Rebels (12) 19 / (14) 27 Brumbies (Final Score)

The Melbourne Rebels and Brumbies did battle in Super Rugby at AAMI Park, Melbourne at 11:40 SA Time (19:40 Melbourne Time).

Rebels:

• Penalties – Julian Huxley (4)
  • Tries – Cooper Vuna (1)
  • Conversions – Julian Huxley (1)

Brumbies:

• Penalties – Jesse Mogg (2), Zack Holmes (3)
  • Tries – Andrew Smith (1), Robbie Coleman (1)
  • Conversions – Zack Holmes (1)

Rebels: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Hugh Perrett, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Jono Owen, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Tom Chamberlain, 20 Tim Davidson, 21 Richard Kingi, 22 Nic Stirzaker.

Brumbies: 15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Jesse Mogg, 13 Andrew Smith, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Leon Power, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ruaidhri Murphy.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Hegarty, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Fotu Auelua, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Henry Speight, 22 Tevita Kuridrani.

Referee: Keith Brown (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Ian Smith (Australia), Simon Moore (Australia)
TMO: Steve Lesczcynski (Australia)

123 Responses to Super Rugby: Melbourne Rebels vs Brumbies – Live Game Article

88 @ Puma:
    I think Heyneke will go close to the following:

15 Pat Lambie
    14 JP Pietersen
    13 Jean de Villiers (Juan de Jongh if Frans Steyn can’t make the 1st Test)
    12 Frans Steyn (Jean de Villiers if Frans Steyn can’t make the 1st Test)
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Morné Steyn
    9 Fourie du Preez (captain) – I would have selected Hougie
    8. Pierre Spies
    7. Willem Alberts
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    5. Juandré Kruger
    4. Flip van der Merwe – I would have selected Eben Etsebeth if he’s not carrying an injury
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    1. Beast Mtawarira

Apart from where I’ve indicated where I would differ, I would have played Bjorn Basson or Mvovo on the left wing too

89 @ Puma:
    You have no option but to support the Bulls if you want your Sharkies in with a possibility of finishing top of the SA conference…

Between a rock and a hard place for you, really.

92 @ grootblousmile:
    Still it is interesting to see who will finish where. For now just have to wait and see. Also which team will have injuries after the Tests. That too is something to think about.

91@ grootblousmile:

I think that will be the team too, though watching Boots Mattet said it could be either Lambie or Zane at fb. Thought what the heck is he talking about? Zane???? come on no way, Lambie is way better at the back. Then reading on voldy see they think Meyer might be forced to select Zane due to not having enought poc in the team. Now really WHEN will we be able to EVER just select on merit no matter what colour a player is? When will it just be enough for us to just be South Africans and not matter what colour we are? Jeez I never ever worry about what colour a player is as long as he is the best.

Lambie could be used as a utility player and that would be a shame, he has a incredible rugby brain. Such talent should be used really and not just left on the bench. I feel for Hougie too. He really, really should be selected. BUT I understand Meyer wanting a captain (first) that he can lean on, from what we all have read, he can trust in FdP. Just think Hougie adds that x-factor.

93@ Puma:
    enought = enough

93 @ Puma:
    The Team in Comment No 91 is as close as Heyneke will get to last year’s World Cup squad… and I think that’s what he’s aiming at initially…. then slowly bringing the youngsters like Etsebeth, Marcell Coetzee, Coenie Oosthuizen, Joshua Strauss ect in and through the ranks… first on the bench, then gradually more into the starting lineup….

Later young Johan Goosen as well.

By the time the End of Year Tours are here, he’ll be with more or less the group he wants to take forward.

The man ALWAYS works with a plan… that’s how we’ve come to know him.

Let’s face it, the World Cup squad was good, just poorly prepared on the finer aspects of finishing and closing games out, properly.

I eventually see Habana replaced by Bjorn Basson and / or Lwazi Mvovo, Fourie du Preez making way for Francois Hougaad, JP Pietersen making way for a new generation right wing (could be Bjorn Basson or Mvovo too).

Young Johan Goosen might start sharing the duties with Morné Steyn, to gradually replace him, Jean de Villiers could be weaned out for someone like Tim Whitehead or Paul Jordaan…. or young Francois Venter.

One needs to work from a strong Bokke core though, to be able to bring youngsters in and through the ranks successfully

For the First England Test, we should not expect Bokke fireworks, just a workmanlike performance, aiming at a definate win, then as the weeks go by, we should see a playing pattern emerge and the Bokke getting stronger and more refined in their approach.

With Heyneke at the helm of the Bokke, expect strong forwards packs and good forwards play, that is part of his forte and signature.

Also expect the Bokke to be one tightly knit family unit… and expect every player to play his guts out for his coach, his team and his country!

Hell, I’m excited about the new Bokke and the Test season…

OK, there… I’ve stretched this thread… over 100.. flok.

95@ grootblousmile:
    Thanks boeta for taking time out to answer my post there.

Look that is exactly what I was thinking that Meyer will select as close as he can to what the Boks were in the wc. So when Mallett said Zane or Lambie, I just had to wonder at that, does he know something we are not aware of? Could be. I would be disappointed if that was the case and he had to select against who he does really want to start. Anyhow if he really has no choice and has to select a player of colour then it should be Aplon and not Zane. However, I think if Fransie is not up to speed with how we are playing right now it very well could be JdJ and JdV in the first test. As that is the combo for Stormers and it could work well. Next test without a doubt it will be Fransie at 12 if he does not start in the first. We all know by now that Meyer DOES want Fransie as his inside centre (long term) so just have to see who gets selected for this test.

96@ grootblousmile:

Have no doubt after this season Meyer will have his team and not rely on the team that started in the last world cup. From what has been said too, seems that Meyer prefers a big ball carrier at six rather than a fetcher type of player. So we could see Marcell there eventually or Burger back playing there. Well if what we reading is anything to go by, but I feel ONLY the tests will tell Meyer who is suited best. He will know after the RC that comes later this year.

Goosen is a superb player and he could be our number one fh. Needs to start there sometime to get a look and see. For now think Lambie will be covering Morne even if he starts at fb. Think we will go for a 5/2 split. Think that is the way Meyer will go. Ruan and probably Aplon on the bench or Ruan and Lambie on the bench if Aplon starts. Jeez just can’t see Zane starting boeta.

So my thinking is if Meyer goes with JdV in the first test with JdJ then we will definitely see Lambie start at fb. If Fransie starts and JdV is at outside centre. Who knows it could be Zane. Eish! Then hope it is Aplon. Should be Lambie don’t care what other sites are saying it really should be Lambie. He is a far, far better fb than any over there give him credit for.

Gbs,

What is the code on Superbru for JWC for Rugby-Talk?

As far as I can remember Fransie will not be available for the second test match. He decided to get himself a new boss at home.

104@ Puma:
    Pool Name: Rugby-Talk Winter Tours 2012
    Pool Code: wadsbops

Hurry up, first game is tomorrow

105@ dWeePer:

I have read that Frans Steyn said he would be available for the first two tests. He said he will not be available for the 3rd as that is the day he is getting Married.

106@ grootblousmile:

Thanks boeta, will sign up now. Just so busy and forgot about it, only realised today that it starts tomorrow.

I’ve scheduled all 4 Live Game Articles, for Super Rugby tomorrow.

106@ grootblousmile:
    Gbs,

Are you sure that is the code? It says wrong code. So can’t sign up.

110 @ Puma:
    I checked again… and yes, it’s correct.

Note carefully the spelling of the Pool Name (Capital Letters where it needs to be, the hyphen where it needs to be, spaces where it needs to be, and the Pool Code, wadsbops, all in small letters.

If you cannot get in, tell me, and I’ll send you an invite again, remember that it’ll arrive at your E-Mail Address that YOU use for SuperBru.

I did send you an invite long time ago, when the Pool opened!

110 @ Puma:
    You’re already IN the Pool, Oompie, you must have Accepted long time ago…. hehehe

112@ grootblousmile:
    Jeez When? I can only see that I am in one pool and there is no Rugby-Talk pool.

111@ grootblousmile:
    Jislaaaik! I am not that daft! hehehehe…… 😛 hehe

113 @ Puma:
    You are definately In the pool!

Between Uysh and Loosehead…. 15th on the Leaderboard….

You sure you don’t have 2 different Bru Login’s?

114 @ Puma:
    Was just worried about your typo fingers… hahaha

115@ grootblousmile:
    Klein boet, think you missing something..hehehe. Think it is you that has it wrong and not this oopmie….hehehe. I asked you for the code for the JUNIOR WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP…. NOT … THE WINTER TOURS.. Jeez thought I was losing my marbles there……….hahahaha. What is the code for JWC. I KNOW I am in the Winter Tours pool boet… 😛

@ Overjoy gbs for getting it wrong…..hehehe.

Where is the JWC code boeta? .. hehehe.

118 @ Puma:
    Fark, we don’t have a Junior World Cup pool… yet…

Will start one QUICKLY!

119@ grootblousmile:
    Got ya hey! hehehehe. Sleeping on the job klein boet………hehehe. Thought I lost it there could not find a code anywhere. Only saw I was in Snoeks pool.

Okay give me the code as soon as you have it here and will join. You better send pronto to the rest to join.

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online