The Springbok Team to take on Ireland in the 1st Test of the Springbok End Of Year Tour to the Northern Hemisphere, taking place on Saturday 10 November, was announced at about 13:40 SA Time on Wednesday 7 November 2012.

As suspected, Jaco Taute retains his spot at Outside Centre (No 13), Patrick Lambie gets a bite at the Flyhalf cherry, Zane Kirchner is retained at Fullback and Francois Hougaard slots in at Left wing (No 11) in place of the injured Bryan Habana.

On the bench Schalk Brits provides Hooker cover with CJ van der Linde and Pat Cilliers getting the nod for loosehead and tighthead props.

The backline replacements are Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo.

Heyneke Meyer has opted for a 5 / 3 split between forwards and backs, seeing as this tour is played under the new rules, stipulating that there MUST be a full front row on the bench and 8 in stead of the usual 7 replacements.

Springbok Team: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

114 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springbok Team announcement

Not so sure of Barnes really and also Walsh as the AR. Just hope Barnes blows fair for both sides.

I also wonder how we will go with the new 5 sec rule? Going to be interesting. No mucking about for Ruan this time.

Reading on rugby365 and see Flouw turns down SA offers.

I think with Meyer selecting so many overseas based players none will feel the need to come back and play their rugby here. As they getting selected from there now. Also might make a few want to go play there rugby over in the nh knowing they will still get selected. Not sure by selecting so many overseas based players is always a good thing. Just hope we don’t lose more to overseas.

89 @ Loosehead:
    How good is Richardt Strauss at hooker?

Just thinking about the players that are getting selected that are playing their rugby in the nh. I honestly think there should be a limit to how many that should be selected from over there. Two the most and only if we have absolutely no players here that can fill positions then select more than two.

Meyer is now sending the wrong message to players playing their rugby here that it is OKAY to play aboard as you will still get selected for Boks. Fear we will lose many more, why should they play here if they can play there earn a huge amount to what they earn here and still get selected to play for Boks? What is to keep the players here then?

Meyer had said to Frans Steyn he had to be playing his rugby in South Africa to be selected for the Boks. He done just that and came home, now look Meyer is selecting left right and centre players from nh? What does a player like Fransie then think that had to come home first?

We gonna lose many, many more top players if this continues.

83, 85 & 86 @ Pietman:
    Refreshing comment Pieta… and I think you have it spot-on.

Personally I would have swopped Taute to fullback and Juan de Jongh to No 13, with Kirchner reverting to the bench… but I’m happy with Heyneke’s selections and I’m fully behind him and in support of the Bokke for this Ireland match.

I also agree that Mvovo offers far less than Hougie on the wing… and I would have preferred either Lionel Mapoe or young Rhule on the bench in place of Mvovo… but Mvovo on the bench is not too bad I suppose… so once again I abide by Heyneke’s choice there.

Ralepelle has not exacty been inspiring after coming back from injury… and maybe Schalk Brits surprises us from the bench… maybe also adds value in the fetching role – him being a sort of a cross between hooker and opensider in my mind.

So, let’s see how they go!

Jeeeeez its cool and freegin wet here in Brakkenjanpan… will we never have summer this year?

Damn, it’s mid November already… and no summer yet!

97 @ grootblousmile:
    Same here, rain almost the whole day. Weird weather, we do normally have plenty rain this time of year, but this has been really hectic.

98 @ Puma:
    Weird thing is the recurring hail storms here in Joburg and Pretoria lately… today was about the 6th hail storm this season alone in my yard…

Heard that somewhere not too far from us here today the hail fell and lay 30cm deep… massive damage to cars and shit, due to the big size of the hail.

My son, BonzaiGBS’s gym that he frequents was hit so hard today, part of the roof conked in… place apparently is a wreck!

99 @ grootblousmile:Sounds hectic that.

The hail storms in Joburg can cause serious damage. Seen cars been almost a right off from hail up there. Insurance will not cover it either. So make sure your cars are under cover during a hail storm.

Here we have had so much rain since September, normal for this time of year, but never seen this amount that I can remember.

100 @ Puma:
    I was about 17 and was out on the golf course at Wingate Park in Pretoria… right at the furthest away possible from the club house, when it started hailing bloody big rocks of hail…

Anyway, we decided to run for the club house, golf bags over our backs and heads… to at least shield some of the hail away. Ran from freegin tree to tree as much as we could.

Got to the club house, red welts and bruises all over because of the way the hail had pelted us.

Freegin hell, that was’nt funny!

99 @ grootblousmile:

Wonder if JdV might be carry a injury or a slight injury. Just had a squiz through all the Irish Papers now. See the Boks trained yesterday with Zane at outside centre, JdV inside centre with Morne at fh Lambie at fullback and Taute at 14 and JPP at 11 wing. Could just be a back up training have no idea. Go read it in the Irish press of yesterday. My feeling is they making sure they prepared if JdV goes off, otherwise why train with Zane at outside centre and Morne at fh? As we can read on rugby365 Meyer did not have Elton on the bench because he wanted a experienced fh covering Lambie it seems in case of injury, so that would mean he don’t trust the younger ones if JdV is off. By then bringing in Zane to 13, JdJ to 12 with Morne at 10. So two experienced players between JdJ. Moving Lambie to fb where he has played and shifting Jaco out of the centre. Other wise it would have been all young guns there otherwise with Jaco 13 JdJ 12 and Lambie at 10.
    Could have trained like that in case JdV does have to go off for that hammie injury he had. Could just mean being well prepared if it does happen. Not sure otherwise why train in different positions?

102 @ Puma:
    Maybe they were just trying to confuse the wille kak out of the Irish scribes… hehehe

But to be honest, Jean has been nursing strains and slight injuries for about 2 months or more now, constantly… ice packs galore after every training cession… ect

Anyhow what happens happens. Not gonna worry about our Bokke. Just get behind the players, as none select themselves. Hope they all have a good game and we win this one, really hope we do as we have lost to Ireland too many times. And we just far too good to be losing to them, well that is how I feel.

Go Bokke! Keeping fingers crossed no injuries and all have a blinder of a game.

Here is a cool happy song…. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-diB65scQU2

103 @ grootblousmile:
    Have not a clue, could be…..hehehe. Read it just awhile ago in their paper. Normally read all the newspapers of the country where our Boks are playing while they are there. Except of course the Arg ones as I don’t understand Spanish….hehehehe.

Could be that JdV is carrying a injury and they are just being well prepared for it in case he has to come off. Then it is a major shift, but they will be ready no doubt. I do remember Zane playing outside centre twice and he was actually not bad there at all. But that was a long time back.

Gbs, Do not forget the Cricket thread. We play Oz in our first test there later tonight our time.

If we win this series we stay at number one we lose Oz goes to number one. Hope we bliksem them! hahahahaha. Hate losing to Oz or England in the crici.

Okay going to watch Boots now. Hope they have Mallett in the studio.

Catch up tomorrow or during the night if Superbul is watching the cricket.

106 @ Puma:
    Donner… it starts at 01:15 tonight… there is NO WAY I’m sitting up for that… will Schedule a Cricket Thread for later tonight, where you can chat… and then update it in the morning again…

You old folgies who battle to sleep, will have to give score comment updates every so often… I know SuperBul gets up often in the middle of the freegin night…

Well, I sleep like a bambino at night!

Jy nog hier?
    Was gou rekenaarwinkel toe om vir die vrou n notebook te gaan koop om saam te vat SA toe, en ek wou jou advies gehad het daaromtrent.
    Het n Sony 10 inch screen gekoop netnou, die ou is besig om dit te format op die oomblik. Wat kos daai goed in SA, ek het nie n clue nie, weet jy? Ek het sowat R1,700 betaal hier.

109 @ Pietman:
    Eishhhh, toe gaan koop jy ‘n 10 duim speelding….

As jy wou gehad het sy moet met net 10 duime speel, kon sy seker maar met jou zabertjie ook gespeel het… hehehehe

Kleeeeeeeiiiiiiin, piepklein skermpie man!

Sony… ek neem aan dis een van die VAIO reeks…

Sony is ‘n goeie maak…. heelwat duurder as die R 1700.00 wat jy betaal het, hier in SA.

Delighted
    Ja, ou JagseKleinBlouLaggie!
    Nee man, sy het n laptop en als, net die meer kompakte dingetjie gekoop dat sy my kan mail en skype as sy vlieg en in SA rondry volgende week.
    Ek is vandag oor n maand ook daar, het maar besluit om n slag Kersfees by die oumense te gaan kuier.

SENSOR SENSOR SENSOR

111 @ Pietman:
    Ek wou eintlik gesê het in # 110 dat jy liewer maar vir haar ‘n 10 duim vibreerdingetjie moes gekoop het, dit sou goedkoper gewees het… toe bedink ek myself… o donner, daar sê ek dit toe wragtig…. eishhhh

Sorry!

(Mens wil ookie hê die smile op haar gesig moet haar heel ontkant betrap nie… netnou het sy JOU nie meer nodig nie…. hahaha)

SENSOR SENSOR SENSOR

Will put this on a rugby thread. From rugby365

I wonder why Peter de Villiers never go this right last year? He also wanted Mujati, wonder how he never got him? Anyhow think it is a good thing as we don’t have many ths around in his class.

SARU seek Mujati clearance

Fri, 09 Nov 2012 12:57

We are expecting an answer in the next two weeks

The South African Rugby Union have formally approached the minister of sport to get clearance for England-based prop Brian Mujati.

Following weeks of media speculation linking the Northampton Saints front row forward, Mujati, to a belated Bok recall, it has finally been confirmed that he is a wanted man.

A spokesman told this website on Friday that: “SARU had contacted the department [of Sport and Recreation] to confirm Mujati’s status.”

Ntombi Metsing, the Deputy Director-General Sport & Recreation, confirmed to this website that they had received communication from SARU.

“The [SARU] request is with the minister [of Sport and Recreation, Fikile Mbalula],” Metsing said.

“We are expecting an answer in the next two weeks,” Metsing said, adding that the minister will not comment before then.

That means Mujati will certainly not feature on South Africa’s year-end tour, even if there is a rash of front row injuries.

The 28-year-old Zimbabwean-born player is currently ineligible to play for the Boks, as he does not hold a South African passport or citizenship.

It leaves him in a similar position to what fellow Zimbabwean Tendai Mtawarira – who attended the same Peterhouse boarding school in Marondera, as Mujati – faced a few years ago.

Although Mtawarira was fully eligible to play for South Africa under IRB rules, his Zimbabwean nationality was a sticking point in 2009 and 2010. The South African government blocked the burly prop’s selection until 25 June 2010, when Mtawarira was granted South African citizenship.

Mujati, who featured in 12 Tests for the Boks in 2008, in 2009 decided he needed a fresh challenge and signed a contract to play for the Saints.

He has repeatedly been linked to possible Bok selections.

However, his eligibility remained a sticking point and SARU have now approached the department of Sport and Recreation to get clarity on the way forward.

Hope we get it right and can use him for the June tests next year and the RC. For now we only really have Jannie and no other. Coenie is great but more a loosehead. Also as good as Coenie is he seems injury prone.

Total 123 users including 0 member, 123 guests, 0 bot online