New ZealandThe All Blacks selectors have named a strong team to play South Africa in The Rugby Championship Freedom Cup Test at Eden Park, Auckland, this Saturday, 14 September 2013, with the starting 15 featuring the return of several regular starters: prop Owen Franks in his 50th Test, Liam Messam at blindside flanker and midfielder Ma’a Nonu.

In other changes, Sam Cane starts at openside flanker replacing injured All Blacks captain Richie McCaw and Dane Coles starts at hooker, with 105-Test veteran Keven Mealamu to provide impact from the bench. With Franks starting, prop Charlie Faumuina moves to the bench, Steven Luatua is also in the reserves covering lock and loose forward along with injury replacement flanker Matt Todd who will cover openside flanker.

Number eight Kieran Read will captain the team in his 55th Test.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said: “The Test match is shaping up to be a massive occasion with the two top-ranked sides in the world coming together for what will be a special night for both teams, as well as our fans. Both teams are in good form and will bring their respective strengths to the contest.

“We have a massive amount of respect for South Africa and have prepared accordingly. The physical challenge will be huge – as it always is – and the team that executes their game with the greatest effectiveness, clarity and intensity will be the one that comes out on top. The whole All Blacks group is looking forward to this challenge as it will give us a great indication of what level our game is at.

“In selecting the team, there were some tough decisions to be made, none more so than between Liam and Steven. But in the end we have gone for Liam’s extra experience and physicality and we also know that Steven will enter the contest at some stage.”

Meanwhile, the following players have been made available to play for their ITM Cup provinces if required for Week 5 of the competition: Ben Franks, Francis Saili, Frank Halai and Luke Whitelock.

All Blacks (caps in brackets): 15 Israel Dagg (31), 14 Ben Smith (18), 13 Conrad Smith (72), 12 Ma’a Nonu (81), 11 Julian Savea (14), 10 Dan Carter (96), 9 Aaron Smith (18), 8 Kieran Read (Captain – 54), 7 Sam Cane (9), 6 Liam Messam (23), 5 Sam Whitelock (44), 4 Brodie Retallick (17), 3 Owen Franks (49), 2 Dane Coles (8), 1 Tony Woodcock (101)

Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu (105), 17 Wyatt Crockett (16), 18 Charlie Faumuina (10), 19 Steven Luatua (4), 20 Matt Todd (1), 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow (7), 22 Beauden Barrett (10), 23 Charles Piutau (3).

20 Responses to The Rugby Championship: All Blacks – Messam back at blindside, Sam Cane at openside, Nonu at 12

Not the world’s most experienced side, some players with but a hand full of All Black caps…. they are vulnerable and beatable!

Sam Cane as openside fetcher… I recon Flo Louw is better than Cane.
    I recon our front row is better, specially at starting hooker.

All Blacks have the advantage at the halfback pairing, as far as attacking play goes, Springboks have the advantage for kicks to posts, considering Carter’s recent kicking form from the tee.

Ma’a Nonu is weak on defence at times, whereas JJ Engelbrecght is also sometimes weak on defence… so the inside and outside centres basically cancel each other out.

All Blacks back 3 are lethal on attack and counter-attack… but hey, so are Habana, Willie le Roux and Zane Kirchner is solid at the back and a deadly defender.

It will revolve around the breakdowns and who wants this game more, who keeps dicipline the best and who use their chances best!

Gooooo Bokke, bliksem them sommer stukkend!

Will be a battle royal!

I’m slowly starting to get more optimistic… and nervous at the same time!

We can best these buggers up front, we can make it count

Old story, klap them upfront and then take them on at the back.

Messam is a quality act, some players can fit in almost immediately on the international level, with what the AB’s have they made the right choice to counter Alberts and Vermeulen.
    Coles in the new breed coming through,
    Cane has never had a bad test game and where there s a tackle there is a Todd.

The Boks are at their best now in a long long time and hope for that one clinical win.
    The Blacks are a bit off their best and hope not to loose at home for once
    Still a big gap between the two teams based on the last few years but the Boks are showing signs of challenging that top spot

I am wishing for 2 teams to be massively competitive over an extended period of time
    and this Saturday might just be the start of that era

Jis ouens, if an AB team is selected to counter Boks strengths, does that not mean that we have won an important battle already?

@fender – It would seem so yes. I think that we have crushed them already in the mental side of this clash.

I am optimistic… and my support will fully be behind our Springbok team on the weekend.

@ fender:
    @ Timothy Bornman:

ease up boys, the ABs have picked players to play a style they want to play, not to counter the “bokke”..

I think too many SA supporters are getting way ahead of themselves based on one good performance. Have we all forgotten the performance in mendoza already?

the real question is this, will the Bokke be able to reach the same level of intensity as last week? Im not sure, very hard to maintain that edge two weeks in a row, what with the excruciating travel disadvantage of a trans tasman flight.

:whistling:

11 @ nga puhi:
    Jeeez nga puhi, I would not exactly call the All Blacks performance AT HOME against the Pumas flush either. At home the Bokke demolished the Pumas… by 60!

you mean scoring close to 30 points against Arg in those conditions was a poor effort? considering we are more then likely going to get the same conditions, it was a perfect hit out for us.

lets not forget Arg had two men sinbinned in that first game, so you played against 14 men for 20 minutes, if you cant inflate the scoreline then you shouldnt really be playing.

I am enjoying the optimism from bok supporters, but we have yet to see them put two performances together back to back.

good luck for the weekend, I honestly think you guys are going to need it.

@nga puhi – The problem is not the score that you guys posted, it is the score that was posted against you by the Argies. Your score was fine, but they scored way to much against you guys.

@ nga puhi:
    Your confidence is justified. Put the ABs record against the Bok record and an unbiased person would come to the same conclusion. As Bok supporters we hope and see some evidence though that the tide may be beginning to turn. Come the weekend we will know if there is some more grounds for it. A win this weekend for the Boks won’t be enough though, we need to develop consistency. However the expectation is high for a one-off victory!

13 @ nga puhi:
    28 / 13… at Home IN New Zealand against the Pumas… if you’re happy with it, it’s OK by me.

Pumas scrum was better than the All Black scrum too…

Anyway, like I said in an Article…”The proof of the pudding lies in the eating thereof”.

We’ll see on the weekend… and I say the All blacks are still favourites, but that there is a lot in the Springboks to make me optimistic.

in raining, windy conditions? would SA have scored 70 points in those conditions?
    surely even you GBS understand how difficult those conditions can be? with Owen Franks back to anchor the scrum, rather than Faumuina who I dont think is good enough at this stage, I dont think the Bok will have it all their own way at set piece.

@ Timothy Bornman:
    13 points is too much to let the opposition score? really? it was the same amount of points they scored agaisnt you in SA. so not sure what your point is?

17 @ nga puhi:
    Come on, admit you’re nervous… it smells all the way from your side of the ocean to here that you are nervously talking up your side.

If the Bokke forwards have the same energy and passion as last week… or even a little more, it will be hell to pay to beat the Springboks.

Last year, IN NEW ZEALAND, the Springbok forwards were comfortably over the All Blacks forwards and poor goal kicking cost the Bokke that game… this year could be very different.

Look at the All Black side and the number of caps some of the players sport, specially on the bench… and the playing field becomes more and more level.

Hope the weather does not mar what needs to be a good encounter and I certainly hope the referee is there to facilitate the game rather than rule the game…. fairly, for both sides. Last thing we need is a dubious win either way.

What’s better than the world’s No 1 & No 2 sides going hammer and tongs!

yep, Im nervous, thats why I tipped the ABs by 20 on Superbru. last years results count for nothing GBS.. are you sure your boys will be able to mentally get up to the same type of intensity as last week? remember, at 60 minutes Aus were still very much in it.

I also worry that one of your forwards will allow the hype to get to him and we will see a repeat of the Greyling incident, which probably cost your team more last year then Mornes missed kicks.

pressure and expectation does that to players though.

should be a cracking game regardless, but I just dont think the Bokke are as good as everyone believes yet…just my opinion of course, and if I am wrong I am sure you will all remind me 😀

19 @ nga puhi:
    Last year’s result and the results this season, has shown a logical progression in the Springboks… first the forwards started gradually improving… now the backline is following suit, with the Springboks playing a far more complete or total game.

Heyneke Meyer’s percentages are climbing and the Springboks are gaining on the All Blacks in the world rankings.

Comparatively, can you say the same? With close wins against France in June, 2 good wins against a poor Wallabies side (who by the way had heaps of possession againt the All blacks in both matches), and a not too convincing win against the Pumas just last week.

If last year’s result counts for nothing, then the same argument can be made that history in total counts for nothing, yet I will never say that! All Blacks recent history has been sublime and the Springboks have always had the gun to the head in recent times.

This weekend will certainly show whether there is a movement towards setting the balance right between the 2 sides.

I like Heyneke Meyer’s passion and how he wears it on his sleeve, it shows his full commitment, dedication and belief in his work. Tell you what, he will die for his players…. and they for him… and that was the style of the legacy he built at the Bulls as well, pre-2007.

I’d hate to have the All Blacks stroll to an easy win on Saturday, as sure as you would hate the opposite or even just a Springbok win IN New Zealand.

We are 2 proud rugby nations, proud supporters, enthralled by this beautiful game.

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online