South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (26) 73 / 13 (6) Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Pumas did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Soccer City (FNB Stadium), Soweto at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 12:00 Arg Time.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SS4, SLSA, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (4)
  • Tries – Penalty Try (1), JJ Engelbrecht (1), Adriaan Strauss (1), Willem Alberts (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Fourie du Preez (1), Bryan Habana (1), Duane Vermeulen (1), Bismarck du Plessis (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (8)

Pumas:

• Penalties – Felipe Contepomi (2)
  • Tries – Felipe Contepomi (1)
  • Conversions – Felipe Contepomi (1)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Argentina: 15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Felipe Contepomi (Captain), 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Martin Leguizamon, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Matias Diaz, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Juan Figallo.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Julio Farias Cabello, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Fernandez, 23 Horacio Agulla.

Date: Saturday 17 August 2013
Venue: Soccer City, Soweto
Kick-off: 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 12:00 Arg Time)
Expected weather: Sunny and mild with a 20km/h west wind. A high of 20 C and low of 7 C.
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), John Lacey (Ireland)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)

451 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

1 2 3 16

Argentinian beef vs SA cattle.

should be a great contest, unfortunately work will mean not being able to view the game. SA should really change their start times so we in Australasia can view these games at a reasonable hour. Argentinian beef vs SA cattle.

should be a great contest, unfortunately work will mean not being able to view the game. I-got-an-idea SA should really change their start times so we in Australasia can view these games at a reasonable hour.

GBS, why when you add a emoticon does it add the whole of your comment again as evidenced above?

I only repeat myself when the beer has been flowing

2 @ nga puhi:
    Hello nga puhi, it would appear the beer has been flowing then Happy Look see no repeats, just on the water this side Happy-Grin I think its something to do with which browser you are using as with the one I’m on now I had to delete the comments otherwise there would be repetition, I don’t think this problem occurs with latest versions of IE and also Firefox.
    Anyways enjoy the game over there Approve

Ka pai (dankie) Bullscot

lol nah, am at work so cant have any beers, just my warped sense of humour. Also use the latest version of firefox, wouldnt touch IE with your computer 😀

good luck to your guys today..

cheers

2 @ nga puhi:
    The repeat is a problem in Internet Explorer… Use Firefox, it’s better anyway!

No score yet in the match between Bafana Bafana and Burkino Faso, the curtain raiser for the Bokke match, 10 min gone.

Stadium still quite empty

GO BAFANA GO!

Bafana Bafana 1 / 0 Burkino Faso, Tshabalala the scorer

gaan die game live wees op sabc?

10 @ MacroBull:
    Nee, delayed broadcast op SABC

Correction, it seems it will be live on SABC 2!

Come on Bafana Bafana!

12 @ Puma:
    Fark, when one is used to the fast pace of a rugby game, soccer becomes even more boring…..

GBS,

I think there is quite a good crowd at FNB already. Great to see everyone getting into the soccer and supporting our team there as well. All seem to be having a great time, see them all doing the Mexican Wave! haha. Nice man, like to see us supporting each other.

Nee flok mense, hoekom gaan die wêreld so gaga oor soccer… wat ‘n kak game!

Daar’s geen aksie nie, geen bloed nie, geen oemf nie… geen skrums of lynstane nie, geen goeie tackles nie…

Rugby is baaaaaie meer intens!

13 @ grootblousmile:
    I know a totally different game. Have to say I really got into the football when we had the world cup here. Really enjoyed watching the best in the world play right here.

16 @ Puma:
    Yeah, but then one has to be in the poofball mood… but straight after a high-paced rugby Test like we’ve seen today, this looks like Mickey Mouse stuff…

15 @ grootblousmile:
    Each to their own gbs. Some enjoy the football and some enjoy the rugby. I am rugby crazy, that is the sport I love the most.

However, we can support our team here. Great to see all South Africans coming together and supporting each other. This is what builds our country. Sport together!

Gaap… Lemoenetyd in the soccer.

Think I must go to the shops to buy Kameeltjies… have Condensed Milk, so I only need Kameeltjies.

18 @ Puma:
    Fark, golf has more action compared to soccer…

Cricket has tons more action compared to soccer.. hell darts or netball or the stop-start game of American gridiron rugby has more action than soccer.

20/21

I know both those sports do. Then that is our preference. Some football supporters might not agree with you. Like I say each to their own. We all enjoy different sports. Nothing wrong with it. I really enjoyed the football world cup when it was here. Got right into it. And I am rugby crazy. I just enjoy rugby more than any other sport, always have. Does not mean I wont watch a game of football though. I watched the Scotland/England friendly the other night and enjoyed it. Was hoping for Scotland to win, but they lost.

Gbs,

We leaving in a short while to go to our best friends for a braai and to watch the rugby. So wont post during the game.

GO BOKKE GO!

Need to pick up the 5 points today. Otherwise the ABs will be out of sight before we even play them.

Cheers everyone. Catch up later.

23 @ Puma:
    So, we’re not your best friends here on R-T???

WTF!!

Much better viewing on SuperSport 1, Paul Roos playing Grey College.

Score at the moment is Grey College 6 / 3 Paul Roos

22 @ Puma:
    You know, we’re allowed to be biased towards rugby here on RUGBY-TALK… because this is a RUGBY site… and nothing will EVER compare to rugby for us!

Jeeez, look at the lenght of the grass on the Paul Roos field… did they leave it that long to curb the running game of Grey College? Lekker type of pitch to step someone, because every step sticks, not so easy to slip…but long grass like that is murder on your legs and tiring… very tiring.

Soccer score still unchanged…

Grey College 9 / 3 Paul Roos, 42 min of 70 min gone

1 2 3 16

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online