News from the UK is that Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira is returning home due to his recurring heart problem.

After consultation with a cardiologist, it has been decided that it is in the best interests of Beast to return home and undergo more tests and therapy for his heart palpitations. He will undergo a minor operation upon his return to hopefully correct the issue.

Frans Malherbe will join the pringboks as replacement prop on tour.

Rugby-Talk wishes Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira all the best and a speedy recovery.

104 Responses to End of Year Tours: Springboks – Beast returning home

11 @ grootblousmile:I too would go with this team, except I would Give Lambie another chance to start and Elton on the bench, and would have Chiliboy on the bench. We’re not going to get anywhere with Brits. Chili is the future.

60 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:Yes. Strauss should captain the team.

62 @ Loosehead:
    YES… Adriaan Strauss was the guy on the field motivating the players anyways…

Jean is carrying a niggle or 2 of sorts, he’s not shining, not producing, not captaining… and offers very little on attack or defence.

Oh yes, and get well soon, Beast, although recurring heart problems are a big worry.

Ostrich has always said that JdV is a temporary Captain, so why not drop him and make Strauss Captain for the next 2 matches. We won’t be losing anything by doing it.

Our game plan is so one dimensional and the coaching is where we are falling short. None of these players play like this for their franchises.

Just look how great Arg and the French were this weekend, any of those teams playing us this weekend would have klapped us solid. Heven forbid had we played the ABs with their full strength team we would have been taught a rugby lesson. WE need a new coach it is obvious. Meyer now wants Rhule to improve his kicking as well, good grief! need I say more…. 🙄

I suppose part of the issue is the same that every coach struggles with – pick same players, have continuity = better chance of winning VS pick youngsters – maybe play more exciting/better rugby, but with a higher chance of losing.
    For the record though – I’d drop him for Sat.

62 @ Loosehead:
    A. Strauss was great, he was my mom this weekend.

67 @ Puma:
    meant – heaven

61 @ Just For Kicks:
    The reason I would swap and start with Elton Jantjies is to achieve EXACTLY what Heyneke said he wanted to do, and that is measure the flyhalves on an equal footing to decide what is best from hereon in (2013 and further).

Starting at flyhalf and giving the principle duties to Elton early on, will place him much in the same boat as Lambie was this past Saturday. The players were all fresh, the pressure was on. It is often easier to come on when the game is 50 minutes old… and I would want Jantjies to be tested under pressure.

Chiliboy has not had the greatest of comebacks after his last injury, that being the reason why I would give Schalk Brits a run, to see what he has learnt in the Northern Hemisphere and IF he could be of value going forward…. as 3rd or 4th hooker in the pecking order.

Tiaan Liebenberg has showed he is not up to International scratch.

I think the logical order going forward might be Bissy, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy, Schalk Brits… with No 3 & 4 possible swopping positions if Brits could impress.

Do you rate Deon Fourie at all? Even as a bench player?

55 @ Loosehead:
    Loosehead, to be totally honest, none of the flyhalves have been special in the Bok team this year, none. Not even Goosen, he never looked the same as when he played for the Cheetahs, Elton never looked the same as when he played for Lions and Lambie too never looked the same as when he played for the Sharks. Morne looked the worst. So it says something with this Bok coaching staff as not all of them can suddenly turn from really good players to just okay. Something not right with the coaching or the game plan certainly don’t suite Goose, Elton or Lambie that is for sure. Give the fh position back to Morne this game plan suits his style of play and that way none of our 3 talented youngsters game style gets messed up. None of the 3 youngsters will be brainwashed by this useless game plan. Morne should start this weekend and the next.

72 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Yeah I rate him… the question is whether he is a hooker or an opensider though.

He’s going back to hooker in 2013… so let’s see. He’s grown in 2012. Scarra Ntubeni is another bright prospect… Burden is waiting for a chance. Hooker is looking good for SA!

Most the players to be honest look like they are robots, none seem to play what is in front of them. They have to play the Meyer way or not at all it seems. None are allowed to think for themselves. That is how I am seeing it.

All the other countries are playing the off-loading game and keeping ball in hand, they are playing with skills, we certainly not playing with any skills. Sad to think a rugby country like ours is lagging behind to be honest.

Plenty of good S.A. hookers . . . or, should I say “S.A. hookers have plenty of depth”?

Scarra looks a good prospect for the future.

@ grootblousmile:Yup, I understand, and agree to a point on your points. I just don’t believe that chopping and changing pivot so much is doing us any good at all. Ostrich has gone from one extreme to the other – from refusing to drop MS, saying that he (Ostrich) could play him back into form to 4 different f/h’s in as many matches (yes, 1 injured, and taken account of). He should have given Jantjies a longer chance – as the incumbent – when Goosen went off, and started him in last weekends match. He didn’t, clearly, therefore, Ostrich doesn’t think Jantjies is good enough (remember, Ostrich thinks Lambies future is at full back, not fly half), and not only droped him to the bench, but right off it, and played Lambie in his place.

Because he obviously doesn’t think Jantjies is good enough – I don’t buy the ‘measuring flyhalves’ story (reason above) – Lambie should be given another chance in the next match.

As for Brits, at 31 he isn’t the future for the Boks, and whilst being able to give valuable advice on European conditions, it is highly likely that he won’t be around come the WC, and because of this, Chiliboy, who if being taken on tour, must be deemed to be good enough, and part of the future should be given game time.

75 @ Puma:
    Is Test level not a LEVEL UP…

You know the old addage… big fish in a small pond, small fish in a big pond?

What I’m asking is if these Currie Cup and possibly Super Rugby “stars” were able to take the step up to International Test level… or whether there’s a ceiling somewhere.

Look, Morné Steyn has been ordinary all year… I can fully understand people not wanting him to continue his International Career at present… he needs to go re-invent himself ONCE AGAIN (did it before and it worked, when he was in Derick Hougaard’s shadow).

Same with young Goosen, Lambie, Jantjies… they must first show me they can produce at Test level… before I’ll be convinced of their merits at flyhalf in the Bokke future.

Thrust and counter thrust. Parry and lunge.

Gotta love it.

SA were crap. They were at best the 5th best side on display this weekend and just weren’t good enough
    IMO.

75 @ Puma: Have to agree with you I’m afraid. The AB’s with a player base a fraction of what SA has continually push the envelope in terms of strategy development and execution.

It’s almost like SA Rugby has the attitude that the British Motor Cycle industry had in the late 190’s, where they believed that what had worked for them for 150 years was still a winning recipe.

Well we all know what happened to there.

Move with the times or fade like the dinosaurs.

79 @ Scrumdown:
    Should read “late 1960’s”

@ grootblousmile:By the way, sorry I didn’t reply to your sms yesterday, it only came through at 10.15am this morning!!!! Gotta love MTN!!

77 @ Just For Kicks:
    Yip, it’s about approach I would think….

Finkel en Koljander…. die een is soos die ander.

I would do it this way round, you would do it the other way round… and Heyneke… well he’ll ultimately do it his way round.

About Brits & Chiliboy… I’m actually really just questioning Chiliboy’s form at the moment.

81 @ Just For Kicks:
    Heheheehe… got the scores from an inebriated Loskoppie….

Ek was maar self goed gewyn….

Was a lekker Wine Festival, about 4000 pairs of feet through in 2 days… not bad for a first time event. Good venue at the Botanical Gardens in Pretoria as well.

81 @ Just For Kicks:
    Wait till you get to Mud Island.

My experience is that (generally) SA has far better cellphone coverage than the UK.

Your old watering hole in Ewen was particularly crap.

79 @ Scrumdown:
    So what say you about Krystle being bumped upwards at the Lions?

Tried to send her a mail with RT’s “congratulations” but failed miserably from my current location.

Good luck to her.

See, even I can be PC when needed.

86 @ Scrumdown:
    I sent her a congratulatory Mail before you even had… so all’s fine.

@ grootblousmile:Very glad you enjoyed the wine. I am really going to miss it all.
    @ Scrumdown:Yup, can’t ever get any worse than where we are here! Have checked all the coverage maps in the UK, and where we are, looks fine. The biggest thing that has struck me in research, is how much we are actually paying for our cell phones in this country. It is an absolute rip off!

Of course if I wanted to act like I come from the East Rand, I could have questioned who “bumped her up”, but I’m not like that!

88 @ Just For Kicks:
    Always has been and will continue to be so.

Cell phone rates, bank charges, lately the tax rates. On such matters, SA is certainly over and above the first world countries.

Total 277 users including 0 member, 277 guests, 0 bot online