South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (26) 73 / 13 (6) Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Soccer City (FNB Stadium), Soweto at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 12:00 Arg Time.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SS4, SLSA, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (4)
  • Tries – Penalty Try (1), JJ Engelbrecht (1), Adriaan Strauss (1), Willem Alberts (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Fourie du Preez (1), Bryan Habana (1), Duane Vermeulen (1), Bismarck du Plessis (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (8)

Pumas:

• Penalties – Felipe Contepomi (2)
  • Tries – Felipe Contepomi (1)
  • Conversions – Felipe Contepomi (1)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Felipe Contepomi (Captain), 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Martin Leguizamon, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Matias Diaz, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Juan Figallo.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Julio Farias Cabello, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Fernandez, 23 Horacio Agulla.

Date: Saturday 17 August 2013
Venue: Soccer City, Soweto
Kick-off: 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 12:00 Arg Time)
Expected weather: Sunny and mild with a 20km/h west wind. A high of 20 C and low of 7 C.
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), John Lacey (Ireland)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)

451 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

Forget it GBS, HM is not going to win their hearts that easy, he must first klap the AB,s like this Worry

Bring baas Naas weer so bietjie realisme na die tafel.

415 @ grootblousmile: I will certainly eat humble pie if the Boks play like they did in the second half throughout the tournament. But lets not get ahead of ourselves. This was a very weak Arg side. Beaten 32/3 and 51/26 by a second string England side.

Springboks top the Log… for now

Mmm……..Nick and Plum

ja maar xie skarre was redelik “integrated” kani glo daar was net 52k mense nie. dit het na baie meer gelyk. dink hulle het dalk mense laat insneak.

Ja nee ekt daai orlando games gemis. sal ver altyd spuit wees

424 @ Just For Kicks:
    Was a second string Pumas side too…

Plenty still to work on, was not flawless… but it progressively got better as the game unfolded

n Paar lekker driee en die manne het goeie bewegings laat werk, Gary se mos practice ….

427 @ MacroBull:
    Jinne, daai 2 games was lekker… en die gees in, diep in Soweto was so goed.

Het op ‘n Media bus na daai 2 games gegaan en geparty….

Is jy lus om na AC se verdedigings show te kyk na hierdie game.

432 @ superBul:
    Ja, en onthou ek moet die Live Game Thread hanteer…

Ja, Super….people can say what they like about Nick but he has always and consistently spoken his mind.

Mens hoefie altyd met hom saam te stemmie ma te minste bly sy standpunte interessant en insigewend.

Die enigte rede hoeko ek die moeite doen om by die pre en post game show in te skakel.

Griquas coach Pote Human branded his team’s Currie Cup match against the Blue Bulls on Friday evening as one of the worst he had ever witnessed.

“It was very bad. I think it must be one of the worst games I’ve watched, as a spectator or as a coach,” Human said.

“If we ever had an opportunity to beat the Bulls, we could have done it tonight because they didn’t want to play, but neither did we.

“Maybe all the penalties were disrupting to the players, but it felt like they were scared to play.”

hoop die Cheetahs is darem lus vir speel, ek weet die WP is net lus vir keer

OK, I’m over on the WP / Cheetahs game thread

Ouens dis koud innie Kaap ennit reen ennie wind waai.

‘n Mooi game op Nuweland gannit beslis nie wesie…

438 @ fender:
    Kak plek die Kaap, huh!

Congrats Bokke supporters, a right royal thrashing handed out to the Pumas.

not good for the championship if they cant lift their game.

enjoy what was a fine win.
    cheers

First chance I have had to post since our Bok game on Saturday.

Well done to our Boks. That was a brilliant performance and a magnificent start to our RC season this year.

O yes it was great and even Lambie had a great break witch i enjoyed.
    Is his break the reason why you were gone
    and just arrived back from your jump over the moon? Approve

Just Joking, it was great

442 @ superBul:
    Howzit Super,

The first half was not that great, but the 2nd half was brilliant. Just about the whole team and bench were superb. Only Basson and Steenkamp that struggled it seemed.

Enjoyed all the other players they all performed superb. Meyer should have shifted Willie to wing and taken off Basson. Would have been great to have Pat and Willie on at the same time. Anyhow like I said just about the whole team were terrific. Even forgave Serfontein for that bad pass to Habs feet that would have been another try as we would have had 80 points on the board then. Serfontein was really great though, so not gonna worry about one mistake. Our whole bench were brilliant except Steenkamp like I mentioned.

Great to see our beloved Boks play like that. Was so good never wanted the game to end! hahahahahahaha. Overjoy Now want some more of that this Saturday again…. Happy-Grin

Never posted during the game as we went to friends to watch and only came home really late. Went out the whole of Sunday as well. So first time to post here today to congratulate our Boks.

hAVE YOU SEEN THE ab VS aus GAME? Caps sorry. The handling of the AB,s are just brilliant, we must learn this, fast accurate and with great vision and control. It is one thing i LOVE about them, we need a few training sessions with Jonty Rhodes, that might teach us to catch the impossible balls. Sonny Bill is also a great guy to follow, his passing is now standard practice in NZ. Those ofloads are just brilliant, RESPECT I-Wish

444 @ superBul:
    Hi Super,

Yes I did watch that game. ABs handling skills have always been way better than ours since we came back from isolation. Before that we were pretty good with it.

I love those offloads they do Super. We need to up our skills a bit before we can even think of playing like that. Meyer should bring in Spencer or Mitchell to help out. They are living here in this country so use them. Pity we never roped in Plum before he signed for Ireland. I know Sharks never played well this year, but we had far too many injuries to do well. Just think of the Sharks off-loading game last year? It has to be because of the kiwi connection we had with Plum.

If we could combine a off-loading game to our strengths we would be unbeatable. That is my feeling.

Go look at our Boks game on youtube against the Cavaliers in 1986. Just have a loot at Danie Gerber and C. Du Plessis there. They were brilliant and it was way back then. So how we lost it I have no idea. Different game plans eventually coming in.

Anyhow really chuffed how we played on Saturday. Sure it was Arg, but we really took them to pieces and never let up.

445 @ Puma:
    loot = look

I think you have it wrong with Plum, he never got you trough to a big trophy, he was privileged to have all that great players your Union bought. There must be someone else who tried their input(expansive style) but not Plum. I remember well how you guys almost fired him.

444 @ superBul:
    Super,

Your thoughts. Should we start with who we know first in Ruan on Saturday or Vermaak? I think Vermaak will give us quicker ball like Fourie did. Well he is not great like Fourie but faster than Ruan.

Pity we cant have Fourie for the whole RC. One just forgets how damn good he was before 2011. He is back to his best like he was in 2007. Well that is how it looked to all of us.

Our bench must be the envy of many rugby countries. Just wish Steenkamp was playing like he used too. Pity about Trevor not keeping the team discipline. Would rather have had Trevor there to be honest. Also looking forward to the day PSDT is with the Boks. Eben and PSDT are gonna be great together.

447 @ superBul:
    There was always talk on the blogs. I bet it was not going to happen at the Sharks at that time. Look we never won a Super Rugby cup with him. We were unlucky not too. He was our Forward Coach in 2007 then our Head Coach from 2008 when we won the CC and again in 2010. Last year again we were unlucky with injuries at the start. Otherwise I think we may have won quite a few of the games that we just lost at the start where we did pick up losing bonus points. If we had a home final we just may have won. No team can win travelling like we done. Plum also got us into 4 CC finals. He was a good coach.

Look at how Mitchell and Spencer got the Lions to play terrific rugby. Last year they had the most injuries and could not do much. I think having a kiwi in our Bok camp would not hurt us at all rather help us play even better. Meyer I can tell you is not afraid to ask for help. I won’t be surprised to see more help in the future. Like we got this Scottish coach to help us with the breakdowns. We should give Carlos Spencer a call.

Here is that Bok/Cavaliers game of 86

Super just look how we ran with the ball there? Look at the superb passing and handling skills we had there. What happened when we came back after isolation? Have a look at Danie Gerber and C. Du Plessis. Also Uli Schmidt

—————————————————————————————————————————————————–

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIEeddJwVj8‎

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online