The Springbok Team to take on Ireland in the 1st Test of the Springbok End Of Year Tour to the Northern Hemisphere, taking place on Saturday 10 November, was announced at about 13:40 SA Time on Wednesday 7 November 2012.

As suspected, Jaco Taute retains his spot at Outside Centre (No 13), Patrick Lambie gets a bite at the Flyhalf cherry, Zane Kirchner is retained at Fullback and Francois Hougaard slots in at Left wing (No 11) in place of the injured Bryan Habana.

On the bench Schalk Brits provides Hooker cover with CJ van der Linde and Pat Cilliers getting the nod for loosehead and tighthead props.

The backline replacements are Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo.

Heyneke Meyer has opted for a 5 / 3 split between forwards and backs, seeing as this tour is played under the new rules, stipulating that there MUST be a full front row on the bench and 8 in stead of the usual 7 replacements.

Springbok Team: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

114 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springbok Team announcement

28 @ Sharks_forever:
    No, you did not flip your lid… but then again YOU understand how difficult the choices are sometimes for a coach (Meyer).

I think Heyneke Meyer has now established who he wants as run-on forwards… and I see his forwards bench in light of some experimentation to solidify the bench too.

It’s the backs where the pecking order is still wide open, bar maybe JP Pietersen at right wing… and Heyneke will also stick with Jean de Villiers unless injury interferes (which is a real probability)

Ek het ook eers Taute gekies vir heelagter, maar dit maak wel sin dat hy bly by Zane, want:
    1. HM wil nie met ‘n nuwe losskakel en nuwe heelagter tegelykertyd begin nie.
    2. Taute is ‘n goeie aanvallende heelagter, maar nie so veilige heelagter soos Zane nie.
    3. Zane se skopvoet is akkurater (Taute skop wel verder, maar daardie laaste vou-onder-druk-skop toe hy die bal direk uitgeskop het in die laaste minuut in die CB semi teen die WP, het HM dalk versigtig gemaak)
    4. die weersomstandighede gaan nie maklik wees nie, daarom is Zane ‘n beter opsie.

Wat JDJ betref, sou ek hom ook gekies het, veral omdat hy JDV se spanmaat is by die WP, maar daar is nie veel tussen hom, Taute en Mapoe te kies nie.

34 @ bdb:
    Sou jy Mvovo op die bench gekies het?

Ek sou Lionel Mapoe of Raymond Rhule verkies het…. Mvovo se hande is swak en sy verdediging verdag.

34 @ bdb:
    Janee, Heyneke Meyer is ‘n GROOT voorstander van kontinuiteit… en dis heel verstaanbaar en gepas, want dit is ‘n blerrie belangrike beginsel.

Zane sal nie teleurstel nie, hy is solid.

25 @ grootblousmile:

So you saing the whole country was wrong? HUH? Just about everyone was calling for Lambie to start and not be left on the bench. No I was not wrong boeta, not at all. So why should I have to apologise to a coach that right now I don’t trust or respect? HE MEYER has to apologise to us supporters for getting it wrong. Look had he pulled Morne off in PE when he was not up to it and put Elton on we would have won there. Had he pulled Morne off in Mendoza and put Lambie on we would have won there too. Had he then started with either Goosen or Lambie in Perth we would have won there, again he should have started with either Goosen or Lambie in Dunedin and we would have won there. Probably Lambie should have started against the ABs. Has the bigger bmt. WE would have won that game no doubt about it. We now sit with pressure to win all our games so we get a good draw for the next world cup because our very bright Bok Coach kept on sticking with Morne. Eish boeta he owes us a apology no the otherway round. Now let us hope that Jaco has a good game otherwise I am gonna be annoyed AGAIN at Meyer for not giving Juan a chance to start.

Okay that is off my chest now. Anything else boet? Pondering Happy-Grin

37 @ Puma:
    saing = saying

35: soos genoem, die volgende klomp spelers is maar min of meer op dieselfde vlak. Mvovo is solid maar nie uitstaande nie, so tussen hom en Mapoe sou ek enige een kies, ek dink egter wel Mapoe se verdediging en hande is beter. Rhule is nog nat agter die ore, sal hom eers teen die Skotte ‘n kans gee.

35 @ grootblousmile:
    Would only have had Mapoe because he covers centre and wing. You can believe it or not but Mvovo is very, very good under the high ball. Better than Mapoe and Rhule under the high ball. So with the game Meyer will want us to play very pleased to see Mvovo there. He played superb against Bulls in the wet and chasing some high balls as well. Meyer probably took notice….. 😉 Also just dropping a player for one bad mistake is very, very wrong. It completely destroys a players confidence. Just pleased it never ruined Mvovo’s as he was great in the CC coming back from Boks.

With Meyer it seems some get a chance while others make one mistake and get dropped. Not fair on players that, as it also puts far too much pressure on a player that will do daft things trying to impress.

Feel great for Mvovo getting selected again.

1 @ grootblousmile:
    You see you fast asleep bru, Steenkamp has a injury so can’t be in the replacements……… 😛 Knew it would be CJ with Cilliers once Steenkamp was battling with injury.

40 @ Puma:
    Mvovo’s defence is dodgy and his hands are not good…

Raymond Rhule is an option for centre too, having played at centre for the Free State Cheetahs in the Currie Cup too… and having played there for the Bokkies Under 20 side too. His hands are safer than those of Mvovo too.

Rhule is young though… and will get his chances.

11 @ grootblousmile:
    I see you don’t mention Hougie on the wing????? he a utility player at this stage…. Pondering He has not been great gbs, so if anything a proper wing could have started. Mvovo and leave Hougie on the bench as then hougie covers outside centre, wing and scrummie. Anyhow not gonna complain too much about Hougie as I do rate him and he will find form. Just not sure which position he excels in any longer.

42 @ grootblousmile:
    Is he good under the high ball? As that is the game we will be playing, no secret about our game plan. Rhule is brilliant I rate him highly and see him as a starting wing for the next world cup. For now doubt very much Meyer would have just started him without any Super Rugby experience. Mvovo was very, very good for Sharks in SR boet. Though I still Rhule will be a star wing like JPP and Habs in a few years. Actually even in next years Super Rugby. Awesome talent. He can come to the Sharks……………. Happy-Grin

43 @ Puma:
    I fully expected Hougie to start at Left Wiing, providing Scrumhalf cover from there… said so on the Springbok Team prediction Article already and even earlier than that… because I expected the replacements to be laced with forwards due to the strong Northern Hemisphere forwards packs.

That’s also the reason there is no scrumhalf cover on the bench, because there is already a second scrummie in the run-on side.

45 @ grootblousmile:
    How you see us going with the new 5 second rule? Gonna be much faster game I think.

45 @ grootblousmile:I know that is why there is no scrummie on the bench. BUT how can a utility player take a genuine wings place on the wing?
    And a fullback take a genuine outside centres place to start? I feel for Juan really do.

46 @ Puma:
    Fark yes… no more dilly-dallying by bloody Ruan Pienaar behind rucks and kicking the ball back into the rucks….

Should be faster, but that suits the Southern Hemisphere sides like a glove… right from New Zealand, through to Wallabies and also the Springboks. Argies are used to Northern Hemisphere Rugby, so it’s evens stevens for them and the other Northern Hemisphere teams.

No more making a “Treintjie” behind rucks and mauls for scrumhalf kicks…

I like the rule!

47 @ Puma:
    Easy, Hougie is miles and miles and miles… and miles better than Mvovo…

In fact Hougie has played more Super Rugby and Springbok games at wing compared to scrumhalf…. far more!
    Hougie even earned a Super Rugby Title in 2010 as a left wing… scoring a sublime try in the Final at Orlando Stadium… against Bryan Habana….

… but I understand your reasoning, after all Mvovo is a Sharks player….

48 @ grootblousmile:
    Ja that bloody long snake they made behind the rucks drove me crazy and the kicking it back into the ruck drove me even more crazy. This will stop that nonsense. It most definitely will suite the ABs and Wallabies. Will it suit the Bokke? We like to do this box damn stupid thing all the time. Now we have to get quick ball and fast clean pass instead of the box kick. Look you have to box kick sometimes I know that but please not all of the time. That is what has ruined Hougie up at scrummie. I rate Hougie but he has not been in good form, like he was in the world cup.

17 @ grootblousmile:An apology – what planet are you on, seriously. The delusional man has taken this long to put Lambie in the team. He has come up the the weakest, piss poor excuses, been through more revolving doors in the last 3 months than Divvy sucked on helium balloons in three years. Lambie deserves his place in the starting line up, has eventually been given it, clearly not because he deserves it in Ostriches eyes, but because of peer pressure.

But having said that, he is clearly beginning to come to terms with the fact that plan ‘A’ is so flawed, and is slowly coming around to our way of thinking. So rather than come up with the staggering comment about issuing an apology, you should be thanking Puma and I on Ostriches behalf for allowing him to see reality and point him in the right direction, and thus indirectly allow you to have a more pleasurable experience watching your next game of rugby. Hahahahaha

Ireland’s team due to be announced tomorrow afternoon, going to be missing some big names.

51 @ Just For Kicks:
    Hi JFK glad you ended your comment with the humour because up till then the more I read the more delusional I thought you were being I mean how could you possible be thinking the the Springbok coach would be influenced by anything we speak about in blogland Wink

51 @ Just For Kicks:
    To be frank, I did not expect any other response from you… and the less I say about it the better.

Haha

Now Now kids, play nice or imma send you both to your rooms, AND NO YOU CAN HAVE TOYS TO PLAY WITH Police Has spoken.

This type of Police?

😆 @ grootblousmile:y7up lol

Eishhh… BonzaiGBS wants me and him to drink Jeagiebombs tonight to celebrate him being accepted at Tuks….

Why did I buy that BIGGGG Bottle of Jeagermeister… and why did I buy a dozen Red Bulls?

Vanaand slaap ek weer fokkol!

Hahahaha

Bwahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Bonzai gaan vir pappie onner die tafel uitsuip 😆 😆

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online