New ZealandSpringboksThis is building up to be one of the classic clashes in the history of The Rugby Championship. Here is a head to head breakdown of how the two teams compare.

These teams have met each other 85 times in the past, with the All Blacks having won 48 of these encounters and the Springboks 35, only 3 draws have ever been recorded between these sides.

If history and statistics are to be believed, then it would seem that the All Blacks have the edge over the Springboks in this game, having scored a total of 1612 points against the Springboks while the Springboks have only scored 1313 points against the All Blacks. This is an average score of 19-15 in favour of the All Blacks.

The Springboks also have the highest success rate of all other teams against the All Blacks, by winning 40% of the encounters between these sides.

The largest winning margin by the All Blacks over the Springboks was 36 points and the largest winning margin by the Springboks was 17.

This however looks like the year of the BOK and if the Springboks can keep up to their form of late they could beat the All Blacks over the weekend. This is always as massive clash and the table is set for yet another massive clash.

Starting 15

1 Tony Woodcock / 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Tony WoodcockTendai Mtawarira184cm – Height – 183cm

118kg – Weight – 115kg

101 – Caps –  47

45 – Points –  10

2 Dane Coles / 2 Bismarck du Plessis

Bismarck du PlessisDane Coles

185cm – Height – 189cm

96kg – Weight – 112kg

08 – Caps – 51

– Points – 35

3 Owen Franks / 3 Jannie du Plessis

Jannie du PlessisOwen Franks

185cm – Height – 188cm

119kg – Weight – 120kg

49 – Caps – 48

– Points – 5

4 Brodie Retallick / 4 Eben Etzebeth

Brodie RetallickEben Etzebeth204cm – Height – 203cm

115kg – Weight – 117kg

17 – Caps – 17

– Points – 0

5 Sam Whitelock / 5 Flip van der Merwe

Samuel WhitelockFlip van der Merwe202cm – Height – 198cm

102kg – Weight – 120kg

44 – Caps – 29

20 – Points – 5

6 Liam Messam / 6 Francois Louw

Francois LouwLiam Messam190cm – Height – 190cm

108kg – Weight – 114kg

22 – Caps – 22

15 – Points – 25

7 Sam Cane / 7 Willem Alberts

Willem AlbertsSam Cane190cm – Height – 192cm

100kg – Weight – 120kg

08 – Caps – 24

15 – Points – 30

8 Kieran Read (Captain) / 8 Duane Vermeulen

Kieran ReadDuane Vermeulen193cm – Height – 193cm

108kg – Weight – 108kg

54 – Caps – 10

45 – Points – 5

9 Aaron Smith / 9 Ruan Pienaar

Aaron SmithRuan Pienaar169cm – Height – 187cm

80kg – Weight – 92kg

18 – Caps – 69

35 – Points – 150

10 Daniel Carter / 10 Morné Steyn

Dan CarterMorné Steyn178cm – Height – 184cm

93kg – Weight – 91kg

96 – Caps – 48

1407 – Points – 593

11 Julian Savea / 11 Bryan Habana

Julian SaveaBryan Habana190cm – Height – 180cm

104kg – Weight – 94kg

14 – Caps – 89

70 – Points – 255

12 Ma’a Nonu / 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain)

Ma'a NonuJean de Villiers182cm – Height – 190cm

104kg – Weight – 100kg

81 – Caps – 90

125 – Points – 115

13 Conrad Smith / 13 JJ Engelbrecht

Conrad SmithJJ Engelbrecht186cm – Height – 190cm

95kg – Weight – 94kg

72 – Caps – 07

120 – Points – 20

14 Ben Smith / 14 Willie le Roux

Ben SmithWillie le Roux188cm – Height – 186cm

85kg – Weight – 90kg

18 – Caps – 06

45 – Points – 05

15 Israel Dagg / 15 Zane Kirchner

Israel DaggZane Kirchner186cm – Height – 184cm

95kg – Weight – 92kg

31 – Caps – 25

65 – Points – 20

Replacements

16 Keven Mealamu / 16 Adriaan Strauss

17 Wyatt Crockett / 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp

18 Charlie Faumuina / 18 Coenie Oosthuizen

19 Steven Luatua / 19 Juandré Kruger

20 Matt Todd / 20 Siya Kolisi

21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow / 21 Jano Vermaak

22 Beauden Barrett / 22 Patrick Lambie

23 Charles Piutau / 23 Jan Serfontein

Keven MealamuWyatt CrockettCharlie FaumuinaSteven LuatuaMatt ToddAdriaan StraussGurthrö SteenkampCoenie OosthuizenJuandré KrugerSiya Kolisi

Tawera Kerr-BarlowBeauden BarrettCharles PiutauJano VermaakPatrick LambieJan Serfontein

Total Caps on bench

156 / 131

58 Responses to The Rugby Championship: All Blacks vs Springboks – Head to Head

Great writeup thanks, just always wondering on the physical stats
    Zane Kirchner is definitely taller than 184, has anyone seen him in real life, he is closer to 190cm
    I am 182cm and look up to him

In this case, who is your source ?

ons bench lyk beter retalick teen eben laat my kwyl

@ Gena_ZA – For the player stats I use team sites, as I do not trust outside sources like wikipedia for example. sarugby.net for the Boks. I think the 6 cm difference you are referring to is whether he has his hair up or down.

@ smallies – Moet saam stem. As dit ook nie vir Kevin was op die All Black bench nie dan het hulle iets soos 30 caps. Maar ek glo Eben gaan vir Retalick breek.

Nice one! Thanks Timothy!

We can take them this weekend!

The Boks have a good chance of beating the ABs this weekend. The ABs are without Mcgod and Carter is a fading legend and Nonu is no longer the player he was. They still have other good players and their coaching staff are excellent BUT the wheel turns and they are ripe for the plucking. If the Boks forwards can deliver a repeat of last week’s performance and not the mediocrity of the match in Argentina, and Morne has his kicking boots on, the Boks can take this game. We should have beaten the ABs last year but lost due to Morne’s bad form. The Wallabies had a 5 match winning streak against us while we have won the last 2. The Abs have beaten us 4 times in a row the last 2 years in succession home and away. We desperately need to re-balance the record books. It is now our time – it’s long overdue. We have the opportunity to dominate rugby for the next 2 or 3 years. Will we seize this moment? I say yes! I say go the green and gold, go the Boks… and moer hulle almal sommer stukkend!

Timothy Bornman wrote:

@ Gena_ZA – For the player stats I use team sites, as I do not trust outside sources like wikipedia for example. sarugby.net for the Boks. I think the 6 cm difference you are referring to is whether he has his hair up or down.

lol ja, jy is heel waarskynlik ook reg hier

we hear this “SA will dominate world rugby” all the time, it was especially evident after the 2009 season. your team is not consistent enough to dominate world rugby, sad but true.

this weekend should see the fall of yet another false dawn.

Abs by 15

9 @ nga puhi:
    Don’t worry, we know you are nervous.

@ nga puhi:
    I wrote my post as an unabashed, life long Bok supporter. I expressed my hopes, wishes and expectations. I assume you are an All Black supporter and good for you. The ABs have dominated world rugby for the last 20 years and you as an AB supporter have enjoyed it. What is wrong if I now wish that the Boks get their turn?
    You are right when you say that the Boks have been inconsistent. This has been our downfall the last 20 years. We can’t string together victories in succession for years as the ABs and even the Wallabies have done over us as I mentioned in my post. My HOPE is that it will change. Boks by 4!

not nervous at all, excited to see what will hopefully be a good test match. heaven knows we’ve needed some competition for a while now, but not sure you guys are there yet.

They wont have it all their own way in the physicality stakes, Morne and co will revert to type with the pressure and the ABs defense has been the backbone of their run as WCs (1 loss in 25 games). I dont expect that to change.

SA have every chance of winning, so not discounting that at all, but there is no way the ABs will be complacent. The ABs havent played their best yet, and I sense we may see exactly that this weekend.

good to see SA is finally starting to provide us some competition (well hopefully) Happy-Grin

12@ @ nga puhi:
    The ABs have an awesome record – just 1 loss in 25! The Boks will have to dominate this decade and the next, just to catch up! There is a long road still for the Boks to go. Even if we do manage the victory this weekend, we then will have to face a fired up AB team at home as well. And even for matches played in SA, the ABs have the edge over us in the professional era. And even if we win both matches this year we would have to repeat the process again next, just to even out 2012 and 2011! The only way we can get ahead of the ABs in something is to win the WC in 2015.
    The testament to how good the All Blacks are is the extent to which we Boks supporters celebrate the rare victories we manage obtain. Grant us at least these brief moments. They have been so scarce these last 20 years….

I guess we are all wondering if they have turned the corner, and if they continue on the upward curve they seem to be on. 9 straight test wins is a fine record. I am genuinely excited and cant weait for the game this weekend.

I think the Boks have a very good chance to win. It will be tough out there we know that. This team though have improved since last year.

Also Meyer and his assistant coaches will be facing the Haka on the side. No other coach in history has stood on the side line and faced the haka. This too will give our boys the lift they need.

Nothing in world rugby quite like the Two Super Powers in rugby to be going up against each other.

Bok/AB games are the ultimate.

Bring it on ABs!

Boks by 4

14 @ nga puhi:
    Howzit nga,

Going to be a enormous battle for sure. Win or lose it will be like war out there from both teams.

Can’t wait for Saturday.

kia ora Puma. yes, havent been this excited for a test match for a long time. wish your team luck and may the best one win on the weekend.

I think that many kiwis, with justification, don’t consider the Boks a “super power”. Our record in the professional era certainly doesn’t reflect this. Australia have the edge over us and the ABs lead us 28 to 12. By what right do we claim super power status? By what the Boks achieved 40 years ago? No, in the modern era there has only been one super power and 2 distant second placers. Us ole toppies remember the glory days of the distant past. The younger generation of AB supporters only have memories of AB dominance. We have to start on the long journey of changing this. And that journey must start this Saturday!

17 @ nga puhi:
    Agree. May the best team win.

For me nothing absolutely nothing compares to a Bok/Ab game. It is the ultimate in test rugby.

I know my Scots mates are getting up to watch this and they are football okes. This is a game they never miss. That alone says a lot.

The two Super Powers in Rugby going against each other. I love it. Have since I was a child.

Just finally pleased we can look forward to it as a real contest again. Our Boks are on the up and that is really good for AB rugby as well.

18 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Had we kept Mallett on as Coach or especially Jake we would have been right up there for years bud. Now finally Meyer is getting it right. And if he keeps winning there is no reason he can’t stay coach for a full 8 years while we keep building to where we should have been years back already.

We just about beat all the teams we play against. Sometimes we lose to the Aussies the rest we beat. Watch us grow again we have the players and always have had. The kiwi that wrote on the Roar was right. We just don’t have the coaches to match our brilliant talented players.

We did though in: Kitch, Mallett, White and now in Meyer who is finally getting it right.

I feel we back. Like I did with Mallett and White. The only thing we have to keep the coach for more than 4 years. Building it back to where it was will take time. We lost ground after Mallett left and huge ground after White left as well.

agree with you 100% Puma. Those were our best coaches, and if you look at their collective records, it makes for awesome reading.
    Snorre got lucky in that he beat the AB’s in their own back yard in 2 consecutive years, and that 2009 year. But that is mostly down to the groundwork White laid. If Jake had stayed, 2008-2011 would have been awesome.

One problem with your assessment though. You say “there is no reason he can’t coach for a full 8 years”. I’ll give you one. SA POLITICS.
    Remember, Mallet left cause he chose Booby in stead of Teichman, and the powers that be could not handle it, so they treated him like a dog.
    White was never clearly made aware of the application process, and by the time he knew of it, well, it was WC time, and he had no chance to prep. So he was chased away as well, in a sense.

Kitch… well, let’s take a moment for a great man.

And Meyer. Time will tell.

Boks could go number 1!’

FRS Stats Guru Freddi Paul takes a look at the implications of this week’s rugby
    Internationals on the IRB rankings.

A win for South Africa on Saturday 14-Sep should place them at No.1 on the IRB
    World Rankings!

South Africa win by 1-15

· New rating for South Africa: 90.51
    · New rating for New Zealand: 90.07

for New Zealand: 89.28

Meanwhile, if the Wallabies lose and slip another place, it will equal their lowest position since the rankings were introduced in October 2003.

Argentina win by 1-15

· New rating for Argentina: No.9 with 78.41

Argentina win by 16+

· New rating for Argentina: No.9 with 79.41
    · New rating for Australia (down two places): No.6 with 80.67

South Africa win by 16+

· New rating for South Africa: 91.30
    · New rating for New Zealand: 89.28

My fear is that the all blacks always talk us up when we are there, then it gets in our heads that we should beat this guys easily.

So then we lose cohesiveness, backliine players forcing passes that is not there. Our game is not to have 12 offloads a game. It is about the basics, if fear if we drop our basic game we will get thumped.

So my head says we will lose by about 12 points and so will my superbru.

BUT if we can stick to our game plan with accurate kicking I am going to freak out an be in awe of this bok side and what we can achieve. so my heart says yes yes BOKKE!

I’m with you on this. Psychologically it makes us complacent.

We need to go in with the belief that we can do it but that it would be bloody hard and nothing less than 100% will do. No mistakes, total commitment.

Those three Smiths will have to contained, all three of them, they are the game breakers.

Nonu is the weak link, easy to read his play, draw him into the inside gap and nail him big time, tackle him backwards and turn over the ball.

And play in their half with tactical kicking.

We can do it!!!!

Reckon it’ll be a close game with only a couple of points in it.

Weather could be a deciding factor.

My heartfelt condolences Pietman. Sorry to hear about your pops.

Thx bru, appreciated.
    Yes, the old oarsman’s little boat left these shores yesterday afternoon for the last time.
    But I am have no doubt that he will still be cheering on his beloved WP up there with all his old mates from Tyger Valley….

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online