Sharks_forever:

No injuries to any playes either. That is a bonus as well if we remember how we dropped one by one with injury last year.

Jake has them super fit. Players are looking very well conditioned and like I said super fit. They never seemed to tire at all on Saturday in the sweltering heat.

Gumboots wrote:

@ Gena_ZA:
    What I gather is that you are also a Stormer!!! You need to join us, especially at Loftus… Well an early Happy B’day is in order then…

Thanks man!
    We have an annual event, bunch of friends, Bulls and Stormers going to Loffies annually for the big game, can’t wait for the 2014 one but also promised my son to take him to the Sharks/Bulls game

84 @ Puma:
    playes = players

@ Ben:Hi Ben,
    Geniet die dag’

Sorry Grey= Bray. (Damn predictive spelling)

Just had a whatsupp from the wife – “Stormers home or away jersey??”

Farkit, need to leave the office and go scream outside!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have every jersey back form the black Invested one

@ leon:

Not sure I see anyone bashing the Bulls in here, I for one have already stated that the Bulls will play a bigger role in Super rugby this year than most think.

Way to early to make statements like that. now take ur tongue out of your cheek lol

I read so boet, lets hope they can build on the performance, it was very far from great.

Total 12 users including 0 member, 12 guests, 0 bot online