The Springbok Team to take on Ireland in the 1st Test of the Springbok End Of Year Tour to the Northern Hemisphere, taking place on Saturday 10 November, was announced at about 13:40 SA Time on Wednesday 7 November 2012.

As suspected, Jaco Taute retains his spot at Outside Centre (No 13), Patrick Lambie gets a bite at the Flyhalf cherry, Zane Kirchner is retained at Fullback and Francois Hougaard slots in at Left wing (No 11) in place of the injured Bryan Habana.

On the bench Schalk Brits provides Hooker cover with CJ van der Linde and Pat Cilliers getting the nod for loosehead and tighthead props.

The backline replacements are Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo.

Heyneke Meyer has opted for a 5 / 3 split between forwards and backs, seeing as this tour is played under the new rules, stipulating that there MUST be a full front row on the bench and 8 in stead of the usual 7 replacements.

Springbok Team: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

114 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springbok Team announcement

Lekker, lekker …. nou is dit bietjie ons beurt om vir Lambie, as hy enige ou foutjie maak, af te kraak tot in die grond toe. Ja, as Morne volmaak moet wees, hoekom nie ook ou Lambie nie ? hehehe

Wink

Another blow for Ireland – Paul O’Connell is not going to play on Saturday – back injury – he must have been a front runner to captain them too.

If HM does ignore YOU, i wonder if he can see the train coming at him, it simply had to come. This is Africa, remember.

Meyer not keen on black Boks: ANC
    Wed Nov 7 2012: ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe feels Bok coach Heyneke Meyer is “not keen” on putting black players in the national team.

If both JW and PdeV could pick a “passenger” because of his other talents at no 2 i wonder WHY did HM miss the trick with Ralepele?
    He could have offered the no 2 spot and saved himself a lot of trouble. Remember the hype , the expectations some had for CR. That could have been a clever move to play a very capable player like CR and pleased most off his bosses.
    Especially since the top boy Bismarck was out injured long term.

Juan de Jongh is another one that will bite him , somewhere very uncomfortable.

note’ John Smit eventually became one of our best no 2s. But when he started off he certainly was only picked for his leadership qualities.

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/SpringboksintheUK/Heyneke-Meyer-not-keen-on-picking-blacks-ANC-20121107

The comments on this article just reiterate how different we feel about our coach, our game, our country.

Boks: De Jongh done disservice

Wed Nov 7 2012:
    Is the Bok ‘positive’ of Pat Lambie’s call-up against Ireland undone by the continued sidelining of slippery Juan de Jongh?
    News24

With these comments i will step of this subject of “doubting” Heynecke and start praying he does not somehow lose this game. That could be a early end to his Springbok coaching career. I still like the old more quiet HM who used his “koptalk” and motivated his team. The new style HM is sometimes more embarrassing than Helium voice.

Now i will sit back and watch a bit.
    This is a HUGE week for HM.

Hougaard, Taute, Side show, CJ Tired Weary

This is exactly why this country will never move forward, it will always be split in 2.

In saying that to be very honest HM missed a trick here and kinda brought this on himself, And i am not sure if he is being advised by clowns or some decisions he makes that are absurd is being made by himself?

Had he selected the inform center in JDJ none of this nonsense would be happening. BUT again if he as coach feels another combination is the right one that will work? why is it so hard for people to understand?

the problem is people, people dnot uinderstand the game and always cry racism, or provincialism, because without a doubt the other one racism is being screamed about it Elton Jantjies, and like i said yesterday i can fully understand why Morne is on the bench, it makes sense if one just takes emotion out of the thought and tries to think from a rugby strategy point of view.

Below is an article which says exactly what i explained yesterday as to my reason why i thought HM had gone with Morne on the bench,
    http://www.rugby365.com/article/50542-meyer-morne-is-my-insurance-policy

Gwede Mantashe?
    Ek wonder of die ou werfbobbejaan al ooit by n rugbywedstryd was….

Waar is al ons swart swemmers, tennisspelers, perdespringers, golfers, polospelers, netbal, darts…..you name it?
    Hoekom verrek hy nie liewer sy ou bek daaroor nie?
    Gwede Mantashe se ma se harre man….flok die ANC en flok sokker…en flok die minister van watookal Bully

Oh, and just btw, good morning RT’s , hehehehe!

O sorry, vrou se die netbal is darem al feitlik heel swart (maar hulle het nog nokkol gewen nie), jammer my fout.

Helloooooooooooooo

Hoe gaan dit met julle?

Almal vlokken slaap

CELTIC CELTIC CELTIC YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS BEAUTIFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!……… Happy-Grin

BARCA WHO?????? BARCA WHO??? … Thinking Overjoy

Well done Celtic, that was a awesome win last night. AND the 18 year old replacement got them the winning goal! 🙂 🙂 How about that Meyer? See age does not matter, if you good enough no matter how young, you have to get selected.

68 @ Sharks_forever:
    Exactly.

Meyer has brought this on himself to a certain extent JDJ is the inform outside centre on tour and he selects a fullback to player there instead, who has not performed well there. Had Juan been selected to start which he should have this would not have happened. Also Hougie is a utility playe and slected ahead of a genuine wing. Mvovo should have started as well.

Now watch next week Meyer select players to please the ANC. THAT SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN, players must be selected on merit and merit alone. WHEN will we all just be South African no matter what colour we are, WHEN? We are South Africans no matter what colour our skin is dammit. Skin colour is just that and it means nothing we all the same. Ag, this is going to cause a stir now for sure, because JUAN should have been selected. On MERIT with the players overseas he is the best and the best should start always. Mvovo should have been given a start as well.

Watch next week Lambie will be dropped whether he has a blinder or not. That would be a shame, select the best only, full stop. Players should always be selected on merit always. Sorry Meyer Juan should have been starting on Saturday he is the best over there and DESERVES to start. Mvovo too should have started. Only had one bad mistake and dropped.

Okay enough of that now.

How good was my team Celtic last night against Barca? Awesome…….. 🙂

Mitchell back as Lions coach
    2012-11-08 12:01

John Mitchell (Gallo Images)
    Related Links
    ‘Liefling’ back at Loftus Boks: Juan done disservice Brits Boks’ new Skinstad? Cape Town – John Mitchell has been found not guilty of all complaints of misconduct levelled against him by the Golden Lions Rugby Union.

With his suspension formally lifted, Mitchell has been requested to return to work as Golden Lions head coach on Friday, according to his lawyer Brian Patterson, of Edwards Nathan Sonnenbergs.

Patterson confirmed that the GLRU had finally released its full findings and recommendations of the disciplinary chairperson, Peter Bam.

Patterson stressed that no further comment could be made on the subject at this stage because of legal reasons.

“John is elated with the outcome and feels that his position and reputation as an international coach has been fully vindicated,” said his management agency, The Fordham Company. “He is looking forward to returning to Coca-Cola Park as head coach to assist the Lions to achieve their full potential”.

The agency’s chief executive, John Fordham, said Bam had made a number of recommendations relating to the restoring of the working relationships between Mitchell and the GLRU.

“John is committed to working hard together with the GLRU to address these issues going forward,” he said.

Fordham added that Mitchell’s legal representatives and the GLRU’s lawyers Erasmus Inc were engaged in discussions to address the resolution of certain underlying issues that gave rise to the complaints and to discuss Mitchell’s future with the club.

“John is committed to remaining in South Africa and in continuing in his position as head coach of the GLRU. He’s looking forward to his return to the club tomorrow,” he said.

Meyer should have had Janjties on the bench, as well. Just my feeling. I know if things go wrong you have Morne with the boot, but he has not been great this season and does not deserve to be on the bench, it should have been Elton. Another big blunder by Meyer I think. Unless he has decided to start Elton next week. Then to decide between Lambie or Elton to start against England that could be as well. Though to really give a player a proper chance he needs more than one game. Lambie has been sitting on the Bok bench for 6 bloody games waiting. He has been treated the most poorly by Meyer out of them all.

Pat deserves to start he has played himself into this starting position in the CC.

75 @ Sharks_forever:
    He will have to build again, as plenty of the players he has brought through are out on loan to other franchises or have left.

Is he back for real though, or is this to make sure he gets paid out? I wonder, will have to see. I rate him highly as a coach and do hope he stays in South Africa. We need all the talented coaches we can get here.

hiyas Pooms

true
    Who knows what they will do, they in a desperate situation

Another thing if John Mitchell is really genuine about staying at the Lions. Then I take my hat off to him, especially with the situation the Lions are in right now. Then I have total respect for him.

78 @ Sharks_forever:
    Well saru sure as hell messed that up. Lions were building nicely then all of a sudden swoosh out of Super Rugby. Look Kings have to be in Super Rugby, but not this way, they should have played CC for the next two years and by that time the format we are playing now will have changed and they could be in it without having the pressure to play a relegation game at the end of the year. Big mess up for them and Lions, probably Lions as they had a very good team, just needed to build depth as once they had injured players out they were not up to it. With their top players they could probably beat any team on their day. Mitchell, Spencer were really good for the Lions. So hope Mitchell can build another team for SS 2014 and the CC coming up next year.

See the weather is clear for Dublin on Saturday. This is a night game we playing so the ball will be slippery and even underfoot there. Really don’t like these night games and especially in the nh in the cold. Even in Durbs in the summer months the humidity is at its highest in the evening. Sharks play quite a few homes games in the humid months next year. This year we travelled early and I think that was a bonus to get away from the humid months. CC we played in the rain almost everyweek……….hahahah.

😆 yup
    Lets hope we have a far better start next year

Hello boys!
    Look, I am not going to get started here on RT with this political rugby bullshyte, I have had my fill on Voldy with those ‘Campsbay cowboys and capeflatsboys’ down in the Cape on this issue, and I’m done with that.

BUT, I want to defend our national coach 100% on his selections for the Irish test (as I had often done with PdeV).
    Unlike our rugby coaches, who are accountable and can be lambasted and have their contracts terminated for non-performance, this Gwede Mantashe oke can easily just sit there and make a few occasional controversial statements whenever he takes his snout out of the gravy trough, he is accountable only to the caders who will protect his arse regardless.

Feel free to come bite me Gwede,IF you can counter me on the following regarding selection:

* Kolisi is out for the season, why is he even mentioned?
    * Chiliboy ‘Sicknote’ Ralapele is on the come-back trail after a long injury (again! Take note Superbul…), so he is a ‘no-go’.
    * JdJ’s selection would have meant Taute at fullback with a loss of Kirchner, so no ‘black'(sic) player gains from that move either (in any event, a brilliant try by JdJ in the CC final at home after a practiced move that took a week to perfect doesn’t relate to any such performances in an overseas international in Dublin’ Ireland);
    * Mujati is not eligible;
    * Mvovo ipo of Hougaard with his BMT and versatility is no improvement, quite the opposite;
    * Jantjies was kuk against the All Blacks in his firt run-up game, he choked big time and is clearly not ready to be picked in the first 15 at this stage of his career.

So, GO Heyneke!!!!! You have my full support.

82 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, Actually really looking forward to Super Rugby. We do play quite a few home games in the humidity though and sometimes it is tough to get the 4 try bonus point in those games. This year we travelled early and thought that was great to get our guys away from the humidity and once back as you know we won all our home games except against the Chiefs. Most of those games too were won with 4 try bonus points. The only one we never got the 4 tries was against Stormers. Weather towards end of April is awesome in Durbs. Good for rugby… LOL

Oh, and also Guthro (not sure if he qualifies as ‘black’ though, wtf knows nowadays with even the SA Chinese being classified as black for purposes of BEE!)), Heyneke wanted him, but he is injured too.

O hell yes, Habana! He is also injured.

83 @ Pietman:
    Howzit Piet,

Look my feeling this is sports and the government should not get involved, but this is South Africa and we know full well they will. Juan should have got selected over Taute. Taute should have been on the bench then as Zane is solid but not spectacular and for now we have no damn clue how good Taute would be at fullback, he has not played there for awhile, though that is where he did play his best rugby. So for this game it should have been Juan at outside centrea and Zane to start being solid but not brilliant. We know probably what we have in Zane right now but not Taute. I do rate Hougie boet but he too has been out of form, on the wing and at scrummie. Should have given Mvovo a start with Hougie on the bench with Taute and Elton. Look Morne has been totally out of form, so he really does not deserve to be there bru. I do have to admit Elton was not great against the ABs. Got two kicks over but his defence was found wanting, then so is Morne’s defence. Personally I would have had Elton on the bench, as this is a eoyt where we try out the youngsters. BUT Meyer has cost here bru, by not selecting right through the RC. Had he in the June Tests brought on Elton for a out of form Morne in the last test against Englanad we would have won that. He AGAIN should have brought on Lambie in the Mendoza test when Morne was not playing well at all, again we would have won, again he should have selected Goosen or probably Lambie in Perth and Dunedin and we would have won. Lambie has played at a higher level in the World Cup and he was one of 5 or so Bok players coming home with his head held high. So he has the bmt Meyer should have truste him just through that alone to start him this season. Now with the draw of the wc coming up we HAVE to win all our games now to get a good draw, had we won those games I mentioned the pressure would not be on us.

Now he also puts pressure on Lambie by giving him one chance to prove himself. That is not the way to go about managing players. He should be giving him 3 starts on this tour. Only then will he see what he has in the young player at fh. Other players have had plenty chances even not playing well. Should be the same for the others to get more chances.

Anyhow time for us here in South Africa to select on merit only no matter the colour. We are all South Africans. What the anc are doing now is also being racist. Well that is my last on this, I hardly get involved in the politics of sport. Just not worth it.

truste = trust

Ireland
    Team named, 15 Zebo, 14 Bowe, 13 Earls, 12 Darcy, 11 Trimble, 10 Sexton, 9 Murray, 8 Heaslip, 7 Henry, 6 O’Mahony, 5 Ryan, 4 McCarthy, 3 Ross, 2 Strauss, 1 Healy

Refs for this weekends game:

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
    Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Luke Pierce (England)
    TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)

Total 26 users including 0 member, 26 guests, 0 bot online