StormersHurricanesStormers (6) 19 / 18 (12) Hurricanes (Final Score)

DHL Stormers and the Hurricanes did battle in Super Rugby at

Newlands, Cape Town at Fiday 28 Feb 19:10 SA Time (17:10 GMT, 06:10 Saturday 1 March NZ Time).

• Penalties – Demetri Catrakilis (4)
  • Tries – Deon Fourie (1)
  • Conversions – Demetri Catrakilis (1)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (2)
  • Tries – Julian Savea (1), Cory Jane (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (1)

Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Ryno Eksteen.

Hurricanes: 15 Marty Banks, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (Captain), 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Jack Lam, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Mark Reddish, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 John Schwalger, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ben Franks
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 James Broadhurst, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Alapati Leiua, 23 James Marshall.

Assistant Referees: Andrew Lees (Australia), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein (South Africa)

449 Responses to Super Rugby: DHL Stormers vs Hurricanes – Live Game Article

1 2 3 15

good luck to the stormers…

come on guys… show some fight and fire… on attack and defense…

for those not in cape town… so far weather is sunny but windy… hope the rain stays away for the game…

0/2 today.
    Come on Hurricanes! [see if I can make it 0/3]

Certainly hope the Stormers are better tonight!

Goooooooooo Strmers… spit, spit, spit!

Mmmmmm, I think Hurricanes by 30 is a tad high, I think
    Then again, what is 6 tries for a bunch of All Blacks, walk in the park

The Stormers look (on paper) better than last week with a more balanced loose trio and with de Allende back in his best position.

I expect them to suffocate the Canes

Stormers by 20
    Kla gepraat

Waterkloof 2 has had their parole revoked and will only be able to apply again in a years time.
    No matter my Superbru resluts,my weekend is made.

Beware Storm Boys……………………Beware.

Honestly just want a better showing form the Stormers and also a good & honest hard match.
    Both teams are capable of performing better

robzim wrote:

The Stormers look (on paper) better than last week with a more balanced loose trio and with de Allende back in his best position.
    I expect them to suffocate the Canes

Rob, not too different. Taute in at 15 ( yet we were told his injury was more serious, so maybe out of desperation they are rushing him ), Gio to wing and according to CharlesM this morning, Schalla is out and Deon is in. That might be the best move if Deon is flank, that’s an improvement.

Yip.. The loosies are certainly more balanced with Deon at 6.

Tiaan will take his place on the bench and can hopefully provide some going forward momentum during the last quarter.

Main weaknesses imo are the halfbacks who are not even close to the class of Barrett and Perenara and the fact that they are perhaps a jumper short in the lineouts where the Argie is the only real specialist jumper.

A modest wager on the Stormers
    The odds are well against them is what caught my attention, never mind a Neutral referee in Newlands which is a rarity,
    Bucking the trend is rewarding sometimes,,,,
    πŸ˜‰

Hey Nortierd
    Thought Aplon went to Grenoble already?
    You reckon he’ll survive another SR season?
    πŸ˜‰

@RobZimagree, our 9-10 not in the same class, and their back 3 also better.
    If they can get parity in the forwards and their backs get good ball, it can get ugly if we are again a couple of scores down and in need of chasing tries to catch up.
    We all know it’s not our strong suit

Hondo wrote:

Hey Nortierd
    Thought Aplon went to Grenoble already?
    You reckon he’ll survive another SR season?

He should, the back 3 at the Stormers are fairly safe, no danger of getting ball to run with, so hamstrings should be good, they can’t compete in the air with taller opposition, so no risk of contact, he should be in pristine condition for Grenoble, think the ad read : 31 year old wing, hardly used
    Delighted

kom nou net terug van die dr af het 98 steke kn my regter pols gesit en 45 in my linker pols,moes ook n tetanus shot kry,polse afkou en vir die cheetahs skree issie vir pissies nie

@ Fern:
    sal laaik as hulle hier na my toe gestuur kan word

11 @ robzim:
    10 @ nortierd:

With Deon starting at openside I feel Stormers will be a lot better. Have not seen Taute forever it seems so no idea now he will play.

I have picked your team to win on bru and hope they don’t let me down like last week. Today have zip from the two games that were played. Had Saders and Cheetahs and both lost. So need Stormers to win this one… πŸ™‚ I think they will win tonight. If Stormers lose this one it will be a very long season for them as they have a hard tour coming up. They need to go on the road with a win behind them.

Feel Groom should have started as well.

Hi All

Been in Durban for over a week and just returned. I must say my Superbru sucks – I have no idea why… πŸ˜†

Our German friends are in town and we have a braai date at 18:30 – now that sucks even more…

Glad to see UFO here too… – as well as some other familiar faces…

I went Hurricanes tonight and I haven’t been good at predictions so I hope this one fails as well…

Go Stormers…

Something else to keep us glued to the TV

Final: Pakistan U19 v S Africa U19 at Dubai (DSC)
    Mar 1, 2014 (12:00 local | 08:00 GMT | 10:00 SAST)

Good end to the India vs Sri Lanka game now on

Last weeks game was a disaster and the Stormers looked totally unprepared. From what I’ve seen things don’t look to kosher either… My gut is that we are going to struggle this year and our Australasia tour is very very tough… I hope I’m wrong…

Simple fact gummy, ur rugga knowledge sucks Happy-Grin Overjoy

Yep – Sangakara just gone out… 6 from 8

@Puma

I went Canes, not very optimistic this year, but at home with the shame hanging over their heads, they should be desperate enough to scratch an ugly win.

For sure… I don’t think I’m doing my homework…in fact I know I’m not doing my homework… πŸ˜†

Welcome back Gummi
    Lots of mails for you to read as well

It’s a good thing you have guests at 18:30
    I’m like Bakkies, I am on a self imposed boycott, but only when the Stormers play Overjoy

Did the same…but I went Saders and Cheetahs… Eish… I’m hoping to get 0 from 3 today…

1 2 3 15

Total 47 users including 0 member, 47 guests, 0 bot online